Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web Summit quits Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

stoneill wrote: »
    Yes -nothing too excessive that I haven't seen at other major conferences around the world. Lisbon could do it no probs.

So you have seen all these demands been met all around the world too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Sure whats to stop someone starting up a similar event in Dublin? Lisbon might not suit alot of people. Considering Dublin is close to the US and most tech company's are here or there, it might be the reason it was so popular there.

What's good here might not be so good over there. Besides, its just a conference when you think about it, these things die off in popularity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

I know nothing about event planning, less about governing and feck all about marketing.
    But I do know that to let an event that is worth €100,000,000 to the local economy go to another country
    without doing everything possible to keep it in Ireland is nothing short of criminal.
    Yes -nothing too excessive that I haven't seen at other major conferences around the world. Lisbon could do it no probs.

You know nothing about event planning but you know what WebSummit were demanding was nothing too excessive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

TallGlass wrote: »
    Sure whats to stop someone starting up a similar event in Dublin? Lisbon might not suit alot of people. Considering Dublin is close to the US and most tech company's are here or there, it might be the reason it was so popular there.

What's good here might not be so good over there. Besides, its just a conference when you think about it, these things die off in popularity.

The Web Plummet?

What ever you want, even call it Suicide Circus if you wanted :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

TallGlass wrote: »
    What ever you want, even call it Suicide Circus if you wanted :cool:
    That might be frowned on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,439 ✭✭✭markpb

Graham wrote:
    And the evidence of the €100million?

Came from the Taoiseach apparently.

markpb wrote: »
    Came from the Taoiseach apparently.

Sure he wouldn't even know how much the TV licence fee is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭nc6000

Why wasn't this on in the Convention Centre anyway? Is that not what it's for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I know nothing about event planning, less about governing and feck all about marketing.
    But I do know that to let an event that is worth €100,000,000 to the local economy go to another country
    without doing everything possible to keep it in Irelaund is nothing short of criminal.

Add Criminal Law to that list of Don't knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Add Criminal Law to that list of Don't knows.

You must have gotten your skill of flippant responses from the Enda Kenny school of answering questions.

Ah now we're getting somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I've never met Paddy Cosgrave but I know many who have, and not one had anything good to say about his attitude but that his over inflated ego speaks for itself. His previous comments about trinity education and disregarding other colleges annoyed a hell of a lot of people too. No matter what anyone says about the conference, it is in essence just a big piss up with a few people making speeches that not many people really listen to. There's lots of talk of investment in the wee hours of the morning while people are downing shots and trying to hold down that kebab, but there's little follow through with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Calina wrote: »
    You know nothing about event planning but you know what WebSummit were demanding was nothing too excessive?

Close a few roads, have good broadband, ensure delegates get to the summit, control hotel prices, stick on a few more buses, no nothing major there.

Do you think all of this happens when 82,000 people descend on Croke Park for all Ireland finals? No, it doesn't. And that's over twice the amount of people hitting one area on a single day than Paddy Cosgrave has coming to the RDS over the space of a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I wouldn't let you run a bath of Irish Water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

All things that the event organiser looks after. Not the leader of the entire country.

smash wrote: »
    Do you think all of this happens when 82,000 people descend on Croke Park for all Ireland finals? No, it doesn't.
    To be fair, it does (except for the hotel prices).

Because the GAA gets off its arse and organises this stuff itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭Daith

Nothing major in controlling hotel prices? Are you crazy?

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, it does (except for the hotel prices).

Because the GAA gets off its arse and organises this stuff itself.
    There's very few roads actually closed, they don't control hotel prices or request additional public transport.

Or free leap cards and garda escort for all its attendees!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Don't forget waiving appropriate fees, Garda escorts (have to laugh at that one), free rental of public buildings, free buses, free Leap Cards etc. And what do you want the Government to do about hotel prices. You want a centrally controlled market?

Still, there are roads closed. I know CIE and IE do put on special busses and trains on match days, but I don't know how that works. I suspect the GAA let them know what matches are on and how many people to expect and then CIE does the figures.

Anyway, point being that the government is not needed to get involved!

Still, there are roads closed. I know CIE and IE do put on special busses and trains on match days, but I don't know how that works. I suspect the GAA let them know what matches are on and how many people to expect and then CIE does the figures.

Nor does it subsidise the travel expenses of the attendees.

Except for controlling hotel prices the web summit does have a point. It will be interesting to see after the event in Lisbon what hotel prices were like there.

Ireland is expensive and you get use to it and its only when someone point it out to you do you notice.

My daughter sent me a link for a place called drunken monkey a bar/cocktail/dim sum/ DJ place in Shoreditch( a very trendy area) now its London an expensive city all the main courses were in the between £7 and £8 good happy hour drinks and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭Daith

mariaalice wrote: »
    Ireland is expensive and you get use to it and its only when someone point it out to you do you notice.

A ticket to the Web Summit ain't cheap either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Yes roads closed with 80k people in one small space. Reasonable. Mr Cosgrave wants roads closed in the City Centre to facilitate his organised pub crawl, I mean "Night Summit" (with appropriate fees waived of course). Not reasonable.

mariaalice wrote: »
    Except for controlling hotel prices the web summit does have a point. It will be interesting to see after the event in Lisbon what hotel prices were like there.

My daughter sent me a link for a place called drunken monkey a bar/cocktail/dim sum/ DJ place in Shoreditch( a very trendy area) now its London an expensive city all the main courses were in the between £7 and £8 good happy hour drinks and so on.

The vast majority of attendees costs will be covered by expenses from their employers who can write it off against tax so the cost of a hotel room or ticket or even food and drink isn't really an issue for them. It's only an issue for people paying out of their own pocket and they'll be very few and far between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Not sure how or why this Muppet has been given so much coverage, he is just coming accross as self obsessed now and it looks like his general belief is that he is the best thing to happen this country since sliced bread.

The demands are pathetic though of course the usual water meter folk are lapping it up and trying to make it out like it's a national scandle and the government have messed up.

Good riddance to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I've never met Paddy Cosgrave but I know many who have, and not one had anything good to say about his attitude but that his over inflated ego speaks for itself.

Here's an article highlighting many of the shortcomings of the Web Summit. Cosgrave already has a bad enough reputation amongst some in the industry, his recent fit of petulance only reinforces this.

http://tech.eu/features/6244/web-summit-scam-well-ask/

It's worth reading the comments at the bottom.
    Web Summit's not in the business of supporting startups; they're in the business of extorting startups. I tell every young startup I know now not to attend Web Summit.
    I attended in 2013 and felt totally scammed pretty much immediately upon arrival. Since then its become a joke in the office whenever we get emails from Paddy about his next new thing. His hustle, which is undeniable, would be respected if it actually helped founders and startups