If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

RayCun wrote: »
    Myles Splitz| Tallaght AC
    RayCun | Brothers Pearse
    Dubgal72| Bray Runners/Sli Cualann
    Firedance|Dunboyne AC|

I don't mind! Great idea

Anyone down Naas / West Wicklow direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Anyone down Naas / West Wicklow direction?

Lakeshore Striders are in Blessington, don't know if any of them are on boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Lakeshore Striders are in Blessington, don't know if any of them are on boards

thewolf used to be with them so might be able to point people in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Lakeshore Striders are in Blessington, don't know if any of them are on boards[/quote
    thewolf used to be with them so might be able to point people in the right direction.

Thanks. I was thinking of them. They would be pretty close to where I'll be living soon but I don't know anyone running with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

I kinda have a "need to fill the gap since Monday" bluesy type of a feeling. Does it sound familiar?

So, me and my daughter went to the local parkrun to see the fancy dresses running around. She loves that type of stuff and put on a nice dress herself. Obviously not her trick-or-treating dress because that was for the evening only :)

It was nice to be cheering and clapping and "paying some back" from last Monday. Some feckers run 3-4 minutes faster in a pirate costume, than I'll ever be able, but that's besides the point.

And I registered for the Jingle Bells 5k :) for me and the better half.

And I looked up some "how to get tuned up for a 5k in 4 weeks" schemas, but then I saw the boss saying to take it easy in November. Might have to do my training runs wearing a similar pirate costume to not be found out! :D

Other than that, no more left-over niggles from the race other than an odd sore ball-of-the-foot on the left. Suits me right running it using my old worn runners (which have since been retired). Looking forward to getting back out, maybe tomorrow for a few easy miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Hi Nop

I kinda have a "need to fill the gap since Monday" bluesy type of a feeling. Does it sound familiar?

And I looked up some "how to get tuned up for a 5k in 4 weeks" schemas,

Seem to be missing the rest of that post Nop ;). Any thoughts on which 5km schema. Its my next target too and the search is on. Will be back on my feet getting some easy runs in next week along with some more core work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

1. What went well with your training plan?

Disaster sums it up really. I intended to follow HH Intermediate which had 1000 kms total over 18 weeks and I only managed to run 500 Kms as I struggled with injury. The only positive was that I did manage to complete 2 x 20 mile runs and 1 x 18 1/2 miler.

2. What would you do differently with your training?

I was happy with the plan and would use it again.

3. What went well about the race?

I had a very enjoyable run. Started just behind the 3.50 pacers but I took it very conservatively early on as I was so worried my lack of mileage in training would find me out towards the end of the race. I had to stop for a leek in the park second time round and I lost the pacers on resuming running and never got back to them. Felt really good at the 18 mile mark and picked the pace up a bit. Started to get really tired and sore around 24 miles and my last 2 miles were my slowest. But I still ran a negative split.

4. What would you do differently if you could start the race again?

I would definitely not run as conservatively as I did over the first half of the race, I would stick to the pacers like glue. Although I do realise I may well have started to suffer much earlier in the race if I did this on the day.

5. So what next?

I plan on doing a 5 k and 10 k race over the next couple of months. I have an operation at the end of January which I hope will sort out this injury once and for all. Unfortunately I will not be able to run for 6 months after the operation which means I probably won't make the start line for the DCM next year. I will consider training for a marathon abroad later in the year, maybe Malaga which is in December.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Lakeshore Striders are in Blessington, don't know if any of them are on boards[/quote

Thanks. I was thinking of them. They would be pretty close to where I'll be living soon but I don't know anyone running with them.

A clubmate of mine has a contact with them, will get the details and send them on to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Firedance wrote: »

A clubmate of mine has a contact with them, will get the details and send them on to you.

sokay, PMed the kid with contact details already

denis b wrote: »
    Hi Nop

And I looked up some "how to get tuned up for a 5k in 4 weeks" schemas,

Seem to be missing the rest of that post Nop ;). Any thoughts on which 5km schema. Its my next target too and the search is on. Will be back on my feet getting some easy runs in next week along with some more core work.

Hi Denis - not sure what happened.

I was thinking about something like the link below - but primarily focusing on doing the interval sessions and then some nice easy long-ish runs at the weekend, weather and real-life permitting. But then I saw Dubgal's post :eek:

Out of interest, what would you be targeting pace-wise? We might be at similar levels...

http://running.about.com/od/5kracetrainingschedules/a/4-week-Advanced-5k-Schedule.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Myles Splitz| Tallaght AC
    RayCun | Brothers Pearse
    Dubgal72| Bray Runners/Sli Cualann
    Firedance|Dunboyne AC|
    FeenaM|Metro St. Brigid's|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Myles Splitz Tallaght AC
    RayCun Brothers Pearse
    Dubgal72 Bray Runners/Sli Cualann
    Firedance Dunboyne AC
    FeenaM Metro St. Brigid's
    diego_b St. Brendan's AC (Kerry)

nop98 wrote: »

Out of interest, what would you be targeting pace-wise? We might be at similar levels...

http://running.about.com/od/5kracetrainingschedules/a/4-week-Advanced-5k-Schedule.htm

I targeted 5km runs last Sept-Dec and completed the HH schedule around the end of December to try and push a pb. I ran 5 St. Annes Parkruns and moved from 23.33 to 21:00 in that time. I left everything out on the course for that last run and would be surprised if i match it before this Christmas. Have learnt a lot since and probably wasnt the best programme to do and I definitely trained at the wrong intensity levels.

Would like to break 21:00 before end of March and see if I can get to 20:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Myles Splitz Tallaght AC
    RayCun Brothers Pearse
    Dubgal72 Bray Runners/Sli Cualann
    Firedance Dunboyne AC
    FeenaM Metro St. Brigid's
    diego_b St. Brendan's AC (Kerry)
    Emsy1 Finn Valley AC (donegal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭engol

denis b wrote: »
    I targeted 5km runs last Sept-Dec and completed the HH schedule around the end of December to try and push a pb. I ran 5 St. Annes Parkruns and moved from 23.33 to 21:00 in that time. I left everything out on the course for that last run and would be surprised if i match it before this Christmas. Have learnt a lot since and probably wasnt the best programme to do and I definitely trained at the wrong intensity levels.

Would like to break 21:00 before end of March and see if I can get to 20:30.

My pb at a parkrun was 22.57 last May but nothing below 23.11 since. I'd been hoping to get that down to 22.30 but reading your post here is giving me renewed hope I can go better. Have you found a better program to follow since?

engol wrote: »
    My pb at a parkrun was 22.57 last May but nothing below 23.11 since. I'd been hoping to get that down to 22.30 but reading your post here is giving me renewed hope I can go better. Have you found a better program to follow since?

The search has just started and will check other threads before committing as I would definitely need a steer in the right direction as well. I had a look at the programme that Nop suggested and I like the look of it. Last time round I just ran the HH programme way too hard and did not distinguish, or understand, the training aims of each session.

Absolutely no doubt that you will improve your time with the right programme and approach. I am hanging on DG's promise (:)) that our PB's will tumble this winter.

The graduate thread will be interesting to pick up on what everybody else is doing as well.

What went well with your training plan?
    I followed the Boards plan, and proceeded it with 4 weeks of very similar styled training (just to keep hitting the weekly mileage). I think the program was excellent and had no intention whatsoever to reinvent the wheel and come up with something else/different.

My biggest challenge was logistical: try and fit in all the runs around the demands of real life. But with the exception of some post-LSR recovery runs, I managed to squeeze in all sessions. In hindsight, I have been very lucky with no injuries, not even a blister.

What would you do differently with your training?

More discipline around the training paces. I probably ran LSRs too fast, as well as the easy runs. As a result, there wasn't much difference between an easy 5M and "5M @ PMP" sessions. Not sure if this is significant but this was a nagging doubt throughout.

I stopped doing all my cross-training once the program started, which was necessary as otherwise it would not have fit in the week. But I miss the strengthening sessions and change of routine. For a future attempt, I'll probably continuing doing sessions like circuits, as they are excellent for HTFU, morale-boost, and injury prevention.

What went well about the race?
    Having a plan and having thought possible scenarios through. The first 21M went flawless, no small thanks to the 4h-pacers, and my running buddy. The difference between running on your own and in a group is huge. After I ran into trouble at 21M, I managed several kilometers at the required pace but on my own, which felt infinitely harder. But having done the homework during goal-setting week, I was happy enough to just soak it up and enjoy the race.

I was also lucky to run with a strong runner who wasn't too bothered about finishing times. It was nice as distraction and to be able to share water-carrying duties. I had several friends waiting en-route (on very specific points previously agreed) with snacks. It wasn't so much the food/drink, but the friendly face and the ability to break the route up in smaller pieces.

What would you do differently if you could start the race again?
    For a first, probably not much. I missed my time-goal but c'est la vie. For a future run, I'll probably be a little more attached to the outcome, and will want to leave the course with nothing left to give. In hindsight, I needed someone on Nutley Lane to give me good kick up the backside (which meant knowing my goals and understanding racing). Again, not for a first marathon, je ne regrette rien.

What's next?
    Some running for fun until Christmas. I have signed up for Jingle Bells and am going to do parkruns regularly. After Christmas, I want to do a spring half-marathon (it's the only distance I haven't raced since starting marathon training), if at all possible, back to Connemara. Who's up for a 2015 graduates reunion on the Hell of the West?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Loved loved loved reading all your reports. About two weeks before dcm I read through a lot of last years reports and found they really helped me decide what I wanted to achieve on the day. Annapars report really helped me a lot thank you. So here go's with mine.

Arrived down to Dublin on Saturday as we had my nieces birthday party to attend.Got a great nights sleep as my hubby took the kids up to his mothers to stay the night. Sunday we headed into the expo at 11ish. Brilliant buzz about we had a quick look around took a few photos and left. Rested for the rest of the day, my sister took the kids to her house for the night. laid all my gear out and headed to bed at 9pm. Had an okish nights sleep.

Up at 6.45am had my ususal breakfast of porridge. Took a banana and a bagel with me and headed out the door We picked up a friend of mine and then the excitment started to hit in. Arrived into town to meet some of the donegal girls from our fit for life group. We walked up to the wave 3 line together and parted ways as they were going in wave 2. Got into the line for the toielts which was'nt as bad as at the half. Met Mrs Mc and somebody with her not sure who? Wished each other well then I made my way to the start. Had my banana and took two immodium. Hubby was able to stay with me so handed him my twenty layers of clothes and got in position between the 4.30 and 4.40 pacers. Took my first gel. Toulouse,Mrs Mc,chops where all there saw pjd gave him a wave. I think having all u there around me helped me keep calm and not panic or get overwhelmed by how big this whole thing was.

Then we were off I chatted away to chops. We turned onto the keys and I got the first taste of somebody calling my name it was flippin deadly. Lost chops somewhere here as it was crowded. When we got into the park I remember reading here to check yourself and if you where feeling it to pull back but I was fine I was determined to stick with at a 10.30ish pace. A bit of wind at times in the park I took shelter behind two young fellas who I think thought I was stalking them. Took another gel at mile 5. I will never forget coming into Castleknock as long as I live it gives me goosebumps thinking about it. People where screaming my name I was bawling crying like a big dope we went by a house with Molly Malone blaring, more calling of my name it was surreal. Felt fantastic keeping, my nice pace going.

Was busting for the loo so stopped at the loo at chapelizod quickest pee I have ever had. Came around at the bridge here to huge support from my sister and her family the kids had brilliant signs "sweaty Emma is the best Emma" and "giddy Up" Gave them a huge cheer and headed for the tunnel my hubby met me here mile 10 with an open gel so took that. He ran with me for the next 3 miles. He was on as much of a high as me and he was telling about the elite athletes passing him,and was able to tell me how the girls from the club where doing.

I found the crumlin road to be very long and probably the hardest stretch for me, Did anybody else see the two dublin woman here with the dog in the trolley handing out ham sambo's and smoking they where hilarious. "Jaysus Emma ur great have a sambich" I knew i had support at the walkinstown roundabout so that kept me going. My brother and his family where waiting for me. More great banners high 5's I was on top of the world. Up a bit more and Mam and dad where there with my children. My parents where crying I hadn't realised in all of this how proud they where of me. I stopped and gave them all big hugs and kisses Dad gave me some jelly babies and I was off again feeling great keeping in the 10.30 range took a gel at 15 miles.. At 17 miles I heard my husbands voice he was beside me again filled up my water bottles for me as we ran alongside each other he stayed with me for 2 miles gave me a gel at 20 miles and said my sister would meet me at the dreaded roebuck hill. Loved the sign for Terenure sweets and smile if you've no knickers. gave a shout out to the girls with "free beer and bragging rights for a year" took and orange from somebody along here.

I was flagging a bit at 21miles and to my great surprise my brother and his family and a few friends where here they where a sight for sore eyes and they gave me the lift I needed. Do you know I never for one second though I couldn't do it which is gas because I had these thoughts all the time in training. Pushed on to the 22 mile mark and there was my big sis waiting for me she ran along side me up the hill telling me how great I was doing I gave Ray Darcy a big shout out here. After training in the hills of donegal I flew up heartbreak hill. I asked my sister would she stay with me for a bit so she did. She was fantastic I remember her saying you've 3 miles left emma how many times have you done 3 miles.

I remember somewhere at 23 miles seeing the white balloon of the 4.40 pacers in my peripheral. This was the first time I considered what time I was doing. I new I had it in me to come in a head of these guys so put the foot down and shook them off. My sister left me at the rds. I remember seeing lots of people walking but I felt really strong. Nothing could have prepared me for the finishing stretch I felt like I was in "One direction" so many people calling my name. I saw my hubby again here up high hanging out of a pole he screamed at me that the kids where at the next traffic lights. Dad fired the two of them over the barrier they grabbed my hand and they pulled me over the finish line. This moment will live with me forever I was so proud. It was captured in my finishers pix perfectly.

I finished in 4hr38, and danced till 3am in coppers to celebrate :) I was so happy it was a proud day to be a dub the support from strangers was unbelievable. The support from my family and friends was so heartwarming. My husband especially was fantastic I would say he probably ran the guts of a marathon himself on the day chasing me all around the course. I would do it all again in the morning if I could. Almost a week later and I am still on cloud 9.

I could not have achieved this without this thread, training alone was so difficult at times but I never felt lonely. I will miss filling in my sheets and seeing how everyone's getting on, on strava. Thanks Dubgal and all the team u ar amazing.

Love your report, Emsy1! Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Emsy I think I am more impressed with you dancing till 3 in coppers !!! Great report well done :)

Emsy....super report and enjoyed reading about all that you saw and experienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Emsy, loved your race report! Brilliant!

Really feeling the blues today. Going for lunch with a friend which will help pull me out of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

I'm so delighted to read that the support helped you all so much! I loved watching it, and cheering, and catching people at loads of different points.

TFGR, so sorry I missed seeing you. My husband thinks he saw you at two miles, but I had my back to the runners -- i was marshalling and hooshing the crowds off the road.

Well done to all the novices, and to all my club mates in Raheny who all did so well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

My "running stuff" drawer won't close these days - usually half of it is in the wash at any one stage but now it's overflowing - all clean & ready to go.

Better get out there again this week - maybe Wednesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

frash wrote: »
    My "running stuff" drawer won't close these days - usually half of it is in the wash at any one stage but now it's overflowing - all clean & ready to go.

Better get out there again this week - maybe Wednesday

drawer? as in singular? pfft :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,835 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Firedance wrote: »
    drawer? as in singular? pfft :D

If it's less than a press, it's not worth talking about :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

I took the spare room wardrobe for my running gear. All of it. If he ever goes in there for some reason I may move out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Technically, I have a drawer and a rail in the wardrobe devoted to running gear.

The reality is they are lying about in various piles in my bedroom! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Ok Guys
    Today is the day I drag myself out of my Hagan Daas & Curry infused (not in that order) slobfest. I have literally added an inch to my waist in the last week, but my legs feel 100% now so time to get back to action (Slowly, Slowly)!!

I suppose what worked really well for me over the past 4 months was that I had a program which i really stuck too and it delivered on the day.
    I know that I will ramp back up very slowly and will try to hit a number of 5 & 10K's over the next couple of months. However, I just noticed today that the registration for Ballycotton 10 is open on Dec 8th. My best ever time on this was 72M about 5-6 years ago. I remember that I had done a chunk of training, however it wasn't entirely scientific and definitely wasn't following a program.

I have used the race predictor tools to calculate my 10M pace based on my only 2 races this year:
    4M race: 26:40
    DCM: 3:35:40

Its funny because my marathon time says that I should be running the 10M in 76mins whereas my 4M time suggests I should be running it in 70 mins. (the range between 4M and 26M are so significant I am not sure which is the more relevant to use... but am thinking the 4M time is the better predictor?)

Anyway, based on the above, does the above seem like an achievable target? My ultimate aim would be to use this as a springboard into a DCM plan starting in the summer next year to get into the 3:2X's by next October!!

Not sure if I should move this now to another thread, but feel comfortable hanging out around here :)
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

JacEim wrote: »
    Ok Guys
    Today is the day I drag myself out of my Hagan Daas & Curry infused (not in that order) slobfest. I have literally added an inch to my waist in the last week, but my legs feel 100% now so time to get back to action (Slowly, Slowly)!!

I suppose what worked really well for me over the past 4 months was that I had a program which i really stuck too and it delivered on the day.
    I know that I will ramp back up very slowly and will try to hit a number of 5 & 10K's over the next couple of months. However, I just noticed today that the registration for Ballycotton 10 is open on Dec 8th. My best ever time on this was 72M about 5-6 years ago. I remember that I had done a chunk of training, however it wasn't entirely scientific and definitely wasn't following a program.

I have used the race predictor tools to calculate my 10M pace based on my only 2 races this year:
    4M race: 26:40
    DCM: 3:35:40

Its funny because my marathon time says that I should be running the 10M in 76mins whereas my 4M time suggests I should be running it in 70 mins. (the range between 4M and 26M are so significant I am not sure which is the more relevant to use... but am thinking the 4M time is the better predictor?)

Anyway, based on the above, does the above seem like an achievable target? My ultimate aim would be to use this as a springboard into a DCM plan starting in the summer next year to get into the 3:2X's by next October!!

Not sure if I should move this now to another thread, but feel comfortable hanging out around here :)
    Cheers

Hi JacEim, you had loads in the tank on Monday so providing you recover well this month and follow a structured 10 mile plan, I'd say go for sub 70. You're going to capitalise on your post marathon fitness while also improving steadily anyway between now and March anyway.

Consistency and structure. Go for it :)

Ps what calculator?
    Pps imo, Jack Daniels is better for calculating training paces. Well, that's my coach's opinion really.... :)