Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

200hrs community service for 1/5 of a gram of Pot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

It costs me 100 quid for 7grams.I would typically use 1/3 of a gram a spliff.

thats more like it.

in dublin i get 3.5g for 50 .. and 28g (ounce) for 300 cash/350 tick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

i suspect there are many people in this thread that could make you rich... thats some steep priced weed you're getting!

Well, thats how much it is in Limerick and Tipperary. Where roughly are you and how much is it per ounce in your town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

This girl had to have previous - no way could she have got as harsh a sentence as this for a first offence....

i get 3.5g for 50 .. and 28g (ounce) for 300 cash/350 tick.

Although we never had more than 3g in a fifty bag, ounces used to be 300 or 350 a few years ago.

ComfortKid wrote: »
    Although we never had more than 3g in a fifty bag, ounces used to be 300 or 350 a few years ago.

you'd be better off finding someone to supply you from their own crop down there.

get away from street dealers and you'll find the decent prices.

in dublin i get 3.5g for 50 .. and 28g (ounce) for 300 cash/350 tick.

So, you get an extra .5 of a gram. Obviously it's plentiful in the Dublin. We here in the sticks find it a bit more difficult to get.

i might only be .5g on a fiddy.. but when you add up to an ounce its a lot of cash.

3g = 466 per ounce - say 4 for cash.

3.5g = 400 per ounce - say 3 for cash.

you'd be better off finding someone to supply you from their own crop down there.

I don't know anyone who is growing it, since having kids and started working, I don't really know anything anymore. I just gets my 3 grams every week and it does me.

thats not so bad then i guess.

is the smoke decent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

This thread seems to have turned into a competition about who gets the best deal for their drugs.

i might only be .5g on a fiddy.. but when you add up to an ounce its a lot of cash.

Thats the advantage of living in the city I suppose. I live in the sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,425 ✭✭✭circadian

Did I just walk into a weedenomics lesson? I'm waiting to see a graph showing the effects of a Garda raid on cost.

is the smoke decent?

Depends who I get it off. As I said it's scarce, one fella might have it for a few weeks then nothing for another few weeks. Fustrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

crazygeryy wrote: »
    she ll be very slow to do it again.
    job done.
    and her poor children and family my arse,does she think of the children when shes stoned off her knockers?

She would be at home, happy, possibly having a laugh with the kid, and possibly looking for a Chinese menu.

So evii. Stone her!! oh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,760 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Red Kev wrote: »

Zaidan is one of the more erratic and inconsistent judges in the country, he seems to thrive on publicity for bizarre sentencing.

I think this is what's annoying people, the fact that he came down so hard on her yet bigger, serial offenders just walk out the door.
    Desmond needs investigating quickly. He once jailed a guy for kissing his girlfriend as she was leaving by the back of the court room. He left him in cells overnight until he apologised to the court.

Now he wasnt getting stuck into her or anything, just kissing her goodbye quickly.

Desmond Zaidan is not of the correct state of mind to make sound and fair judgements IMO.

He has jailed people for incidents that are not criminal offences under Irish statute

+1 on this, Zaidan is a loose cannon. He also has a reputation of being one of the hardest judges in the country for drugs offences, when Oxegen was on in Punchestown Zaidan used to have a field day filling up the poor box with €1,500 from lads who were caught with enough for a few joints.

Although I don't think Zaidan is quite as bad as Judge Martin Nolan who was the judge who jailed the Garlic importer for 6 years and then a few months later let a rapist off with zero prison time. Some of Martin Nolans decisions were so bad the President of the High Court shipped him off to the Family Courts for a while where the media couldn't report his findings- he is such a woeful judge that he needed to be hidden away from public view. God help the families who had to suffer his judgements in secret, he clearly thinks that rape isn't a crime worth jailing someone for.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,752 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

she ll be very slow to do it again.
    job done.
    and her poor children and family my arse,does she think of the children when shes stoned off her knockers?

Are people with children not allowed to enjoy themselves on occasion or what? As long as she's not passing the joint to them or smoking around them then there isn't really any reason to doubt her parenting no more than you'd doubt the parenting of someone who smoke cigarettes or likes wine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Muahahaha wrote: »
    +1 on this, Zaidan is a loose cannon. He also has a reputation of being one of the hardest judges in the country for drugs offences, when Oxegen was on in Punchestown Zaidan used to have a field day filling up the poor box with €1,500 from lads who were caught with enough for a few joints.

Although I don't think Zaidan is quite as bad as Judge Martin Nolan who was the judge who jailed the Garlic importer for 6 years and then a few months later let a rapist off with zero prison time.

rumour has it the "garlic" importer, was ahem.. a bit of a pablo.

circadian wrote: »
    Did I just walk into a weedenomics lesson?

They should really be teaching it in schools..

Ah! Up here

Wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Depends who I get it off. As I said it's scarce, one fella might have it for a few weeks then nothing for another few weeks. Fustrating.

Ah! Up here we used to call people of that ilk 'one ounce wonders' :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

What a load of medieval, reactionary bollocks.

What's medieval about punishing some-one for breaking the law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

smash wrote: »
    200 hours has never been a possible consequence of having €10 worth of pot, until now.

It's also not a possible consequence of having an open can of beer on the street so I seriously doubt you'd say to yourself "better not go outside with this can in case I get 200 hours..."

No, I'd be saying to myself "better not go outside with this can because I know it's against the law".

And you're right, 200 hours is excessive, which is why I'm wondering either there's more to this story, or the judge was trying to put her off the idea of taking the risk of appearing in the dock again. She didn't receive any custodial sentence so as long as she completes her community service, she'll be grand.

Well, thats how much it is in Limerick and Tipperary. Where roughly are you and how much is it per ounce in your town?

What's this "we" business, paleface? :pac:

what about when the law is medieval? Should we blindly follow all laws without question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Left handed people were on occasion burnt at the stake in medieval times,agents of the devil t'was said.The word sinister has something to do with left handedness,in my smokey stoned haze(excuse the pun) I can't remember what.Apologies,I'm rambling now,but those lefties broke the law and got punished accordingly,so you are 100% correct Audrey.Shot in the dark here,but emmmm,got any plans for Sunday evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

200 hours community service for having enough for a joint? :D:D

I would say that I find that shocking, but then again this is Ireland, where if you have enough money you can get out of prison for sexual assault charges after thirteen months, but if you dodge a bit of tax on fruit and veg you get six years :P

Joke of a country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Are people with children not allowed to enjoy themselves on occasion or what? As long as she's not passing the joint to them or smoking around them then there isn't really any reason to doubt her parenting no more than you'd doubt the parenting of someone who smoke cigarettes or likes wine.

correct me if im wrong but arent wine and cigarettes legal?smoking drugs is not legal , its against the law and isnt she as a parent supposed to set an example for her kids?
    the kid sees its mom smoking drugs,hey my mom does it why not me and ends up going to schood stoned and eventually starts to try harder drugs all by the age of 16.
    thanks mom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

correct me if im wrong but arent wine and cigarettes legal?smoking drugs is not legal , its against the law and isnt she as a parent supposed to set an example for her kids?
    the kid sees its mom smoking drugs,hey my mom does it why not me and ends up going to schood stoned and eventually starts to try harder drugs all by the age of 16.
    thanks mom.

What age are you??? calm down Tarantino

thanks mom.

Why dont we just ban everything that children shouldnt have/do/see? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

major bill wrote: »
    What age are you??? calm down Tarantino

no idea what that has to do with anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

thanks mom.
    You presume she smokes in front of her kids...

Is it as bad if she has a smoke at the end of the day when the kids are safely in their beds?

I've smoked for the best part of 3 decades & have never smoked in front of my kids, even though they are now young adults, that's why da has his man-cave ;)