Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

How's fat and protein with with everyone?
    4.25p and 5.68 bf 18 l.
    Expecting a big drop next test as alot of fresh calvers went into tank this wk

4.36p and 5.68 fat sitting at 15l all spring cows. Ltres have been between 14 and 16.5 depending on covers there going into. Cows working hard in some of the heavy covers. 2kg of meal at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Fears of post quota exodus from winter milk production
    http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/fears-of-post-quota-exodus-from-winter-milk-production/

Very interesting. Is Joe saying that only the guys stuck needing "Cashflow" will stay in winter milk?
    I've no intention of staying in winter milk and I would imo see us ass effiecent calving wise.
    It's more for the lifestyle aspect for me. I see mates having a great break while I don't.
    I reckon we'll make more too. We just don't get the peak out if winter milkers that we get from spring milkers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

I've no intention of staying in winter milk and I would imo see us ass effiecent calving wise.
    It's more for the lifestyle aspect for me. I see mates having a great break while I don't.
    I reckon we'll make more too. We just don't get the peak out if winter milkers that we get from spring milkers

Surprised at that gg, find here a good few winter milkers would motor come spring and early summer and match spring herd in volume must check again but had a recording in June I think one year where winter girls were averaging higher ms per day. More likely a sign I have work to do on the feeding of the spring herd i guess

Milked out wrote: »
    Surprised at that gg, find here a good few winter milkers would motor come spring and early summer and match spring herd in volume must check again but had a recording in June I think one year where winter girls were averaging higher ms per day. More likely a sign I have work to do on the feeding of the spring herd i guess

Suppose the difference being there my cows haven't haf as much milk bred into them.
    Ours do milk well in spring and on into summer but nothing fantastic during winter.

I must check milk recordings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Young kiwi lad slept in two days in a row not. Boss just handed him his last warning I think.

Sooo anyone fancy a job in the next week or two!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Home from watching the game. The event was a sanglier spit roast. The respect that was given to the Irish rugby team was immense.
    I was given a 'round' of Selles-sur-Cher by a former colleague. It seems to be well aged as is chalkie to taste, and devine. Maybe Kowtow could elaborate.

The "natives" were wondering why if they could embrace Irish popular music, then why can't we appreciate French cuisine?

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    Young kiwi lad slept in two days in a row not. Boss just handed him his last warning I think.

Story of my life. As my mother used to say "get me a man".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Have tickets for q final Sat & Sun hope to have to off load of swap Sat tickets ;)

Any spare frazz?? In the process of booking flights, she's gonna be magic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Might be looking work for a month or two next spring, done three NZ calvings as assistant manager......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

C0N0R wrote: »
    Any spare frazz?? In the process of booking flights, she's gonna be magic!

Don't think so think we'll go to both matches, "when in Rome"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Dawggone wrote: »
    Home from watching the game. The event was a sanglier spit roast. The respect that was given to the Irish rugby team was immense.
    I was given a 'round' of Selles-sur-Cher by a former colleague. It seems to be well aged as is chalkie to taste, and devine. Maybe Kowtow could elaborate.

The "natives" were wondering why if they could embrace Irish popular music, then why can't we appreciate French cuisine?

Jesus if that was me with a skin full, Ireland after winning and starving I'd feck it on a Tuc and down in one go. I suppose they had cocktail sausages and all!!

Might be looking work for a month or two next spring, done three NZ calvings as assistant manager......

Very posh CONOR, ass manager...
    😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Although i had a short rugger career! Prefer the soccer! Think irelands big game has passed no surprise of the pumas or semi exit. Aussies/nz head and shoulders above the rest

Jesus if that was me with a skin full, Ireland after winning and starving I'd feck it on a Tuc and down in one go. I suppose they had cocktail sausages and all!!

No. See in this culture nobody gets *tired and emotional*. In fairness every single person/company have sent a text saying WELL DONE.
    It's in their nature to be magnanimous. It certainly ain't in ours!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Was that O Connells last game in green? Feel sorry for him to finish like that. Hope were not fcuked now, were like the walking wounded after today.

Very posh CONOR, ass manager...
    😋

Apologies Conor. There was no need for what I posted. Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Was that O Connells last game in green? Feel sorry for him to finish like that. Hope were not fcuked now, were like the walking wounded after today.

Looks likely, thinking the same tough note to go out on. Subs did very well in fairness Henderson is in a great vein of form. Madigan did well and Henry. The three lads that went off injured are the last three you'd want gone really. What are sexton and o mahoney injuries?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Milked out wrote: »
    Looks likely, thinking the same tough note to go out on. Subs did very well in fairness Henderson is in a great vein of form. Madigan did well and Henry. The three lads that went off injured are the last three you'd want gone really. What are sexton and o mahoney injuries?

Not sure but Mahoney got oxygen on the pitch too so id say he's fcukt and sexton was crying going off so I hope that's not as bad as it looks to. Pane out to we are getting light very quick. But sum brave fight in them lads when they came out at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Although i had a short rugger career! Prefer the soccer! Think irelands big game has passed no surprise of the pumas or semi exit. Aussies/nz head and shoulders above the rest

Ireland ,oz and Argentina 3 best teams in comp up to now .kiwis had cushy group and from now on I wouldn't fear them .oz only team I'd worry bout based on how we played today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Know very little about rugby but it looks to me like todayfinished our world cup unless joe is a pure magician

Scratch my last post, apparently the lads Dad is coming to sort this out today. 19 years old and still gets his Dad in, think my dad would tell me where to go sharpish.

Said we need a new worker not a replacement for me haha.

Enjoyed following the rugby on the phone through milking. Who do they place next then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,751 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Scratch my last post, apparently the lads Dad is coming to sort this out today. 19 years old and still gets his Dad in, think my dad would tell me where to go sharpish.

Said we need a new worker not a replacement for me haha.
    My brother used to always sleep it in, my mother would always wake him, so she got fed up, didnt bother calling him and he woke at 11 am, never slept in again. Anyway back to dairying does anyone know when scanning dates have to be in by for icbf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

It's a natural rind goats milk cheese isn't it?

- on French cuisine, I'm not sure we're quite ready for it. I ran into the he "Gourmet Festival" in Kinsale today - Food capital of the Food County - and it appears to consist of drunks in stupid hats on an organised pub crawl between the restaurants.

More power to them if it fills the till, but I'm not sure we are really up as high amongst the World's food destinations as we'd like to think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

When we specialise in making almost nothing only cheddar, it's hard to broaden tastes.
    For years the only cheese on sale in shops had "the girl on the box"
    The lengths small artisan producers have to go to to satisfy regulations hardly encourages new entrants either.

kowtow wrote: »
    It's a natural rind goats milk cheese isn't it?

- on French cuisine, I'm not sure we're quite ready for it. I ran into the he "Gourmet Festival" in Kinsale today - Food capital of the Food County - and it appears to consist of drunks in stupid hats on an organised pub crawl between the restaurants.

More power to them if it fills the till, but I'm not sure we are really up as high amongst the World's food destinations as we'd like to think.

Yes, a very fine cheese indeed. When he was working with me he used to be banging on about his fathers cheese being good quality and I thought that he was trying to flog some to me :).
    They have a thousand goats milking and the milk of 750 to 800 is made into cheese on the farm. Locals then buy direct from the farm.
    Fishy Fishy in Kinsale is a nice restaurant. However when in Cork I think it's hard to beat Ballymaloe House in east Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Enjoyed following the rugby on the phone through milking. Who do they place next then?

A bit hypocritical of u following a match on ur phone while milking! I'd say if one of ur much maligned fellow staff members did that u'd be on here quick smart giving out about them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Lims no bother so far bar the monster last night. Just weighed now for auto feeder computer - 61kg.
    We've no idea whose the sire of the calves but one bull is throwing them big, now to figure out which bull and send him for the hook.
    So far lim heifer calves going 9 to 11 days over and bulls 18 to 21 days over. Not ideal.
    I would have Angus or Hereford Bulls but you couldn't give away the calves.

A gestation length of +18/21 days must be ruining ur calving interval.
    And I'd say if u added up 20 days of lost milk solids it wouldn't be long bridging the gap between AA/HE calves and ur Lim calves, plus cows going back in calf a lot quicker.
    Just a thought!

A bit hypocritical of u following a match on ur phone while milking! I'd say if one of ur much maligned fellow staff members did that u'd be on here quick smart giving out about them!!

No way, I surely wouldn't mind that. Although I do post nothing but misery you're right lol

We're attacking this 'road' tomorrow. Awful mess when it gets wet