Anyone sick of Tom Meagher and Jenny Stanley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

I dunno OP
    If you look at situations where men are let loose, without fear of law or consequence, ( for example in war), then rape of women is common in such situations. Up to 2 million women were raped by Soviet troops during ww2 when given free reign

So a bunch of fellas drinking and throwing shapes and having a laugh are as bad as the near animal like Red Army soldiers who rampaged through Europe after being cooped up in the gulags?

We live in peace time and for centuries men have got drunk, got loud and made sexual comments at passing women. I'm sure it probably happened when the Virgin Mary herself was carrying water from the well through Nazareth.

I think Tom Meager is a man absolutely destroyed with grief. All I can add here is give the man a break. Let him do what it is he feels he needs to do. If it gives him a tiny bit of comfort then so be it.

Rest in Peace Jill x

Not if he thinks he can go around demonizing harmless men for the actions of the dirtbag who killed his wife. He's conflating everyday shenanigans to rape and violation. I'm sorry what happened to his wife but he is dead wrong and he can f*ck off. Simple as that.

RayM wrote: »
    I'll ask you again... Why shouldn't someone (man or woman) have the right to go about their business without being harassed (sexually or otherwise) by strangers?

It's called a free society. If you aren't being physically attacked or robbed then it's not a crime and you can ignore it and keep walking. Lots of women love the banter and it's great when they have a funny comeback or shake their hips a bit more as they are going by.

And how very inclusive to include (man or woman). Very well done. 5 stars!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Red King

Not if he thinks he can go around demonizing harmless men for the actions of the dirtbag who killed his wife. He's conflating everyday shenanigans to rape and violation. I'm sorry what happened to his wife but he is dead wrong and he can f*ck off. Simple as that.

The message is a common one with radical feminists who think that having a penis = rapist in waiting.

I won't however blame Tom Meagher for what I see as him being cruelly manipulated by others who see an opportunity for a bit of publicity and collective shaming.

Grand so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It's called a free society. If you aren't being physically attacked or robbed then it's not a crime and you can ignore it and keep walking. Lots of women love the banter and it's great when they have a funny comeback or shake their hips a bit more as they are going by.

No it's called acting like a dick. I'm sure you think you are just hilarious but I'd imagine anyone who is unlucky enough to be around you when you're having the 'banter' thinks you're a gob****e. But once you've having fun who cares about how anyone else feels right? I'm sure your mother must be so proud of the man child she's raised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It's called being an arsehole. Being an arsehole isn't necessarily a crime, but it's still being an arsehole.

Hopefully, when you grow up, you'll realise that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,908 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Red King wrote: »
    This white ribbon campaign seems to combine the worst instincts of internet attention seeking activism and feminism gone awry wherein somehow casting a generalised collective guilt over every man in the country will somehow help combat rape in this country.

It is bizarre, misguided and utterly wrong.

I feel sorry for Tom Meagher. It is awful what happened his wife and I can't help but feel that others are taking advantage of his situation to promote their own misguided crusade.

Meagher is behaving like a textbook useful idiot, and not for the first time I'm afraid.

His family need to get him out of the public eye ASAP before his ill informed and over generalised pontificating gets him onto trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

eviltwin wrote: »
    No it's called acting like a dick. I'm sure you think you are just hilarious but I'd imagine anyone who is unlucky enough to be around you when you're having the 'banter' thinks you're a gob****e. But once you've having fun who cares about how anyone else feels right? I'm sure your mother must be so proud of the man child she's raised.

I'm not one for the traditional wolf whistles, or beeping at women, or hollering at them. But from an outsiders point of view I'love tell you this - there are a lot of women who will react positively to it. One girls creep is another girls charmer. Not defending it, just pointing out that it would stop outright if all girls stopped responding to it. It's a market out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

discus wrote: »
    I'm not one for the traditional wolf whistles, or beeping at women, or hollering at them. But from an outsiders point of view I'love tell you this - there are a lot of women who will react positively to it. One girls creep is another girls charmer. Not defending it, just pointing out that it would stop outright if all girls stopped responding to it. It's a market out there.

Im not talking about that. Sure some women respond positively to it, they obviously don't feel intimidated by it. I'm talking about the lads who get off on making lewd comments to women even when the woman is clearly uncomfortable. If she's not engaging move on and leave her alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Granted. At that point it is arseholery.

As for the white ribbon campaign, OP is spot on in some points. Deranged sociopathic/psychotic men can be rapists. But please try not to tarnish us all with the brush Mr Meaghar. It's demeaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

discus wrote: »
    I'm not one for the traditional wolf whistles, or beeping at women, or hollering at them. But from an outsiders point of view I'love tell you this - there are a lot of women who will react positively to it. One girls creep is another girls charmer. Not defending it, just pointing out that it would stop outright if all girls stopped responding to it.
    I don't think it would at all. I know, as you say, some girls/women don't mind it, but it's context dependent, and depends on how the woman herself feels - it also depends on how aggressive the catcalling is (when it's good-natured and genuinely just a bit of fun - well that's different to making really explicit comments). I wouldn't mind it so much when dressed up to go out (although alone and on a bus at night doesn't seem fun, as you're not just passing them - you're stuck with them) but when out running in my tracksuit it's uncomfortable and embarrassing - to the point that I changed my route to avoid it.

There's clearly no talking to the OP, some of whose reasoning is "It has always happened" so therefore it's ok and should be just put up with - to hell with how those on the receiving end feel about it, but hopefully people who can be reasoned with more will be able to see that while it might just be lads having the craic, there's another person besides them.
    It doesn't make them rapists - or akin to rapists - though, of course.

No it's called acting like a dick.

Great!
    I'm sure you think you are just hilarious but I'd imagine anyone who is unlucky enough to be around you when you're having the 'banter' thinks you're a gob****e.

Shouldn't you be reading Chomsky or campaigning for the rights of Palestinian suicide bombers or something? :D
    But once you've having fun who cares about how anyone else feels right?

You see that is precisely what is the problem with white knights like you. You feel guilty about having fun because you worry about what other people think.
    I'm sure your mother must be so proud of the man child she's raised.

My mother loves me unconditionally. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

It's a bank holiday Sunday

What? Oh yeah, forgot about that one.

Last BH here was August, next is Christmas :(

It's called being an arsehole. Being an arsehole isn't necessarily a crime, but it's still being an arsehole.

Hopefully, when you grow up, you'll realise that.

I'll do what I want and say what I want and behave how I want and if people are offended they know what they can do.
    I'm sick to death of these campaigning right on middle class white knights going around tut tutting and looking down their nose.
    When I see a nice backside swaying past me I am going to have a good stare and I'm going to compliment the woman on your nice bum.
    When she is old and fat and her body parts are hanging off her she won't be getting any compliments so she should be grateful for the here and now.

It's called a free society. If you aren't being physically attacked or robbed then it's not a crime

Yes it is. Harassment is a crime and it doesn't have to involve any kind of physical element.
    I'll do what I want and say what I want and behave how I want and if people are offended they know what they can do.

You sound lovely.

Oh, and women don't have to be grateful for your wonderful attention. Not here, not now, not ever.

Maybe just try and not act like a dick? You might not have any sinister intentions but it's intimidating for a lone female to have a gang of lads make sexual remarks. She doesn't know it's only 'banter' does she?

If someone attacked her the same lads making the sexual remarks would be the first to rush to her aid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

I'm sick to death of these campaigning right on middle class white knights going around tut tutting and looking down their nose.
    When I see a nice backside swaying past me I am going to have a good stare and I'm going to compliment the woman on your nice bum.
    When she is old and fat and her body parts are hanging off her she won't be getting any compliments so she should be grateful for the here and now.

Have you ever actually managed to get laid?

Candie wrote: »
    Yes it is. Harassment is a crime and it doesn't have to involve any kind of physical element.

Candie? Sweet!
    You sound lovely.

Tee hee hee!
    Oh, and women don't have to be grateful for your wonderful attention. Not here, not now, not ever.

I'm have your attention don't I? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Nobody's saying you can't admire the sight of a nice bum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

josephryan1989 has not made any friends yet

Nice mature attitude you've got there. Hopefully, when you're an adult, you'll look back on these posts and cringe.

Have you ever actually managed to get laid?

All the time.
    Some women love the attention and others act all feminist and cross their arms.
    It's a numbers game.

Azalea wrote: »
    Nobody's saying you can't admire the sight of a nice bum.

When a group of men see a nice bum on a night out in Dublin they are going to say it out loud and that is that.

Nice mature attitude you've got there. Hopefully, when you're an adult, you'll look back on these posts and cringe.

If mature means boring, I'll pass thank you very much. I don't cringe because I'm a dirty minded f*cker and I'm open about it. Simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

You don't do this. You've never done this. You probably don't leave the house very much. I've never heard of the two people you created this thread to berate because I don't let things like that bother me as it has no impact on how I live my life.

If mature means boring, I'll pass thank you very much. I don't cringe because I'm a dirty minded f*cker and I'm open about it. Simple as.

A tiny bit of self-awareness might make you less boring, to be honest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Comparing heckling to rape is extreme and I think Meagher is a little misguided. Especially considering that women also commit rape and sexual assault (though women are more likely to be victims in most situations).

But I'd like to ask straight lads this:

You're walking down the road from the pub. It's around one o'clock in the morning, it's dark and there aren't many people about. You're generally not afraid to be on your own at this time, but bumping into a mugger isn't exactly your endgame of the evening.

You have to walk down an alleyway to get home. There's a bunch of gay guys standing there, having had a few drinks, having a bit of banter. These aren't camp, gay-best-friend type gay guys. They're huge fellas who could knock fifty shades of sh!t into you if they so pleased. You feel a little intimidated (a bunch of guys hanging out in an alley at night... anyone would at least be on their guard).

As you walk past, they start saying how sexy you look, what a tight ass you have, all in the spirit of good fun. One of them starts going on about how he'd like to get you home and give it to you good. You feel uncomfortable and don't say anything because you know if they wanted, these lads could surround you and beat the crap out of you. So you walk faster.

They start shouting louder, going on about gang bangs, etc. They walk on a little, not really following you but staying within earshot and continuing with their sexual remarks, getting more and more graphic. They start whistling, saying that you're a frigid little twink who just needs a good stuffing.

You see a taxi and peg it. They trot after you and keep howling and yelling sexual obscenities, how you'd probably be nice and tight because you've clearly never been with a man before. You hop in the taxi and drive away, scared sh!tless.

That's EXACTLY the sh!t Jenny Stanley went through. That's the kind of crap my female friends have gotten on a daily basis. Some have actually been followed.

Another poster here said it was a free country. I'm sorry, but you're not 'free' to harass and make people feel uncomfortable. Physical harassment is not the only kind.

I didn't want to go into such explicit detail with that story, but that's what many women experience time and time again. Lads get it too, but not to the extent women get it.

OneArt wrote: »

You're walking down the road from the pub. It's around one o'clock in the morning, it's dark and there aren't many people about. You're generally not afraid to be on your own at this time, but bumping into a mugger isn't exactly your endgame of the evening.

You have to walk down an alleyway to get home. There's a bunch of gay guys standing there, having had a few drinks, having a bit of banter. These aren't camp, gay-best-friend type gay guys. They're huge fellas who could knock fifty shades of sh!t into you if they so pleased. You feel a little intimidated (a bunch of guys hanging out in an alley at night... anyone would at least be on their guard).

As you walk past, they start saying how sexy you look, what a tight ass you have, all in the spirit of good fun. One of them starts going on about how he'd like to get you home and give it to you good. You feel uncomfortable and don't say anything because you know if they wanted, these lads could surround you and beat the crap out of you. So you walk faster.

They start shouting louder, going on about gang bangs, etc. They walk on a little, not really following you but staying within earshot and continuing with their sexual remarks, getting more and more graphic. They start whistling, saying that you're a frigid little twink who just needs a good stuffing.

You see a taxi and peg it. They trot after you and keep howling and yelling sexual obscenities, how you'd probably be nice and tight because you've clearly never been with a man before. You hop in the taxi and drive away, scared sh!tless.

I'd bite their dicks off! :D If a bunch of gay fellas were doing that a few cars loads of fellas would be around quick with hurleys, bats and iron bars to sort them out.
    That's EXACTLY the sh!t Jenny Stanley went through. That's the kind of crap my female friends have gotten on a daily basis. Some have actually been followed.

There's a world of a difference between me looking at a woman's arse and complimenting her and some weirdo with a horn following her home.
    I'd be the first to batter some fella if he was in a girl's face like that.
    A few lads having the craic is not the same as a bunch of guys actually surrounding the girl and not letting her by and making her cry and run for her life.
    So you see that's what I was on about.
    Demonizing all men and making them all out to be f*cking rapists!
    Another poster here said it was a free country. I'm sorry, but you're not 'free' to harass and make people feel uncomfortable. Physical harassment is not the only kind.

Saying "Howye sweetheart" and whistling and having a laugh and the craic is not the same as some scumbag saying something absolutely disgusting and threatening to rape and sodomize some young one.

What Stanley and Meagher are on about is making men on a stag night or a bunch of guys drinking after game out to be potential rapists.

Which is a load of f*cking b*ll*cks.

The overwhelming majority of men would never dream of assaulting or raping a girl and to say that banter and having a laugh is the same as scumbags taking liberties is a f*cking joke.
    I didn't want to go into such explicit detail with that story, but that's what many women experience time and time again.

Only a tiny minority.
    Lads get it too, but not to the extent women get it.

You must be afraid to go out your front door. God love ya! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

If a bunch of gay fellas were doing that a few cars loads of fellas would be around quick with hurleys, bats and iron bars to sort them out.

You don't strike me as the type of person who could muster a car load of lads unless it was for a gamers meet.
    There's a world of a difference between me looking at a woman's arse and complimenting her.

You don't do this. The vast majority of women would either ignore a stranger or tell him to fuck off if he said 'nice arse'. Stop lying.
    I'd be the first to batter some fella if he was in a girl's face like that.

We got a real internet badass here folks.