Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I won't take credit as someone else spotted it on TOC but definitely worth a mention here.

http://adverts.ie/car/toyota/corolla/toyota-corolla-gt-6/8982671

Rare GT6 180bhp Corolla :pac:

I particularly love how he says fresh paint job as if it didn't come from rattle cans on his driveway.

colm_mcm's phone having a "malfunction", yes, sure! :D;) Again! :p
    Paintjob is dire. And if it looks dire in the pics, it will look like someone vomited it on in real life...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

colm_mcm's phone having a "malfunction", yes, sure! :D;) Again! :p
    Paintjob is dire. And if it looks dire in the pics, it will look like someone vomited it on in real life...

Quoting myself, but had a look at the ad again. Some amusing new comments.
    car is ready for NCT

Oh fcuking wow. Why not put it through then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

i seriously want this. might trade in the might yaris TTE RA for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Maybe its me ut I'm but a real loss to understand the sellers comment...

"I came to buy a car Mercedes 220 cdi 170 bph ... when I returned Mercedes was behind me ....:) "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

4.5 grand for a common as dirt car...and its 20 years old. Classicly owned mass produced car:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭selectamatic

colm_mcm wrote: »

Oooh I'd slightly disagree there have a soft spot for them! tis strong money alright but I wouldn't quite class it as dreamer territory, considering the prices clean b16 eg civics are making!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1997-toyota-corolla-1-3-g6-not-viewed/9829950?offset=1

this is dreamer territory! I mean yes it's clean but I've seen one with plenty of test sell for 500 about 2 weeks ago! :pac: the liftback corolla's are probably the cheapest route into toyota ownership at the moment! good cars but kinda marmite in the looks department ;)

That is actually a g6 though.
    It's worth €1300 on a good day.

Those corollas don't have the global following or upgradability of a civic. Those fwd corollas are always in the shadows of the 80s rwd models.

4.5 grand for a common as dirt car...and its 20 years old. Classicly owned mass produced car:pac:

I'll buy a few of these "common as dirt" 20v Rolla's if you can find them for me :cool:

That is actually a g6 though.
    It's worth €1300 on a good day.

Those corollas don't have the global following or upgrabikity of a civic.

Only hatches bring the cash the liftbacks are much much less desireable the 500 example I was on about was a g6 too, it was green and I think in kilkenny and it didn't sell too quickly either was up for a couple of days anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

I'll buy a few of these "common as dirt" 20v Rolla's if you can find them for me :cool:
    at over 4 grand I'd happily supply you..

Those corollas don't have the global following or upgradability of a civic. Those fwd corollas are always in the shadows of the 80s rwd models.

100% agree but they have rarity on their side against the eg's could also argue looks but thats all down to personal taste. honda's b series is unmatched in the small cc n/a department when it comes to practical performance and upgrade-ability the way bits from b18's b16's b20's all practically bolt together coupled with their aftermarket following makes them a great practical powerplant. A b16b with b18 type r crank and stroker kit is some animal of a combination :eek: rare to see done in ireland though as there are quite a few excellent b18 tuners knocking about so it's more practical and economical to go that route. The yanks are well up on the built b20 motors as they are a more common engine across the pond.

at over 4 grand I'd happily supply you..

but if they're as you say common as dirt then they should be much cheaper :rolleyes: fact is they are indeed far from common you can't compare it to a standard 4efe or 4afe corolla it is a performance car in its own right. by using your logic an evo is the same as a lancer :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Maybe its me ut I'm but a real loss to understand the sellers comment...

"I came to buy a car Mercedes 220 cdi 170 bph ... when I returned Mercedes was behind me ....:) "

its bullsh1ters (who wont show his engine bay ;) ) way of saying he raced a 170bhp merc and beat it so his corrolla MUST have more bhp:D:D

i might take a look at it for the laugh seeing as its in my village according to the ad :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Know very little about these so perhaps someone can tell me if this is actually in the ballpark of what its worth? (and yeah - tis a crap advert with only 1 pic and very little info)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-bmw-535d-m-sport/10631322?offset=6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Top Dog wrote: »
    Know very little about these so perhaps someone can tell me if this is actually in the ballpark of what its worth? (and yeah - tis a crap advert with only 1 pic and very little info)

If it's genuine probably in around the right price get 18 or 19 for imo could even get 20.

Charging the 08 tax premium.

Terrible ad though and hate that lady owner bull****.

Lack of photos on that BMW ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Top Dog wrote: »

Driving like new(€90000). Black leather,Professional Sat Nav/Music system.Lane detection,Hid lights,2 Keys the list goes on....

She clearly tired herself out writing that exhaustive list... I can't believe it has 2 keys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Surely that's a typo and should be 5.5k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,486 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

5W30 wrote: »
    Surely that's a typo and should be 5.5k?

still a dreamer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

100% agree but they have rarity on their side against the eg's could also argue looks but thats all down to personal taste. honda's b series is unmatched in the small cc n/a department when it comes to practical performance and upgrade-ability the way bits from b18's b16's b20's all practically bolt together coupled with their aftermarket following makes them a great practical powerplant. A b16b with b18 type r crank and stroker kit is some animal of a combination :eek: rare to see done in ireland though as there are quite a few excellent b18 tuners knocking about so it's more practical and economical to go that route. The yanks are well up on the built b20 motors as they are a more common engine across the pond.

Rare to see because it's easier to just get a B18Cr engine to be fair :o

That 20v Corolla is probably worth 3500-4k if clean, very rare car these days

millington wrote: »
    Rare to see because it's easier to just get a B18Cr engine to be fair :o

That 20v Corolla is probably worth 3500-4k if clean, very rare car these days

True but that set up on a b16b if tuned right makes more power than a b18 type r something around 230whp is achieveable but yes I agree with ya about it being easier to just tune a b18 especially since b16b's are getting hard to come by!
    A built k24 with a k20 type r head is the new king though ;)

True but that set up on a b16b if tuned right makes more power than a b18 type r something around 230whp is achieveable but yes I agree with ya about it being easier to just tune a b18 especially since b16b's are getting hard to come by!
    A built k24 with a k20 type r head is the new king though ;)
    Why is the B16B superior? 230whp from a B series will cost you well over 5 grand

B16b pistons are slightly higher compression than B18Crs and the cams are a tiny bit more aggressive too but even with a B18Cr crank,rods & throttle body, it will be a negligible power difference. 200bhp or a little below either way.

millington wrote: »
    Why is the B16B superior? 230whp from a B series will cost you well over 5 grand

B16b pistons are slightly higher compression than B18Crs and the cams are a tiny bit more aggressive too but even with a B18Cr crank,rods & throttle body, it will be a negligible power difference. 200bhp or a little below either way.

220bhp-230bhp is the general figures achieved from stroked b16b's but as you say it gets costly. I never said b16b's are better I merely said one with those mods is usually better than fairly standard a b18 type r. I'm not getting into a debate over something that in essence we agree on. In my original post I just noted how the b16b tuning isn't common but it is effective I never said it's better than any of the other bseries engines b18's are more common and cheaper to tune to similar or superior figures, I actually only brought up the stroked b16b to compliment mine and collin's point about the upgrade-ability of bseries engines not to talk down any of the other bseries line up.

If you're stroking, it makes no odds whether a B18 block or a B16B block is used but yea options are endless!

the head is where the difference lies (stock for stock) but again most b series heads can be upgraded to similar specs be they b18 type r, b16a2 or b16b, so yes as you say the options are indeed endless ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

erm, getting a bit pornographic here lads.

If my head was stroked this much by my missus i would be well pleased.

the head is where the difference lies (stock for stock) but again most b series heads can be upgraded to similar specs be they b18 type r, b16a2 or b16b, so yes as you say the options are indeed endless ;)

I have never heard tell of a B16B head being better than a B18C head in my few years with Hondas, but we don't have a flow bench to check, ah well :D