Budget 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

People can complain about the current government all they want but nobody else has a solution that would work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,485 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Whining about Enda promised us thus and that, didn't Ruth Coppinger say that Dell should have been nationalised, I'd say she will be promising to nationalise Google, Facebook and Microsoft here too.

She's too busy Occupying a building site. .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If you think workers are going to be shafted in this budget OP, you're woefully ill-informed. This is going to be a giveaway budget for "the workers". USC reduced and tax bands increased I expect.

Tobacco and petrol excise - no complaints due to the effect on the health service and the environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭sozbox

You want to vote for them again....more fool you

I sure do. I'll be giving my local FG candidate a big juicy No.1 and my local Labour candidate a No.2 and then I will be leaving the voting station.

For the first time since 2007 I feel we're back on track and there is no way in hell I am risking my future by handing over the economy to a bunch of basket case, tax the rich, nationalise Dell, sure isn't treated water free, protest everything, offer nothing lefties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

A diesel excise would be sensible, filthy crap that it is. The EU are aiming to get rid of diesels eventually, and good riddance too. In contrast, petrol is fairly clean when put into an efficient engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

sozbox wrote: »
    I sure do. I'll be giving my local FG candidate a big juicy No.1 and my local Labour candidate a No.2 and then I will be leaving the voting station.

For the first time since 2007 I feel we're back on track and there is no way in hell I am risking my future by handing over the economy to a bunch of basket case, tax the rich, nationalise Dell, sure isn't treated water free, protest everything, offer nothing lefties.

Couldn't put it better myself. I'll be doing the exact same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

It's about time they introduced PAYE, PRSI and USC onto social welfare and single parent payments at this stage, would be nice to see them finally contributing. Completely scrap jobsbridge... and introduce a proper payment scheme.

As long as they don't touch Petrol or motor tax I'll be fine with it, but I highly doubt they'll leave it alone as it hasn't been increased in the last 2 budgets. It would be very satisfying to see deisel brought up to the same excise and tax level that petrol is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

It's about time they introduced PAYE, PRSI and USC onto social welfare and single parent payments at this stage, would be nice to see them finally contributing.

Wouldn't make any sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭laserlad2010

As someone who hopes to become a "high earner", I have no intention of voting for a party which aims to place an unfair tax on my success.

I admire SOME of the leftist principles but this "blame the rich, blame government" attitude is losing them vast numbers of reasonable voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

No chance of me voting FG/LAB. There is no recovery. Massive homeless crisis, housing/rental crisis, privatization of water. The rich get richer, the poor get poorer.

masti123 wrote: »
    There is no recovery. Massive homeless crisis, housing/rental crisis, privatization of water. The rich get richer, the poor get poorer.

*sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭sozbox

No chance of me voting FG/LAB. There is no recovery. Massive homeless crisis, housing/rental crisis, privatization of water. The rich get richer, the poor get poorer.

Huge recovery under way, all economic indicators are positive, you'd be blind or have an agenda not to see it. Irish Water is a semi-state utility with legislation in place to prevent privatisation unless the people vote for it.

Housing/rental market is supply and demand based, as prices rise new builds will come online. Incr. rent supplement will simply see landlords incr. prices and we'd be back to square one.

Homelessness is a serious problem, what have you done, as a member of this society to help aliieveate it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Given what's happening with the house crisis and the risk of another property bubble (already started really) -- the last thing I will do is vote Fianna Fail back in.

I may not like the current government per se, but they seem to be getting things done. The typical Irish budget always goes after cigarettes and alcohol. Nothing new.

Of this government, Fine Gael had the most scandals but Labour lost the most voters. Honestly I'll just play it safe and vote for one of the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I'm not a smart man, as some would say as sharp as a marble but the way I look at it is the lads in power now are ejjits, the lads not in power are ejjits too, now the big question is who are the bigger ejjits?
    Will a cut in the USC really make that much of a difference to each individual family, not really when it's spread over 12 months but combine that with the Xmas bonus and you get a decent total that can either help the health service or go a very small way in paying off the debt.
    Are the ejjits that are not in power offering any real alternatives to save us a few quid? No, not really and any savings spread out throughout the year really average out at very little.

But, this recovery we are told we are having, who is responsible for that, is it the workers out there burning the midnight oil, getting the new contracts increasing their business, or is it the TD who has fecked off to China for a week? I honestly don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

The Green Party came up with the Carbon Tax idea and not a cent goes towards the environment.

I dont see the Americans paying a carbon tax and they pollute more than we do.

I wonder will they go after the cut price supermaket alcohol or fatty foods?

I hope that they dont increase the tax on Petrol and Diesel, if you tax that it drives up inflation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

What a load of utter ****! Utter utter ****. You and your ilk have nothing positive and I really mean that NOT one positive thing to say!

Genuine recovery in the country not that the Anti Austerity Bull****ers or Sinn Fein would have you believe.

I for one will be supporting a return of the FG/Lab Government. They are not perfect far from it but are the best thing for the country right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

I'd have no issue with Fine Gael being back in Government after the next GE.

Labour as a party can die for all I care. Would like nothing better than to see their vote collapse similar to the Greens and PDs.

My biggest concern is the rise of Fianna Fáil again. People bang on about Sinn Feins Economic Policies being dangerous for the country, and maybe they are. But to see the very people who brought the country to near Financial apocalypse getting under 20% in recent opinion polls, with many of the old guard still in place, is incomprehensible to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭dinevalesco

Quick question guys - do you rekcon there's a chance that the rate of DIRT will be reduced? Ta. R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

It's about time they introduced PAYE, PRSI and USC onto social welfare and single parent payments at this stage, would be nice to see them finally contributing.

Social insurance benefits are taxable.

It's common and normal for people to pay income tax on social insurance benefits.

As social assistance is means-tested, then I suppose it doesn't make sense to tax them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Quick question guys - do you rekcon there's a chance that the rate of DIRT will be reduced? Ta. R.

Unlikely.

Maybe a small cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

If the economy is in recovery, inflation is steady, why is the government even considering stuff like tax reductions? There's no need for any outside stimulus. Why not save for a rainy day? Like we should have done last time. Or look at putting funds together for a project to fix the future messes we are going to face: energy security, health care, water shortages, more instances of flooding and storm damage. Ireland isn't out of the woods yet either. Still global factors outside our control that could drag us right back down to where we were. Unfortunately, politicians got to win elections apparently. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

What has Germany Given the Green light to ? You know what do we have permission to do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sure vote in SF and that shower of gimps on the hard left and see what they will do if some think that the Government are doing nothing.

Turtwig wrote: »
    Unfortunately, politicians got to win elections apparently. :(

You're Taoiseach, you've finally got FF out of power after what seems like forever and there's an election coming up. Considering the electorate and their expectations, Do you:-

A.) Do the fiscally sound thing and keep taxes steady and pay down the national debt, increase the pension fund (or some such)?

B.) Give away €1.5b and have a chance not to be replaced for 30 Paul Murphys and SF or a hung dail?

You Decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭guylikeme

What are the gimmes of this for the working man.

We know from last year that equivalent tax cuts for the marginal rate and usc are promised this way. Anything else from leaks?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Personally I'll be voting this government back in if I can. I didn't vote for them last time but can see what they have achieved in the meantime while all opposition either calls foul on every initiative just for the sake of it or promises to wipe out all cutbacks and charges with no credible alternatives to finance the country being offered. We have taken a hit certainly under this government but I can just as certainly see things beginning to improve a lot earlier than I thought they would.
    I am open to alternatives but nobody has produced any as yet. This budget seems to be aimed at reflecting the current financial situation as best it can but who on earth could come up a cure-all considering the mess we had a few years back?
    All that said, it's pure speculation as to the content of the budget, so let's wait on specifics. Some people will never be happy and will always want to rant and complain but they are usually the ones with no practical workable alternatives. The old empty vessels types.

I agree with this view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,414 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

TallGlass wrote: »
    Well, just around the corner now.

I knew something was up the government been very quite. So basically, it looks like motorists, workers and drinkers/smokers are in for a shafting this time around.

Welfare bonus to come back, I say even an increase to sweeten them up for a few votes.

Tell you one thing, nothing they will do in this budget will have me voting for them.

So lets start a list of how we have been shafted out of it by FG/LAB, i'll start with

Carbon levy and the insurance levy

I have no problem with the price of cigarettes and drink going up. I hope they rise both by a fiver and them other roll up cigarettes to should have a price increase of at least 10 euro,s. Them other electronic ones should rise in price too. That would solve a lot have health problems in the country because less people would be getting sick so less people in hospitals so they could save money there too because they would not have to spend as much money there trying to cure people from things like lung disease and cancer that they caused to themselves anyway.

But I think motorists and workers should not be shafted. Maybe just the rich one,s with there big Range Rovers, Audi A6s, A7s and the like they could afford to pay more.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Johnny D. Mudd

Am I the only one who finds it slightly disheartening that even if I felt that FG were not ideal candidates for the next election, there is still no viable alternative that would fill me or anyone else with any confidence? There really is no better alternative.

AMKC wrote: »
    I have no problem with the price of cigarettes and drink going up. I hope they rise both by a fiver and them other roll up cigarettes to should have a price increase of at least 10 euro,s. Them other electronic ones should rise in price too. That would solve a lot have health problems in the country because less people would be getting sick so less people in hospitals so they could save money there too because they would not have to spend as much money there trying to cure people from things like lung disease and cancer that they caused to themselves anyway.

But I think motorists and workers should not be shafted. Maybe just the rich one,s with there big Range Rovers, Audi A6s, A7s and the like they could afford to pay more.

In short, other people should have taxes raised, but increases should not affect you. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

I'd have no issue with Fine Gael being back in Government after the next GE.

Labour as a party can die for all I care. Would like nothing better than to see their vote collapse similar to the Greens and PDs.

My biggest concern is the rise of Fianna Fáil again. People bang on about Sinn Feins Economic Policies being dangerous for the country, and maybe they are. But to see the very people who brought the country to near Financial apocalypse getting under 20% in recent opinion polls, with many of the old guard still in place, is incomprehensible to me.

I'm not a fianna failer but have a look at some of the footage of the Dail back before 2007 and you will see all the other parties calling for even more boomier policies and more spending.