If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

http://www.the42.ie/marathon-musings-running-my-first-marathon-2349824-Sep2015/

"I’ve caught myself googling motivational videos and have even used a race predictor to calculate what sort of time I’ll be looking at – three hours, 12 minutes and 28 seconds apparently. I’d be very happy with that time – my younger brother is convinced I won’t do it in under four hours and that is motivation enough for me."

http://track.rtrt.me/e/TDL-DUBLINM-2015#/tracker/RFEHVPA4/focus

4:12:30

Good debut, bad build-up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭JMSE

Dubgal = absolute legend. This my 4th DCM in a row and without doubt the toughest. Anybody that even finished it deserves enormous credit. Pints of guinness being lowered at PMP at the moment. The train/bus journey from Athy to Wexford tomorrow could be traumatic :-)

Bwahahaha good post ginger, traumatic but you have stamina - sure wear the medal for the craic, that'll be a great idea tonight and an 'eh no' ar maidin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

Started with the 4.40 pacers - it all went to sh*te at mile 14 and eventually finished 5.01.28. Still over the moon - enjoying a few beers while watching the snapper on TV. full report tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Ginger runner

JMSE wrote: »
    Bwahahaha good post ginger, traumatic but you have stamina - sure wear the medal for the craic, that'll be a great idea tonight and an 'eh no' ar maidin

I wore the medal alright and very proud to do so. Home now via a pit stop in the Chinese take away. 100% cream crackered but what a magical day, roll on next year!!! Climbing stairs tomorrow will be everest-esque I'd imagine :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

BIRDCAGE1 wrote: »
    Started with the 4.40 pacers - it all went to sh*te at mile 14 and eventually finished 5.01.28. Still over the moon - enjoying a few beers while watching the snapper on TV. full report tomorrow

Never mind the race. Full review of The Snapper pls.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Never mind the race. Full review of The Snapper pls.

Probably more appropriate for the cycling forum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Well done everyone. Whether you met, missed or exceeded your target you can tick that item off your bucket list. You've now run a marathon!

You're going to feel a bit sore tomorrow but for most of you the real pain will only hit on Wednesday. If you can arrange it get yourself a massage.

Not only will a good masseuse help with recovery (or at least how you're feeling) they'll also be able to identify any minor injuries that you may have picked up and be unaware of.

Some of you will never want to run a step again but I guess that many of you will shortly start thinking about how if you had just done one or two things differently you'd have gone even faster. It's an itch that's hard to ignore.

Take it easy this week, if you do absolutely insist on running, go for a walk, if you still insist do it really, really slowly. Any running you do in the first week after your first marathon has a lot more to do with your desire to run than a plan to boost your fitness. Make sure you take next week easy too. Do short bits of runs a few times and you'll start to get back into the swing of things.

Remember though and never forget you're a marathon runner now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Clearlier wrote: »
    Well done everyone. Whether you met, missed or exceeded your target you can tick that item off your bucket list. You've now run a marathon!

You're going to feel a bit sore tomorrow but for most of you the real pain will only hit on Wednesday. If you can arrange it get yourself a massage.

Not only will a good masseuse help with recovery (or at least how you're feeling) they'll also be able to identify any minor injuries that you may have picked up and be unaware of.

Some of you will never want to run a step again but I guess that many of you will shortly start thinking about how if you had just done one or two things differently you'd have gone even faster. It's an itch that's hard to ignore.

Take it easy this week, if you do absolutely insist on running, go for a walk, if you still insist do it really, really slowly. Any running you do in the first week after your first marathon has a lot more to do with your desire to run than a plan to boost your fitness. Make sure you take next week easy too. Do short bits of runs a few times and you'll start to get back into the swing of things.

Remember though and never forget you're a marathon runner now. :)

And also remember that you've also encouraged people to start running. Be it to run 5k, or run over a MARATHON start line...you've also encouraged people to just start. That's pretty fecking special :)

Again, well done :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Congrats everyone!!!!!

Just wanted to make a quick post on my phone - will give a report tomorrow night all going well.

I finished in 4hours 4 minutes.

Dubsgal your position was perfect! I needed a hug so badly at that point. I saw the hill and crumbled. I had felt great till then and suddenly dropped to walking. It was so strange.

Your words and big hug to me at that point was what I needed. I ran/walk up the hill and as soon as I got to the top I ran the rest.

Thank you so much DG!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Phoebas wrote: »
    @TFGR

Almost 7 hours on your feet is pretty amazing. Whatever about how that must have felt like physically, I can hardly get my head around the kind of mental strength that must have taken.

Awesome is a word that is thrown around far too easily, but what do did today really was awesome.

This TFGR - haven't slept much all night and was thinking about you loads. You are an inspiration. I know my own head couldn't have managed being out there that long. Well done. I don't think I've ever been so happy for someone I don't know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

I keep bursting into tears for some strange reason.

Longer report later. First half went brilliantly, up to mile 18 was ok-ish, I did stop for a short refueling break as my friend handed over supplies, that gave me a huge boost but I lost it at 20 and had to run/walk home. All I could do was put one foot in front of the other. From 24.5 onwards I ran. From 800m onwards I ran whilst trying to hold back the tears, as I crossed the finish I didn't hold back and soaked some poor strangers shoulder with them!

Finished in 6:51:15.

Twenty minutes later than I wanted but I'm absofraginlutely delighted with myself. Toughest thing I've ever done, most brutal day I've ever had, most painful thing I've ever done to myself, but I never quit. I never stopped. I did it. I finished. I'm a marathoner.

I'm crying again. Why?!

Dubgal. There are no words. Truly. This run's for you.

Damn onions around here... TFGR - you have inspired me over the past 4 months (and brought a happy tear or two to my cold hard eyes on more than one occasion!!). Thank you for being a part of this journey, will never forget it!

I see your interview in the Indo this morning... SUPERSTAR!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

TFGR- you rock!

Well it's 6.40 the day after and I've hardly slept so now is as good a time as any to write this race report :)

Woke early yesterday morning and lay in bed till about 7. Got up and had my overnight oats and got ready then. Went to the loo 7,000 times. My husband dropped me and my mate in as far as Pearse St Dart station and we made our way around to the start area. I queued for the loos there - there was an announcement every couple of mins saying there were loos at each start area but thankfully I didn't listen as when I got round to there, the q's were mental! Made my way to the 4:30 balloons and saw PJD with his red balloon :) Said hello to everyone, dumped my hoodie and poncho and off we went. Chatted with Emsy1 for the first couple of miles and then off I went to stay with the 4:30 pacers

Had a slight niggle at the top of my right leg but nothing major and was doing grand. Half way I was at 2:16:40 and was just a bit behind the pacers. All good.

I think it was around mile 16, I started having doubts. I walked for about 100 metres, gave out hell to myself and started jogging again. This was tough so told myself not to walk again as it was too difficult to get back jogging. Around mile 16-17, the 4:40 pacers passed. Grand I thought, it's all good. Have no idea what mile the 4:50 pacers went by.

13: 10.52
    14: 11.32
    15: 11.45
    16: 12.17
    17: 12.42
    18: 12.16

30k time was 3:24:57

19: 12.56
    20: 12.14

I walked a bit here I reckon by my times! I rang my husband and said I was walking the rest of the way and not to bother coming back into town yet but he had just left, told me I was doing great and to keep going. There were lots of people walking at this stage but also a lot still running. I don't think the 5 hour pacers were here yet as I remember being with them at the top of Heartbreak hill.

So I started shuffling along again with a million and one things going on in my head:
    - I'm gonna kill my mate who said lets run a marathon before we're 40
    - look the time doesn't matter, it's all about the t-shirt :)
    - FFS, there's nothing wrong with you, you've no pain so keep going!
    - I'm morto telling people it took me longer than 5 hours to do this as I said I'd definitely do it in that time
    - why are people telling me I'm great when I'm only walking???
    - just do it!!!!

21: 14.28
    22: 15:00

I'd a work colleague who had said he'd be at the top of Heartbreak hill. I said I'd better keeping jogging as I didn't want to be walking when I saw him lol. The 5 hour pacers were with me at this stage. I flew up the hill (obviously not by my times but I felt like I did) saw him there with his wife and kids and he told me I was doing great so that gave me a boost (also he was out supporting his mates who were doing it in about 3:30 so was really chuffed he stayed out to see me!) I'll be honest, after seeing him I nearly burst into tears. I was very emotional at this stage and just wanted to be home!

My watch died at mile 22 which was annoying as I'd no idea how long a mile was at that stage and I couldn't wait to see the markers!

Walked another bit but not for too long and started to recognise town. Woo Hoo I'm nearly there. Now you can't be walking along the home stretch so get going! So I shuffled along the rest of the way and must say the crowd was amazing! I didn't have my name on my top but some people were able to read the small sticker name on my number and fair play to them for shouting "chops, you're doing great!!" Kept an eye out for my husband and kids at the finish line but didn't see them which was just as well really, as I would have burst into tears I reckon!

Walking down through the barriers, a girl asked me what time did we finish and I said I reckoned about 5:10 as the 5:10 pacers hadn't passed us and this bloke said "oh great" but then went "eh I don't think there were pacers for 5:10" so we just burst out laughing then which was nice. Official finish was 5:10:50 so I wasn't too far off!

Got my medal and t-shirt (which is lovely!) and made my way around to meet my husband. My sister was there which was lovely and I told her I was a bit traumatised haha. Met himself and the kids then and we made our way to the Lombard pub for food but it was packed so just headed home. Drank a protein milk and had some crackers. I was in agony and just wanted to be home. Being honest, I was very disappointed with the time and really didn't enjoy the experience.

Once I was home and showered and warm again with food ordered, I started to feel better. Had a zillion txts telling me I was amazing so that helped! Legs were in agony and I really wish we had a downstairs loo :) Shattered and just lay on the couch for the evening. Didn't sleep much last night!

So it's all over now! Off today and tomorrow which is good. Kids off school thankfully so can just laze about for the day.

I raised over €600 for a charity which is important to me too so the pain was worth it!

In hindsight, I should have started with the 4:50 pacers I reckon. If I was to do it again, I could say "well I'll know next time" but this was my first and last marathon! Will stick with the 5/10k races in future!!

It's 7.36 now so that has taken me ages to write! Sorry if it's so long!

Well done again everyone. This thread has been such a help and we're all great for finishing! Thanks again Dubgal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭statina

Well done everyone, you all did so great!!

TFGR- I have followed your story for the last couple of months and I am so happy you completed it! You showed unbelievable mental strength to keep going for nearly 7 hours. Huge congratulations :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Can't sleep - I think the adrenaline is still pumping through me (as well as a reasonable hangover)

So.. The report:

I only got about 5 hours sleep on Saturday night because of the wedding, so needed a good sleep on Sunday night as I felt really tired and lethargic. My legs also felt a bit tired so I didn't do the 2M as per the plan (hoped it wouldn't affect the race). We're with my parents for the weekend and my little man refused to share a bed with his sister, so the boys bunked together. He proceeded to elbow me, kick me, lie on top of me for the whole night :)
    I did get a pretty good sleep though and felt great when I got up at 6am. Everything was laid out from day before, so ready in 5 minutes and had 2 relaxed slices of toast. Flew up to Dublin and sipped some Lucozade sport. Parked on Haddington Road and just a 10 minute walk to the bag drop. Made 2 visits to the toilets (one at bag drop and one at the start) and with the queues it took forever.

Lined up about 100M behind the 3:40 Pacers and the original plan was to let them slowly get away in order bring me in just under 3:45.
    So then the plan changed.... Just as I started runnin. Had the fight with myself as to whether I should try for sub 3:40 (3:3X looks really nice I thought), and I decided to give sub 3:40 a lash, with a big risk that I might blow up completely at the end.
    First 10k: (52:49)
    I actually didn't feel great in the first 10k. Breathing was perfect, but I didn't have that buzzed up energy in my legs that I normally have for races. I was bitching to myself that I tapered too much / was overtrained / was going to really suffer later in the race etc etc. The 3:40 pacers hadn't moved ahead and so I at least felt good for that.
    HM: (1:49:39)
    Started to feel a bit more comfortable after 10k. The legs loosened out and I had to actually hold myself back. Didn't enjoy the long straight in the Park (just a bit boring) but the support everywhere was just awesome. Realised that in order to break 3:40 I would have to run the same again for the second HM so started to worry a little about M20-26.
    30k: (2:35:15)
    This Marathon craic is easy!!! I could not hold myself back so eventually I caught up with the first of the 3:40 pacer groups. I knew this was giving me at least an extra minute under 3:40 pace due to where I started. Decided to rein myself in and stick with the group and shelter from the wind. Pacer was like a gazelle and didn't break a sweat (jealous ..lots!). Was running very consistent 8:10- 8:20 miles. Took my first gel at 16M and every 3M afterwards and they worked a treat. Tried to take the Locozade but it is absolutely sickly sweet muck (give me Gatorade anyday!!!) My left hip flexor had felt a little uncomfortable since about 10k but nothing too serious. Then about 16M I started to get a stabbing pain in that area and got really worried. I didn't want to stop as I thought I might seize up, so did some massage / kneading while I was still running. It eased pretty well but had to do it again around M18 before disappearing thankfully!! Apart from this I was feeling awesome and eventually decided to move ahead of the pacer. Can't remember exactly where but I then caught up with the second 3:40 pacer so I knew I must have had a couple of minutes banked under the 3:40.
    Finish: (3:35:40) including the last 12k in under an hour!!!
    Was praying that I wasn't going to blow up as this was going far too well. I was thinking that the wind always seemed to be at my back as never really felt a strong headwind!! Was thrilled to see DG at 22M (sorry - I meant to say a big Thank You but was only able to say HI), and I made a burst up Heart Break Hill - I did that mile in 7:32 :)
    Got handed a Lucozade at a station from the Gooch Cooper - another great surprise!
    At this stage it was difficult to see the mile markers with the crowds, and my watch was showing extra distance so had no idea how far to go. Around 24M my legs literally wobbled in an instant... And I thought here comes the wall! I had no food left so I said feck this, the run has been very comfortable till now and if I have to do 2 miles of hardship then just get on with it!! My pace dropped to around 8:25 (having been under 8:00 for a good while) and it felt tough. However I was passing loads of people which made me feel like I was sprinting. The finishing straight is a lot longer than you think, but I felt really strong all the way to the line..

Didn't have time to stay around so got my stuff and headed back to the car. Back to Laois and an Ice Bath followed by some delicious pints. Bed reasoably early but up at 6 this morning!
    Legs are sore - and will need work on hip flexor, knee tendons and a calf muscle - but nothing too serious.

Big Big thank you to Everyone Here.. The Novices Running Club has been a fantastic experience over the last 4 months for me.

Now, can I get under 3:30 in my next marathon.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Might as well write a bit of a report aswell given I'm awake since 6.30.

Got up yesterday at around 6am and struggled to get a bowl of porridge and a slice of toast into me. Got into town at around 7.30 and ate a few jaffa cakes on the way to bag drop. Had originally planned on averaging around the 5.30/km which would get me in a few minutes sub 4 hours, however I agreed to run with a mate from work who was going for 3:45. He was also running with another guy who on the face of it was also going for 3:45 but was a faster runner so I figured there was a chance that he would be quicker than that. I'm inclined to say this was a mistake however I must say there were times in the first half where running with a couple of people was a benefit.

We were towards the back of wave 1 and the first 2 kms were very slow with a few times walking with the crowds. Didnt really miss the first few km after that with the whole experience and before I knew it we were in PP. I was nervous about Chesterfield Ave but there really was no wind to speak of - happy days. Into Castleknock and the crowds were amazing. My mate's family had 3 goody bags at that point with a banana and a few jaffa cakes. Bit early but ate the banana anyway. Really enjoyed the next couple of km until the two hills between Chapelizod and Sth Circular Road. I was wearing a running jacket and dropped this with my wife at Dolphins Barn where I picked up another banana.

The run up to the Walkinstown Roundabout (just after halfway) was a slog and I felt that the earlier pace was getting to me. I really had to make a conscious effort to stay with the guys. After the Walkinstown Roundabout was the first time the wind really was a factor for me. At that the two guys had began to open a gap so I left them off. My pace was slowing but was still below 5:30/km.

After that there was a lot of talking to myself in my head, knocking off the kms, working out pacing to the finish etc ...anything just to get past the next km. Around Miltown, Clonskeagh and up to Heartbreak hill and I was really feeling it. Couple of km in the 5:40's.

(Had a few occasions were I felt like getting sick - I don't know if it was the gels or the Lucozade Sport. I had used the gels in training an in the end I think I only used 1 or 2 so I guess it was the Lucozade)

Coming down Fosters Ave was a relief and I had a friend there with jelly babies who ran beside me for around 50m and it really helped to tune me back it. Plodded on but I was really feeling it in my legs, and right foot but just kept talking to myself. Eventually made it down to Ballsbridge but was averaging up around 6:00/km. I kept telling myself that I should have run it smarter so I would be able to finish strong, but I'm not sure after 42k that I would have been able to finish strong regardless of pace. The crowds from Ballsbridge in were amazing - really felt the energy. I must say I could see the finish line from way back and it took forever to reach it. Did try to concentrate at the finish line though to run up straight, smile and hands in the air...the important bit of course.

3:54:00 - delighted.

I must admit I did get a bit emotional crossing the line - the "look at me - the marathon runner" feeling. Once I stopped running at the line and tried to walk I barely could. How could I have been running a few metres back and now can barely walk! Anyway struggled on - medal, t-shirt on board.

Tried to stretch down after wards but unsuccessfully - walking like John Wayne since so hopefully today I can do a bit more stretching.

Anyway it's an amazing feeling - something I thought I'd never done especially given I had never run a mile prior to 15 months ago. No doubt a large part of that due to the gang here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Chops1234 wrote: »
    Well it's 6.40 the day after and I've hardly slept so now is as good a time as any to write this race report :)

Woke early yesterday morning and lay in bed till about 7. Got up and had my overnight oats and got ready then. Went to the loo 7,000 times. My husband dropped me and my mate in as far as Pearse St Dart station and we made our way around to the start area. I queued for the loos there - there was an announcement every couple of mins saying there were loos at each start area but thankfully I didn't listen as when I got round to there, the q's were mental! Made my way to the 4:30 balloons and saw PJD with his red balloon :) Said hello to everyone, dumped my hoodie and poncho and off we went. Chatted with Emsy1 for the first couple of miles and then off I went to stay with the 4:30 pacers

Had a slight niggle at the top of my right leg but nothing major and was doing grand. Half way I was at 2:16:40 and was just a bit behind the pacers. All good.

I think it was around mile 16, I started having doubts. I walked for about 100 metres, gave out hell to myself and started jogging again. This was tough so told myself not to walk again as it was too difficult to get back jogging. Around mile 16-17, the 4:40 pacers passed. Grand I thought, it's all good. Have no idea what mile the 4:50 pacers went by.

I walked a bit here I reckon by my times! I rang my husband and said I was walking the rest of the way and not to bother coming back into town yet but he had just left, told me I was doing great and to keep going. There were lots of people walking at this stage but also a lot still running. I don't think the 5 hour pacers were here yet as I remember being with them at the top of Heartbreak hill.

So I started shuffling along again with a million and one things going on in my head:
    - I'm morto telling people it took me longer than 5 hours to do this as I said I'd definitely do it in that time
    - just do it!!!!

I'd a work colleague who had said he'd be at the top of Heartbreak hill. I said I'd better keeping jogging as I didn't want to be walking when I saw him lol. The 5 hour pacers were with me at this stage. I flew up the hill (obviously not by my times but I felt like I did) saw him there with his wife and kids and he told me I was doing great so that gave me a boost (also he was out supporting his mates who were doing it in about 3:30 so was really chuffed he stayed out to see me!) I'll be honest, after seeing him I nearly burst into tears. I was very emotional at this stage and just wanted to be home!

My watch died at mile 22 which was annoying as I'd no idea how long a mile was at that stage and I couldn't wait to see the markers!

Walked another bit but not for too long and started to recognise town. Woo Hoo I'm nearly there. Now you can't be walking along the home stretch so get going! So I shuffled along the rest of the way and must say the crowd was amazing! I didn't have my name on my top but some people were able to read the small sticker name on my number and fair play to them for shouting "chops, you're doing great!!" Kept an eye out for my husband and kids at the finish line but didn't see them which was just as well really, as I would have burst into tears I reckon!

Walking down through the barriers, a girl asked me what time did we finish and I said I reckoned about 5:10 as the 5:10 pacers hadn't passed us and this bloke said "oh great" but then went "eh I don't think there were pacers for 5:10" so we just burst out laughing then which was nice. Official finish was 5:10:50 so I wasn't too far off!

Got my medal and t-shirt (which is lovely!) and made my way around to meet my husband. My sister was there which was lovely and I told her I was a bit traumatised haha. Met himself and the kids then and we made our way to the Lombard pub for food but it was packed so just headed home. Drank a protein milk and had some crackers. I was in agony and just wanted to be home. Being honest, I was very disappointed with the time and really didn't enjoy the experience.

Once I was home and showered and warm again with food ordered, I started to feel better. Had a zillion txts telling me I was amazing so that helped! Legs were in agony and I really wish we had a downstairs loo :) Shattered and just lay on the couch for the evening. Didn't sleep much last night!

So it's all over now! Off today and tomorrow which is good. Kids off school thankfully so can just laze about for the day.

I raised over €600 for a charity which is important to me too so the pain was worth it!

In hindsight, I should have started with the 4:50 pacers I reckon. If I was to do it again, I could say "well I'll know next time" but this was my first and last marathon! Will stick with the 5/10k races in future!!

Well done again everyone. This thread has been such a help and we're all great for finishing! Thanks again Dubgal :)

Well done, there is nothing to be "disappointed" with you did great. There are thousands of people who don't do quite as well as they hope each year but millions who don't do it at all.

Enjoy your days off and feel proud of your achievement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Chops1234 wrote: »

- just do it!!!!

Chops don't be so hard on yourself you are a marathon runner a lot to be proud of there I think you should wear your medal all day today to remind yourself of that well done we are all champions doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I didn't get much sleep last night either. Just reliving the day and trying to process the huge range of emotion I went through.

Working on my race report but seeing your comments has made it hard to see the screen for tears.

I do want to say to you all that we ALL of us did something really special yesterday. For much of this journey you have all filled me with awe at your physical abilities to run so fast. Yesterday I got a glimmer of an inkling of an idea of the kind of stamina and mental strength it takes to run a marathon in such a fast time. The kind of stamina and strength I see in each and every one of you.

You're all a big part of what got me across the line. You've inspired ME. Always will.

<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Any recovery tips??!! Anyone??... im like bambi on ice today and the 2 year old wants to play!..... thankfully the wife is taking her to creche soon! Glad I took today off work. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭healy1835

So the race.....was really nervous lining up, but I was determined to pace myself and I was on the button up to 25k but realised that my left calf & hamstring were becoming an issue....but I'm rambling a bit....
    1-5k 25:07.....felt good, didn't hare off and kept the pace steady, nearly creased myself on a bin liner at about 1km mark but survived :)
    5-10k 50:07 still good into the park, wind on the back helped big time, 3:30 pacers still about 100m in front, all going to plan so far....
    10k -15k 1:14:53 I figured that this stretch was going to be quick so I didn't push it, but felt strong with 4:56kms being my aim.
    15-20k 1:39:56 still on plan, but stating to wonder about that negative split....drag up to Crumlin wasn't as bad as expected went through 1/2 mark at 1:44:59!! But I knew that 3:30 was gonna be a stretch....
    25-30k the stretch from Crumlin past Walkinstown did for me I'm afraid. Straight into the wind, seemed to be running it on my own, couldn't seem to tuck in behind anyone. Kept the km splits at 5:05, I think this was a mistake. If I had of even pushe'd it to 5:15 I might have got 3:35....
    realised as I went through Terenure and that the calf was in real danger of popping, so did some calculations on the fly and figured that somewhere around 5:40kms would get me in under 3:40 which was my B goal...
    .High fived Ray D'Arcy up the top of Heartbreak Hill....kept it steady and managed to finish relatively strong a 5:10 km to dip in under 3:40 by 8 seconds! 3:39:52.....delighted, a brilliant experience.....the fans were amazing...you hear so much about them but until you experience it you have no idea. 5 pints of Guinness & a Thai takeaway last night. A great great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Weird thing happened last night. Somebody must've crept into my room & hit the side of my knees with a hammer. When I woke up this morning they weren't working properly & were very painful. Will post race report later when I work out how to get down the stairs.

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Well done, there is nothing to be "disappointed" with you did great. There are thousands of people who don't do quite as well as they hope each year but millions who don't do it at all.

Enjoy your days off and feel proud of your achievement
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Chops don't be so hard on yourself you are a marathon runner a lot to be proud of there I think you should wear your medal all day today to remind yourself of that well done we are all champions doing this.

Thanks so much - Ah I'm feeling better today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

PJD wrote: »
    Any recovery tips??!! Anyone??... im like bambi on ice today and the 2 year old wants to play!..... thankfully the wife is taking her to creche soon! Glad I took today off work. :)

Epsom salt bath

PJD wrote: »

Thankfully my kids are older so will be babysat by iPads today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Shuffling around like a penguin this morning - and that doesn't mean that I've got happy feet.
    I don't have happy feet :mad:

JacEim wrote: »
    Finish: (3:35:40) including the last 12k in under an hour!!!

Wow, very strong finish, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭crisco10

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Weird thing happened last night. Somebody must've crept into my room & hit the side of my knees with a hammer. When I woke up this morning they weren't working properly & were very painful. Will post race report later when I work out how to get down the stairs.

Try walking down the stairs backwards! Sounds mad, but much easier than the traditional way on Day DCM+1...