Attitudes to drink driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Well, happily the law disagrees with you.

No it doesn't. It allows a modicum of alcohol before driving.

Never EVER get drunk and drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

If you drive while sleep deprived you can be very dangerous on the road, but we don't have a test for that.
    I was wondereing about yesterday's accident on the M50 ... "The collision, involving two trucks and a car, at around 5.30am"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The closest I ever came to drink driving was half a pint 3 hours beforehand. Never even got over the limit let alone waiting to get below it again. Talk about paranoid.

If you're going to drink, leave the car at home. If you can't afford the taxis and have no other way of getting around, then you can't afford the night out. It really is that simple.

What I'd love is for a surefire way to tell if it's safe the day after. I would err hugely on the side of caution, but many don't.

NiallBoo wrote: »
    The phrasing of the original question it's very interesting.

"Driving after two pints...Confident of being under the limit"

I'm more confident of most things after two pints, it doesn't mean I'm right.
    The whole point is that your judgment is diminished after drinking so you're not in a position to make that call.
    2 points would make someone...4 times the limit is it?

The reason I phrased it like that is that some people could be over the limit after two pints but many would not. And also after taking into account other factors like time since last pint, whether or not food was consumed etc would also affect the blood alcohol reading.

It was really about people's self awareness of their own limit, assessed while they are sober rather than as they stagger out of the pub after about five or six, that I was getting at.

I worked quite happily for years on the assumption that two pints was fine for me. And indeed I was once breathalysed 20+ years ago having had two pints+ (albeit with a meal and well over an hour since my last alcoholic drink) and it didn't even register that I had been drinking at all so I felt thoroughly vindicated.

Since then the limits have come down so I really don't know whether two pints is my limit. I would be VERY confident though, speaking soberly, that two pints would not put me to the level where I would be banned under current levels. I might get a wrist slap and some penalty points.

Which is a bit silly.

In my view they should put the limits back to what they were (the two will do rule of thumb) keep the current levels of enforcement including the ability for the guards to do random breathalyser checks and restore the automatic ban on people caught driving over the more generous limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Vancity

I never drive with any alcohol taken, it's just simpler for me - I'm fairly short and thin though so I couldn't be sure even one drink wouldn't put me over the limit so I just don't do it.

An an aside, I live in Canada and a friend here as a legal experiment took a breathalyser after 5 gin & tonics and passed... no joke. She had dinner as well and it was over about a 4-5 hour period but she passed. The limits here are 0.08 I think rather than 0.05 so presumably that had an impact but plenty of people will remain under the limit at 2 or more drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭Pretzill

I fit into one of the older age brackets on your poll (damn!) and I remember the two will do rule, however many didn't stick to it and went by the sure I'll be fine with another glass or more.

It is better that most people are realising not to drink at all before they drive nowadays - better, safer.

I remember cars that drove themselves home on altogether less busier roads to today and remember being a passenger on back roads to avoid the risks of been stopped. Different times but not safer. Tackling drug driving, driving whilst tired and bad driving is important but thankfully drink driving is becoming socially unacceptable these days.

Two will never do with some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

No it doesn't. It allows a modicum of alcohol before driving.

I know that. :confused: Two pints will usually have you over the limit. Two pints is what was mentioned in the post I quoted. Drank very slowly and with a wait of a few hours, two pints won't probably you have over the limit. But that's not really how two pints will be drank generally.

You can indeed have a modicum of alcohol. One drink, that's it.
    diomed wrote: »
    If you drive while sleep deprived you can be very dangerous on the road, but we don't have a test for that.

Yes, indeed you can and unfortunately, you can't really monitor this. But drink-driving can be controlled so should be and is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I'd prefer to drink a nice beer instead of coke, sprite etc.

Me too, and get a taxi home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

30 and wouldn't think twice about driving after 2 pints.

The whole "oh I won't even smell a drink if I'm driving" is sensationalist nonsense. Particularly as half the people who say it don't think twice about driving the next day when they could well be over the limit too. It's not the people with 2 or 3 pints that are the problem it's people totally hammered that are a huge danger on the road.

Its the affect it has had on you. As I said before, 3 even 6 and Im as sober as a judge. I'm 6'4 and about 110KG. My other half gets drunk from a can of strong beer. She has 2 beers, she's a danger to everyone on the road including herself and me if Im in the passenger seat. Thats why exact limits on numbers of drinks is a little unfair to many, and why in the US the drunk test isnt a device but dexterity and mental tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

I agree with her on a zero limit.

Younger people are more tolerant because they haven't had to see, or live with, the consequences yet.

They drop some chemicals or smoke some blow. Ask any cop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Tasden wrote: »
    I don't understand the "only one" argument. If its only one and it does absolutely nothing to you/doesn't make you tipsy or whatever then why bother at all? Have a soft drink instead. If it does make you a little bit "relaxed" or however you want to phrase it, then it has altered your brain in some way and you should not drive, regardless of whether it will have "worn off" or not.

A few lucozades, sodas or caffeine laden drink (including tea) will alter your wiring as well. Where do you stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Vancity wrote: »
    I never drive with any alcohol taken, it's just simpler for me - I'm fairly short and thin though so I couldn't be sure even one drink wouldn't put me over the limit so I just don't do it.

An an aside, I live in Canada and a friend here as a legal experiment took a breathalyser after 5 gin & tonics and passed... no joke. She had dinner as well and it was over about a 4-5 hour period but she passed. The limits here are 0.08 I think rather than 0.05 so presumably that had an impact but plenty of people will remain under the limit at 2 or more drinks.

You process about a unit of alcohol an hour. She had five units over five hours, and the limit allows for about two units to be in your system.

Easy to explain the pass, but it's still safer to just avoid it altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

I sincerely hope someone dear to him suffers at the hands of a drunk driver so that he sees exactly what his actions are responsible for.

:eek::eek: Wouldn't be hiring you as a moral coach mate, you want someone maimed by a drunk driver to show someone a lesson in morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

30 and wouldn't think twice about driving after 2 pints.

The whole "oh I won't even smell a drink if I'm driving" is sensationalist nonsense. Particularly as half the people who say it don't think twice about driving the next day when they could well be over the limit too. It's not the people with 2 or 3 pints that are the problem it's people totally hammered that are a huge danger on the road.

I started driving on the roads at the turn of the '80s. No licence, too young I was 12. Never much of a drinker, but I'm sure I drove over the limit a few times.

Still here, nobody hurt. No big deal.

The hand-wringing that goes on now about every simple thing has to be seen to be believed.

Nowadays you need a licence to use an angle grinder on a building site. Not only that, you need an additional licence to change the disc on it. All money out of the working man's pocket BTW.

I'm thinking a lot of the AH crowd have employment in the ever expanding Health & Safety industry. They got a handy number on the sly thru relations because they couldn't or wouldn't do a productive job.

Now they're on here crowing about what people should or shouldn't be doing. It's their stock in trade...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I would completely disassociate myself with anyone who even considered getting behind the wheel of a car after consuming alcohol. I'm a 21 year old college student and most of my peers have the same attitude. It's not the 1970s anymore and people are better informed. I don't give a toss if it's one pint or ten, if you do it, you deserve to have the book thrown at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

thelad95 wrote: »
    I would completely disassociate myself with anyone who even considered getting behind the wheel of a car after consuming alcohol. I'm a 21 year old college student and most of my peers have the same attitude. It's not the 1970s anymore and people are better informed. I don't give a toss if it's one pint or ten, if you do it, you deserve to have the book thrown at you.

Fair play. What are you studying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I would like to share an experience with you about drinking and driving.

As you well know, some of us have been known to have had brushes with the
    authorities on our way home from the odd social session over the years.

Well, I have done something about it!

A couple of nights ago my partner and I were out for pre Christmas drinks with some friends and had a few too many beers as well as spirits and some rather nice cabernet; but knowing full well I may have been slightly over the limit, I did something I've never done before - I took a bus home.

We arrived back home safely and without incident which was a real surprise, because I had never driven a bus before and am not even sure where I got this one.
    _________

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I started driving on the roads at the turn of the '80s. No licence, too young I was 12. Never much of a drinker, but I'm sure I drove over the limit a few times.

The hand-wringing that goes on now about every simple thing has to be seen to be believed.
    Seemed people had more cop on back then. The ****s on the road now can barely drive sober!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭LeBash

I'm 32. Never had a drink when driving. Out of a group of 12-15 friends from school that I still hang around with only 1 would take the chance. I reckon it is an older generations thing.

Now I have seen people in there 50s drive home plastered to the point they get in the drive way and fall out of the car. More than 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Cool, they used a smart phone as a rear view mirror, awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

The hand-wringing that goes on now about every simple thing has to be seen to be believed..
    Disagree with both of these - this thing of one person saying "I was driving at 12 and I drove over the limit - no big deal I'm still here" hardly makes it OK. They're one person who was fortunate.

But disassociating from someone for having one pint before driving, and saying they should have the book thrown at them, is just too much the other extreme.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    And then off they toddle with three pints in them, thinking they're fine because it's two hours later and sure they're "not even tipsy"

There is a very good chance an average man would be under the limit after 3 pints over two hours.
    LeBash wrote: »
    I'm 32. Never had a drink when driving. Out of a group of 12-15 friends from school that I still hang around with only 1 would take the chance. I reckon it is an older generations thing.

Are you from a city or urban area as I think its more a city vs county thing rather than an age thing. City people aren't faced with expensive taxis or long walks. An expensive taxi is fine if you are after a rake of pints but if you just want 2 or 3 quick pints on the way home from work its out of the question.

As I said earlier I'm 30 and I would say most of my friends wouldn't have much issue with driving after 2 or 3 pints, in fact at a friends wedding a while back probably 7 or 8 cars of us all pulled into the local on the way to the reception and all of us driving had 2 or 3 quick pints and drove on the 12 miles or so to the reception after (same story at most other wedding I've been to also). All drivers would have been 30 or under and all from rural areas.

There has to be an issue for the young and righteously indignant to get very priggish over in every generation. Right now, it seems to be against those who have a responsible--although not puritanical--attitude to drinking and driving.

Don't concur with your vehemence at all. It seems we won't be friends. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The self justification is sometimes hilarious. Wouldn't it be great when heading off on hols if you could have a pint or two with the pilot before he takes off, or have a couple of scoops with the cardiovascular surgeon before he performs open heart surgery on your kid? Shure what's the harm eh?

And before you try and say it's not the same thing, cop yourself on. Driving a car is the single most dangerous and lethal thing most people will ever do, and even you have a complete disregard for yourself, wise up and have a bit of respect for everybody else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭deandean

The new advert on TV has me scared to walk home from the pub after a few pints.
    Feck it I'll drive in future.

Tasden wrote: »
    I don't understand the "only one" argument. If its only one and it does absolutely nothing to you/doesn't make you tipsy or whatever then why bother at all? Have a soft drink instead. If it does make you a little bit "relaxed" or however you want to phrase it, then it has altered your brain in some way and you should not drive, regardless of whether it will have "worn off" or not.

You see, there's Ireland's "drinking problem" right there: You're not drinking properly unless you're getting pissed. Everything else is incomprehensible.

It's ridiculous. It's destructive. it's not good for you. It's not even particularly pleasant. Especially if it's habitual.

I admit, I have been severely pissed in my life. I will probably do so again. If Ireland win the World Cup, or beat the All Blacks, or I have a lottery win. But generally speaking I like to have a few pints fairly regularly. If I'm meeting people for an evening I may have four or five (and wouldn't dream of driving after such a load) but if i pop into the pub for one or two after work that's great. And it doesn't impair me at all so why the hell can't I then drive home? I'm not breaking any law.

The problem with your attitude is that it informs much of our legal policy and much of what we do is counter productive. By erroneously claiming that drinking one pint is morally equivalent to drinking ten we actually encourage the latter.

Surprise surprise the Irish don't drink a lot of alcohol in an overall sense compared with other countries in Europe. We do tend to binge drink more: ie store up all our drinking for major sessions. I'm not sure it's a good idea.

Two will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Back about 30 odd years ago my father was in a crash after having a "couple" (but probably half a dozen in reality) of whiskeys. By sheer luck the other driver was also drunk driving and the only damage done was to each others cars rather than to some innocent people. They were both banned for a year and in my father's case at least he got used to not taking the car to the pub.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

There is a very good chance an average man would be under the limit after 3 pints over two hours.

Are you from a city or urban area as I think its more a city vs county thing rather than an age thing. City people aren't faced with expensive taxis or long walks. An expensive taxi is fine if you are after a rake of pints but if you just want 2 or 3 quick pints on the way home from work its out of the question.

As I said earlier I'm 30 and I would say most of my friends wouldn't have much issue with driving after 2 or 3 pints, in fact at a friends wedding a while back probably 7 or 8 cars of us all pulled into the local on the way to the reception and all of us driving had 2 or 3 quick pints and drove on the 12 miles or so to the reception after (same story at most other wedding I've been to also). All drivers would have been 30 or under and all from rural areas.

I'm from a rural area. No taxis, no public service. Some of my friends have drank and drove, but very very rarely, and regretted doing so after. The vast majority of people I would socialise with or hang out with would not drink and drive. Either one of us stays on the dry, or we arrange for a lift from a partner or parent or something. Or else staying close to wherever we are out so we only have to walk.

Now I'm not claiming to be an angel or anything. If I was out for dinner with the wife I might have a bottle of beer or maybe a pint with it. But I would never have 2 pints and drive, and the only time I'd ever do it, if at all, is if I was out for a meal.

trying to justify it based on being rural is a pure excuse, and a poor one at that. My father would have gone down to the local and drove home after years ago. But once the law started changing more and more he made sure he had lifts, and then when I was legal age to drive I'd sort out picking him up too. So we just did each other favours when ever the other needed it. It was never an issue for either of us, regardless of the distance of where we would be out, as I'd feel far better knowing that he is home safe rather than chancing it driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I never have and I never will, it's a fool's game. Anyone who takes the risk of drinking and driving is selfish and reckless in my opinion.

Not only are you risking your own life but the lives of others as well.

This laissez-faire attitude drivers in this country have to using the road needs to be nipped in the bud. Apart from drunk drivers, I think we need severe penalties for anyone caught using a phone behind the wheel and those who drive above the speed limit.

The worst I saw though were a woman with her phone in one hand and a cigarette in the other and only 2 fingers on the wheel and more recently another woman driving along doing her make-up! Do these people want to get themselves killed or kill others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I've had occasions where I've had a pint, waited around an hour or two, and then drove home.

Knowing that, its probably a bit hypocritical of me to say that I think two pints and then driving is too much, but I personally would never do it, nor would want to see any of my friends do it either.

Lived in Austin for a few months before and the amount of drink driving absolutely shocked me, actually. Its so damn prevalent. Not just a pint or two either, you have a load of people driving after a night out, no problem.