Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Dartz wrote: »
    I did. And I checked the side they were coming from and it was fine......

Wrong link.

Ouch, that's an expensive €28 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

bear1 wrote: »
    Saw a 330d 2006 that is within budget, cloth seats though and no sat nav which I would like to have but not bad looking all the same.
    Aren't I right though in thinking that this was the year where they suffer from potentially serious engine issues?

could you factor in getting the seats recovered in leather and retrofitting the satnav into your total price? you could even end up with retrofitting the more recent idrive system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

OSI wrote: »
    Meh, he won't take offence because he shouldn't. It's a personal opinion. If the car works for him and get's what he wants from it, then he'd get a pat on the back from me for making the decision that worked for him. Plenty of people will gladly tell me a 3 door hatchback with a 2.0T petrol is a stupid choice. For them it's a bad choice, for me it was the right choice. Hence my qualifier at the end of "It's what you want from the engine I suppose."

There was a time I would but way too old for that carry on now. Horses for courses. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Fifth gear now and it's Mercedes v BMW :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The 330d never had any serious engine issues afaik.

I couldn't live with the cloth interior personally.
    could you factor in getting the seats recovered in leather and retrofitting the satnav into your total price? you could even end up with retrofitting the more recent idrive system

Yeah I don't want the cloth myself and the thing with that particular car is that the seats are heated and I'd want to keep that feature as well so retrofitting leather seats could be quite expensive.
    Retrofitting sat nav I would imagine would be a fairly costly thing to do too.
    I'm not saying no to the idea of a 330d though, just need to see what the boot space is like.
    I'm quite surprised though at the Germans for the power output. Audi and BMW 3.0 diesel are give or take 210bhp whereas I could get a 2.4 159 and it would be 210bhp.
    Ah it's too late in the evening to think of Alfas! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

"Leather Look Car Seat Covers"

W43_PD_Thursday_UL44_60d76e925f.jpg

in aldi next week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

nd wrote: »

I'd rather set my car on fire than put them yokes on the seats they are up there with my hatred for sh!tty steering wheel covers and metal floor mats.

nd wrote: »

Just screams of belonging in a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Yeah I don't want the cloth myself and the thing with that particular car is that the seats are heated and I'd want to keep that feature as well so retrofitting leather seats could be quite expensive.
    Retrofitting sat nav I would imagine would be a fairly costly thing to do too.
    I'm not saying no to the idea of a 330d though, just need to see what the boot space is like.
    I'm quite surprised though at the Germans for the power output. Audi and BMW 3.0 diesel are give or take 210bhp whereas I could get a 2.4 159 and it would be 210bhp.
    Ah it's too late in the evening to think of Alfas! :D

Didn't take me much to get my 3.0 diesel up to 270bhp. In the 5 series they came in 218 and 230 bhp in the e60.

Any known issues with that engine? Swirl flaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

5W30 wrote: »
    Ouch, that's an expensive €28 :pac:

Nothing compared to the E700 for the VW I tore the side out of.

Any known issues with that engine? Swirl flaps?

Swirl flaps were an issue in the earlier models. But removing them doesn't effect performance and gives you some peace of mind.

Cost me around 100 to 120 to get the swirl flaps removed I got it done the week I got the car.

Swirl flaps were an issue in the earlier models. But removing them doesn't effect performance and gives you some peace of mind.

Cost me around 100 to 120 to get the swirl flaps removed I got it done the week I got the car.

Ah lads what are you doing to me giving me now a 330 to think about! Audi is still ahead though with the better spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Oh My God! I can't believe it. Absolutely over the moon. :eek: :):D

2rKNa3d.png

GvidoR wrote: »
    Oh My God! I can't believe it. Absolutely over the moon. :eek: :):D

2rKNa3d.png

Your username makes sense now!!! :pac:

Congrats dude! Enjoy it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Congrats dude... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Well done Gvido! Enjoy it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The Punto will get a fair work out from that :pac:

Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Congrats Guido! Delighted for you dude. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Congrats :) will you be driving micksgarage mk5 golf gti or is it your own car ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Smoke 'em, dude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oh My God! I can't believe it. Absolutely over the moon. :eek: :):D...

May I just say, at this juncture: Pow-AAAHH!! :D

CIP4 wrote: »
    Congrats :) will you be driving micksgarage mk5 golf gti or is it your own car ?

I'll see after I get in touch. Might be the Punto, haha. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

12122677_952642251458217_155503118061622880_n.jpg?oh=ba1a89b5590f2d55209244b41318de0a&oe=56985120

So lads... where to get cheapest engine oil, besides the Halfords €15 sale? :pac:

May I offer some Hypalube? :P
    http://www.micksgarage.com/proddetails.aspx?pid=4799330

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Here's a nice fella to have behind you when you're doing your test.

http://www.scotlandsworstdrivers.com/shocking-footage-shows-van-driver-bullying-learner-driver-1-7120/

10W40? Have you noticed my name? :pac:
    zerks wrote: »

Lots of pr*cks out there like that.

I remember when I was doing my driving test I stopped at a yield sign at a T-junction. There was a car coming and the driver saw that I'm doing the test and stopped to let me pass.

I was hesitant to proceed just in case the examiner marks me down for not letting the car go so I just said "This woman is letting me through even though I'm supposed to yield to her" so that the examiner knows that I know.

It just shows that some people sometimes behave wrong even though they're trying to help out. Not this van driver though :pac:

10W40? Have you noticed my name? :pac:

Oops. :D

Also, thankfully there were no annoying drivers during my driving test. There was almost nobody on the road actually at the time. :P

Congrats Givido :)

Herself has dragged me shopping for the day so dropped the car off for a mini valet might as well treat the car while I wait.