Storm in a coffee cup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Fcuks sake.

Haven't even thrown out my pumpkin and you fcukers are going on about Christmas cups in a feckcin coffee shop:confused:

I never tried the pumpkin spice yoke is it any good?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

bluewolf wrote: »

do you even white girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

Had a starbucks in a red cup yesterday in Amsterdam

I am one of those annoying types who always takes an opportunity to mouth off about places I have been to
    Amsterdam is in Holland and there's a weird smell from the coffee shops, they might need to change the beans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

bluewolf wrote: »

Me neither, I prefer my coffee black and bitter, like my soul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

etoughguy wrote: »

I am one of those annoying types who always takes an opportunity to mouth off about places I have been to
    Amsterdam is in Holland and there's a weird smell from the coffee shops, they might need to change the beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I really don't see the point of giving out about this. It's a friggin' coffee cup. If it holds coffee, grand. If the lid actually closes on it without popping off and spilling, brilliant.

After that, I really don't care what's on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I like Starbucks coffee.

It seems like nowadays it's one of those things thats cool to bash.

:/

You are so '00's.

*swishes scarf in disgust*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Also, their mulled grape and mulled apple are lovely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

Links234 wrote: »
    I like Starbucks too. They're not the best coffee I've ever had (That's reserved for Philz Coffee), but they are good, and you know exactly what you're getting and that it's gonna be the same the world round. Starbucks in Dublin tastes the same as it does in Tokyo, or Seattle or wherever else. It's convenient.

the thing about starbucks is they roast the snot out of their coffee so that it still tastes strong in their frappacinos and frappes and 90% milk, 5% chocolate shavings 5% coffee drinks.
    this is grand if you love real dark roast coffee (quite fond of it myself), but if you actually "like coffee" then starbucks and some of your other chain cafes are more or less the 100% opposite of what you should be doing with coffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Don't the cups have things like snowflakes and snowmen on them? All the pics in the campaign to bring back the original cups look more generally wintery than Christmas-specific.

I don't see anything specifically Christian on them, so I don't see how their absence is an attack on Christians. Equally, though, it seems really stupid to change their branding because images of snowflakes may make some people feel excluded.

Maybe it was just cheaper to get all-red cups?

Nonsense from all quarters here. I'm disappointed in myself for even commenting on this thread, frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

etoughguy wrote: »

Did ya pick up the package?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Had coffee from there once, but never again. Horrible stuff, would rather walk a longer distance to somewhere else. Not sure how they brew it, but it's not nice at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

biko wrote: »
    It grieves me that I won't get to experience this as I never go to starbucks, nor do I intend to.
    I'm sure some hipsters will rage on my behalf too.
    The expression "hipster" in "incorrectly used" shocker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Canterelle

More like flutter in an espresso cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I don't spend that much time in Dublin, but I have enjoyed the coffee from both Coffee Angel and Café Sol when I've been back. Nothing compares to grinding your own favourite beans and having a Jura deliver a stunning cup of coffee.

kneemos wrote: »
    Did ya pick up the package?

A guy asked me to bring back some stuff for some other guy I never heard of. He seemed to laugh and giggle alot and his eyes were very blood shot, poor fella must have had a cold so I said no problem. I have it with me so if you're the chap who needs it send me a PM.

I don't spend that much time in Dublin, but I have enjoyed the coffee from both Coffee Angel and Café Sol when I've been back. Nothing compares to grinding your own favourite beans and having a Jura deliver a stunning cup of coffee.

I love grinding my own beans, especially when the wife is away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Plryty

I like Starbucks coffee.

I thought the same, usually I skipped Starbucks in Favor of other cafes with a cosier layout. But one evening I found myself in one with a friend for a catch up.

It really isn't good stuff. It's appeal to people who largely enjoy their coffee tasting more like a dessert in a plastic cup should be telling of its standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Plryty wrote: »
    I thought the same, usually I skipped Starbucks in Favor of other cafes with a cosier layout. But one evening I found myself in one with a friend for a catch up.

It really isn't good stuff. It's appeal to people who largely enjoy their coffee tasting more like a dessert in a plastic cup should be telling of its standard.

Can anyone explain exactly why Starbucks (and I don't drink there or any coffee house regularly really) would be worse than anywhere else? Machines are the same. Baristas are trained.

Can they not afford proper beans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I like Starbucks coffee.

It's post hipster. Used to be hip but then they changed what hip was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Plryty

Can anyone explain exactly why Starbucks (and I don't drink there or any coffee house regularly really) would be worse than anywhere else? Machines are the same. Baristas are trained.

I'm not huge into coffee culture so Google will probably provide better information. But the bean type, it's storage conditions, it's preparation methods all influence its final taste.

All I know is, there was a marked poor difference in its taste compared to any other cafe I had tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

The PC gone mad crowd have come full circle. The previous cups weren't even all the Christmasy, a few snow flakes one year. This year they decided that a picture of Jesus is missing so they hate Christians.

The going in there and having them put merry Christmas on the cups is fairly stupid. They have a Christmas blend! It's like going into ashers and getting them to make cakes that say "marriage is one man and one woman" as a protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭zeffabelli

This is just another manifestation of vying for victim status. Everyone is in on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Fantastic.

So i can get my coffee in a red cup together with an halal footlong from Subway?
    Cant be too careful not offending someone these days as it is so ****ing easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Their coffee is rank, like it was made with the special ingredient of liquidated cardboard.

Either way, a complete non-issue but free advertising for Starbucks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I buy coffee out very rarely. I prefer to make my own and the offices I work in tend to have good bean to cup machines that I can drink for free, so I don't have a strong opinion on Starbucks or any other chain. What I can tell you is, you can get 2 different bags of coffee that taste almost nothing like each other. The place or places the beans have come from and how they're roasted makes a huge difference to the taste. How they're stored and how it's brewed also makes a significant difference. I'm happy enough with Aldi's, Ikea's or Tesco's Finest whole beans but a friend who owns an artisan style bean roasting business gave me a couple of bags of single origin espresso beans that were from different places and neither of them tasted like anything I've ever called coffee before or anything like each other. No bitterness at all (unless I over brewed them) and you could genuinely taste an almost lemon like citrus off one of them and the other was kind of dessert like with caramel or toffee flavours. They were quite nice to try for a change but at 8 euro for 200g they weren't worth it for me at all. Not even if I had more disposable income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

"When I went in, I asked for my coffee, they asked for my name and I told them, 'My name is Merry Christmas.' So guess what, Starbucks? I tricked you into putting 'Merry Christmas' on your cup," Feuerstein said in the video.

Oh and this bastard is definitely going to hell. Thou shalt not lie Fuerstein! Feckin heathen.