If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Ginger runner

Dubgal = absolute legend. This my 4th DCM in a row and without doubt the toughest. Anybody that even finished it deserves enormous credit. Pints of guinness being lowered at PMP at the moment. The train/bus journey from Athy to Wexford tomorrow could be traumatic :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I keep bursting into tears for some strange reason.

Longer report later. First half went brilliantly, up to mile 18 was ok-ish, I did stop for a short refueling break as my friend handed over supplies, that gave me a huge boost but I lost it at 20 and had to run/walk home. All I could do was put one foot in front of the other. From 24.5 onwards I ran. From 800m onwards I ran whilst trying to hold back the tears, as I crossed the finish I didn't hold back and soaked some poor strangers shoulder with them!

Finished in 6:51:15.

Twenty minutes later than I wanted but I'm absofraginlutely delighted with myself. Toughest thing I've ever done, most brutal day I've ever had, most painful thing I've ever done to myself, but I never quit. I never stopped. I did it. I finished. I'm a marathoner.

I'm crying again. Why?!

Dubgal. There are no words. Truly. This run's for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Longer report later. First half went brilliantly, up to mile 18 was ok-ish, I did stop for a short refueling break as my friend handed over supplies, that gave me a huge boost but I lost it at 20 and had to run/walk home. All I could do was put one foot in front of the other. From 24.5 onwards I ran. From 800m onwards I ran whilst trying to hold back the tears, as I crossed the finish I didn't hold back and soaked some poor strangers shoulder with them!

Twenty minutes later than I wanted but I'm absofraginlutely delighted with myself. Toughest thing I've ever done, most brutal day I've ever had, most painful thing I've ever done to myself, but I never quit. I never stopped. I did it. I finished. I'm a marathoner.

I'm crying again. Why?!

Well done TFGR, I must say I welled up a little bit myself crossing the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

You are all amazing. All of you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

6:51:15? That's stamina and dedication right there. Well done!
    I came very close to tears too, the high as you run up Mount Street, if only you could bottle it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

smashiner wrote: »

I managed 4:18 today, exactly 30 minutes off my nightmare manflu debut of 2014....I have to admit Dubgal was my running mate up Roebuck Road and down to the Stillorgan bypass.......some Mentor, betcha yiz are all jealous.

I must have been a minute or two behind you smashiner. That must be why I didn't see Dubgal, was keeping an eye out for but thought I must have missed her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Well done everyone. Congrats. Its a great feeling to cross the finish line no matter the time. A huge achievement. It was out tough out there today. Looking forward to reading the race reports tomorrow. Tonight is for relaxing though!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Finished in 5:09:56. The first 12 miles were lovely, developed a hip problem at Kilmainham struggled from then on, especially uphill. But I struggled to the finish, I'm delighted. I am a marathon runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

@TFGR

Almost 7 hours on your feet is pretty amazing. Whatever about how that must have felt like physically, I can hardly get my head around the kind of mental strength that must have taken.

Awesome is a word that is thrown around far too easily, but what do did today really was awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Really fantastic to see everyone in the pub after. You're all rockstars in my eyes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

TheBazman wrote: »
    Well done TFGR, I must say I welled up a little bit myself crossing the finish.

I had to stop myself at 25 miles. The feckers decided to play 'Keep on Movin' by Five and I started to cry. But then I couldn't breathe and I still had over a mile to go so had to give myself a stern talking to.

Really fantastic to see everyone in the pub after. You're all rockstars in my eyes!!

As are you! Fantastic job out there and you still looked fresh in the pub!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Chops1234 wrote: »
    So did I - was gutted earlier and felt like a sap when I walked and people were telling me how great I was!

But now food has been ordered, I'm all warm and dry and have had a zillion txts from people telling me how great I am

It's all good :)

We were just before mile 25 cheering, and we did say 'well done' to people who were walking - and we meant it! You were still putting one foot in front of the other, weren't you? And you got to the finish! That's the main thing! Well done to you all! (we were also at mile 2 and about halfway - so if anyone saw a very loud couple in hi vis jackets with one of those clacker things, that was us!)
    Well done ex novices, you all did brilliantly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Just home now and back online.

Today was a day unlike any other I've ever experienced.

And I was only watching.

I don't really have any words that might be sufficient to say all I want to say about how bloody amazing you all are so I think I'll try again tomorrow.

I also want to say thank you for how thoughtful and generous you were today in words and gesture. I was a bit overwhelmed and I believe there is digital evidence. Can't believe I wasted once-a-month-mascara on you guys. ****ers.

HEROES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Well, that was eventful. The run itself was fine. It wasn't as sore as I anticipated - my shoulder was a little painful, and my left leg was a bit stiff, and something happened to my left hamstring, and my middle toe on my right foot went wonky, but none of this was really a problem :)

I went through the 10k mark just about 30 seconds ahead of where I intended to be, and then in the park I met my old boss, and proceeded to natter away with him until mile 15 or so. I dropped him and made my way up to the 3:30 pacers.

What was a problem was running out of juice after mile 22. According to my increasingly untrustworthy Nike+ iPhone app, I only really dropped the pace in miles 25 and 26, but I stopped a few times in mile 23 and 24.

Finishing was obviously amazing - such a great moment to treasure. My gun time was 3:33:33, which is pretty spectacular :) and I'm very happy with my time.

I started knacker drinking once out of the bag area (I brought a few cans of Metalman along :) ) and got to McGrattan's to grab a couch. Over the course of the afternoon and evening I continued to drink and NOT EAT (this detail is important). I had a great time with amazing chats with loads of folks from this thread and beyond, DUBGAL HERSELF!! AND ELIUD TOO!!! whoopsie's presentation to dubgal was wonderful, and I'm astonished and incredibly grateful for the novices medal :)

Things got really interesting when I fainted in the pub (!!!). Thankfully I was surrounded by mature and thoughtful runners, so I was immediately presented with lots of liquids and sugary and salty foods. 20 minutes later or so I was grand and finishing my pint, but reckoned that staying on later was probably ill advised, so split home and annihilated an Indian takeway while finishing off the previously mentioned cans of beer :)

Proper race report to follow, of course :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 378 ✭✭brennarr

Well done to all.

Finished in 3:26:55 which I am delighted with. The 3:30 pacers were amazing.

Thanks to everyone guidance and support here.

Singer wrote: »
    Well, that was eventful. The run itself was fine. It wasn't as sore as I anticipated - my shoulder was a little painful, and my left leg was a bit stiff, and something happened to my left hamstring, and my middle toe on my right foot went wonky, but none of this was really a problem :)

I went through the 10k mark just about 30 seconds ahead of where I intended to be, and then in the park I met my old boss, and proceeded to natter away with him until mile 15 or so. I dropped him and made my way up to the 3:30 pacers.

What was a problem was running out of juice after mile 22. According to my increasingly untrustworthy Nike+ iPhone app, I only really dropped the pace in miles 25 and 26, but I stopped a few times in mile 23 and 24.

Finishing was obviously amazing - such a great moment to treasure. My gun time was 3:33:33, which is pretty spectacular :) and I'm very happy with my time.

I started knacker drinking once out of the bag area (I brought a few cans of Metalman along :) ) and got to McGrattan's to grab a couch. Over the course of the afternoon and evening I continued to drink and NOT EAT (this detail is important). I had a great time amazing chats with loads of folks from this thread and beyond, DUBGAL HERSELF!! AND ELIUD TOO!!! whoopsie's presentation to dubgal was wonderful, and I'm astonished and incredibly grateful for the novices medal :)

Things got really interesting when I fainted in the pub (!!!). Thankfully I was surrounded by mature and thoughtful runners, so I was immediately presented with lots of liquids and sugary and salty foods. 20 minutes later or so I was grand and finishing my pint, but reckoned that staying on later was probably ill advised, so split home and annihilated an Indian takeway while finishing off the previously mentioned cans of beer :)

Proper race report to follow, of course :)

Can't believe you went knacker drinking, impressed you did it with craft beer though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I'm crying again. Why?!

Bloody hell, some strength to keep going that long! You (and all of ye) trained for it just like everyone else did, went out and did the job. Let the tears flow, it is a very emotional experience. I wish I could run my first marathon again. <3 to you all. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Toulouse wrote: »
    Can't believe you went knacker drinking, impressed you did it with craft beer though :D

Slight inherent contradiction....bet he can't sing either :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 BobDylan

Well done everybody, absolutely fantastic running.
    Finished in 4:58:06 just about beating my target of 4:59:59😅. Last 5 miles were rough! Happy camper here.

Dubgal, thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

WELL DONE GUYS!!! you rock :) great to see & meet so many of you today, sorry to those I missed (nop & Anna, I'm looking at you *hangs head in shame, again*)

Soak up the glory, you are marathon runners :) enjoy the buzz of the next few days and look forward to reading all the race reports.

Did I mention YOU ROCK :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

Wow that was tough, cane home in 3:43 delighted with it but unfortunately my legs gave in just as I was crossing the line, spent 30 minutes in the big white tent as a precaution as they checked me over. No problems think my legs just had enough of me at that stage, on the plus side I did manage to get a massage whilst in there. Seen dubgal at the 22 mile marker not sure she has a clue who I was when I shouted her name 😄😄

Managed to get to mcgrattens for a quick pint with my wife and managed to meet gillo who was looking very fresh ( nice to have met you dude).

Well done to you all, you truly are all Heros I'm off now to die on my couch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Fieldsman

I'm back in the West after all that. I thought I'd be able to hang on with Murph and the 4 30 pacers but alas I had to drift back. Worse was to happen when the 4 40 pacers passed me in the last couple of miles because at that stage I was losing altitude badly. I think I finished in 4 48 which was a bit over my target time but whatever. Afterwards I made my way to McGrattans but could only get as far as the door as sardines in a can would have more room. Well done to all of ye today especially the pacers who do an excellent job not forgetting Dubgal who deserves special bula bos for all she has done with this tread. Now its time to cure my thirst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Managed to get to mcgrattens for a quick pint with my wife and managed to meet gillo who was looking very fresh ( nice to have met you dude).

Well done to you all, you truly are all Heros I'm off now to die on my couch

Nice to have met you too. Looking fresh? I certainly didn't feel that way! Glad the legs are fine.

Ok I'm off to bed- following Dubgal's advice from all last week :D

Oh my god what a day.

Not an ideal day out for me but I still had an absolute BALL and loved almost every minute of it. Got my tshirt and my medal and that's all I wanted so I won't complain.

I was hanging back and taking the first half slower than the second, got quite weak coming up to the halfway mark, was "empty" I knew my friends were just before mile 13 with fuel so I said I'd have something to eat, had a banana and felt perfect again. Got to mile 14/15 ish and felt a pop in the tendon at the back of my knee so knew I was in trouble. Miles 157-17 were pretty lonely thereafter but I have never ever been so determined about anythin in my life, so I just picked off the miles - very very slowly - and made sure to smile any time I heard my name and got to the finish delighted with myself.

Waaaaaayyyyyy longer out there than I ever imagined I would be but I have my pretty medal so screw it :)

Oh lads, if I didn't get to see any of the novices in the pub can you please drop me a PM. I had a little token for each of you but I missed most of you so would like to send them on to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

What a day and that support wow took me a while to get used to people calling me name (printed on tshirt). Have to say big thanks to MurphD 4.30 pacer stayed with him from Chesterfield ave to 20/21 miles. Legs just got so tired couldn't keep the pace. Finished in 4.31.23 very chuffed with myself. Great to meet everyone after. Mrs KennyG managed to get a photo of us all in mc grattans will post when she sends on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

I had an absolute fantastic day - 4:02:37 in the end. Nice and steady, and just ahead of Meno (4h pacer) through 21M, when both hamstrings suddenly cramped and I had to stop... the 4h balloons soon bobbed by and that was that.

The support everywhere, but especially towards the end was amazing. High-fived my kids at the Mt Street bridge and then just soaked up the atmosphere - pretty sure that's a once-in-a-lifetime.

Nice touch was that Sonia O'Sullivan was just at the finishline and congratulated me on finishing!

Lovely to meet you all in McG, well done to everybody, runners, supporters, online followers.

Proper report tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Hi Folks,

Made it in 3:54 which was just inside my target time. I ran a marathon. Absolutely thrilled and equally delighted to hear everybodies news. That has been more than half of this journey.

More details to follow in a report. Singer.... you have put the idea of a curry in my head right now!!!!! Speed dial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Just a shortish note, delighted with today. It was everything I wanted and more. Nice surprise to meet Neil in the first mile and we ran a lot of the first half with each other, the company was great!
    The stupidly huge name on my top was such a good idea as it turned. Got my name called so many times today it was great, I knew first time out at this I would need a bit of a dig out throughout and Dublin delivered in spades! That with my wife and some friends (and Dubgal) being on route was great and gave me a great lift.
    I had a few wobbles with the emotions at times but nothing bad. I celebrated pretty big going over the start line (big moment to do that and wanted to savour it) plus the finish as well of course, had felt my right Achilles/calf start to have a few moments in the last mile but it held up as did the knee!
    Delighted to meet my fellow ex-novices in McGrattans and our legendary mentor, just made a better day even better!

Goal A when signing up for this was to run the marathon and that was what I did, delighted to have ran every single step. My target time of 4:05 was ambitious but I was on course at halfway but I knew I would be drifting a bit as to how I felt so really focused more on effort in keeping it even (feeling/HRM) and less on pace. The 4:10 pacers passed me in Clonskeagh as we came up towards Roebuck Road but given I knew they had gained 3mins on me since the halfway point I said I will stick to my own race rather than try hold onto them.
    Ended up finishing 4:12:54 and delighted with it.