Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

I can't believe the outrage at a game we never had any hope going into. We were always going to lose this one. I still think we'll qualify. We'll win both games by 2 or 3 goals and get the runners up spot... That's if Bayern don't cock up and lose to both of them!!!

When I knew Theo was out along with Bellerin and Ox was gone as back up, our direct running was all taken away, and this was crucial in our win last day out.

They are a killing machine and they were in top form. I assure you, there'll be big clubs beaten by bigger scores by Munchen this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

emmetlego wrote: »
    I can't believe the outrage at a game we never had any hope going into. We were always going to lose this one. I still think we'll qualify. We'll win both games by 2 or 3 goals and get the runners up spot... That's if Bayern don't cock up and lose to both of them!!!

When I knew Theo was out along with Bellerin and Ox was gone as back up, our direct running was all taken away, and this was crucial in our win last day out.

They are a killing machine and they were in top form. I assure you, there'll be big clubs beaten by bigger scores by Munchen this year!

I'd rather we were out of all the cups and totally focused on the EPL.
    However that defending was unforgivable and shows the lack of decent back-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

It's grand. It's just us being pragmatic for a change.

A huge amount if defending is about sheer effort. That was a training match. Even Bayern stopped trying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

farna_boy wrote: »
    Reflecting on the game a little more, I wonder was the main problem last night that our midfield were essentially absent?

Cazorla and Sanchez were poor, I'm not sure about Coquelin but I don't think I heard his name until the final 20 minutes and Campbell was only so-so (Ozil had a good game though).

I know the defenders ultimately made the mistakes that lead to the goals but if the midfield had put in a better shift, the defence wouldn't have been under so much constant pressure.

I wonder if this is a common theme? In most games we win, we tend to dominate midfield and so the defence isn't under so much pressure because the midfield is closing down players, keeping possession or simply not allowing crosses and passes to come in. This wasn't happening last night though and so the defence was under constant threat and pressure meaning that a goal was almost inevitable.

Example: 1st goal
    1st_goal_vs_bayern.png

How does Alacantara have so much time to put in a cross? What the hell is Cazorla doing?

2nd Example: 3rd goal
    3rd_goal_vs_bayern.png

For a start, Monreal is marking two players and Cazorla is just brushed off the ball. If you watch the video (on Arsenalist) you would also see Campbell and Sanchez strolling around the place even after we lost the ball.

3rd Example: Alaba Shot
    alaba_shot.png

Look at our midfield. Seriously. Now it looks like the ball is just after coming out to Alaba, but no it was actually closer to the half way line before this screenshot. Why are the midfield so deep? They are all currently strolling out at this stage as well by the way. Why aren't they making any attempt yo push up the field? Alaba has all the time in the world to take the shot and there is only a half arsed attempt made to close him down.

Agreed our midfield weren't great at holding onto the ball at all meaning our defenders were under pressure all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Agree with all this, we might get away with that back 4 we played last night against the lower table bpl sides but against Munich it's clearly not good enough. We need to get rid of Debuchy and call back Jenkinson imo.

If only Koscielny could stay fit for more than 3 or 4 games at a time as well. He really compliments Gabriel and Mert when he plays with either one.

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    @efb the amount you post in this thread is a bit ott, given the fact your posts have little or no substance to them

Anyone else want to back seat mod me???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

efb wrote: »
    Anyone else want to back seat mod me???
    How is that back seat modding. All he said was that you make a LOT of posts in this thread, and the figures back that up. And I think everyone can agree not everything you post is Arsenal related and very few are longer than single or double sentences.

Quazzie wrote: »
    How is that back seat modding. All he said was that you make a LOT of posts in this thread, and the figures back that up. And I think everyone can agree not everything you post is Arsenal related and very few are longer than single or double sentences.

He said it was OTT, what non football was there???

If it's a one sentence point why ramble???

It seems unless you are singing from the one hymn sheet people seem to take issue

I take my instructions from the mods in that regard

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    @efb the amount you post in this thread is a bit ott, given the fact your posts have little or no substance to them

Ironic you talk about no substance with nothing to back up your statement btw

gosplan wrote: »
    No, people, just no.

We conceded 5 last night because we were jogging around the pitch in an away game to one of the most dangerous teams on the planet.

Whining about it misses the point that it was exactly what we needed to do.

Gabriel's mistake for the first was the problem. Then it becomes a training session.

The instructions from the boss at that point should have been

No sprinting!

No dangerous challenges!

I agree 100%

We have a big game this weekend why do possible damage needlessly chasing a lost cause??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

He said it was OTT, what non football was there???

If it's a one sentence point why ramble???

It seems unless you are singing from the one hymn sheet people seem to take issue

I take my instructions from the mods in that regard
    I agree 100%

We have a big game this weekend why do possible damage needlessly chasing a lost cause??
    3 posts in a row, with #2 being a perfect example of a post with no substance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Ehm your own post history alone backs up my statement :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,257 ✭✭✭omega man

Take it outside lads ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I logged on too see a lot of pages of posts (which I won't read)

2 points...............

1) we must have lost with this amount of activity

2) do some lads only have Brodband after a defeat or how does it work???????!

I agree 100%

And that's the thing that shocks me. So many people buying into the lazy narrative from RTE last night.

'It's a disgrace Bill, ashamed they should be.'

No, people no. We've counted the cost of European efforts too many times.

A proper league challenge and no one will care about last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Said it last night it's only quite when things are going well because a certain group of posters are busy sharpening the knives for when we lose

I know United and Liverpool fans are a little delusional and mental but so are a certain amount of arsenal fans , heard someone say over at the west ham game that wenger should have gone long ago and Pardew should be in .......I nearly died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Bloody hell, that's 20 minutes of my life I won't get back reading all that

Last night was shambolic but I kind of agree with Gosplan. It was really like the number one narrative was 'no more injuries" which is really crap for the fans who spent a fortune getting there and is only remotely justifiable if we win on Sunday.

Even if we had won last night we would still need to win the last two games so no major ground lost.

Said it last night it's only quite when things are going well because a certain group of posters are busy sharpening the knives for when we lose

I know United and Liverpool fans are a little delusional and mental but so are a certain amount of arsenal fans , heard someone say over at the west ham game that wenger should have gone long ago and Pardew should be in .......I nearly died

Wenger and the club have roughy that on themselves though.

They didn't prioritise trophies and people have grown impatient.

Two things to remember:

1: while the club was focused on the future, supporters were shelling out record prices for the present

2: it's easier to say 'jogging around and not trying vrs Bayern was correct' when you didn't just spend a grand going over and back to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Of course I feel sorry for the fans it would be ridiculous not , but look that is the pitfalls of football in general for every 5-1 defeat in Munich you have a 1-0 in the Bernabeu etc

I'm talking about people posting this player is ****e and that player aint fit to wear the shirt daily mail type stuff sometimes in here, we had a plan last night and unfortunatley we were undone by an early munich goal up to last week we'd a settled back four

Take 2 out of that and put 2 players lacking in match sharpness (especially debuchy) and come up against one of the best attacks in europe and you're going to have a bad time, But we did try and almost got back to 4-2 there at one , hell we'd a ****ing goal disallowed at 1-0 how different things might be

If we go and balls up the NLD i'll gladly put my hand up and say I was wrong but until then i'm sticking to my guns we have a great side here and things just didn't go our way in Munich last night

Of course I feel sorry for the fans it would be ridiculous not , but look that is the pitfalls of football in general for every 5-1 defeat in Munich you have a 1-0 in the Bernabeu etc

I'm talking about people posting this player is ****e and that player aint fit to wear the shirt daily mail type stuff sometimes in here, we had a plan last night and unfortunatley we were undone by an early munich goal up to last week we'd a settled back four

Take 2 out of that and put 2 players lacking in match sharpness (especially debuchy) and come up against one of the best attacks in europe and you're going to have a bad time, But we did try and almost got back to 4-2 there at one , hell we'd a ****ing goal disallowed at 1-0 how different things might be

If we go and balls up the NLD i'll gladly put my hand up and say I was wrong but until then i'm sticking to my guns we have a great side here and things just didn't go our way in Munich last night

Well we aren't as good as BM, that's the cold hard fact

We can't challenge on all fronts, we are in a good position in the league, let's focus on that

I logged on too see a lot of pages of posts (which I won't read)

2 points...............

1) we must have lost with this amount of activity

2) do some lads only have Brodband after a defeat or how does it work???????!

Some people only criticise, Eamon Dumphy wannabes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

MOD. Far too much personalisation of posts today, there is an ignore function for a reason. If you don't like someone's posts, put them on ignore, it's unfair to single out individual posters, no matter how annoying you find them or their posting style. You all, I'd imagine, support the same team, who are doing relatively well, hefty reverses to German team aside, so it seems like a total waste of energy to bicker and back bite with each other. If you think someone is trolling, report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

And that's the thing that shocks me. So many people buying into the lazy narrative from RTE last night.

'It's a disgrace Bill, ashamed they should be.'

No, people no. We've counted the cost of European efforts too many times.

A proper league challenge and no one will care about last night.

Agree BUT it makes 4th place meaningless too and our eagerness to achieve it in the past years was fake. I have always said if we're in it then it should be to win it but clearly our panels of players have been too small and not good enough.

Disagree completely. We get extra cash for that alone, and being in the UCL attracts the better players. Surely you can see that?

Wenger and the club have roughy that on themselves though.

They didn't prioritise trophies and people have grown impatient.

Two things to remember:

1: while the club was focused on the future, supporters were shelling out record prices for the present

2: it's easier to say 'jogging around and not trying vrs Bayern was correct' when you didn't just spend a grand going over and back to watch it.

No one puts a gun to their head, they go to support Arsenal

Absolutely correct, but it does give them a very f****ng valid reason to be very p1ss3d off!!!

Disagree completely. We get extra cash for that alone, and being in the UCL attracts the better players. Surely you can see that?

If we're only trying to achieve fourth place in order to get more money into our coffers which we probably won't spend then it's the height of treachery towards the paying fans.
    Who do you think would want to join that team last night with our defence in a shambles?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

Who do you think would want to join that team last night with our defence in a shambles?

Ozil. Sanchez.

Absolutely correct, but it does give them a very f****ng valid reason to be very p1ss3d off!!!

Yes, not posters in another country.

If f we don't bother against Zagreb when I'm over I'll understand why

symbolic wrote: »
    Ozil. Sanchez.

Henry, RVP, Nasri etc.

Watch this space. As someone said earlier we could lose our good players if they see our lack of ambition.

My ambition is to win the EPL this season as i've said countless times.