DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Whoopsadaisyquestion #472

Fartleks right (I know it's a bit late to be asking this :D)

Mine say "20-40 seconds with easy jog recovery". Now i was always under the impression that meant that if I was flat out for 30 seconds I jogged for 30 seconds rec, but I was just told that it would usually be a longer recovery.

What say ye?
    I see you've been answered here :) Fwiw, I'd agree. The faster you do these, the more recovery needed. It's only when you are 'undulating the intensity:recovery' that you keep the effort:recovery more even IME.
    What's the general consensus around speed work over the taper weeks? When training for other races, i've typically tapered by shortening the distance but upping the pace, to get the legs race ready. Is this a bad plan for DCM?
    Hi mirrormatrix, I see you've been answered too. +1 to the strides. If anyone feels they want a tweak to their generic plan over the next 2.5 weeks, throw it up and we'll have a look.
    Two day migraine over but feeling rather wiped. 6 mile run on the schedule tonight. Safe to skip and rest and hope to be 100% tomorrow? Or go out but take it very easy?

What would DG do?

:P
    +1 to Clearlier :D Glad you're on the mend :)
    We're not allowed to speculate. We can wish though :D
    Wishing costs nervous energy :mad: :D :pac: and for good measure :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Only hurts for little while, I have 2,also one blistered on top
    and I busted, had top of my toe lifting like a cap for few days
    Sudo & plaster sorted it out. Still black but not sore.

Thanks G, feel better now (mentally, physically I feel queasy thinking about your toe lifting :D ). It must be the maranoia but I was convinced there was something badly wrong :o

And if we're putting in weather requests then I'd like a nice warm sunny day please, no wind and hold the rain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Toulouse wrote: »
    Thanks G, feel better now (mentally, physically I feel queasy thinking about your toe lifting :D ). It must be the maranoia but I was convinced there was something badly wrong :o

And if we're putting in weather requests then I'd like a nice warm sunny day please, no wind and hold the rain!

My second one happened after half, ran in new shoes also, so probaly just
    Feet bedding in to new runners, bit of extra room in new shoes also so maybe
    toes move little more and one getting little more of load now and again.

You'll be grand

Some of you might find the following links interesting in a "see how far we've come" way :) Those of you newer to the thread might find them useful for a speed catch-up. If anything in a particular post catches your eye, you can click the title of the thread in the top right-hand corner and scroll back a few pages until you find the discussion on that particular topic (or use the 'search this thread' function).
    If there is anything within these links that brings on panic ("oh my goddesses I haven't done x, y or z...."), remember, your plan is for you and has got you here in one piece and ready to go, so put the panic away and move on to the next link :)

WEEKLY OVERVIEW: weeks T-17 to T-3

T-17 Now is the time
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96051326&postcount=1207

T-16 slowing down to go faster
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96145807&postcount=1565

T-15
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96220837&postcount=1790

T-14 links blank :(
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96308236&postcount=2037

T-13
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96395413&postcount=2294

T-12 back to the start
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96485492&postcount=2534

T-11 help I am eating the fridge!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96566801&postcount=2768

T-10 the calm before the storm
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96653943&postcount=3123

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=96653943

T-8 "How far we've come"
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96831530&postcount=3767

T-7 fuelling bonking icing inflammation toenails
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96920291&postcount=4177

T-6 warning signs and bed times FFTW yawn
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97003709&postcount=4551

T-5 Two weeks of work, make em count
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=97113805

T-4 "I am a marathon runner"
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97196310&postcount=5429

T-3 DCM Week Taper Time! "what who and why, The Guide to 'Less is More'."
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97267923&postcount=5751

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

You are not :)

+1 on this for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 take_yer_points

I'm travelling down from Belfast the day before the marathon and am staying in the city centre. I'm not planning to stay the Monday night but want to get out for a bite to eat and a few pints before heading back up the road.

Getting changed and showered is a problem though - the place we're staying won't offer late check out. Has anyone else any plans for getting showered in or around the city centre? Are there any options? I was thinking maybe a gym/swimming pool I could just pay into and use the changing facilities - anyone any idea if there would be any options like that?

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭stepster

Just back from a slow 8 miler which included the Orwell Road to Fosters Avenue section of the marathon..

Well it was all going very well when suddenly I had a stabbing pain in my right calf at around mile 4.. My gut feeling is it's just cramping as I stopped, stretched a little, walked a couple of hundred metres and then started running again (albeit slower than original LSR pace). I finished the 8 miles still in discomfort but by no means unable to continue further and as soon as I got in I iced it for 10 minutes.. I just walked up the stairs and it's still sore..

The question is - should I continue training this week which consists of a 5m tomorrow and 9m Saturday, or should I rest it up and go again next week. I will be at the start line one way or another..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

stepster wrote: »
    Just back from a slow 8 miler which included the Orwell Road to Fosters Avenue section of the marathon..

Well it was all going very well when suddenly I had a stabbing pain in my right calf at around mile 4.. My gut feeling is it's just cramping as I stopped, stretched a little, walked a couple of hundred metres and then started running again (albeit slower than original LSR pace). I finished the 8 miles still in discomfort but by no means unable to continue further and as soon as I got in I iced it for 10 minutes.. I just walked up the stairs and it's still sore..

The question is - should I continue training this week which consists of a 5m tomorrow and 9m Saturday, or should I rest it up and go again next week. I will be at the start line one way or another..

If it were me having gotten this far into the process I'd be on the phone to my physio and looking for an appointment for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

What's on the plan for this weekend's run ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

I'm travelling down from Belfast the day before the marathon and am staying in the city centre. I'm not planning to stay the Monday night but want to get out for a bite to eat and a few pints before heading back up the road.

Getting changed and showered is a problem though - the place we're staying won't offer late check out. Has anyone else any plans for getting showered in or around the city centre? Are there any options? I was thinking maybe a gym/swimming pool I could just pay into and use the changing facilities - anyone any idea if there would be any options like that?

Thanks in advance

There'll be many other unshowered and unchanged people in town - inc mcgrattans. A quick spray of deodorant, change into new race top and that's pub prep complete for a couple of hours. You won't be alone. Everything else just becomes too much effort :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Clearlier wrote: »
    If it were me having gotten this far into the process I'd be on the phone to my physio and looking for an appointment for tomorrow.

No harm for everybody to get on the blower to a physio and get a good deep tissue massage or 2 over weeks T-2 and T-1. You won't know yourself after it (if it's done by someone good)

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    There'll be many other unshowered and unchanged people in town - inc mcgrattans. A quick spray of deodorant, change into new race top and that's pub prep complete for a couple of hours. You won't be alone. Everything else just becomes too much effort :)

I asked my friend yesterday should I book a hotel just to get showered in after the marathon and before the pub.

Her reply was "If you shower, you'll climb into bed and leave the next day. Go to the pub, eat, and get pissed in a tracksuit pulled on over your gear"

So that's what I'll be doing :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Alan30

Hi folks I am looking for a bit of advise. I am following the irish runner plan and completed my LSR last Friday (22mile with 12 at at pmp). All went well and felt comfortable if a bit too fast on the pmp miles. Later that evening my left foot developed a pain mainly on the outside of the foot but travelling inwards along the arch. Felt good after a few days rest but done 3 mile on Monday and it got sore again. I don't think it's anything major but am going to give the 20 mile on the plan a miss this weekend. I was wondering what I should replace the LSR with. I was thinking maybe a long cycle or a mix of cycling, cross trainer and swimming in the gym. Thanks for any suggestions.
    Weather wise I would be hoping for a nice thick fog. You can't see the long stretches in front of you, no wind, nice and cool with some moisture in the air and hope it burns off in the last hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Clearlier wrote: »
    Alan30 wrote: »
    Hi folks I am looking for a bit of advise. I am following the irish runner plan and completed my LSR last Friday (22mile with 12 at at pmp). All went well and felt comfortable if a bit too fast on the pmp miles. Later that evening my left foot developed a pain mainly on the outside of the foot but travelling inwards along the arch. Felt good after a few days rest but done 3 mile on Monday and it got sore again. I don't think it's anything major but am going to give the 20 mile on the plan a miss this weekend. I was wondering what I should replace the LSR with. I was thinking maybe a long cycle or a mix of cycling, cross trainer and swimming in the gym. Thanks for any suggestions.
    Weather wise I would be hoping for a nice thick fog. You can't see the long stretches in front of you, no wind, nice and cool with some moisture in the air and hope it burns off in the last hour or so.

I would be taking Clearlier advice and then considering the options for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Thanks in advance

I'm a big fan, only in a post-run context, of a baby-wipe bath. And it's a scientific fact that alcohol has a deodorising effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Gotta love the northside shower !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

That's my plan!

Just back from 4 miles and toe felt fine and I can't feel it now so panic is over. God, that was a but irrational now I think of it, sorry :o

Looking forward to Saturday's 12 miles now, running somewhere nice for cake and getting the Dart back.

Stevo1983 wrote: »
    What's on the plan for this weekend's run ?

Hi Stevo the boards plan and HHn1 plan can be found here. 14 for boards plan and 12 for Hal. What you doing yourself?

And yes, +1 to the advice above...any niggle, any ache, activate your inner hypochondriac and phone that physio. It's been mentioned before but we've had a timely reminder from Laois Man to book a deep tissue massage or two (perhaps less deep as the day approaches).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

There are lovely sinks in the spacious ground floor toilets in McGrattans. Bring your own soap and towel though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi Stevo the boards plan and HHn1 plan can be found here. 14 for boards plan and 12 for Hal. What you doing yourself?

Thanks DG, hoping for in around 13 miles.
    Body was a bit beat up after the last two weeks so I'll be judging it as I go.
    If I feel I need to cut it short I will and jump on the turbo when I get home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

I asked my friend yesterday should I book a hotel just to get showered in after the marathon and before the pub.

Her reply was "If you shower, you'll climb into bed and leave the next day. Go to the pub, eat, and get pissed in a tracksuit pulled on over your gear"

So that's what I'll be doing :P

Too true. After the DCM 2013, I went back to where I was staying and threw myself into an ice bath. For the first time in my life, I didn't want to get out of the bloody thing as quick as possible because I'd have to lift my legs over the side
    nevermind go back out to the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

In fact you'll look downright odd in McGrattans if you're not sweaty and exhausted and walking funny :D

I'M SO EXCITED :D

(Sorry DG but I'm not tapering yet so I'm allowed use extra energy :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,097 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Just got real folks :)

Course video now available on Facebook - youtube will follow soon no doubt.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10153689960213185&set=vb.291874688184&type=2&theater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Just back from a 15K slooow run, my next run will be my last LSR on Sun....can't wait to be finished that and then start to taper!! Good news is that my IT band isn't acting up (phew), but I am a little concerned by the fact that my left hamstring is a little stiff/tight. Really going to really listen to my body on Sundays LSR and bail at the first sign of any tweaks.....

I thankfully had already booked a physio appointment for Friday afternoon as a preventative step to realign my crooked skeleton after weeks and weeks of pounding the tarmac, hopefully this will sort out the stiffness in my hamstring as I feel that it is a 'mechanical' problem and he tends to straighten me out. Then it is on to the home straight....pizza and beer all the way up to the 26th :eek:

Weatherwise: After last years DCM 'inferno', where I felt that I was running inside a fan oven, I will praying for sleet and snow showers !!
    Smashiner+Running+ Heat = Meltdown

The 'Child of Prague' is going missing out of our house on the 25th :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Just saw this tp, thought I should share it,

While three weeks of tapering can have a positive effect physically, it can have a negative effect psychologically. As runners run fewer and fewer miles during the final weeks before a marathon, they suddenly find themselves with too much time on their hands. Plus they enjoy running and find that it relaxes them: either wakes them up in the morning or allows them to put the cares of their workday behind them in the evening. During the taper, nervous energy takes the place of running. We have a term for this: Taper Madness. Relax. You will survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Just got real folks :)

Course video now available on Facebook - youtube will follow soon no doubt.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10153689960213185&set=vb.291874688184&type=2&theater

Brilliant! Althought the face painting in Castleknock may have a bearing on my time! Oh and magic tricks en route! Wonder if he can magic me to the finish line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Alan30

FBOT01 wrote: »
    I would be taking Clearlier advice and then considering the options for the weekend.

Yeah have physio booked for first thing Friday. Think pain is inflammation from first long run in new runners. Either way don't want to run 20 mile on it this weekend so will probably jump on the bike for a couple of hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Just saw this tp, thought I should share it,

While three weeks of tapering can have a positive effect physically, it can have a negative effect psychologically. As runners run fewer and fewer miles during the final weeks before a marathon, they suddenly find themselves with too much time on their hands. Plus they enjoy running and find that it relaxes them: either wakes them up in the morning or allows them to put the cares of their workday behind them in the evening. During the taper, nervous energy takes the place of running. We have a term for this: Taper Madness. Relax. You will survive.

"Taper madness" is simply withdrawal symptoms. All the talk about it simply feeds the problem as like any other withdrawal, the more you feed it, the bigger it gets. It's really not that big of a deal and doesn't deserve all the hype it's getting here or it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

My advice like DG has said is to stop reading about it and talking about it. It's only as big as you make it and it's much better to put that energy into the things you've sacrificed to get here now like spending more time with family and friends etc. Relax, it's not the plague!