Irish Army Snipers Best in World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

cajonlardo wrote: »

Over 10 years ago. I guess that's a lot of target practice since alright :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

frag420 wrote: »
    Seeing as we are a neutral nation how about we put their skills to good use and use the rangers to fire food into the mouths of hungry people? Maybe aim blankets and tents at the homeless?

Just a thought......

Can you just imagine the headlines.

Syrian Refugee killed by tent fired with pinpoint precision to centre of head by sniper.

15 homeless found dead with high velocity carrots through heart.

Rangers deny using cluster munitions to deliver peas to VdP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭GrayFox208

Patser wrote: »

Syrian Refugee killed by tent fired with pinpoint precision to centre of head by sniper.

I heard they used Grenade Launchers to fire those blocks of cheese that VdP was handing out a few years back. Mary from down the road almost lost an eye she did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Sonics2k wrote: »
    You are literally clueless as to the great things members of our Defence Forces have achieved.

Contrary to popular belief, it's not all standing around with Bank vans at two in the afternoon.

Many of our lads are actually fantastic soldiers, who unlike the US, go out across the world, save some people and don't kick up a huge fuss about it.

Wait, what? The guy never said a single word against our defense forces. Someone asked what he (or the public in general) do while the defense forces are out doing their thing. He said he works and pays taxes, w u och os where they get a good deal of their finding from. As does any nations defense forces.

Again what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    I heard they used Grenade Launchers to fire those blocks of cheese that VdP was handing out a few years back. Mary from down the road almost lost an eye she did.

Ye olde rubber bullets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,795 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Sonics2k wrote: »
    You are literally clueless as to the great things members of our Defence Forces have achieved.

Contrary to popular belief, it's not all standing around with Bank vans at two in the afternoon.

Many of our lads are actually fantastic soldiers, who unlike the US, go out across the world, save some people and don't kick up a huge fuss about it.

Yes Americans bad, Irish good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

risteard7 wrote: »
    Maybe if the Majority of homeless people weren't taking drugs or alcohol they might not be homeless. Or those who decide to have 3 or 4 kids in there early twenties while unemployed, then complain to joe duffy they cant get a free house.

There are genuine cases of homelessness in Ireland but for the majority it's a choice.
    you have evidence the majority are on drugs? you have evidence that homelessness is a choice for the majority?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Vizzy

you have evidence the majority are on drugs? you have evidence that homelessness is a choice for the majority?

Have you evidence that they are not ? Have you evidence that homelessness is not the choice for the majority ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Maybe if the Majority of homeless people weren't taking drugs or alcohol they might not be homeless. Or those who decide to have 3 or 4 kids in there early twenties while unemployed, then complain to joe duffy they cant get a free house.

There are genuine cases of homelessness in Ireland but for the majority it's a choice.

Want some sauce with those chips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Evidence?? Take a walk around Dublin, open your eyes and observe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Patser wrote: »

It's the fuppin' army - it's soldiers - if you leave food lying around they're going to eat it, not shoot it at people - even if they're not hungry :D

On the plus side, your idea would be a good example of Peas Keeping :D:D:D:D:D

Vizzy wrote: »
    Have you evidence that they are not ? Have you evidence that homelessness is not the choice for the majority ?

Why in the name of Christ would ANYONE choose to be homeless? Why would someone wake up in a house and say you know what, **** it I'm going to be homeless. I'll be living the hobo life. Do you think there's an opportunity for me to get into the hobo gear business? Sick with a rag, ****ty clothes some blankets and empty cups for change? I suppose if so many people are choosing to be homeless I will be making a killing.

P.S: can YOU prove otherwise is a ****ty rebuttal when someone asks you to prove something, you are the one making the allegations, you're the one who should be providing evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Over 10 years ago. I guess that's a lot of target practice since alright :P

Are you seriously suggesting they've done nothing since? Or are you just doing a good job of wrecking me buzz? :D

Anyway, I'm glad to see them winning, that was my real point. Nothing to do with any of the other stuff that has crept in on the thread.

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Why in the name of Christ would ANYONE choose to be homeless? Why would someone wake up in a house and say you know what, **** it I'm going to be homeless. I'll be living the hobo life. Do you think there's an opportunity for me to get into the hobo gear business? Sick with a rag, ****ty clothes some blankets and empty cups for change? I suppose if so many people are choosing to be homeless I will be making a killing.

P.S: can YOU prove otherwise is a ****ty rebuttal when someone asks you to prove something, you are the one making the allegations, you're the one who should be providing evidence.

I am not alleging that they wake up some morning and say "fcuk it I'll become homeless". But if they decide to snort stuff up their nose or into a vein, then that is a CHOICE. Consequences follow.
    Secondly, I wasn't asked to provide anything. Read the thread !!

I am not alleging that they wake up some morning and say "fcuk it I'll become homeless". But if they decide to snort stuff up their nose or into a vein, then that is a CHOICE. Consequences follow.

Quote: end of the road
    you have evidence the majority are on drugs? you have evidence that homelessness is a choice for the majority

I did.

People make stupid decisions consequences ensue, absolutely. But taking drugs or drinking too much and becoming homeless is not them choosing to be homeless, it's an unfortunate result of their bad choices, it doesn't mean people shouldn't help them try and sort themselves out. It doesn't mean they shouldn't be given a few pound a week and a place to live while they sort themselves out. My wife and I were homeless for a short while we weren't on the drink or drugs we were evicted by our landlord because he was a tosser, we got help from the council while we looked for a house. If they didn't help us by giving us somewhere to live we would still be homeless now no doubt. Not everyone who's homeless did so because they were hopped up on drink or drugs, often these things happen as a result of the homelessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Abusing drugs and alcohol that is a choice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

You think most homeless people are heroin addicts? Does this include the children?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Jawgap wrote: »
    It's the fuppin' army - it's soldiers - if you leave food lying around they're going to eat it, not shoot it at people - even if they're not hungry :D

This is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Evidence?? Take a walk around Dublin, open your eyes and observe.
    so no then. grand so, guess were done on this question

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    You think most homeless people are heroin addicts? Does this include the children?

At the risk of dragging this thread way,way off topic I didn't say that.

I commented on a statement from EOTR asking if another poster had evidence that the majority of homeless were drug addicts and were homeless by choice.
    I asked EOTR to provide evidence to the contrary (and TBH,given their previous posting history I'll never get it).

Do you accept that misuse of drugs or alcohol is a lifestyle choice and has consequences ?
    (Even GrayFox208, who was actually homeless seems to accept it).

Of course the homeless should be helped in any way possible.

I won't be commenting again on this on this thread but I will debate it all day with you on an appropriate thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

At the risk of dragging this thread way,way off topic

that ship has sailed :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

frag420 wrote: »
    Seeing as we are a neutral nation how about we put their skills to good use and use the rangers to fire food into the mouths of hungry people? Maybe aim blankets and tents at the homeless?

Just a thought......

Complete waste of resources. I would liken it to expecting an engineer to mix cement... Many people completely misunderstand the uses of the Irish Army Ranger Wing. Here's a list of the roles they undertake. http://www.military.ie/army/organisation/arw/roles/

Abusing drugs and alcohol that is a choice.

Here is a prime example of somebody who has no idea what they are talking about.

I guess you have absolute contempt for homeless people?

Maybe stop being so judgemental and take a trip to the Capuchin centre and volunteer for a while, might open your eyes and maybe you will gain some knowledge on the subject.

Taking drink or drugs is a choice, of course it is, but to many people living on the streets it's not that simple. Try sleeping on concrete in the city centre in winter with people and cars passing you by constantly. Not exactly a simple thing to do.

Oh and here's a couple of links to get you started on "understanding homelessness", as you clearly lack any understanding what so ever.

http://www.mscireland.com/images/stories/JPIC/simon%20homelessness%20causes%20and%20effects.pdf

http://www.thejournal.ie/causes-of-homelessness-in-ireland-1686071-Oct2014/

https://www.focusireland.ie/about-homelessness/understanding-homelessness

Or you could ignore these articles and continue spouting your biased opinions, and presenting it as fact, because that's all it is, a biased opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

I commented on a statement from EOTR asking if another poster had evidence that the majority of homeless were drug addicts and were homeless by choice.
    I asked EOTR to provide evidence to the contrary (and TBH,given their previous posting history I'll never get it).
    So you are demanding people disprove something for which no evidence other that "I think so" was provided in the first place.
    Well "I think it's false". There. Disproven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

jamesbere wrote: »
    So Ireland are world champions at something, can't have any complaints with.

Some people will consider that a challenge...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I'm confused, have the homeless won a sniper competition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Sure they've nothing to be doing but practice shooting anyway.... jk

There could well be a touch of that, the ould sneaky beak super troops from the worlds super powers are probably too busy out foreign to pay much attention to competitions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Ive never seen a thread go so OT so quick before :pac:

Post #4 take a bow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Billy86 wrote: »
    Wait, what? The guy never said a single word against our defense forces. Someone asked what he (or the public in general) do while the defense forces are out doing their thing. He said he works and pays taxes, w u och os where they get a good deal of their finding from. As does any nations defense forces.

Again what?

Well it's simple really, I quoted the wrong person. Was supposed to be Post #4 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Well done to the Irish Rangers.

Maybe start another thread about junkies and homeless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Good job.