Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

pedigree 6 wrote: »

very tame to say the least , john comer had a chance to really attack glanbia but was really like a lamb about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

NZ peaks 5% below last year:
    As forecast, it was down about 5 per cent on last season's October 19, 2014, peak of 89.6m. litres of milk.
    Despite this, new processing plants helped Fonterra process a record amount of that 86.9m litres into value-added products, managing director global operations Robert Spurway said.

A Fonterra spokesman said the 5 per cent reduction in milk volume was across the whole season and factored in the impact of El Nino, farmers culling their herds, less money being spent on supplements such as palm kernels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

china ending one child policy:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

Wheyyyy heyyyyy

Just 9 more months of poor milk price guys.....

Flaking back end to 2016😈

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Met neighbour this morning, he was telling me that some guy from ICMSA or IFA either said on radio or was quoted in Ag paper that we should abort our cows to control supply:(:(:(

Did anyone else hear that or is it pub talk? I find it hard to believe myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmmm are there not enough humans on this planet already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Met neighbour this morning, he was telling me that some guy from ICMSA or IFA either said on radio or was quoted in Ag paper that we should abort our cows to control supply:(:(:(

sounds a bit unlikely?

I thought the policy of both ICMSA and IFA was to merge all the cows into one big publicly listed cow, for the sake of efficiency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I might be mistaken but, to the best of my memory, it was said at a Glanbia meeting (Navan?) and quoted in either the Indo or Journal. The farmer said something like he would be better off aborting the cows and setting up in beef because the profits from beef looked better than milk for the next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

some lad at meeting in navan last week was suggesting it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I might be mistaken but, to the best of my memory, it was said at a Glanbia meeting (Navan?) and quoted in either the Indo or Journal. The farmer said something like he would be better off aborting the cows and setting up in beef because the profits from beef looked better than milk for the next year?

Ahh I see, context

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Yes but he didn't say we should abort them. From what I heard he said we would be better off aborting them financially. A bit silly really imv as it just leaves it open to lazy journalism.

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    Yes but he didn't say we should abort them. From what I heard he said we would be better off aborting them financially. A bit silly really imv as it just leaves it open to lazy journalism.

Yes. It was said in a tongue in cheek type of way. I couldn't see anyone actually following through on it

Timmaay wrote: »
    Hmmm are there not enough humans on this planet already...

not enough drinking our milk powder:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

not enough drinking our milk powder:)

Aye,a doubling of demand which could start coming on stream (no pun intended) in about 9 or 10 months wouldn't be a bad thing?

Bergin is probably on google as we speak researching the synergies of 6 more dryers at belview,number of co op shares to pay for them,where to hold the SGM,what to put in the goodie bags etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Aye,a doubling of demand which could start coming on stream (no pun intended) in about 9 or 10 months wouldn't be a bad thing?

Bergin is probably on google as we speak researching the synergies of 6 more dryers at belview,number of co op shares to pay for them,where to hold the SGM,what to put in the goodie bags etc

A doubling is highly unlikely to happen. Rural areas and minorities already have a 2 child policy and the ability of the target urban market to pay for childcare and the natural inclination of improving wealth decreasing birthrate will likely lead to a very small increase in demand.

Just don't spend the milk cheque just yet:)

might be an idea to get the 2 that are there working properly first:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan2 wrote: »

might be an idea to get the 2 that are there working properly first:D

We had a two day collection on Tuesday for the first time in a month. Milk needed in belview. What for I have no clue. We were on every second day up until the end of September for belview as well. What someone posted here about pinch points im these plants would ring true with what the owner of the trucks that call here told me. Somewhere around 50-60 loads or half capacity pressure comes on the system. He reckons it's then down to which crew is on as to whether the plant keeps turning. Some shifts are better than others.

the plant is closed one week and open the next...really make wonder what they are at, 180 staff taken on all being paid even thou processing facility not open, the business decisions seem to be shocking

i heard the figure gea quoted to fix the plant, and its in the millions, currently gii are trying to recruit engineers to come and find the problem as they think they can fix it cheaper, theyd make u laugh sometimes...if only it wasnt our money there wasting!!

the fact that they are recruiting engineers showed that they were in the wrong not gea....originally the line from gii was gea built it wrong, hold yere hands up lads!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

the fact that they are recruiting engineers showed that they were in the wrong not gea....originally the line from gii was gea built it wrong, hold yere hands up lads!!!

I know from my work place anything gea put in is crap. The build quality of their machinery is very poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

the plant is closed one week and open the next...really make wonder what they are at, 180 staff taken on all being paid even thou processing facility not open, the business decisions seem to be shocking

i heard the figure gea quoted to fix the plant, and its in the millions, currently gii are trying to recruit engineers to come and find the problem as they think they can fix it cheaper, theyd make u laugh sometimes...if only it wasnt our money there wasting!!

Is it heresay or fact? I assume with most plant it's at the commissioning phase problems are spotted and sorted so who ever commissioned it would be the first to go to if issues arise past that point. Was that glanbia or Gea? Also in first year there will be teething problems. Are there massive problems there or is it a case of milk being sent for other products or given the time of year are they winding it down for winter? Hardly going to be going flat out with half the peak supply coming in now. Not a Glanbia supplier and don't mean to come across as defending them but unless verified info is out is it not just speculation compounded by poor milk price? I agree when its farmers money being spent we would want it done right and perhaps there isn't enough accountability at that end when ye are not there yerselves. Did they do tours of the plant when it was up and running?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Is the milk going in there this week actually being turned into saleable product or just testing the machines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Mulumpy wrote: »
    I know from my work place anything gea put in is crap. The build quality of their machinery is very poor.

U satin my parlour is a heap of scrap!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

Mulumpy wrote:

What does the workers attitude to low milk price be mulumphy? do workers terms and conditions change with milk price? or is there even an opinion, just keep coming in?

mahoney_j wrote:
    U satin my parlour is a heap of scrap!!!!!!

Ha no nothing about their parlours just the crappie decanters and separators they produce.

visatorro wrote:
    What does the workers attitude to low milk price be mulumphy? do workers terms and conditions change with milk price? or is there even an opinion, just keep coming in?

Erm why would our attitude change because of low price. We are there to do a job regardless of external factors. I'm a milk supplier as well so see both sides. I don't get paid during lay off periods. In 09 we were laid off for 2 months without pay when the product I make wasn't being produced. Theres too much milk coming in now for that to happen again.

they did tours, enda got in for a nice pic but not open to suppliers for security reasons would have liked to see new plant

i was told by engineer who is trying to be recruited from another factory for the job and he told me what they expect it to cost fixing themselves and what gea quoted, he had a lot of factual information for someone not working for company so i took him on his word

the plant is closed but still taking in some supplies, indicates they are still testing, teething problems are going to happen thats granted, but if those teething problems could potentially cost a nice% of estimated build cost they we need to know, if were increasing supplies and they cant handle them no point us figuring it out next may

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

This man has sorted his milk price problems I would say http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/video-british-farmer-makes-vodka-from-milk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭red bull

I was on his farm. Paul Nichols stables and gallops are part of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

red bull wrote: »
    I was on his farm. Paul Nichols stables and gallops are part of it

Did you get to taste the vodka? Good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭red bull

That was just a year ago, no mention of vodka then, just the premium for his vintage cheddar. Must get back to taste the vodka