Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Several past players have the same opinion and they are right imo.

Do you think we should have won last night??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Try not to read too much into the scoreline against a ruthless killing machine like Bayern.

Why cant we not be like Bayern? The infrastructure is there at the club to make it happen. That should be the clubs aim, but our transfer policy makes this goal impossible to achieve. Instead we rely on 2nd rate players who are too inconsistent to bring any long term success at the highest level. If I was Ozil, Kos or Sanchez I would be looking for a way out of the club, these players deserve to be competing with the best in Europe, we are a million miles off that. Its always one step forward and two steps back with us the past I dont know how many seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

efb wrote: »
    How often had it happened?? Thought this was a new "record" according to you???

6 nil at Chelsea.
    6 - 3 at City.
    5 - 1 at Pool.
    4 - 4 at Newcastle after being 4 up.

Often enough.
    Last night was our worst in the CL.

Gab and Mert are only good with Kos beside them. It's like the island parable you can't leave them on their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Never said that.
    I mentioned our soft defending. And it was soft.

6 nil at Chelsea.
    6 - 3 at City.
    5 - 1 at Pool.

Often enough.

When we'e they???

Never said that.
    I mentioned our soft defending. And it was soft.

Soft for a reason- best defenders out- up against one of the exceptionional teams in Europe

Watch yourself.
    They don't like criticism around here.

I honestly cant believe some of the comments I am reading. Some nearly even justifying last nights massacre. I'm disgusted by yet another tame, gutless display by these players.

Name them? If you are going to say Wright I'll just pass

Adams, Right, Meson and Winterbourne off the top of my head.

Wright is his name and Winterburn

Didn't hear Winterburn or Adams criticise the team? Link??

If ye want dogged determination with low skill level support Stoke

Its not the result its the manner of the defeat. That should never be accepted at Arsenal but it has happened far too often over the years.

What alternative reality do you live in? You do realize that's league winning form?
    Since January this year:

Koscienly clean sheets 18/36 = 50%
    Mertescaker clean sheets 15/34 = 44%
    Gabriel clean sheets 6/17 = 35%

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Its not the result its the manner of the defeat. That should never be accepted at Arsenal but it has happened far too often over the years.

We lost 5-1 away to Bayern - not the end of the world

6 nil at Chelsea.
    6 - 3 at City.
    5 - 1 at Pool.

Often enough.
    8-2.

8-2.

That was like 4 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

0-6 Derby County 1899

symbolic wrote: »
    0-6 Derby County 1899

We should never Forget

Were you at the match Tayto???

We got rammed!!! 🐑 😜

Since Gabriel signed:
    Gabriel/Koscielny: 4/13 clean sheets, 30%
    Gabriel/Mertesacker: 1/3 cleans sheets, 33% (:pac:).

Since Gabriel signed:
    Gabriel/Koscielny: 4/13 clean sheets, 30%
    Gabriel/Mertesacker: 1/3 cleans sheets, 33% (:pac:).

Goals conceded??

I honestly cant believe some of the comments I am reading. Some nearly even justifying last nights massacre. I'm disgusted by yet another tame, gutless display by these players.
    It's basically this:

http://img.pandawhale.com/post-33707-nothing-to-see-here-gif-please-BeZM.gif

Skill and determination famously being completely mutually exclusive.:rolleyes:

That was like 4 years ago
    And it just keeps right on happening.

Goals conceded??

Jesus, I get my laptop working for one afternoon and yous have me tortured. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Honestly not that fussed about the match last night. When you consider the players we were missing and Bayern home record it really shouldn't be a shock we lost by a wide margin. Before the match started i messaged a mate saying we'd lose 3-1.

Playing counter football with Giroud up top will always be a tough task. Defensively we were poor but i feel a lot of that was down to having no outlet out wide or up front. In our last game with Bayern we had Theo's pace which tested the Bayern defence and forced them back which then allowed us time to breath.

We were outclassed so no point trying to scapegoat individual players. The score is a bit harsh though.. We should have scored 3 goals with the chances we had.

Overall i'm interested in competitions that we can actually win.

... Like the league
    ... Which we're joint top of.
    ... :)

Are you trying to say we have a high skill level? We were absolutely murdered last night, it was a stroll in the park for Bayern. That was a high skill level. We can only dream of playing like that on a consistent basis. It was men against boys last night. Luckily we are up against an average Spurs side on Sunday.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

jesus lads, 5 pages in 2 hours!!! I thought that something happened!!!

Are you trying to say we have a high skill level? We were absolutely murdered last night, it was a stroll in the park for Bayern. That was a high skill level. We can only dream of playing like that on a consistent basis. It was men against boys last night. Luckily we are up against an average Spurs side on Sunday.

We have a high skills in the BPL if not the highest IMHO

They are a class above

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Honestly not that fussed about the match last night. When you consider the players we were missing and Bayern home record it really shouldn't be a shock we lost by a wide margin. Before the match started i messaged a mate saying we'd lose 3-1.

Playing counter football with Giroud up top will always be a tough task. Defensively we were poor but i feel a lot of that was down to having no outlet out wide or up front. In our last game with Bayern we had Theo's pace which tested the Bayern defence and forced them back which then allowed us time to breath.

We were outclassed so no point trying to scapegoat individual players. The score is a bit harsh though.. We should have scored 3 goals with the chances we had.

Overall i'm interested in competitions that we can actually win.

... Like the league
    ... Which we're joint top of.
    ... :)
    Can I get an Amen!!!

Irish Aris wrote: »
    jesus lads, 5 pages in 2 hours!!! I thought that something happened!!!

We lost its bitch fight central!!!

You SLAG!!!

Goals conceded:
    Gabriel: 19 in 17 - 1.11 per game
    Koscielny: 30 in 36 - 0.83 per game
    Mertesacker: 32 in 35 - 0.91 per game. (Was 0.79 til last night :P)