Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    could see the electric fence earthing in calving paddock this morning, there was a big spider between the electric wire and sheep wire-about an inch of a gap- i'd say he got fried
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97342168&postcount=7890:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Watching Animal Rescue here. I swear to God, some people need a good whack, across the face, with a chair. I cannot understand how anybody can be cruel to animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Odelay

Kovu wrote: »
    Watching Animal Rescue here. I swear to God, some people need a good whack, across the face, with a chair. I cannot understand how anybody can be cruel to animals.

I agree. Looking at the horses and dogs, any person could have treated the milder symptoms, all missed the very basics in animal husbandry, cleaning, worming/lice, grooming and feeding. It ain't that fooking hard to do.

Odelay wrote: »
    I agree. Looking at the horses and dogs, any person could have treated the milder symptoms, all missed the very basics in animal husbandry, cleaning, worming/lice, grooming and feeding. It ain't that fooking hard to do.

Not even that, they ignored the bleeding obvious dead dogs lying in the yard, a dead sheep, complete with tags that was half eaten, a horse carcass torn apart.......ugh.
    I really must get around to volunteering at Keenagh soon. Every little helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Yeah what a bastard that did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

First post under my new identity. Feel I should say something very interesting or inspiring😬😬

Jasus lads isn't it terrific weather all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,669 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Snowfire wrote: »
    First post under my new identity. Feel I should say something very interesting or inspiring😬😬

feck ya, give us a hint please, oh and welcome back

Snowfire sounds like a name for a horse. :p

feck ya, give us a hint please, oh and welcome back

I'm not Bob

I'm not Bob

I know, but I'm not allowed say :D

Why the account change? Just a fresh start?

Witness protection programme, you know yourself the way it works ðŸ˜႒

Lol, I know now why I connected the name with a horse, it was the name of a white stallion in a old movie - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0147519/

That's me alright the "wild stallion"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Jesus the sean o brian citing meeting results are taking a while.

trixi2011 wrote: »
    what time is the game on at the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

what time is the game on at the weekend?

Oct 18th Millenium stadium 1pm.

great not at milking time:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

got a ticket last night looking forward to a big weekend of rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

That must have cost a pretty penny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Bulldozing more like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

1 week ban, story could be worse! Hopefully we'll beat the argies but they look the part at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

This is what happens when a 2 year old gets hold of a phone :rolleyes:

20151013_230113.jpg
    screen shot windows

^^^

latest?cb=20140708210759

And that is why I have a Samsung Galaxy.......and no kids :D:D

^^^

latest?cb=20140708210759

And that is why I have a Samsung Galaxy.......and no kids :D:D
    Luckily it's a spare phone just for her to play with :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Luckily it's a spare phone just for her to play with :D

Oh la-di-da, look at me with my spare iPhone for the two year old :P

That's how we roll in the heavy soiled midlands :P

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's how we roll in the heavy soiled midlands :P

Damn you well paid military men....

Anyway, on farming chat, Dad got an old iron gate done up for the lane to the house, it was two old (100-150 yr) iron gates chopped up and welded together to make one large 6 1/2 foot one. I was given the job of prepping it for painting earlier with a wire brush and my hands are now in bits. And my eyes as well cause of the dust off it. I'll throw a pic up in the guntering thread once I have it finished.

One of the gates came from the old farm my great grandfather had so we can't be fully sure just how old it is. The other one was from here, where my g-grandad married into so it's sorta nice that the two old iron gates from both sides of the family are now together and in use again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,626 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Damn you well paid military men....

Anyway, on farming chat, Dad got an old iron gate done up for the lane to the house, it was two old (100-150 yr) iron gates chopped up and welded together to make one large 6 1/2 foot one. I was given the job of prepping it for painting earlier with a wire brush and my hands are now in bits. And my eyes as well cause of the dust off it. I'll throw a pic up in the guntering thread once I have it finished.

One of the gates came from the old farm my great grandfather had so we can't be fully sure just how old it is. The other one was from here, where my g-grandad married into so it's sorta nice that the two old iron gates from both sides of the family are now together and in use again!
    I love hearing stories like this and I think it's what makes us Irish. Fair play to your Dad, you and family.

Base price wrote: »
    I love hearing stories like this and I think it's what makes us Irish. Fair play to your Dad, you and family.

Thanks :) Dad is really into family history and things like that, when we were doing up the old cottage that now has that gate at the entrance, he brought the keystone down from my great grandfathers old family home and used it above the front door. There's also an old millstone right at the apex of the stone front. It's like a patchwork of our family history as there's also an old grandfather clock in it that was a wedding present for aforementioned great grandfather when he moved from his homeplace to the house here to get married!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,626 ✭✭✭✭Base price

TBH as I get older I too am more into my family history and the generations that went before me. When I was younger I didn't care a whit but now it enthralls me.