Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

whelan2 wrote: »
    Greengrass what's your milk urea like ? Agree with the others good 18% nut. You want these ready for action heat wise soon

Pushing all of mine over to the spring definitely, Most are milky HOs so won't have a bother miking on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

You've enough energy in that diet to produce 26/27l, its a lack of good quality protein is your problem. If you could get a good nutritionists advice it would probably pay you back well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Milk urea 30.
    Any time we fed 18% before condition walked off cows so not keen to use it again.
    There flat out bulling atm. 1 most days this wk so far

You've enough energy in that diet to produce 26/27l, its a lack of good quality protein is your problem. If you could get a good nutritionists advice it would probably pay you back well.

If I was av 26/27 I'd be very happy. Not really interested in 35l yields. Ciws were never bred to peak or yeild thst high tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,756 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

If I was av 26/27 I'd be very happy. Not really interested in 35l yields. Ciws were never bred to peak or yeild thst high tbh.

Are they still out during the day. Did they drop down when silage came in?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Are they still out during the day. Did they drop down when silage came in?

Nope in full time. Little bit of an increase. I thought by look of there bags in parlour they were at least doing 20 +

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Nope in full time. Little bit of an increase. I thought by look of there bags in parlour they were at least doing 20 +

Do a test for ketosis had 1 or 2 big producers go down with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Autumn calvers are seperate. Mate told me the other day meal in bag was 9.50 for 25kg. That's bloody dear

18% nut coming in at 255 here blown in, I take it glanbia is the place valuing their "high quality" nuts at 9.50 a bag haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

jaymla627 wrote: »
    18% nut coming in at 255 here blown in, I take it glanbia is the place valuing their "high quality" nuts at 9.50 a bag haha

Ingrident list for that jay ,280 here with maize ,barley beet pulp ,distillers and hulls main ingridents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Ingrident list for that jay ,280 here with maize ,barley beet pulp ,distillers and hulls main ingridents

barley/maize/distillers/rapeseed/soya hulls/palm kernel what's in it on the sheet, wouldnt be to gone on the palm kernel but everything else is bang on, it's a roaches high energy dairy 18% can never fault any nuts from them yet great quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Autumn calvers are seperate. Mate told me the other day meal in bag was 9.50 for 25kg. That's bloody dear

You should be able to get soya in bags for that or a bit more.

They will probably need a few days to adjust to silage but id still up the protien for them.

Your urea is high but the spring milkers are out on grass and all the milk is being tested together.

Do you vancinate for ibr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Tis fair hard to beat straw under stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

30 cows split from the milkers this morning, and onto a hungry field for the day, mostly first calvers and a few voluntary older girls who just dry up themselves, ready for tubes and sealers in the morning.(sh1t job!)
    Begiinning of the yr winding down.

Genuine question. Have you nothing better to do on a Saturday morning than drying off cows? Need to have the yard here finished by 9.30 tomorrow to be ready to go to matches with kids. Week is long enough besides doing jobs like that at weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Genuine question too and one which in reading about here a bit and in journal etc .whats the story with lads drying off cows and heifers this early????.no quota loads of grass loads of feed ,milk high in solids inflating price .some drying off first calvers ,thin cows ,question id ask why are they thin ?,why not put a bit more feed in throughout the year .drying off nothing here till Dec 1 ,first cow time up 25 Jan .if I had liquid quota I'd milk all cows till 50 days pre calving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Genuine question. Have you nothing better to do on a Saturday morning than drying off cows? Need to have the yard here finished by 9.30 tomorrow to be ready to go to matches with kids. Week is long enough besides doing jobs like that at weekend.

Saturday's the only day I have any help at the moment, I know it's only 30 cows, but it's still 240 tubes, so I may as well avail of the help, first time I've ever had anyone with me tubing cows.
    Saturday tends to be a busyish day here during the winter, try and have as much as possible done, so I have as little as possible to do on sunday.
    Must be in and finished at 300 tomo, my wife's hosting a toddlers Halloween party for Crumlin Childrens Hospital, over 20 adults and 35 small kids confirmed to be coming, should be mayhem.
    I'd nearly prefer to be dry tubing cows!!

Dried 3 1st lac cows off because I had 3 in a row on their own ha. Cows in good knick at the second definitely, same last yr (maize certainly helps), last yr I wasn't really under pressure for quota so Milked alot on until 49days before calving, but fertility still was a big issue breeding season this year. With the poorer milk price now I'm going to push out 1st lac to about 70 days and others to 60days. 10days milk is say 150l, or 45 euros, if it helps pull back the CI any bit at all it will more than offset this lost of production, not to mind make life a lot easier. No guarantees it will help obviously, but worth a shot definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Genuine question too and one which in reading about here a bit and in journal etc .whats the story with lads drying off cows and heifers this early????.no quota loads of grass loads of feed ,milk high in solids inflating price .some drying off first calvers ,thin cows ,question id ask why are they thin ?,why not put a bit more feed in throughout the year .drying off nothing here till Dec 1 ,first cow time up 25 Jan .if I had liquid quota I'd milk all cows till 50 days pre calving

Firstly, I think any first calver calving in Feb should be dried by Nov 1st.
    Secondly, I have 30 cubicles that I can't access right now because of building that'll be going on over the next few wks, so, I need to trim my cow numbers if they're gonna be in by night nxt wk.
    And thirdly, bar a few of the first calvers, most of what I dried today were spun out and would have feck all even if I kept them going through the parlour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Similar to dsw triming numbers to suit house as in by night and heifers wont be worse off for it .funnily enough cows are in good order this year despite being half starved of grass in my opinion all year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

++++1
    Saturday is sacred, nearly do more on a Sunday.

Matches here and usually get a milker for pm milking. I milk morning go to games move wires and silage them when I come back. Milker then milks and I go somewhere with kids.

Today will watch final, set up fireworks while they go trick or treating in village. Off bowling them. Bottle of wine with Mrs Frazz later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

Today will watch final, set up fireworks while they go trick or treating in village. Off bowling them. Bottle of wine with Mrs Frazz later.

go easy on the wine or you'll be making cold bottles of formula again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,756 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

++++1
    Saturday is sacred, nearly do more on a Sunday.

Matches here and usually get a milker for pm milking. I milk morning go to games move wires and silage them when I come back. Milker then milks and I go somewhere with kids.

All's grand when everything goes to plan, went to close in cows earlier, no sign of them, b*itch broke the wire leading into paddock and brought cows way up the lane. Lucky I closed gate at the top of the lane yesterday. First match at 9.45 and my Dad will do herding

First collection after changing from rocket fuel paddock surplus bales to first cut pit. No change in yield. Not too bad considering I under fed them on first day based on what they're cleaning since. Just over 1.6 kg ms, 19l on three kg the of our own spec blend.

First cut

80.5 dmd
    18.5% cp
    27.5 dm
    12.1 me

Second cut around the same as ggs bales except 75dmd. Won't be changing away from pit here any time soon.

First collection after changing from rocket fuel paddock surplus bales to first cut pit. No change in yield. Not too bad considering I under fed them on first day based on what they're cleaning since. Just over 1.6 kg ms, 19l on three kg the of our own spec blend.

First cut

80.5 dmd
    18.5% cp
    27.5 dm
    12.1 me

Second cut around the same as ggs bales except 75dmd. Won't be changing away from pit here any time soon.
    That's some serious silage free. As good as grass.
    What's your programme for silage again?

First cut

80.5 dmd
    18.5% cp
    27.5 dm
    12.1 me

That's some serious silage free. As good as grass.
    What's your programme for silage again?

Everything grazed at least once in spring. Fertility is good. Generally no slurry on silage ground after January. All grassland blanket spread with bag and a half of ASN first week of April. Only out farm approx half first cut area stopped at that stage. Paddocks then skipped hopefully in reasonable sized blocks as surpluses appear as gr increases through April. Another 40 units applied to all grass around 20th of April. Your 15-10-10 gave a nice boost early on this year and is something we'll continue doing. Only around 70-80 units N applied max for first cut. Don't apply p and k directly for silage. Prefer to keep it topped up as and when it suits best.

Cutting aimed for 10th of May. No focus on getting silage dry at all. Dmd beats the hell out of dm. Won't cut in rain but once it stops raining we'll be mowing within half a day. Pick up directly if the window is small. Contractor got one other job done in the window we cut in this May before rain hit again. At least a week of a break before he was going again from memory. Dm in that sample is probably higher than it should be. Core sample so a certain amount of moisture will have been compressed out during sampling.

edit. Usually book contractor in early April and confirm around first of May.

Wagon or PC silage? And how much does the contractor charge (does it include mowing?). Ie any discount for cutting that early before the bulk of work comes in? I'd give an arm and a leg to be taking a 1st cut that early and go straight in for a 2nd cut early July, bulky dry cow feed (before a drought hits ha), but even getting my dad to cut the last week of may now is like drawing blood from a stone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Any nut better than another in regards trying to keep the lactose up, or whats the best diet for it?

Everything grazed at least once in spring. Fertility is good. Generally no slurry on silage ground after January. All grassland blanket spread with bag and a half of ASN first week of April. Only out farm approx half first cut area stopped at that stage. Paddocks then skipped hopefully in reasonable sized blocks as surpluses appear as gr increases through April. Another 40 units applied to all grass around 20th of April. Your 15-10-10 gave a nice boost early on this year and is something we'll continue doing. Only around 70-80 units N applied max for first cut. Don't apply p and k directly for silage. Prefer to keep it topped up as and when it suits best.

Cutting aimed for 10th of May. No focus on getting silage dry at all. Dmd beats the hell out of dm. Won't cut in rain but once it stops raining we'll be mowing within half a day. Pick up directly if the window is small. Contractor got one other job done in the window we cut in this May before rain hit again. At least a week of a break before he was going again from memory. Dm in that sample is probably higher than it should be. Core sample so a certain amount of moisture will have been compressed out during sampling.

edit. Usually book contractor in early April and confirm around first of May.

We cut 20th May this yr. Got 3 x 18 6 12 around 1st wk if april and it's only 66 dmd

New feed space! Cheaper than a feed barrier and no forking in silage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Timmaay wrote: »
    New feed space! Cheaper than a feed barrier and no forking in silage!

Have 5 or six to be put in loose yard great way of streaching availble feed space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

We cut 20th May this yr. Got 3 x 18 6 12 around 1st wk if april and it's only 66 dmd

Would your grass be an early heading variety .??