Would you wear a cape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭kingtiger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I already wear brown leather waistcoats and a full-length leather overcoat reminiscent of Herr Flick from 'Allo 'Allo, so I don't see why not. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

There is an obese nerdy guy I work with for the past 8 years. He wears a cape.... Ahead of the curve? On trend? Eh, no.

Capes are for obese people to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

There is an obese nerdy guy I work with for the past 8 years. He wears a cape.... Ahead of the curb? On trend? Eh, no.

Capes are for obese people to me.

I saw a guy with a beard and a hat so hats are for bearded men.

Also it's "ahead of the curve". Why would it be "curb"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

No, I would be embarrassed in that! I'll wear a moomoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,378 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Cape, fedora and neck beard. I'd be irresistible so I would.

Kev W wrote: »
    I saw a guy with a beard and a hat so hats are for bearded men.

Also it's "ahead of the curve". Why would it be "curb"?

Posted from phone, fixed.

I mean to say, I associate capes with obese nerdy guys, not handsome gentleman models, or the general public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I mean to say, I associate capes with obese nerdy guys, not handsome gentleman models, or the general public.
    Did you never read a comic?

smash wrote: »
    Did you never read a comic?

Haha yes, I know superheroes wear capes, as in fictional.

This is a fashion thing for sale in shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,378 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I just want to be Paul F.Tompkins.

tumblr_m1ifredvle1qzu0fr.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

In the 'age of the individual' we have never seemed more sartorially comformist or conservative. Why in my youth punks and rockers roamed the streets beating each other up before ganging up on the hippies while some stiff in a pinstripe suit looked on tutting... today everybody wears the 'uniform' of bland jeans and T's with individuality expressed only in the occasional 'witty' slogan written on it.

Individuals my ass!

*Flicks cape over right shoulder bringing left cape corner over lower face to make dramatic exit from thread*

Clegg wrote: »
    I just want to be Paul F.Tompkins.

tumblr_m1ifredvle1qzu0fr.jpg

We all want to be Paul F. Tompkins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

conorhal wrote: »
    In the 'age of the individual' we have never seemed more sartorially comformist or conservative. Why in my youth punks and rockers roamed the streets beating each other up before ganging up on the hippies while some stiff in a pinstripe suit looked on tutting... today everybody wears the 'uniform' of bland jeans and T's with individuality expressed only in the occasional 'witty' slogan written on it.

Individuals my ass!

*Flicks cape over right shoulder bringing left cape corner over lower face to make dramatic exit from thread*

Probelm here is I normally wear jeans and a t-shirt out of convenience. So do I change to show some sene of individuality I don't have? Or do I carry on and do my own thing and inadvertanly conform..?!

Agh!

Not waearign a damn cape though....]

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

Anyone dumb enough to pay €100 for that, is dumb enough to wear it. Nothing would surprise me what todays 'men' would wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

I'm not a massive bender, so no

But what if it was 2015?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

Probelm here is I normally wear jeans and a t-shirt out of convenience. So do I change to show some sene of individuality I don't have? Or do I carry on and do my own thing and inadvertanly conform..?!

Agh!

Not waearign a damn cape though....]

Isn't that the thing though, in the supposed age of the individual, individuality has actually never been more scarce, you're not lazy, your scared to express your laziness! Propper lazy people just wouldn't bother to get out of their pyjamas to leave the house....... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Small benders can wear capes too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

That was a damp squid.

Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

fizzypish wrote: »
    Small benders can wear capes too.

Like this?

http://www.mwctoys.com/images/review_futurama5_large.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Prob be lapped up by the dickie bow type lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Probably not, no. That dunnes stores thing looks like a weird cross between a hoodie and a tent.

Always thought the guy on the front of the Sandemans port bottle was pretty cool though.

Probably not, no. That dunnes stores thing looks like a weird cross between a hoodie and a tent.

Always thought the guy on the front of the Sandemans port bottle was pretty cool though.
    That's more the type of thing alright. Zorro style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

While I think the average Irish male is in dire need of some sartorial advice; the wearing of aa cape probably isn't a great first step when thinking about wardrobe pieces.

Lose the obsession with bootcut jeans, tatty runners and ill-fitting shirts hanging out over said jeans first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

I'd love to see Sheamus the Knacker Dwarf wearing one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I'd love to see Sheamus the Knacker Dwarf wearing one.
    Surely The Dark Phantom would have a use for such attire? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Surely The Dark Phantom would have a use for such attire? ;)

:pac: love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Ruu wrote: »
    No, I would be embarrassed in that! I'll wear a moomoo.

You've always struck me as a classy gent :pac:

To paraphrase Sideshow Bob, oh, I'd wear a cape alright. Wear a Cape Fear....FOREVER!