Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web Summit quits Dublin

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

dubscottie wrote: »
    What? Do you want to type that again so us that did not attend the rip off, summit or other can understand the bollox you just posted?

ill explain.
    a number of people on this thread called me Paddy, after the guy that runs the summit. They were of course making fun implying that because Im actually defending the thing, I must be Paddy himself... or connected to him and his company in some way. This is not the case so I decided to take the piss out of their lowbrow and lazy humour by form of replication and by twisting around language with things such as "ha has" instead of "lols" and a few "hurr hurr hurr"s to imply the noise I would insinuate they make in real life after posting. Of course they dont make that noise, but Im saying they might as well because the only people that would laugh are themselves and like-minded individuals.

Then I added in an edit because I thought about it and thought "due to how unoriginal and unfunny they are and the forum this is in, one person will probably go 'take it easy paddy' as if they have seen an amazing opportunity for humour" (Im using sarcasm here btw). And then I added in the "mad banter" bit because that is kind of a colloquialism nowadays for not actually being funny.
    I hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

my friend wrote: »
    The problem for viewers of the LLS is that Tubs will feel that he can relate to Paddy Cosgrave , 'persecuted talent' 'victims of begrudgery' and so on

To those that claim RTE is a puppet for the government you are simply showing your ignorance of Irish politics, RTE is loaded with stickies and FF heads, not sure they'd do the governments bidding

The sticky thing in RTE was 30 years ago!!!

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

The sticky thing in RTE was 30 years ago!!!

They're still in there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

BMMachine wrote: »
    ill explain.
    a number of people on this thread called me Paddy, after the guy that runs the summit. They were of course making fun implying that because Im actually defending the thing, I must be Paddy himself... or connected to him and his company in some way. This is not the case so I decided to take the piss out of their lowbrow and lazy humour by form of replication and by twisting around language with things such as "ha has" instead of "lols" and a few "hurr hurr hurr"s to imply the noise I would insinuate they make in real life after posting. Of course they dont make that noise, but Im saying they might as well because the only people that would laugh are themselves and like-minded individuals.

Then I added in an edit because I thought about it and thought "due to how unoriginal and unfunny they are and the forum this is in, one person will probably go 'take it easy paddy' as if they have seen an amazing opportunity for humour" (Im using sarcasm here btw). And then I added in the "mad banter" bit because that is kind of a colloquialism nowadays for not actually being funny.
    I hope this helps

No need to explain. Basically you attempted a really bad pisstake.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,656 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Thats absolutely not what happened.

Irish people support endeavour and the fruits of hard work, if we didn't, we wouldnt have a country positioned where it is in the world market.

Unlike other races
    , we just dont tolerate d1ckheads. Ever.

What other races, are we not all part of the human race?

Plus, Ireland were in 24th position in the most recent Global competitiveness report, and only 11th in the EU. Hardly an amazing position.

Paddy milks taxpayer
    Paddy quits Dublin
    Paddy quits Sharon
    Tubs blows Paddy
    Paddy quits Tubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Paddy milks taxpayer
    Paddy quits Dublin
    Paddy quits Sharon
    Tubs blows Paddy
    Paddy quits Tubs
    Weckler cries in corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

That's her done lads, take her away!

*bangs roof*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Ctrl Alt Delete

What other races, are we not all part of the human race?

Plus, Ireland were in 24th position in the most recent Global competitiveness report, and only 11th in the EU. Hardly an amazing position.

Considering we are small island with a tiny population and there are 200 odd countries in the world 28 of which are in the EU I would say 24th and 11th respectively Is damn good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Considering we are small island with a tiny population and there are 200 odd countries in the world 28 of which are in the EU I would say 24th and 11th respectively Is damn good
    Well I'd imagine that Luxembourg, which has about a tenth of our population and ranks 20th and 8th respectively must be ecstatic.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

No need to explain. Basically you attempted a really bad pisstake.

in yours eyes. in mine its pretty much on the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Well I'd imagine that Luxembourg, which has about a tenth of our population and ranks 20th and 8th respectively must be ecstatic.
    It must be said, The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has certain advantages which contribute to its prosperity

BMMachine wrote: »
    in yours eyes. in mine its pretty much on the money

Have you watched their Lisbon promo video?

The video is all about choices and how Web Summit chose to move to Lisbon because it's "time to reject stagnation". I guess what the promo is doing is acknowledging that it was Web Summit's choice(they weren't forced), while simultaneously kicking Ireland in the teeth by calling us stagnated, which is not true!

I sort of get the feeling that Paddy may have a grudge against a lot of our TDs because of the failings of his previous micandidate business which was proven to basically be a rip off/scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,656 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

How many of the 200 odd are in the 3rd / developing world?
    28th considering various incentives (tax and otherwise) isn't anything to write home about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

smash wrote: »

I sort of get the feeling that Paddy may have a grudge

the apt poster boy from the nation of begrugers...

Good Lad Paddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I like Verified by Visa. :(

17th out of 36 countries in the OECD happiness index, so I guess it must be full of unrealistic people too :D:D:D:D

Mr.S wrote: »
    No doubt someone is going to run a new large tech / digital / media conference in Dublin now that Web Summit is gone, hopefully 1 takes off!

I'm hoping Tech Crunch will make an appearance http://techcrunch.com/event-type/disrupt/

How many of the 200 odd are in the 3rd / developing world?
    28th considering various incentives (tax and otherwise) isn't anything to write home about.

It is when you consider we have a total population that is just 0.063% of the total world population

I'm hoping Tech Crunch will make an appearance http://techcrunch.com/event-type/disrupt/

Won't anyone attend my 'IOT world Conference' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

It must be said, The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has certain advantages which contribute to its prosperity
    Not natural resources - basically those advantages have been developed internally. My point was, however, that population size is not really a determinant in competitiveness.

Off topic, I know, but Ireland does leave a lot to be desired economically. One area where it is certainly not competitive is salary levels for skilled or specialized labour. Our 'progressive' tax system basically means you're better off earning anywhere else once you get to a pretty modest salary level and why many people simply leave once their careers reach that certain level.

But if all you want is get people off the register and into low-paid, tech support battery farms, then it's no problem.

Won't anyone attend my 'IOT world Conference' ?

It doesn't sound 'punchy' enough... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭vintagecosmos

Have you watched their Lisbon promo video?

The video is all about choices and how Web Summit chose to move to Lisbon because it's "time to reject stagnation". I guess what the promo is doing is acknowledging that it was Web Summit's choice(they weren't forced), while simultaneously kicking Ireland in the teeth by calling us stagnated, which is not true!

I sort of get the feeling that Paddy may have a grudge against a lot of our TDs because of the failings of his previous micandidate business which was proven to basically be a rip off/scam.

That micandidate link is a real eye opener. Read the comments where it says they claimed to have "patented" email software to get 98% delivery rate. Its an offence to misuse the term patent...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭dbit

ITs not like we are over charging at events of this nature or anything like that lol . Some one call Garth Brooks tell him he can have the spot next year lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,363 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So how did Paddy's march on the Dail go last night? Was it a bloodless coup or did he half to crack some heads?

I have an image in my head that it went something like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Good Irish Times article on it, starting with
    Au revoir, Web Summit - it’s time for you to go
    Organisers need to take it elsewhere to learn maybe some of their ‘problems’ are self-generated
    Web Summit, from its first year to now, ranks as one of the most colossally disorganised events I’ve ever been to. And organisers seem to alienate nearly everyone they work with, every year (many of them refuse to be involved again).

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/technology/au-revoir-web-summit-it-s-time-for-you-to-go-1.2418906

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭dloob

dbit wrote: »
    ITs not like we are over charging at events of this nature or anything like that lol . Some one call Garth Brooks tell him he can have the spot next year lol.

Not as much as Lisbon at least.
    Have you seen how much some of their hotels prices have gone up by for the summit next year?
    It's nearly 400% in some cases!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

the Lisbon Lyin' bastards so to speak