If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Great to meet all of you after the race. Sorry I couldn't stay too long.

Finishing in 4:46. There first 15 miles were perfect but started to cramp and slowly just lost my pace. 4:45 was my B goal so I'm happy out! Officially, I am a marathon runner!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Well done everyone. Some very impressive debuts, and in tough conditions as well. Nice going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Sorry I didn't update the list with my race number, but I made it out in the end, literally by the skin of my teeth. Father-in-law's situation worsened on Saturday, so I told my wife I wouldn't race - there's more important things, and I couldn't live with myself if she was stuck at home with the kids when the family gets the call.

So 8:40am this morning, herself and her brother conspire to get me to the race, we leave the house at 9am and I jog up from Westland Row to the start line, barely joining the last the of the wave 3 starters/walkers at about 9:25. My mother-in-law txted me to wish me good luck first thing this morning. Genuinely, I'm incredibly touched that they'd put me and my race ahead of everything that's going on, but that's the type of people they are.

So, a race report will follow but given a very non-Marathon prep this morning, I'm thoroughly proud of a 3:56:30 in my first marathon.

Congratulations to all the novices - you're all marathon-runners now! :D Sorry I couldn't pop into McGrattan's afterwards to meet you all.

A time of 3:28 for me, delighted with that, would have been pleased with 3:40. Took it handy enough for the first 8 miles or so, when we got into the second half and I was feeling good (about 16 miles in) and I upped the pace a bit, was surprised how well things were going. Found the last few miles a little tough, but kept going at about 8 mins a mile, was a bit worried about cramp at that stage, had a few twinges, but thankfully I never had to stop.
    Honestly wasn't prepared for how exhausted I felt afterwards, but got a little bit of rejuvenation after a pint of Guinness and made it back to the hotel.
    Delighted I did it, thanks very much to all involved in this thread, especially Dubgal. Was great for people like me who trained alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Sorry for not staying long in McGrattans, I'd have loved to have met more people but felt the need to get home.
    Thanks to everyone here both mentors and novices for the massive support over the last few weeks.

The guys I was running with were dead set on a 4:15 time, with hindsight I should have just said ok see you at the end, I'm back there.
    The supporters, what can I say, especially along the last stretch when I could feel myself dropping badly, they really lifted me up.

I missed my target by less than two minutes, kind of regret walking a good section on Nutley Lane, but for a first time I don't mind.

I did think I brought too many gels and a few people comented on my "stash" but was really glad when some lady in Terenure asked me if she could have one, kinda of made my day being able to help her that tiny little bit.

Ok I'm home now, time for a shower!

One last thing to say, Congratulations EX-novices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Auntie Matter

Well done to you all.

Your finishers' tops - aren't they fab this year - say it all, literally!

"Challenge, dream, preparation, willpower, motivation, sacrifice, commitment, discipline, courage, relief, elation, exhilaration, success, joy, delight, PRIDE!, pleasure, thrill, achievement, jubilation, satisfaction, triumph"

Congratulations and enjoy the celebrations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Inspiring runs from you all today, I was following a good few of you on the tracker and was impressed, it can't have been easy with the weather conditions never mind the 26 plus miles on your feet. Looking forward to the reports over the next few days. Have a great evening whatever you are doing , you should all be very proud of your achievement today .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

My wife and my sister were near the end about 400m I think. They saw a girl collapse right in front of them. They had to do CPR and defib her but according to a Guard there, they stabilised her. Hopefully she makes a full recovery. Just get home safely is the only real target I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Well done everyone. Looking forward to reading all the reports later.

I went out with the 4:30 group. Got mid way at about 2:15 by my watch and could still see the balloons. All went downhill from there. Head just gave up. Legs were killing me. Walked a bit. Shuffled the rest of it!

Came home in 5:10:50 which was way over what I thought (assumed I'd manage easily under 5) Was bit traumatised and emotional lol. Now I'm home I'm just thinking "feck it, I'm deadly!" :)

Was lovely to meet everyone in the 4:30 group. Emsy - you passed me I think around mile 16 and were looking well. Enjoy your evening in town tonight. (Edit I see you came in under 4:40 - well done!)

Will put up a proper report tomorrow.

Again - well done everyone.

Also - the t-shirt is lovely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 3star

First time posting on the thread but have been following all the excellent advice all the way through, DG there are no words that have not already been said, thank you very much and also to everyone else who contributed to the thread. 4:29:08 for my first marathon. I could not have done it without the support of this talented group of people. I'm a marathon runner. Unbelievable feeling. Thanks again to one and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Windorah

Well done everyone!! Lovely to hear so many people happy and buzzing!

I ran nearly 30 minutes over my goal so I am absolutely gutted. I have had a little cry now (and two cheeseburgers!) so beginning to feel better. A marathon is a marathon no matter how slow u go!

Windorah wrote: »

I ran nearly 30 minutes over my goal so I am absolutely gutted.

Is it too early to say that sounds like a challenge for next year?

I've just synced my Polar up, there's a thing called "training load" the basic idea is it tells you when to pull back so you don't over train. It didn't register today for some reason- I'm all good to run again tomorrow apparently! (A good walk in the morning and that'll be it for me)

Windorah wrote: »
    Well done everyone!! Lovely to hear so many people happy and buzzing!

I ran nearly 30 minutes over my goal so I am absolutely gutted. I have had a little cry now (and two cheeseburgers!) so beginning to feel better. A marathon is a marathon no matter how slow u go!

So did I - was gutted earlier and felt like a sap when I walked and people were telling me how great I was!

But now food has been ordered, I'm all warm and dry and have had a zillion txts from people telling me how great I am

It's all good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Well done to everyone today what an amazing achievement for all of us. Iooking forward to reading all ur experiences over the next few days. What can I say other than it was one of the best days of my friggin life.Honest to God it's up there with having kids. I felt like a celeb with everyone shouting my name. I also had great support from my family and friends.
    Sorry I didn't make mcgrattans but my family and all the kids opted for burger king

Chops u have done amazing today don't let a time ruin it on u. Ur now part of the small percentage of the world that's done a marathon it was so nice meeting you.

Now to go party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Windorah

Gillo wrote: »
    Is it too early to say that sounds like a challenge for next year?

I've just synced my Polar up, there's a thing called "training load" the basic idea is it tells you when to pull back so you don't over train. It didn't register today for some reason- I'm all good to run again tomorrow apparently! (A good walk in the morning and that'll be it for me)

Thanks Gillo, I must look into that and sure at the end of the day it's just a bit of fun... I will be back:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Bob_the_dog

Got home in 4:02:19 in my first, feck it, I'll have to go back next year now to get below 4 :)

Atmosphere was electric, Castleknock and Dolphins Barn were highlights.

No wonder its known as the friendliest marathon

Going for a pint and bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just out of the bath and heading out for a few. I feel surprisingly good. That training really has great effects on recovery!

I think I just to spend a bit more time on muscle strength. My cardio was spot on today. I was never out of breath, gasping for air, and I barely broke a sweat. My legs betrayed me and gave up! That said, they still got me over the line so happy days!

Emsy 1 wrote: »

Chops u have done amazing today don't let a time ruin it on u. Ur now part of the small percentage of the world that's done a marathon it was so nice meeting you.

Now to go party.

Thanks so much. If by party you mean lie on the couch in your pjs, then I'm partying now too :)

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

I've never been so tired!! Absolutely shattered, but delighted to have completed my first (last) marathon.

I'll report in tomorrow when I'm able to think straight, in the road back to Galway now, have fun any party animals that are able!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Just a quick check in to say well done everyone! Looking forward to reading all the reports.

Well, it will be an early night for me after I figure out how to wee standing up :eek::pac:

Got home got showered and headed to the local. (In a taxi, no way could I walk) and having one of these....(tried to attach image of a Guinness)

Well done everyone.

Double post..

Triple post, stupid phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Well done EVERYONE, we all outdid ourselves and we're no longer novices :):)

I don't know about you guys but I found it really tough, it was all about digging deep. We should all be so proud of our achievements today and Dubgal, I've said it already but once again, thank you so much for everything you've done for us :)

Eyeball kid, thank you for letting me know about that girl. I passed her as they were doing CPR on her, so close to the finish line and sobering to say the least. I'm glad she's ok.

Everyone, I'm so sorry that I didn't make McGs. My superstar brothers got up at silly o clock to drive from Clare to see me off and cheer me over the finish line and to drive me home to Clare so I took my smelly soggy self into the car and curled up in the back seat :) Hope ye all had a great time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭JMSE

got to the finish in 4hrs 48m, toughest day of my entire life, hadnt been able to run for a month, fitness was fine to Chapelizod and then I just died like the battery on a phone, so glad i did it though, wouldve been beside myself otherwise, thanks very much to Dubgal and her team for providing this platform for me to learn so much over the last few months since I joined and before as a lurker, memories of this day will not fade for me til the day I die. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

aquinn wrote: »
    Neady and Nop doing great. Hope Smash is ok.

Yes, the rumors of my demise at 10K were thankfully unfounded, Mrs Smash nearly had kittens when she saw that I had 'stopped'....something up with the tracker as I reappeared at the halfway point and around 30K:D

I managed 4:18 today, exactly 30 minutes off my nightmare manflu debut of 2014....I have to admit Dubgal was my running mate up Roebuck Road and down to the Stillorgan bypass.......some Mentor, betcha yiz are all jealous now :)

Will post a full 'eventful' race report tomorrow....so happy that I did a 'decent' marathon. 9 minutes outside my 'A' time but 2 minutes inside my 'B' Time.....chicken satay and pints all the way!!

Well done today novices!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Well done all, great running in what seemed like tough conditions. Some great times posted so enjoy the drinks tonight and the next few days when it will start to sink in.

Also you've all been very lucky to have Dubgal as mentor so buy her a G&T or something!

Quick question, I'm assuming it's ok that my legs are pretty warm, I'd say hot but not boiling hot?

You people going out celebrating, no idea how you manage! Netflix and that mini can of beer we got at the expo for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Had gotten used to people just knowing my name (had it written on my running top today) so was slightly miffed in Starbucks when the girl asked my name for my drink (no, not coffee) as I'd changed into my finishers shirt.

Then she leaned over, smiled at me and told me she hoped it had gone well.

Walked through the streets of Dublin with a smile on my face tonight. Today was everything I had hoped it would be and that is thanks to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

Chops1234 wrote: »
    Well done everyone. Looking forward to reading all the reports later.

I went out with the 4:30 group. Got mid way at about 2:15 by my watch and could still see the balloons. All went downhill from there. Head just gave up. Legs were killing me. Walked a bit. Shuffled the rest of it!

Came home in 5:10:50 which was way over what I thought (assumed I'd manage easily under 5) Was bit traumatised and emotional lol. Now I'm home I'm just thinking "feck it, I'm deadly!" :)

Was lovely to meet everyone in the 4:30 group. Emsy - you passed me I think around mile 16 and were looking well. Enjoy your evening in town tonight. (Edit I see you came in under 4:40 - well done!)

Will put up a proper report tomorrow.

Again - well done everyone.

Also - the t-shirt is lovely :)

Very similar experience chops.
    Will report in the next day or two.