Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PC Gaming, General & Off Topic Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

I couldn't go back to membrane keyboard, I love my cherry mx switches. I wish I could do justice to the sound by describing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

I couldn't go back to membrane keyboard, I love my cherry mx switches. I wish I could do justice to the sound by describing it

CLICKIDY CLACK

I get serious looks if I tell anyone my keyboard cost €100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

A bit more off topic, I've been making a lot of mead lately :D

400px-Skyrimhoningbrewmead.jpg

Gonna start on a 6th batch soon enough. Super pleased with myself, it's turning out to be really gorgeous stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Links234 wrote: »
    A bit more off topic, I've been making a lot of mead lately :D

400px-Skyrimhoningbrewmead.jpg

Gonna start on a 6th batch soon enough. Super pleased with myself, it's turning out to be really gorgeous stuff.

Want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Gbear wrote: »
    Saw some very sad news there that Total Biscuit's cancer has returned in the form of likely inoperable tumours appearing on his liver.

http://www.twitlonger.com/show/n_1snlj3r

Aw man that's terrible I listen to his work most days and watch the Co optional podcast. Feck hope he is able to beat it.

Want

Just made this one, which is a ginger mead, I popped some fresh sliced ginger right in there. This is gonna be next year's winter warmer. :D

rpOCJVk.jpg

My very first mead was a christmas spiced one, started that back in June this year, now it's mellowing for a few months in the bottles to be popped open around Christmas time. Had one very special little bottle too, which I made an awesome little label for.

mXk6GEX.jpg?1

It's not too difficult to make, you just need time, and patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Can you wash the Razer mouse mats? My current one is covered in biscuits, ketchup, and random food and cider stains. Still has great grip, but looks messy!

The mousemat is outlived the mouse :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭cadete

I'm using a big mouse mat like 1m long and maybe 300wide was only cheap but really like it,
    As for the keyboard managed to grab an orbweaver on eBay, just love it! Possibly couldn't do without!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

OSI wrote: »
    Any recommendations for a mouse mat? Just picked up a MX Master, and while I love it, its showing up just how **** and tattered my current mat has become.
    vlad2009 wrote: »
    ^ been thinking about a new mat myself. I have this cheap 1$ custom one, but kinda want to upgrade to something better at the moment. Also really toying with the idea of getting a mech keyboard again but don't want to spend more than 100.

I just bought a Logitech G440 mousemat. It's hard, not fabric and it's mahoosive but it's really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Links234 wrote: »
    mXk6GEX.jpg?1

It's not too difficult to make, you just need time, and patience.

And the artistic skills of an Renaissance Italian Master.:P

Gbear wrote: »
    And the artistic skills of an Renaissance Italian Master.:P

You should've seen my last masterpiece! :pac:

zj1kewotf1vgvwq8ya11_400x400.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

One of my favourite things about PC gaming is deciding to trawl your emails, and finding keys for 56 games you had forgotten you've even bought. It's like buying gifts for yourself.

I can't even access BundleStars, which definitely holds another 15-20 keys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,944 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Groupees lets you know when a key has been released for Steam in the notification area which i like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

the_syco wrote: »
    Can you wash the Razer mouse mats? My current one is covered in biscuits, ketchup, and random food and cider stains. Still has great grip, but looks messy!

The mousemat is outlived the mouse :pac:

Funnily enough, apparently glass cleaner cleans them up pretty well!!
    About 12 minutes in :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Fakman87

Lads could anyone tell me if this is a Herman Miller chair and if so, what type it is? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Fakman87

Lads could anyone tell me if this is a Herman Miller chair and if so, what type it is? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Incidentally I'm entertaining options for a chair if anyone knows of greatness.

As for mousemats Syco I just use a metal one I got from Best Buy (rocketfish in-house brand). Never needs much cleaning and the surface finish is very mouse appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,401 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Fakman87 wrote: »
    Sayl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Hah. They advertise it as affordable and then bam, half a grand for a single office chair. What the hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭salamanca22

Hah. They advertise it as affordable and then bam, half a grand for a single office chair. What the hell.

It is affordable to someone :P

Bullying me :pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Whats so great about that chair?

Has anyone been keeping up with this show Sword Art Online? I just started series 2 and it is deep and stuff.

^ I was told to avoid it completely by someone I know who watched the whole thing. Saw a brief summary of it on a youtube anime critic channel I like which painted it in a neutral light with mostly positive tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

^ I was told to avoid it completely by someone I know who watched the whole thing. Saw a brief summary of it on a youtube anime critic channel I like which painted it in a neutral light with mostly positive tone.

Similar, I was told to avoid as well. It seems to have plenty of fans though.

I've not gotten around to watching it yet, I've heard a lot of mixed things, so it's not exactly been top of my list. Haven't been watching a huge amount of anime lately, which is a bit of a pity. Last show I watched was Shiki, which was great.

Kinda surprised SOA would have that critical response. The 2 major themes that might turn people away is 1) its pretty dark, especially the first few episodes, and also the first season is full of
    overt romance and love triangles - and perviness
    ; but also 3) its really easy to get characters confused sometimes between their realworld person and their avatar(s). Beyond that its pretty thought provoking about the nature of virtual reality, and also explores human reasons for wanting to escape and such. In addition, really thoughtful storylines and characters (at least 1 major story arc that is right up there with The Laughing Man in Ghost in the Shell), good action including some moments that for me anyway, were genuinely intense.

It seemed to me like something .hack//Sign had done years previous tbh

Thats exactly why when I first tried to watch it I zoned out by the 4th episode. Also that one PS2 game it reminded me vaguely of - Dark Cloud? But I had a friend insist I give it another go, trying to parallel the production quality to that of fullmetal alchemist brotherhood (and it is superb). In other ways, especially the themes, it strongly reminds me of GITS:SOC. (it is not a .hack or Dark Cloud haha)

Throwback - does anyone remember when you had to manually patch your video games?