Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I got mine from http://eireplates.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

<woman to GTR>
    Correct car. Cartoon checks out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Oil change in seconds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Seems like the answer to a problem nobody has. Oil changes for the most part, are already quick and easy and manufacturers wont want to introduce a system where the average end consumer could do an oil change without having to pay a workshop visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Are metal pressed plates really that much of a difference?

They are a bit less plasticy than the plastic ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

They don't fade and look better. Just don't drill the bumper to fit them use double sided vhb tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

My Megane is at it again. I posted about a months ago that when I was in a drive thru I could here this rough kind of a bearing spinning sound coming from the engine and then stopped and I didn't hear it since until tonight in a the same drive thru. So I suppose the easiest fix would be don't go to the drive thru :pac:

But anyway it was suggested back then it could be the fan which would make sense. Tonight it did it for a minute and then stopped and didn't do it idling at home. If it was a bad bearing in the power steering pump or alternator you'd hear it a lot more. I spun the fan with my hand and seemed fine but that no where near the usual wooed it spins obviously. Not really sure what to do next. If the fan gave up would you be fcuked would the car overheat or how much of a contribution does it actually make not as if it runs that often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Has it a clutch on any pulley?
    Could be your problem cip

YbFocus wrote: »
    Has it a clutch on any pulley?
    Could be your problem cip

I haven't looked but I assume it would alright. However if this was slipping or causing trouble would you not get a rough noise all the time at idle. I was out again with the radio of and stopped to leave it idle a few times and was running perfect. My reason for thinking the fan is it only runs occasionally hence only rarely hearing it. If it was a major component you would surly here it alot of the time at idle as opposed to twice in over a month.

CIP4 wrote: »
    My Megane is at it again. I posted about a months ago that when I was in a drive thru I could here this rough kind of a bearing spinning sound coming from the engine and then stopped and I didn't hear it since until tonight in a the same drive thru. So I suppose the easiest fix would be don't go to the drive thru :pac:

But anyway it was suggested back then it could be the fan which would make sense. Tonight it did it for a minute and then stopped and didn't do it idling at home. If it was a bad bearing in the power steering pump or alternator you'd hear it a lot more. I spun the fan with my hand and seemed fine but that no where near the usual wooed it spins obviously. Not really sure what to do next. If the fan gave up would you be fcuked would the car overheat or how much of a contribution does it actually make not as if it runs that often.

Hmmm. Not long after I bought the Volvo I was hearing a similar noise. First heard it in McDonald's drive thru. Heard it again a few weeks later in said drive thru. Weird! Anyway turned out to be the alternator pulley which shat itself all over the M20 ten mins after my mechanic said it was something else and it'd be grand for another week or two. Had to replace the alternator and the belt as the belt was no where to be found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Had a lovely drive down to Wexford.

Sipped at the petrol.

Relatively.

200km on a third of a tank. Almost a diesel.

Hmmm. Not long after I bought the Volvo I was hearing a similar noise. First heard it in McDonald's drive thru. Heard it again a few weeks later in said drive thru. Weird! Anyway turned out to be the alternator pulley which shat itself all over the M20 ten mins after my mechanic said it was something else and it'd be grand for another week or two. Had to replace the alternator and the belt as the belt was no where to be found.

It was McDonalds for me too fcuk it's not looking good :pac: I initially though it was the alternator but just it only happened in McDonald's tonight for 60 seconds then stopped and has not done it since so seemed like the fan cutting in for a few seconds then stopping. I mean the alternator would surly cause that noise a lot more. I don't think I can move only wait and see if it gets any worse and does it more often not much point bringing it to a mechanic with a problem I can't make happen while there. But even tonight I pulled in and couldn't hear it at all at idle a d that was with lights heater etc on so the alternator would surly have been engaged.

Moral of the story: Don't drive to McDonalds.

It was McDonalds for me too fcuk it's not looking good :pac: I initially though it was the alternator but just it only happened in McDonald's tonight for 60 seconds then stopped and has not done it since so seemed like the fan cutting in for a few seconds then stopping. I mean the alternator would surly cause that noise a lot more. I don't think I can move only wait and see if it gets any worse and does it more often not much point bringing it to a mechanic with a problem I can't make happen while there. But even tonight I pulled in and couldn't hear it at all at idle a d that was with lights heater etc on so the alternator would surly have been engaged.

Is your yoke not under warranty? I was like that looking for the noise. Could never find it when I went looking for it. My mechanic couldn't either. I remember Yb saying when his drive shaft snapped, the bang was like the world was ending which I have experienced (the snapped drive shaft part :pac:). This was a runner up. A contained pulley coming loose at 80mph nearly called for a new pair of jocks and a new drivers seat. The damage could have been far worse too.

I used to get worried about unusual moises, never satisfied until I had a cause established. It's gotten to a point where the Celica makes so many that now i'm left with no choice but to turn up the radio. Working a treat so far.

I uswd to get worried about unusual moises, never satisfied until I had a cause established. It's gotten to a point where the Celica makes so many that now i'm left with no choice but to turn up the radio. Working a treat so far.

Same here. The car is too old to be chasing unusual noises although she's been as quiet as a mouse for a good while now. Sad to say that I'll be selling her on in the next few weeks actually :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Anyone else not receiving boards email notifications?

I turned them off. They were annoying.

Any one else got any part of boards functioning properly anymore? Very hard to read/ post anything anymore it's been riddled with bugs for weeks.

I know it's a free service so I can't really complain, I guess it's more disappointment.

GvidoR wrote: »
    I turned them off. They were annoying.

Incredibly annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Wossack

search is fecked for me atm

yea, place is falling apart

It seems to load for ages. Times out when I click "Followed threads" a lot. Icons and avatars aren't there half the time. A post can take ages to upload too. Tis fecked. Dav should try turning it off and on again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Been working perfect for me for the last few days, both Mobile and PC.

Same here, except it got really slow this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

So for the winter should I buy 4 new snow or all weather tyres, or is there just need for two front snow or all weather tyres?

Is your yoke not under warranty? I was like that looking for the noise. Could never find it when I went looking for it. My mechanic couldn't either. I remember Yb saying when his drive shaft snapped, the bang was like the world was ending which I have experienced (the snapped drive shaft part :pac:). This was a runner up. A contained pulley coming loose at 80mph nearly called for a new pair of jocks and a new drivers seat. The damage could have been far worse too.

Ah no Renault warranty is up. There is probably a few weeks left on the dealer warranty but I'm not going driving to Carlow and to turn around and tell them it made a funny noise twice that I can't replicate. I'll wait and see if I can be more sure and see if it gets more regular I just don't think it's the alternator though but I could be wrong. As long as it doesn't breakdown going to college Monday as I need to be there touch wood.

I used to get worried about unusual moises, never satisfied until I had a cause established. It's gotten to a point where the Celica makes so many that now i'm left with no choice but to turn up the radio. Working a treat so far.

Yeah I've gone like this too. I used to be chronic for listening and the slightest noise I'd be all over it thinking it was something major having to find the problem before I'd be happy. You see I don't want to go too far the other way either where islets a fcuk it wait till it stops driving approach. I think I'll bring it in for a service to the dealer I bought it in over Christmas to be safe and let them check it over and see if it needs anything I'm going to change the gearbox oil too.

As for boards its sooooo slow tonight bordering on unusable.

Ah no Renault warranty is up. There is probably a few weeks left on the dealer warranty

Ah jaaaaysus lad. Use the bit of warranty thats left!!! Obviously there is a problem somewhere. Tell em there is an abnormal noise coming from somewhere from time to time but you can't quite pin point where its coming from. Thats their mechanics job. Not yours! You paid enough for the thing in the first place. Leave it with them for a day or two and tell them you want a car for that time. Last thing you want is your fairly newish car on the side of the road.

I said before that I've given up chasing unusual noises in my car. Its too old and no one elses problem but mine. If it goes bang then so be it. I'll deal with it then. Obviously if I know that the brakes/suspension/steering/tyres etc are fcuked I will deal with it ASAP. Thankfully a lot of preventive maintenance is carried out to avoid such things but still. If I was in a position to own a car under warranty that started making noticeable unusual noises it would be going straight back to where it came from until the problem is sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

job seeker wrote: »
    So for the winter should I buy 4 new snow or all weather tyres, or is there just need for two front snow or all weather tyres?

Depends on which country you're in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Depends on which country you're in

Em Ireland...