Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web Summit quits Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,875 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

brevity wrote: »
    I think, by the end of the interview, he regretted the whole thing.

And it was very obvious that he lied or omitted information when asked about the WiFi.

Cooper doled out the rope, Paddy kept making nooses for himself.

His own words, 30,000 visitors. And that's over the guts of a week.

Or just over half an Aviva stadium , or just over a quarter of Croker. They seem to manage alright with traffic management etc.

I also do not believe for one minute, his claim that other cities offered to somehow implement price controls on hotel rooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Talking sh1te on RTE1 there.

Byeeeeee Paddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I also do not believe for one minute, his claim that other cities offered to somehow implement price controls on hotel rooms.

Apparently in the docs he released there's mention of €1 million given by the Portuguese government which I'm sure helped his decision, despite his repeated claims he was looking for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I think, by the end of the interview, he regretted the whole thing.

And it was very obvious that he lied or omitted information when asked about the WiFi.

What did he say about the wifi? :)

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Very poor form to release those emails.

Any future business contact of his must wonder if their emails will find their way online if Paddy doesn't get his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,439 ✭✭✭markpb

Or just over half an Aviva stadium , or just over a quarter of Croker. They seem to manage alright with traffic management etc.

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of this, events in both of those stadiums _do_ have traffic management plans. Those plans are put in place by DCC and AGS, not the organisers. Roads are closed, on-street parking is revoked and Gardai are scheduled to be there - all things that Cosgrave asked for. Years of experience has taught us that this is necessary when large numbers of people arrive in a single location.

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Cooper doled out the rope, Paddy kept making nooses for himself.

His own words, 30,000 visitors. And that's over the guts of a week.

18000 people descend on the RDS at the same time when Leinster are playing big games at home and there is no traffic management in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,843 ✭✭✭brevity

Bambi wrote: »
    What did he say about the wifi? :)

He said he paid for a package that was "offered to him" (I forget the cost but it seemed a lot)

Matt Cooper then asked was there a better package that he could have paid for and he was flustered by that question and just said "We paid for the package that was offered" Matt pressed asking again if there were better packages on offer and he fumbled "No.No."

Sounded really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He said he paid for a package that was "offered to him" (I forget the cost but it seemed a lot)

Matt Cooper then asked was there a better package that he could have paid for and he was flustered by that question and just said "We paid for the package that was offered" Matt pressed asking again if there were better packages on offer and he fumbled "No.No."

Sounded really bad.

I spoke to one of the guys who provided implementation, the bould costello is leaving a fair chunk out of the wi fi story from what I heard :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Cosgrave charges 1000s for tickets to a marketing/IT gig, he then expects all and sundry to bow to him. Breathtaking arrogance.
    WFT is he getting onto the government to manage Wi-Fi and to fix Hotel prices.

Vast majority of stuff isn't great, much better material available freely on tedtalks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

F*ck his web summit.

My simple thoughts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

So they did not get the list of free stuff they wanted and left is that correct ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So they did not get the list of free stuff they wanted and left is that correct ?
    In short, Mr. Cosgrave asked the council for list of things, not least he wanted three major commercial streets in the city centre closed for his private pub crawl, garda escorts for his presenters, shuttle busses for his attendees, and exclusive use of city centre council buildings. For free. While he charged his attendees €1,000 per head just to attend what is a relatively small event in real terms.

When he got no satisfaction from the council, he decided to email the Taoiseach threatening to move the web summit elsewhere, but obviously unable to claim that it was a monetary issue, he instead asked the leader of the country to devise a traffic plan for his event, talk to the hotels and arrange favourable rates, and put on a few extra busses for him. Oh, and also fix the WiFi in the RDS.

The leader of the country, having more important things to do than handhold some entitled spa through their own event management took some time to respond but eventually told him to go and sort it out himself.

Paddy then stamped his feet and threw a tantrum and released a pile of emails that proved that in fact he was the one being unreasonable, not the government. And that the only reason he went to Lisbon is because the Portuguese were clearly dumb enough to throw €1m at him and give into his diva-esque demands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Its Garth Brooks all over again. "Someone get me the tea-shock on the phone"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

He certainly has a point IMO. The government are happy to ride the bandwagon he brought into town but offered nothing of real substance in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭ressem

The Taoiseach's advisors should have politely but firmly redirected him to the local authorities.

The RDS should be able to provide a draft plan to event planners though, with the relevant Dublin county council and garda contacts to refine it. The Leinster rugby stadium management people definitely will have meetings with these people before every large game, for emergency planning etc.

Problem with wifi is that most interference is generated by the clients. The network designers have to create little low power pico-cells containing 60 or less devices, on 2.4 and 5 Ghz. And reject old devices.

It's a specialized labour-intensive setup, which was why the RDS was looking at 1 million to set it up. Simple wifi solution my arse.
    Finally, the RDS are blocking a simple wifi solution in the RDS. They need to
    understand that putting up barriers that increase the cost to over €1 million this coming year, when it's free and reliable in other cities,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

keith16 wrote: »
    He certainly has a point IMO. The government are happy to ride the bandwagon he brought into town but offered nothing of real substance in return.

True. I remember Enda gurning at the last one as he opened the Nasdaq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

seamus wrote: »
    In short, Mr. Cosgrave asked the council for list of things, not least he wanted three major commercial streets in the city centre closed for his private pub crawl, garda escorts for his presenters, shuttle busses for his attendees, and exclusive use of city centre council buildings. For free. While he charged his attendees €1,000 per head just to attend what is a relatively small event in real terms.

When he got no satisfaction from the council, he decided to email the Taoiseach threatening to move the web summit elsewhere, but obviously unable to claim that it was a monetary issue, he instead asked the leader of the country to devise a traffic plan for his event, talk to the hotels and arrange favourable rates, and put on a few extra busses for him. Oh, and also fix the WiFi in the RDS.

The leader of the country, having more important things to do than handhold some entitled spa through their own event management took some time to respond but eventually told him to go and sort it out himself.

Paddy then stamped his feet and threw a tantrum and released a pile of emails that proved that in fact he was the one being unreasonable, not the government. And that the only reason he went to Lisbon is because the Portuguese were clearly dumb enough to throw €1m at him and give into his diva-esque demands.

I'm sure Trinity must be proud of him!

(Bitchy, I know ;) but, wasn't he the guy who said he would only employ people with a Trinity education?)

The sense of entitlement dripping from him is absolutely repulsive! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,875 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

ressem wrote: »

It's a specialized labour-intensive setup, which was why the RDS was looking at 1 million to set it up. Simple wifi solution my arse.

Cosgrave spent 400k....and then tried to blame all and sundry when it went tits up.

He got plenty over the years.

And WTF have the government got to do with his **** up last year regarding the WiFi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

He comes across as a prize bellend. If he was half as smart as he thinks he is he'd have found solutions to these HUGE issues. Sounds like the move to Lisbon suited him, I'd be interested to see how his personal accounts go over the next few months tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,007 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

What were they meant to offer? Fix hotel prices? Has Enda some networking ceritification so he can fix the wifi that we all are unaware of? Shut down several major streets? Grant free and exclusive access to council buildings? All for nothing? Paddy can say he wasnt looking for money as much as he wants but all that costs a hell of a lot of money so actually indirectly he was looking for a hell of a lot of money because as evidenced by the wifi debacle hes apparently a cheap b*stard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,412 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

seamus wrote: »

How do you know all this Seamus? You on the inside?

Seriously? Have you not read the documentation Mr Stamp his Feet released in a fit of petulance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

He's spot on regardless. Couldn't of put it better myself.

Now Tayto we all get you hate the government and Enda but seriously read through whats been released, if they had done this stuff you would probably have been the first one complaining about waste of resources etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,412 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

VinLieger wrote: »
    Now Tayto we all get you hate the government and Enda but seriously read through whats been released, if they had done this stuff you would probably have been the first one complaining about waste of resources etc

I'm not hating anyone now. I'm just curious.

I thought the very same. Enda could personally hand over a cheque for eleventy million and he'd still find something to complain about.

I'm not hating anyone now. I'm just curious.

Fair enough, have a read through what was released and maybe listen to some of the pretty woeful interviews he gave earlier this evening, he doesnt come across well at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

ThisRegard wrote: »
    He got plenty over the years.

And WTF have the government got to do with his **** up last year regarding the WiFi?
    What were they meant to offer? Fix hotel prices? Has Enda some networking ceritification so he can fix the wifi that we all are unaware of? Shut down several major streets? Grant free and exclusive access to council buildings? All for nothing? Paddy can say he wasnt looking for money as much as he wants but all that costs a hell of a lot of money so actually indirectly he was looking for a hell of a lot of money because as evidenced by the wifi debacle hes apparently a cheap b*stard

I think people are being quite selective in their criticism here. What about his point in relation to jobs? Did the IDA have a presence at the event over the years?

The guy was making noise, maybe not always the right noises admittedly, but the government and their agencies certainly had a role to play in making a great event a world class event.

Now that event has sadly rolled out of town and there is no arguing against the impact on the local economy.