Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

I told you lot the week before the All Ireland you would be screaming for Cunninhham's head after the game .Your like your team they deserve nothing and you lot deserve less. The players not Cunningham lost the two All Irelands. If they were men they would take the blame just as if they were men they would not have let Kilkenny bully them in the second half. It was the players fault left right and center and they are going to be let get away with it. God help your next real manager trying to manage a team with 30 other managers.

At least your ****e is consistent anyway, fair play :rolleyes:

There is a lot to be said for being a good winner. There's always one or two who can't win with grace. As they say everything goes in cycles though and while it may seem like it at the moment Kilkenny won't be on top forever. I wonder what your reaction would be if you still had someone like Nicky Brennan in charge and had lost an All-Ireland in a similar way.

Personally I'd half agree with you, the players failed to deliver when push came to shove and bar one or two notable exceptions in the 2nd half caved in quite pathetically in all honesty. Cunningham and his management team have to take their portion of the blame, as on countless occasions over the last 4 years they made bad decisions. In the final, tactically we completely lost our shape as we did in the Leinster final and made life very easy for Kilkenny's half backline with the ball we were hitting in but the bigger issue does have to be why the players didn't step up to the mark and drive on in a game they had put themselves in contention for.

You are wrong in saying the players will get away with it though as if they get a new manager they have heaped almighty pressure on themselves to go the whole way next year. While Galway won back some respect from the hurling support in the county for some of their performances this year, the Galway public is fickle and the fallout from this mess is likely to carry into next year.

Surprised nobody posted this....

There was big controversy at the end of the Thomas and Loughrea game on Saturday.

With 4mins and 29 seconds played, the ball broke to Regan who soloed into range and after he hit the shot, the ref blew the full time whistle with the ball in the air... Ball went over the bar and nobody knew if it counted or not.

Some refs really do bring hassle on themselves.

Surprised nobody posted this....

There was big controversy at the end of the Thomas and Loughrea game on Saturday.

With 4mins and 29 seconds played, the ball broke to Regan who soloed into range and after he hit the shot, the ref blew the full time whistle with the ball in the air... Ball went over the bar and nobody knew if it counted or not.

Some refs really do bring hassle on themselves.

Was at this game and to say it was an awful decision is being kind. Often there is a case where there is no ideal time to blow the final whistle as either team could score but there were a number of rucks / scrambles for possession in the middle of the field where there was no team with a clear scoring opportunity.

Really, any time in the 4 minutes up to that point there was no clear scoring opportunity, it would have been ideal to blow and no-one could have had any complaints. Also, it wasn't like it was a Hail Mary shot from 90 or 100 yards, James Regan was in clear space on around the 45 straight in front of the posts when he hit it. A point was pretty much certain.

If he had blown when he should have you'd say St. Thomas' only had themselves to blame as they led by 6 late on against a Loughrea side missing Johnny Coen and Johnny Maher and they had been in control but they let in two soft goals and no-one would have begrudged Loughrea a draw but the way it ended was farcical. Refereeing is a tough job especially at club level but I'm afraid there can be no defence for how this was handled.

Its a pity as he had done an ok job up to then but made a very bad call at the key moment.

In the other games, Craughwell scraped past Liam Mellows. Tadhg Haran had a good game but missed an easy free to force a replay with the last play. Craughwell looked good in the first half but lost their way after the break when Mellows got two quick goals. They'll need Niall Healy on top form if they hope to go further and others will have to step up to the plate.

Gort beating Portumna was the big result. Gort were deserving winners. The goal early in the 2nd half proved decisive. Both sides had other good goal scoring chances which could have changed the course of the game.nGreg Lally and Aidan Harte in good form. Gort haven't really delivered when they got out of Galway but with Connacht v Ulster this year they'll see that as a chance to make Croke Park. You'd have to wonder how much more Portumna have in the tank. They've been a superb club side for over a decade now but basically its the same lads they are relying on as when in their prime.

Last game was the only major disappointment of the weekend, Sarsfields comfortably dealt with Padraig Pearses. Good to see a club with a great tradition like Sarsfields back in the semi-finals but really they have been lucky enough with the draw this year. Look well coached with John Hardiman there though.

Gort look the team to beat. St. Thomas will probably beat Loughrea in the replay and it would be a tight game between the two of them. Craughwell will hope to get Sarsfields and they may be capable of a one off surprise in the final but I think there is a gap between the top 2 and Craughwell.

In the football Corofin have reeled off another title. Fair play to them to have the hunger to go again. Tuam missed the boat against them and MM conceding early goals and not taking advantage of their spell of dominance was always going to come against them. Hopefully they can come back stronger next year, Galway football badly needs the club championship to improve. Its a big ask for Corofin to push for an All-Ireland after pretty much 2 years straight on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭MfMan

Gort beating Portumna was the big result. Gort were deserving winners. The goal early in the 2nd half proved decisive. Both sides had other good goal scoring chances which could have changed the course of the game.nGreg Lally and Aidan Harte in good form. Gort haven't really delivered when they got out of Galway but with Connacht v Ulster this year they'll see that as a chance to make Croke Park. You'd have to wonder how much more Portumna have in the tank. They've been a superb club side for over a decade now but basically its the same lads they are relying on as when in their prime.

Gort look the team to beat. St. Thomas will probably beat Loughrea in the replay and it would be a tight game between the two of them. Craughwell will hope to get Sarsfields and they may be capable of a one off surprise in the final but I think there is a gap between the top 2 and Craughwell.

Don't exactly agree the early goal was decisive as Port' came back afterwards, and led briefly by a point at one stage AFAIR. However, as the game went on the losers became more and more reliant on JC with all the rest starting to drop off in performance. Port' in general look to be a fading force now and I think it's unlikely they'll be *the* team to beat in future seasons; wonder will Ollie continue? OTOH, I was rather impressed with Gort as they look to have improved again from last year - the new younger lads that have come in have boosted them again and strengthened the squad. A (derby) final (with little love lost) between them and Thomas' would be tasty.
    In the football Corofin have reeled off another title. Fair play to them to have the hunger to go again. Tuam missed the boat against them and MM conceding early goals and not taking advantage of their spell of dominance was always going to come against them. Hopefully they can come back stronger next year, Galway football badly needs the club championship to improve. Its a big ask for Corofin to push for an All-Ireland after pretty much 2 years straight on the road.

MM badly needed a goal at some stage but the clearest chance they got fell to Joe, probably the most awkward attacking player they had. Pity the rest of the attack weren't able to reproduce their form from earlier rounds. Losers should be stronger again in future seasons however as they won Minor last year and play Salthill in this year's final again.

For a very start, club football in Galway badly needs to revert to the system where senior and intermediate clubs were clearly defined with relegation and promotion decided (largely) through the league system. It meant something then; now, nobody really knows who is senior or not and damn all care about the league which is fairly uncompetitive.

(Don't think county panel too enamoured with current training methods either from what I hear.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

What's the latest in Hurling stand off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Surprised it hasn't been discussed yet but Craughwell and Sarsfields producing the two shocks of the year on a weekend when Moycullen and Abbey-Knockmoy were promoted to senior capped off a mental weekend.

Craughwell, particularly Niall Healy who bombed over an outstanding free in a crazy wind to win it, were fantastic and just didn't give up even when Conor Cooney and Bernard Burke were destroying them on their own. David Burke was lucky to stay on the pitch, bit of a nasty streak in him. Shane Cooney was another that had a good showing.

Keril Wade might win us an All-Ireland yet :pac: Gort were rattled by Sars in the last 10 minutes and allowed them to pull away.

Neither might have what it takes to win the All-Ireland but it really will be a fascinating final. Great to see this Craughwell side finally manage to get to the final. Hopefully the fine folks at the county board might have programmes that aren't from the week before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭wonder88

Two shocks last Sunday, and good comebacks in both games. St Thomas unlucky not to have got a draw, but great performance by Niall Healy and Craughwell. I was impressed by Sarsfield, even after poor start, and has said above finished much stronger than Gort and deserving of their win. Final fixed for Athenry I think, so no county final in Pearse Stadium this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

Anyone know are they showing the final on tg4 on Sunday?

radiata wrote: »

The hurling final is shown 9:10(compared to the football which I cant remember ever been shown)... Should be on either live or deferred but it'll depend what else is on I suppose.

It's nearly impossible to call Sunday for me. Craughwell have been there abouts in the last few years and Niall Healy looked very impressive against Thomas'. But then again Sars are visibly improving since the group stages.

Hurling isn't on.

Connacht football semi final and Munster hurling are the two games.

Guess it's their fault for taking so long to finish the championship in relation to the others.
    Pairing probably didn't help either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

The hurling final is shown 9:10(compared to the football which I cant remember ever been shown)... Should be on either live or deferred but it'll depend what else is on I suppose.

The Galway football final was shown live this year

Didn't notice or even check as it very rarely has ever before.
    Maybe the AI champions factor played into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Didn't notice or even check as it very rarely has ever before.
    Maybe the AI champions factor played into it.

I'd say so. To be fair they show the hurling a bit because they are one of few relevant counties in it and they would want to spread it around for fear it would cause angst that one County would have both its finals shown.

There's a lot of football counties whose finals they could show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Mediation talks in the hurling dispute ended today without any progress. County board meeting on Monday to make a final decision. Hard to see any way in which Cunningham remains in charge now. I imagine he will be advised over the weekend that it's for the best if he steps aside but who knows? What a mess.

Reckon we might get to see Cunningham v Treacy in a charity boxing match for the footballers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

radiata wrote: »

Cuala v clara is live sunday with deferred coverage of the munster football championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sabhail

Mediation talks in the hurling dispute ended today without any progress. County board meeting on Monday to make a final decision. Hard to see any way in which Cunningham remains in charge now. I imagine he will be advised over the weekend that it's for the best if he steps aside but who knows? What a mess.
    Just heard on rte that players all but six voted against him staying on, and all but nine said they would not play if he stayed on.

Also said the co board can only remove him with 2/3 majority. A mess alright. Would think he should walk away at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭MfMan

If he wasn't ratified properly in the first place -- it wasn't listed on the agenda for the original meeting -- then don't see how a 2/3 majority needed to remove him. What does ratification mean? (And don't forget, he was damned lucky to get another term after last year.)

Hurlers getting a lot of backlash over this, maybe some deserved, but the independently observed, secret ballot seems decisive enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Anyone know what is the real reason the players want rid of him? They have questions to answer themselves after their second half collapse in the final, so is it a case of hanging Cunningham out to dry or have they some legitimate grievance with him as a person or some major objection to how he does things?

Being honest I've never been his biggest fan but up until the second half of this year's final there was a lot to like about what we saw from this Galway team this year and the epic win over Tipp will live long in the memory. Players don't usually produce a rousing performance like that unless they're onside with the manager so it's a bit confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

Cunningham gone.

Best of luck to him. Regardless of people's opinions on his management nobody spoke ill of him as a person.

Best part of 2 months wasted on this saga.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

It's a shame it's come to this but there's no way AC would've been able to manage the players after so much messiness! Out of curiosity, I wonder what 6 players would've voted for him to stay? I hope they bring in someone good (is that even the right word to use?!) now because after this there will be a lot of pressure on Galway to win the AI next year (because of getting rid of their manager).

Apparently ( I say 'apparently' as I haven't actually read it yet). AC released a statement saying there were a lot of players with "personal agendas". Pity it's ended up like this!

(I say all this with zero knowledge of hurling, just posting as I find it interesting and I'm from Galway so there's a lot of talk about it here atm!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭zetecescort

CT9F3QwWIAE2fwF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Galway have some high profile players who seem to think they can rule the county squad. Galway might be better off without these lads and should have held onto Cunningham. By all accounts at least 1 of the main players driving the revolt is a sub who had his day. Their advisors in the GPA are trouble makers for past 10 yrs in their own counties.

Whoever comes in now can't be a yes man or be a players manager. We need a strong figure who'll pick players on merit and form, will not engage in any inter-club ****. It's hard to see anyone within the county who'll be able to take this forward.

The fact Mattie Kenny is the first name being touted worries me hugely. A good coach but a divisive figure within the county and has already been part of a failed setup. Whoever comes in has to have a respectable track record within the game.

I admire Cunningham for not going down without a fight but this saga has the potential to knock us back a long way. I don't believe Cunningham was the man to lead us to glory, that is not to excuse the players for their pathetic 2nd half capitulation against Kilkenny but while I do believe he improved the mentality of the team and blooded a lot of new talent, tactically he clearly wasn't up to it when the pressure came on but from county board down this has been handled appallingly.

Like 2012, since half time in the All-Ireland things have gone quickly downhill and from the hope the Tipperary victory gave everyone there seems to be despair at the situation now. The next move from the county board will shape the future of Galway hurling for the next decade or more and personally I have zero trust in anyone involved to get it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Rob Thomas

Once the players moved against him this was always ultimately going yo be the outcome. Regardless of the rights and wrongs of it, when the dressing room moves against him the manager has to go.

The players have been brave to take this step, however they could have shown a little more class in the way they did it. The county board have been shocking in all this and I place the largest amount of blame on them. They should never have ratified a manager the players did not support.

I'm sorry for Cunningham, he gave his all and delivered two great years out of four but really he had done all he could with this group. It's a pity he allowed himself to drop to the same level as the players in his comments in his statement. Pat Holmes and Noel Connolly could have given him tips in taking the higher ground and walking with their dignity intact. The players he criticised tonight gave him many great performances.

Galway hurling is as far from an all Ireland as ever tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sabhail

Rob Thomas wrote: »
    Once the players moved against him this was always ultimately going yo be the outcome. Regardless of the rights and wrongs of it, when the dressing room moves against him the manager has to go.

The players have been brave to take this step, however they could have shown a little more class in the way they did it. The county board have been shocking in all this and I place the largest amount of blame on them. They should never have ratified a manager the players did not support.

I'm sorry for Cunningham, he gave his all and delivered two great years out of four but really he had done all he could with this group. It's a pity he allowed himself to drop to the same level as the players in his comments in his statement. Pat Holmes and Noel Connolly could have given him tips in taking the higher ground and walking with their dignity intact. The players he criticised tonight gave him many great performances.

Galway hurling is as far from an all Ireland as ever tonight

I thought that first re his statement, but maybe he's done a favour for the new mgr in saying what he did. Think they should get someone from outside county if they can given what appears to be the mess within county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

I can't understand why this all erupted considering where ye were at half time in an all irl final, i'm old school and don't believe in player power to a point but can understand if a panel moves against a manager that clearly has brought a team as far as he can but in Cunninghams case [though he wasn;t a million miles away from that]surely deserved one last shot at it.Galway remind me of Limerick with all the in house fighting and after our troubles in 2010 it can take a few yrs to get sorted look at cork i'm not blaming their strike on their current problems but i'd guess it didn't help.
    I feel with these actions the players are heaping a lot of pressure onto themselves.
    I hope it works out for Galway cos as always there's some serious talent coming through again with the minors etc.