Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

L'prof wrote: »
    Didn't look wrecked yesterday to me. Had a decent game, but his finishing was atrocious. It's just a pity as they could have won yesterday despite not playing very well had he been a bit more clinical.
    He was out on his feet by the end of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

My quick match analysis...rushing off to work.

Debuchy's best game yet since he is back from injury and Campbell played decent but ofc Campbell for me is no Walcott or Ox.
    We were obviously overran in midfield in 1st half due to Wenger's tactics of Campbell and Sanchez hogging the line to much...
    At 1-0 down I would've been happy with a point but when we got the goal I really thought we deserved all 3 with the way we went for it.
    Oh Kos was to blame for the 1st goal not Mert as some people have said on social media.
    We def missed Ramsey in that game yesterday, his engine is def needed for that type of derby.
    While Giroud missed 2 great chances I still thought he had a very good game.
    Now another break and hopefully some of our walking wounded will get closer to returning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Efb, you seriously need to take off your Ollie coloured spectacles. His contribution to the game was decent yesterday, but his finishing was atrocious, and that's his main job as a striker! I think you should accept that, and move on... Your constant defending of him is rather tiresome... And I usually like your posts and Giroud, before anyone asks! I just think this time, Giroud was poor where it counts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Giroud isn't a world class finisher but something he is very good at is getting himself in the positions to get chances and that's a skill in itself.

For example look at Robbie Keane for Ireland over the years, some very ignorant people would claim that all he does is score "tap ins" but has anyone notice that we haven't had any other striker in living memory that was able to get those sort of goals?

Getting yourself into these positions is a skill in itself and Giroud seems to have that, it's obviously a great skill to have but it leaves yourself open to criticism from certain people who don't understand this. He does take a few chances to score but he gets himself in the positions to get these chances.

I have a theory that if Arsenal replaced Giroud with a striker that scored exactly the same amount as him over a season but that maybe only got himself in a position to get 2 good chances in a match but would score one of them everyone would rate him as world class. But Giroud who'll maybe get in a position to have 6 good chances but only score one is regarded as something of a waster. Yet for the sake of argument they both end up with the same number of goals.

Look at Giroud's goals to games ratio over the last couple of years. It's absolutely top class. He does waste a few chances but he's great at getting himself in the positions to get these chances and to me that's a very under rated skill and possibly one that some people are ignorant of.

I don't think he's quiet world class but to me there's only one truly world class striker in the premiership and that's Aguero. Giroud is as good as any of the rest of them.

emmetlego wrote: »
    Efb, you seriously need to take off your Ollie coloured spectacles. His contribution to the game was decent yesterday, but his finishing was atrocious, and that's his main job as a striker! I think you should accept that, and move on... Your constant defending of him is rather tiresome... And I usually like your posts and Giroud, before anyone asks! I just think this time, Giroud was poor where it counts!

His finishing wasn't immaculate yesterday but he created a great header that hit the bar, and lloris made a great save for another

I'm not saying he's the worlds greatest striker- but to call him shît, is also wide of the mark

I'll defend those I feel are being unfairly treated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

efb wrote: »
    His finishing wasn't immaculate yesterday but he created a great header that hit the bar, and lloris made a great save for another

I'm not saying he's the worlds greatest striker- but to call him shît, is also wide of the mark

I'll defend those I feel are being unfairly treated

Who did that??
    I fully agree that is ridiculous.

Giroud isn't a world class finisher but something he is very good at is getting himself in the positions to get chances and that's a skill in itself.

For example look at Robbie Keane for Ireland over the years, some very ignorant people would claim that all he does is score "tap ins" but has anyone notice that we haven't had any other striker in living memory that was able to get those sort of goals?

Getting yourself into these positions is a skill in itself and Giroud seems to have that, it's obviously a great skill to have but it leaves yourself open to criticism from certain people who don't understand this. He does take a few chances to score but he gets himself in the positions to get these chances.

I have a theory that if Arsenal replaced Giroud with a striker that scored exactly the same amount as him over a season but that maybe only got himself in a position to get 2 good chances in a match but would score one of them everyone would rate him as world class. But Giroud who'll maybe get in a position to have 6 good chances but only score one is regarded as something of a waster. Yet for the sake of argument they both end up with the same number of goals.

Look at Giroud's goals to games ratio over the last couple of years. It's absolutely top class. He does waste a few chances but he's great at getting himself in the positions to get these chances and to me that's a very under rated skill and possibly one that some people are ignorant of.

I don't think he's quiet world class but to me there's only one truly world class striker in the premiership and that's Aguero. Giroud is as good as any of the rest of them.

This 100%

2ndcoming wrote: »
    In a nutshell, Giroud was sh1te. Lloris looked like a liability 90% of the time balls went into their box and Giroud also had the most creative player in Europe putting chances on a plate for him. Repeatedly. In that situation, not scoring is a crime. I hope that makes it clearer.

Last page back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Last page back
    Any links?

Last page back

Aha, to me he is talking about yesterdays game only and not his overall play which "Giroud is ****" implies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Theres a huge difference between saying Giroud is sh1te all the time and saying he was sh1te yesterday tbf which is what 2ndcoming meant (I think)

wonga77 wrote: »
    Theres a huge difference between saying Giroud is sh1te all the time and saying he was sh1te yesterday tbf which is what 2ndcoming meant (I think)

Yep, seems like arguing for arguing sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

wonga77 wrote: »

pretty sure 2ndcoming thinks he's pretty poor in general, not just yesterday

Giroud is far from ****! He's very very good, but his finishing yesterday was poor!

ronjo wrote: »
    Aha, to me he is talking about yesterdays game only and not his overall play which "Giroud is ****" implies.

He wasn't shyte yesterday either

Maybe I'm looking in the wrong place for throughout opinion

Giroud is far from ****! He's very very good, but his finishing yesterday was poor!

Thats the consensus among 99% of fans I reckon so maybe its time to move him.

Hopefully Santi is feel better and as many players get a rest as possible over the next week.
    Wenger surely has to consider resting Sanchez for West Brom game if he plays two more for Chile before then.

Yes we know thats your opinion but it wasnt fair of you to accuse someone of saying he is sh*t when that wasnt what was said in what you quoted.

Wenger even said after OG was furious with himself for missing all those chances!!! Let it go, will ye!!!

ronjo wrote: »
    Yes we know thats your opinion but it wasnt fair of you to accuse someone of saying he is sh*t when that wasnt what was said in what you quoted.

I said call him shyte- he did. Twist it all you want. He said it. I disagree- but because I go against the lazy held consensus I get lambasted

Wenger even said after OG was furious with himself for missing all those chances!!! Let it go, will ye!!!

Wouldn't be much of a striker if he wasn't my tbf

If somebody has the time, could they please do a mash-up of Giroud's misses from yesterday and the "ah here, leave it out" lady voiceover!!! That would be hilarious!!!

4 shots off target, won't be long

Nooooooooo it was hard enough watching them yesterday.

I was actually celebrating the one that went wide for a fraction of a second.

Is Welbeck due back before Christmas does anyone know?

4 shots off target, won't be long

Chill out FFS!

Xanax?

Chill out FFS!

I think its time to step away from the computer for an hour or do before you do either it or yourself some harm :pac:

So after that performance and result yesterday how do people perceive our chances of winning the league?

Anyone changed their opinions/more worried/more confident even??

Still think it's City's to lose, we're best placed of the rest