What's your favourite Bond film of all time?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭Teafor two12345

Casino Royal 1967! And you don't have it up there! Peter sellers and the amazing ursula andress ...

Soundtrack is class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Casino Royal 1967! And you don't have it up there!

It was a spoof.

See posts #6 and #14.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭Teafor two12345

LordSutch wrote: »
    It was a spoof.

See posts #6 and #14.

Still counts :-( Still my fav. :-)

Um ok then :-) I go by the bond girls I like. Babara Bach, Britt Ekland, Ursula Andress and Eva Green.The man with the golden gun the spy who loved me and the Casino Royale with Eva Green. Dr NO with Ursula Andress. :-)

I think Monica Belluci will be GREAT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

In spite of the fact I am a contrarian fecker who likes to think of herself as unique in every way, I have to be honest and admit I'm not being all that original and am with the majority this time - it's CR 2006 for me too. I love Craig's ruggedness and the grittiness that his deadpan, less-puns-more-muscle, "I believe this" approach to the role brought to the franchise.

QoS was not as tense, though, and Skyfall was a bit too much of a chamber music style piece for me to take the first spot. Looking very much forward to seeing Spectre (tomorrow!)

Honourable mentions: From Russia With Love, The View to a Kill, and The Living Daylights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

You Only Live Twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

From Russia With Love.

Though the 'gypseys - for no reason' scenes was odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I voted for For your eyes only but only cos I'm a massive Roger Moore fan and he is the Bond for me (he should still be playing him).

Even though Casino Royale is a better film if you imagine it as a standalone ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The real Goldfinger was someone Ian Fleming did not like.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ern%C5%91_Goldfinger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,902 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Actually watched all the bond movies over the summer, hard to pick a favorite but From Russia With Love stands out, also Skyfall was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭techdiver

License To Kill is the most underrated Bond film of them all as well as Dalton himself being very underrated. He had the best qualities all all the Bonds.

I love all Bond films. I watched them all back to back last year again. I have probably seen them all countless times.

Difficult to pick a favourite, but I went for License to Kill because I knew very few others would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Really liked the Dalton ones. Bond became a more darker , serious, cold hearted assassin, living on the edge. Loved that!! Went for The Living Daylights, can't beat that cello in the snow scene !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Live and Let Die for nostalgic reasons. Scared the crap out of me when I was a kid. And Jane Seymour in it, yum.

Skyfall was incredible though.

Of course when I sent this on to someone earlier my auto correct asked them what their favourite Bondage Film of all time was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Secret agent?!

On whose side?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

bnt wrote: »
    I've long been a fan of On Her Majesty's Secret Service, and have been pleasantly amused to see it enjoying a critical reappraisal in recent years. It seems to be popular among filmmakers too, with Christopher Nolan and Stephen Soderbergh (here) among its vocal fans.

That's always been my favourite too.

I don't know when the last time I watched it in full was, but I can remember the setting in the Alps being amazing, the plot of the film being really interesting, the bad guys being some of the best (if not the best) in the series and the ending being unusually powerful for a Bond film.

Most of the Bond films I couldn't tell from each other in terms of plot if you just gave me their titles, but On Her Majesty's Secret Service always stood out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I've only seen the first 3 and the Brosnan and Craig ones (apart from SPECTRE).I'm planning on reading all the Ian Fleming books as the Casino Royale Book was brilliant.

Casinoa Royale was pretty much a perfect film for it's type .It blew me away when I saw it first so I'd say it's the best of the ones I've seen with From Russia with Love and Skyfall second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I think I'll always prefer the early, more serious ones like Dr.No, From Russia with Love and On Her Majesty's Secret Service. I love Goldfinger too, it's a bit more silly but in that sense it's the quintessential Bond.
    You Only Live Twice is great too, hard to take seriously but great fun.
    Of course it's also no coincidence that all bar one feature Sean Connery, easily the best Bond for me.

Goldeneye will always have a big place in my heart, though that's probably due to how well it matched the fantastic game I'd played to death for a couple of years before I saw the film.

The new Casino Royale is fine as a stand-alone film, but for me it was just a bit too po-faced and lacking in the old Bond charm.
    Skyfall and Spectre are ok, and clearly are trying to bring back some of the old-school silliness and swagger, but it doesn't quite mesh with the new-fangled grittiness.
    Another problem with the newer films it that it doesn't make sense to have someone like Bond in the modern intelligence world. I know they always have an obligatory reference to that in the new films, but disbelief is harder to suspend when you could do everything Bond does with a smartphone and a drone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Different ones for different reasons:

OHMSS as a fully rounded Bond film.
    Octopussy as a good film with some measured silliness.
    The Living Daylights because of Dalton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

Love the living daylights,Dalton is a great bind,one of the best bond girls,great stunts (parachute out of truck driven off rock of Gibraltar, the ending hanging out of the plane). Licence to kill good too.
    After that prob Russia with love/OHMSS then Goldeneye.
    Have a thing for View to a Kill also for som reason

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

From Russia With Love. Proper psycho baddie who gives himself away by ordering the wrong wine with his meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

LaGlisse wrote: »
    Have a thing for View to a Kill also for som reason
    Same, probably because of the fact that it's basically a remake of Goldfinger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Whaddya mean, game?

"Goldeneye" is named for the house and estate that Ian Fleming had in Jamaica: it in turn was named after an operation he had played a part in while still employed in Intelligence work. And that operation was probably named for the duck.

Yes, a Goldeneye is a duck.

(There's a related type called a Bufflehead. Can't wait for the movie!) *giggles*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Stranger Danger

OHMSS.

Before it became cool to like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

katemarch wrote: »
    Whaddya mean, game?

"Goldeneye" is named for the house and estate that Ian Fleming had in Jamaica: it in turn was named after an operation he had played a part in while still employed in Intelligence work. And that operation was probably named for the duck.

Yes, a Goldeneye is a duck.
    (There's a related type called a Bufflehead. Can't wait for the movie!) *giggles*

No-one involved in naming any of the above were aware of the fact that they were being unconsciously inspired by the greatest Nintendo 64 game ever, whose success created ripples both forwards and backwards through the time-space continuum.
    Like with Shakespeare's Oddjob, wherein the titular anti-hero rises to power by virtue of being so difficult to hit in multiplayer matches.

I actually have a soft spot for Never Say Never . . . .

I realise that it's always been panned by critics, but there are some good parts, (admittedly interspersed with rather stupid & silly scenes), but good parts non the less. The opening scene as he tries to rescue the damsal in distress is a great start, then there's Fatima Blush blowing up in the tunnel, Bond giving Kim Bassinger a massage, plus Bond & Kim Bassinger escaping on the horse scene, all come to mind :)

Goldfinger would be my favourite vintage bond film, with Casino Royale being my favourite film of the new generation of Bond films.

Looking forward to seeing Spectre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Stranger Danger

From Russia With Love.

Though the 'gypseys - for no reason' scenes was odd.

Two girls who love the same man want to kill each other.

It must be settled the Gypsy way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

My favourite unofficial "Bond" movie is The Rock.

Connery plays essentially the same character as Bond under the alias of "John Mason".
    A former SAS Captain turned MI6 agent? Likes the cut of a sharp suit and quotes Oscar wilde? Check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

You Only Live Twice.

Ejector seat from an Austin Martin. Deranged evil lunatic who creates a lair in an extinct volcano. Evil genius lunatic has a white cat. Bond disguises himself as Japanese by applying some eye makeup. Screenplay by Roald Dahl.

It's a fantastic movie.

You Only Live Twice.

Ejector seat from an Austin Martin. Deranged evil lunatic who creates a lair in an extinct volcano. Evil genius lunatic has a white cat.
    Bond disguises himself as Japanese by applying some eye makeup. Screenplay by Roald Dahl.