If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

12 miles into 18...sitting on a bench in the Phoenix Park, wishing for the first time that I had someone to run with. :(

Combo of having been ill, bad couple of nights sleep and other factors wiping me out already.

Will finish.

Somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭ratracer

12 miles into 18...sitting on a bench in the Phoenix Park, wishing for the first time that I had someone to run with. :(

Combo of having been ill, bad couple of nights sleep and other factors wiping me out already.

Will finish.

Somehow.

Sure we're all running with you :D You can do it..... Positive Mental Attitude!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

19 miles done yesterday morning [was hoping to get the 20 done but just didn't have any buff left in me]. Headed out towards Portmarnock and back into Swords, its a 15 mile round trip. Then straight to my house for more water and a toilet break and back out for the last few miles. Everything was going well until I got to the last mile which I really struggled with, and it ended up being a half walk half run kinda effort, so there wasn't a hope of getting another mile under my belt. With that said I'm still happy as the plan called for between 18-20 miles, which is what I did. I also didn't have the return of the shine splints that I got on last weeks run.

Next weeks LSR is also 18 - 20 miles, so not sure yet what I should aim for on that one!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Will finish.

Somehow.

Weigh it up, sometimes it's better to pull back and run another day, sometimes you have to grit your teeth and get on....which is it today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

Pots of tea, a lot of variety of biscuits and a lot of football on the tele.
    I'm super milking this rest day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

18M LSR done this morning - almost 19M actually.

30.1km @ 6:10 min/km [18.7M @ 9:55 min/mi]

Last long long run from the boards program - I really wanted to make it count. Real life (and rugby) had to take priority on Saturday, so the alarm went off at 6:30am this morning. Herself grunted something to make her opinion clear ("I am a marathon runner!", I thought) and started prepping. When I was about to leave, my daughter woke up so I installed her with her breakfast, and then I watched a couple Paw Patrol episodes with her and set off. A few minutes into the run I realized I had forgotten my black golf visor (which is The Business in keeping sweat of my face) so I uttered several phrases usually not associated with a Sunday, ran back home, and was off for real.

Note to self: don't watch Paw Patrol before a long solo run, unless you want the theme tune to circle around in your head relentlessly (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F48hWTbflXg for the uninitiated).

Right, running. I had felt very good all week during plenty of easy miles but had clumsy half-slipped in the shower on Saturday and I felt my inner-thigh muscle all day yesterday. Paranoia or real niggle? :eek:

First uphill over the pedestrian bridge over the M50 to the infamous Loretto Rd to hide my stash (water + gel). Then back towards the N11 and Cabinteely Park (which was fab in the morning sun). I did the parkrun lap, half expecting Firedance on volunteering duty. The over to Lehaunstown, nearly clattered by an empty ghost Luas, over the M50 again, and towards Barnaslingan to do a loop around Carrickgologan Hill. It's hilly (oh-my-sweet-f***ing-lord-when-is-this-drag-going-to-end-kinda steep) but it's fabulous, especially on a nice morning like this. I did all my prep for the Connemara Half here and I noticed the hills were easier now than then - good sign. :rolleyes:

Back to my stashs about half a marathon after I left it, refilled carry-bottle and took gel, and down to the local park for some more miles. Easy running as there were loads of football and GA games going on as distraction. Loads of runners too. I pushed the pace on the last miles deliberately a little, as it would by my last chance to practice running these miles.

Back up the hill to collect the empty stash, and well ready to return home. The legs had behaved well even tho I did feel the thigh muscle every now and again. I think it'll be fine. I was both quite starving and cold, so I made a sandwich and ate it in the shower. :)

Mile splits:
    1 9:56
    2 9:57
    3 9:27
    4 10:00
    5 10:12 (uphill)
    6 10:11
    7 11:07 (uphiller)
    8 10:06
    9 11:36 (uphillst) :eek:
    10 10:11
    11 9:40
    12 8:40 (downhillst) :)
    13 9:28
    14 9:33
    15 9:43
    16 9:32
    17 9:31
    18 9:43
    .7 9:42

Happy enough with that effort. Did someone mention an afternoon of rugby and beer? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

menoscemo wrote: »
    You shouldn't foam roll on your ITB. It's a ligament not a muscle so you will only bruise it.
    What you should do is Foam roll your quads and TFL muscle (between hip bone and pelvis) as tightness in those muscles can cause the ITB to tighten.
    If Myles spitz is watching I ams ure he will give a more detailed reasoning on this.

Thanks for picking that up meno. I think this issue came up a few weeks ago and I may or may not have posted this so just in case am posting it again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I also did my 18m lsr yesterday morning and it ended up at 19 miles.

The run itself felt pretty good, I think helped by the weather yesterday morning which was nice and cool.
    I brought a backup gel but didn't feel the need for it, my breathing wasn't strained, my heart rate was nice and steady and my legs were feeling pretty good, even towards the end, in contrast to last week's 20, where my thighs were really feeling it and took me a couple of days to recover from. My pace was a bit faster than I'd have liked, which was a bit disappointing.

But about 12 miles in, both of my feet were starting to feel uncomfortable, which was odd, because everything else was going good. I've been alternating two different pairs of shoes and trying to make a final decision on which pair to wear on the day, so yesterday I was wearing what I thought was my final choice. By 17 miles this was a real problem - I could feel pinching in one of my feet and discomfort was turning to pain. When I got home I took off the shoes and discovered that I'd put my orthotics into the wrong shoes. :o :mad: I will not be making that mistake again. I can't believe it took me 12 miles to even notice that something wasn't right.

Anyway.
    8:48, 8:46, 9:10, 9:21, 9:04, 9:44, 9:15, 9:26, 9:25, 9:13, 8:59, 9:11, 9:21, 9:21, 9:28, 9:38, 9:27, 9:23, 9:13

Yesterday's run also pushed me to over 500 miles since the start of the boards plan, so whatever happens between now and marathon day, and whatever happens on the day itself, I know I've at least put in the miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭healy1835

32k done and dusted @PMP +30secs.....will spare people the km splits. At 2k I genuinely considered turning back, legs felt dead, niggles I hadn't felt in ages were at me....I really doubted myself for the first time. Not sure what was going on, but I kept moving and gradually I started to feel better....by 20k I was back in the saddle. Splits were all pretty consistent, fueling worked well too.....feeling it in the legs now mind you. Even though run went well is anyone else concerned about those last 10k/6m.....I just hope the body holds up :)
    32k @5:28/km : 2:54:52
    Taper sounds good right now.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Busy week work wise & life in general, dreaded man flu again
    Feeling like bag of crap all week, not sure how week went exactly
    Run, work, kids, lemsip, bed. But all runs completed, two rest days
    Before LSR, only 4 days running this week, was not looking forward
    to LSR with 12 PMP miles.

So usual routine, porridge & litre of water over hour & half or so before
    Run. Some static stretching before leave house. Set off little after 8.30
    Catch up on how week has gone with two run buddies, from great to not
    so good. So we get into nice rhythm, plan to start PMP at mile 7. Plenty
    Of spitting and snotting before PMP begins & by mile 7 feeling good, takes
    Longer than usual to feel settled into PMP, chest feels little tight for first few
    miles, but every thing else feels ok, bad week sleep wise & feeling tired at
    Start of run so agree with myself to see after 5 PMP how I feel, begin to
    Settle into run and get comfortable, all went well till one of group not feeling
    It to day dropped off pace at mile 16,so we agreed to finish out PMP miles
    and double back. Got to 18.5 doubled back and soon met up with E who
    After stretching got back into run at slightly reduced pace.

So 20.15 miles ran 3.08 mins 9.22 avg

9.02 PMP miles begin
    Back home trip to Tesco for eggs, bagels,ice. Not to well
    Prepared, back home again for food stretching & icing.
    Hopefully next week goes little better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Will finish.

Somehow.

Awww I'm sending you good wishes and a hug. I did all of my runs, long and short on my own when training for London and its tough - really really feckin tough - like you - my pace would be slower than most - but know that you can do it - you are strong - you have done all the hard work and the finish line for the training is almost here and you are going to run this marathon and kill it. Just look it like you have 10k to go - shure, 10K? That's only a warm up. You go girl, you are invincible!

God I wish I could be joining you all - maybe next year! I'm very jealous of all of your achievements and camaraderie - its inspiring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

LONGEST RUN EVER IN MY WHOLE LIFE !!!! :) Okay I'm a little excited about my achievement :) My plan had 22 Miles today with 12 miles at MP which for me is 10.18. Had an extra rest day yesterday which was very exciting (how easily we are excited about rest days) so up to St Anne's park run to celebrate the 100th park run mile stone and volunteered at finish tokens. Also rounded up my support network for the long run as the 12 miles MP had me a bit anxious. Up at 6.30 this morning for the usual porridge tea berroca boost and an episode of xpose ! Headed out at 8.30 and met the first of my relay team who was doing 6 miles with me. My watch started to act up and told me I had done 1.8 miles at 8 mins pace (not in my wildest dreams !) Decided to stop the watch and start it again as it would drive me mad on the run if it wasn't showing the correct pace. Headed up to Whitehall and down Griffith Ave back onto Clontarf Coast. Met the next shift of my support team at 9 miles including Mrs KennyG needed these guys for the MP miles and off we set at 10.18 pace towards Sutton/Baldoyle/Raheny. Took a gel at 1 hour and 3 hours no stomach issues. Used the Nuun tabs in my water this week and definately found them good so will use them on the day I didn't have that awful thirst I had last week. This shift ran to 17 miles with me where we said our goodbyes and exchanged hellos with the Raheny Shamrocks crew all back from their LSRs. Met the next shift at 17.5 miles for the remaining MP miles and the final cool down. Run went well, legs felt good, MP miles felt comfortable. Found this run a lot better than last weeks 20 miles which I am putting down to the company and constant chat. Passed KennyG and co on Clontarf Road looking comfortable on their LSR. My take from this run is that I have spent over 4 hours on my feet, I think this distance was good for my head and my confidence for race day. I feel I can do it so it was a positive experience for me today. Currently icing the feet and calves in iced water and have the compression socks ready. Mc Jnr as a GAA match at 3.30 so hopefully the clubhouse will be open for the rugby. Splits below.

Mile 1 going to ignore this one cause the watch acting up
    Mile 2 10.52
    Mile 3 11.01
    Mile 4 10.58
    Mile 4 11.10
    Mile 6 11.04
    Mile 7 11.11
    Mile 8 11.11
    Mile 9 11.09
    Mile 10 MP 10.16
    Mile 11 MP 10.18
    Mile 12 MP 10.10
    Mile 13 MP 10.21
    Mile 14 MP 10.17
    Mile 15 MP 10.25
    Mile 16 MP 10.24
    Mile 17 MP 10.24
    Mile 18 MP 10.21
    Mile 19 MP 10.08
    Mile 20 MP 10.30
    Mile 21 MP 10.31
    Mile 22 10.54

Avg Pace 10.39

Enjoy rest of weekend everyone. :)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Weigh it up, sometimes it's better to pull back and run another day, sometimes you have to grit your teeth and get on....which is it today?

I love this :)
    Such a simple thing to consciously decided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Week 9 of 12. part 2. 52 miles

Friday: 4 miles@9:12 REC

Sunday: 20 miles@8:32 LSR
    Another glorious morning for running. The plan for this was to be a progressive run with 8 miles easy, 7 miles steady and 5 miles @PMP+10%
    splits
    8:58, 8:54, 8:50, 8:52, 8:54, 8:49, 8:46, 8:53
    8:28, 8:25, 8:31, 8:29, 8:26, 8:24, 8:28
    8:14, 8:08, 8:09, 8:08, 8:03

Dubgal suggested that we should "ENJOY" our LSR's this weekend so that's the attitude i went out with today hoping that the enjoyment would last for the 20 miles. Today was another dress rehearsal for DCM, i took my gels again at miles 6,11 and 16. The run went quite well no issues to report and no niggles which is the main thing and yeah i did enjoy it knowing that it was the last really long LSR helped.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    LONGEST RUN EVER IN MY WHOLE LIFE !!!! :) Okay I'm a little excited about my achievement :) My plan had 22 Miles today with 12 miles at MP which for me is 10.18. Had an extra rest day yesterday which was very exciting (how easily we are excited about rest days) so up to St Anne's park run to celebrate the 100th park run mile stone and volunteered at finish tokens. Also rounded up my support network for the long run as the 12 miles MP had me a bit anxious. Up at 6.30 this morning for the usual porridge tea berroca boost and an episode of xpose ! Headed out at 8.30 and met the first of my relay team who was doing 6 miles with me. My watch started to act up and told me I had done 1.8 miles at 8 mins pace (not in my wildest dreams !) Decided to stop the watch and start it again as it would drive me mad on the run if it wasn't showing the correct pace. Headed up to Whitehall and down Griffith Ave back onto Clontarf Coast. Met the next shift of my support team at 9 miles including Mrs KennyG needed these guys for the MP miles and off we set at 10.18 pace towards Sutton/Baldoyle/Raheny. Took a gel at 1 hour and 3 hours no stomach issues. Used the Nuun tabs in my water this week and definately found them good so will use them on the day I didn't have that awful thirst I had last week. This shift ran to 17 miles with me where we said our goodbyes and exchanged hellos with the Raheny Shamrocks crew all back from their LSRs. Met the next shift at 17.5 miles for the remaining MP miles and the final cool down. Run went well, legs felt good, MP miles felt comfortable. Found this run a lot better than last weeks 20 miles which I am putting down to the company and constant chat. Passed KennyG and co on Clontarf Road looking comfortable on their LSR. My take from this run is that I have spent over 4 hours on my feet, I think this distance was good for my head and my confidence for race day. I feel I can do it so it was a positive experience for me today. Currently icing the feet and calves in iced water and have the compression socks ready. Mc Jnr as a GAA match at 3.30 so hopefully the clubhouse will be open for the rugby. Splits below.

Mile 2 10.52
    Mile 3 11.01
    Mile 4 10.58
    Mile 4 11.10
    Mile 6 11.04
    Mile 7 11.11
    Mile 8 11.11
    Mile 9 11.09
    Mile 10 MP 10.16
    Mile 11 MP 10.18
    Mile 12 MP 10.10
    Mile 13 MP 10.21
    Mile 14 MP 10.17
    Mile 15 MP 10.25
    Mile 16 MP 10.24
    Mile 17 MP 10.24
    Mile 18 MP 10.21
    Mile 19 MP 10.08
    Mile 20 MP 10.30
    Mile 21 MP 10.31
    Mile 22 10.54

Avg Pace 10.39

Well done A on 22 miles, great splits all easy from here
    In😊

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Well done A on 22 miles, great splits all easy from here
    In😊

Here's hoping G we still have a few to do but this was definately a good one to get done. Enjoy rest of afternoon and well done on your own splits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Will finish.

Somehow.

I am also sending virtual hugs I know how hard it can be running alone but hey that's our last lsr"s done dcm will be a breeze with all the activity on the day. Well done on getting through today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

So 20miles today.. Alarm set nice and early for a good start to the day... Eventually got out of bed at 11.30!!

Bit of porridge and a coffee with the gf who was joing me on her bike..

Out the door at 12.30, nice temp outside. packed 2 gels and 2 bottles of water(handy having the bike).
    Walking out the gate of the house and a guy walking his kid looks at me and says, "Last 20, yeah". Had a good laugh at that...

So off we went.. Was gonna keep it under 10:00min mile. Decided to run along the canal to grange castle and up to tallaght and back home

Canal was lovely, nice and quiet and the miles began ticking by.. As we approached grange castle at 8.5 miles we decided to continue on and just turn around at 10 miles and head back the same way..

Way back had a bit of a breeze in the face, must of been the reason for the easy first half. Took second get at 13 miles and onwards for home. Was still feeling good at 15 even though we were back to roads now and stopping and starting at junctions. Up to the house in a disappointing 18.6 miles so went for a lap of the block to bring it to the 20..

So close to home for the second time and I got an unbelievable stitch in my side.. Had to stop for a minute and stretch it out.. Back going again with a few hundred metres to go... DONE!!

20.00 miles
    3:15:37 time
    9:59 avg per mile

No soreness, some tiredness but loads of enjoyment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Mrs Mc wrote: »

Mile 2 10.52
    Mile 3 11.01
    Mile 4 10.58
    Mile 4 11.10
    Mile 6 11.04
    Mile 7 11.11
    Mile 8 11.11
    Mile 9 11.09
    Mile 10 MP 10.16
    Mile 11 MP 10.18
    Mile 12 MP 10.10
    Mile 13 MP 10.21
    Mile 14 MP 10.17
    Mile 15 MP 10.25
    Mile 16 MP 10.24
    Mile 17 MP 10.24
    Mile 18 MP 10.21
    Mile 19 MP 10.08
    Mile 20 MP 10.30
    Mile 21 MP 10.31
    Mile 22 10.54

Avg Pace 10.39

Very impressive A. Well done.
    Splits are excellent.
    An enjoyable debut awaits you in three weeks once you don't do anything silly in the meantime. The hard work is done now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Will finish.

Somehow.

sorry to hear that TFGR, you were going well when I met you at 8 miles, how did you get on afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Straight from my log. Well done everyone on your LSRs this weekend, great running from everyone. We're on the home straight whoop whoop :)

Athlone ¾: 19.7 miles @ 9:30/mi, 622ft elevation gain

We hit for Athlone nice and early after I’d shovelled a bowl of porridge into me. As per usual, I downed 750ml of water mixed with electrolytes in the car on the drive to Athlone. We parked up in a field about a ten minute walk from registration so I took all I needed for the run with me so we wouldn’t have to come back after registration.

I picked up my number, queued for the loo and before long it was time for the race briefing and the walk to the start line. I stuffed a gel into the pocket of my shorts and hit for the start line tucking in behind the 4 hour pacers.

……. And we were off. I stuck to the pacers like glue for the first two miles, chatting to those around me. I did find though that having the pacing taken care of, I was more aware of the distance and checking myself for niggles. Around the 2.5 mile mark, I pulled away slightly so there was more room around me and I could concentrate on pacing myself. I remember in the Beast (an adventure race in Aug) asking John (team mate & chief navigator) how he was able to map read and keep going without experiencing the lows that I was and he said that reading the maps was distracting him from the pain and distance and I understand better now what he meant by that. By concentrating on my pacing, the miles were flying by. Before long we were at the 4 mile mark and grabbing a bottle of water. Not being in the large group behind the pacers made the transition through the water station a lot easier. I still had them within earshot though. I took a gel at mile 5.

There were plenty of hills along the way but they were rolling so weren’t knocking too much out of me. The second water station was at mile 8 and I was beginning to feel like I needed the loo so I hit up the hill to the water stop and portaloos but there were two ladies queuing so I decided to hold off until the next stop at mile 12. I grabbed another 250ml bottle here and ran with it to the next water station, taking a drink here and there. I find running with the bottle useful in a way because when I’m under pressure or running too hard, I start to squish the bottle and it reminds me to loosen up and straighten up.

At mile 12 I grabbed another bottle and a squishy pink dolphin from the massive table of sweet things available, it did the trick and I didn’t feel the next mile. There was a queue for the loo again so I figured I’d head on and if I saw a suitable hedge, I’d use it (a suitable one didn’t come along). Mile 14 was carnage, there were people stopping all over the road to walk and sit down. I offered my water to some people but they all kindly refused, I didn’t know what else to say but to offer some words of encouragement. It reminded again to respect these distances.

Because of the way the water stations were placed, I’d broken the race down into 4 mile segments so I was focusing on hitting the last water station at mile 16 at this stage and no further than that. Thankfully there was no queue for the loo so I took my chance and bolted for it. It was the quickest pee ever. I’m not sure I stopped running while I was in there :D, I came out of it running ☺ I grabbed a handful of jelly beans, another bottle of water and was on my merry way.

Mile 17 had a whopper of a hill that took it’s toll but I was able to keep my pace steady (just about). There was a young guy lying by the side of the road on this mile, there were some people with him so he was being looked after. I later saw St. John ambulance coming against us so I’m guessing that it was from him. I hope he was ok.

Mile 18 had nothing short of a mountain on it. Every time you thought you were at the top, there was a turn in the road and it kept on climbing. I think it took out another few people. It slowed my pace a bit so I guess that’s something I’ll have to take into account on the big day, towards the end I’ll have to give up some time to the hills. Before we knew it, we were on the home straight and thankfully it was down hill. There was a great crowd on the way back into Glassan Hotel. Our names were on our bibs so everyone was shouting out our names. It’s only a small thing but all along the course having people call out your name puts a bit of a pep in your step :)

We got a really nice sleeveless fleece for finishing along with a nice medal. I couldn’t recommend this race highly enough. I was really well organised, has brilliant pacers, fantastic support along the route, a great memento that will keep me warm during the Winter months and all at a not too shabby price of €29.

There was great comradely all along the course with everyone chatting about Dublin and passing on little gems of advice. I couldn’t have asked for a better last long run.

Let the taper begin :)

healy1835 wrote: »
    32k done and dusted @PMP +30secs.....will spare people the km splits. At 2k I genuinely considered turning back, legs felt dead, niggles I hadn't felt in ages were at me....I really doubted myself for the first time. Not sure what was going on, but I kept moving and gradually I started to feel better....by 20k I was back in the saddle. Splits were all pretty consistent, fueling worked well too.....feeling it in the legs now mind you. Even though run went well is anyone else concerned about those last 10k/6m.....I just hope the body holds up :)
    32k @5:28/km : 2:54:52
    Taper sounds good right now.....

Legs should feel lot fresher after taper, combination of all week runs
    Leading into lsr supposed to give u feel of ploughing on on tired legs
    Sounds like you battled through today, so all going well when feeling
    Hits in last 10k mussle memory should get u over line + hundreds of
    People willing you over line. That's the theory anyway, so if all work
    Done, should go well on day. Well done today.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Very impressive A. Well done.
    Splits are excellent.
    An enjoyable debut awaits you in three weeks once you don't do anything silly in the meantime. The hard work is done now.

Cheers P must have been all that sound advice I heard in Berlin to "never underestimate a marathon " I wonder who said that again !!! Hope the pacing went well in Athlone today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Hi folks, ran canal again today, Clonsilla to Maynooth section. 20.03 miles in 3hr 12 mins.
    Brought 700 mls of water laced with sugar and di-oralite....lol. tasted pretty nasty.

was planning to stay at 09.30 min/miles. found it hard to judge pace today for some reason. First 10 miles felt good, 2nd ten was hard work, bit of a headwind and quite warm. had a few niggles from 15 mile mark, hip flexor was tight and smallest toe on right foot was being crushed in runner. Glad run is over to be honest. Both feet were really swollen today after run, never noticed it before. Anyway Taper time ahead and mileage is done.
    Times
    mile 1 09.29
    mile2 09.38
    mile 3 09.06
    mile4 09.31
    mile5 09.25
    mile6 09.29
    mile7 09.42
    mile8 09.29
    mile9 09.44 [thought i was faster here]
    mile10 09.44 [ gel and turned back for home]
    mile 11 10.00
    mile12 09.18
    mile 13 09.09 [ worked hard here to get avg pace under control]
    mile 14 09.24
    mile 15 09.29
    mile 16 09.13
    mile 17 09.51
    mile 18 09.26
    mile 19 09.47
    mile 20 10.54 [ cool down ]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Goram it!! I had my LSR report nearly finished when my computer crashed on me! Bit like my run today! Ok, starting over :(

First, thanks everyone for your support today!

Everything was pretty good to start with. Usual breakfast, usual routine, usual time. With the sun shining and having been sick all week, I decided to try for a slower easy pace than usual and walk any hills I had to. Being very familiar with the planned route helped so I knew what was ahead and when I might have to walk. I held up well at the start, but in hindsight there were things I should've known and things I should've done differently from the start. More on that later.

First 10 miles were great. Met Firedance at 8.5 miles and had a quick chat. That was a nice little break. I was feeling good at the time and had no idea of what was ahead.

Mile 1: 15:07 warm up
    Mile 2: 14:38
    Mile 3: 14:24
    Mile 4: 14:42
    Mile 5: 14:41 (gel at 5.6m)
    Mile 6: 15:14 (hill)
    Mile 7: 14:38
    Mile 8: 14:49
    Mile 9: 14:57

Mile 10: 15:13 (hill)
    Mile 11: 15:09
    Mile 12: 17:14

Mile 10 involved a hill, on Wellington Road, which I walked. When I got to the top of the hill I started to feel tired, and lightheaded/dizzy. I wasn't sure why so I kept going. Managed to get across Chesterfield Avenue and onto the North Road. Around and behind the zoo I knew something was going wrong. At mile 11 I decided to walk and see if I could shake it off. By the end of the mile I was feeling queasy, still lightheaded and just needed to sit down. So I found a bench, sat there for a bit and thought about what I should do. Keep going or go home?

I remembered how you guys all said it was great to have company when running as it was a good distraction from tiredness/pain. I wished I had that. But I didn't so when I finally got up and running again I just daydreamed that one or two of you would find me in the park and start running with me (Caveat, of course I know this would never happen, I never expected it to, it was just something to distract myself with).

Mile 13: 14:53
    Mile 14: 15:11

I managed another two miles before I knew I was done for. I had taken another gel (can't remember which mile) but it wasn't helping and I felt sick, lightheaded and very tired.

From mile 14 I walked home, I had no choice because I was on Furze Road so no buses, no taxis and I really don't have anyone I can call for a lift. (Yeah sometimes being an ex-pat sucks (no family around), so does being single (no SO to call on), so does having all your friends live abroad - when I say I have no one, I literally have no one. My cat can't drive)

Anyway, I walked home from Furze Road which is another 3 miles. Three, torturous miles that I told myself would do me good in the end. Good to know what it feels like to keep moving on tired legs, right? My mantra became 'this is good for me, this is good for me'.

Mile 15: 17:59
    Mile 16: 19:07
    Mile 17: 17:48

I was never so happy to see my front door, and once I climbed the steps to my apartment I got inside, sat down on the couch and cried tears of tiredness and frustration. I would've fought the tears but I remember MrsMc posting that 'there will be tears' so I just let them fall.

I stretched, had a protein shake and then a shower followed by lunch which I choked down as I was still feeling queasy. I managed a little bit of housework before I really crashed and went to bed. Slept for an hour and a half but woke still feeling lightheaded, queasy and lethargic. Took another two hours before I got up to make dinner, which I only had because I knew not eating would make things worse.

I'm not entirely sure I know what went wrong today but I have my suspicions. I think I wasn't as well as I thought, my habit of ignoring illness because I hate being ill probably did me no good here. (Just a scratch! Merely a flesh wound! Yeah, that's me.) I was more tired than I thought also, having had a bad couple of nights sleep previously.

And I might have been overhydrated as well. I only suspect that because there's no way to know for sure but I do know that before I went for my run I used the loo twice and my wee was clear both times. I did not do this on purpose! I had my usual 2L on Saturday and not even 300mL with breakfast. I noticed how clear it was but didn't think anything of it because it's never been a problem for me before. But I went running and by the time I hit mile 12 I had downed nearly 500mL of water and one gel. That might not have caused the problems but it certainly didn't help. When I got home I found I luckily had an electrolyte drink in my running stash from a previous goody bag. So I made that and sipped on it after lunch and before I went to sleep. Couldn't finish it but had more after I got up to have dinner.

Anyway, that's the story of my run today and all things considered I think I did ok under the circumstances. I did get about 7 good miles out of it and learned more valuable lessons that will stand me in good stead on marathon day. Very glad this happened today and not on marathon day!

I'm still feeling crap, feeling queasy (nearly lost dinner when my roomie made a mushroom stirfry - smell of mushrooms cooking make me sick!) and as soon as I post this I'm turning the lights off and going back to bed. My head doesn't feel right.

That's a bummer TFGR you prob got back into it too soon after being so sick. If it's any consolation my 18 miles had tears and I've had two tough but much better experiences afterwards. The bad ones make us stronger and help us enjoy the good ones. Get to bed early and shake off that cold. Mind yourself :)

very glad this happened today and not on marathon day!

That's what you should take from today. We all have a bad run, you're just getting yours out of the way before the big day :)

I really feel for you though, I know how it feels to struggle and to want to push through it. I did the very same last week and I wasn't well and I should have listened to my body but you want so badly to not miss a run and to get those miles in.

The important thing is you get better. You've come too far to only come this far ;)

On the running alone thing, I was just about to post that elsewhere. I've been on this journey almost entirely alone (physically, I mean....emotionally I've had you lot and some deadly friends to get me through it). I really am thinking that it's going to stand to me, if I can get through these runs on my own with only my lunatic self to chat to, then marathon day should be easier as there will be other runners to chat to and supporters to cheers us on.

Well done on today, and don't worry about your run, it's done. Don't look back, you're not going that way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Sorry to hear that your run didn't go well today TFGR. If it's any consolation, the cold virus that we all seem to have has me absolutely zapped for energy and overtime I think it's gone, it comes back a bit so there is no way you were going to be at your best today. Try not give the few miles that you didn't do any more thought - they were by no means going to make or break your marathon training. If I have a crap run, I always make sure that my next run is a nice handy run in on a route that I like so that I can remind myself of why I love running in the first place. Could you try that for your next run?

Just to add, would you consider joining a Fit4Life group in a club so you have lots of company for running in the future?

Well done to everyone else too on all the runs. A little bit jealous that I don't start to taper until Wednesday but only an extra two days really so looking forward to that. Hope the hurricanes forecasted can wait until Thursday!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

sorry to hear that TFGR, as you said though, good it happened today & not marathon day and, as we both commented this morning it was quite warm today too so that could also be a factor, fyi you could (maybe should?) bring a couple of salt tabs with you on your longer runs so you can replenish electrolytes along the way. Hopefully a good nights sleep will see you feeling better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Report from yesterday's 20m.
    Breakfast of porridge flaxseeds banana and tea, got my gear ready and headed off just after 9 with 3 gels, 750ml of water, small lucozade sport, packet of haribo and some of those blocks that taste like raw jelly. Run is broken into 5m sections.
    Section 1
    Ran the 2.3m to Tymon park and stashed the fluids and started my first loop. By mile 4 I had a bit of a niggle down back of right leg and proceeded to think of all types of 'what ifs'
    1. 10.36
    2. 10.53
    3. 11.28
    4. 11.55
    5. 11.46
    Section 2
    I fuelled up with a gel and water at end of first loop approx 5.5m and proceeded to have a really enjoyable loop, lots of head up running and niggles disappeared. Took on some lucozade sport, yum! I was really pleased when my watch read 9m and started to think about how I really wanted to have another great 5m, my error here was I hadn't got to 10m!!
    6. 11.39
    7. 12.07
    8. 11.28
    9. 11.24
    10. 11.05
    Section 3
    Still going well although I start to feel the attrition, some discomfort from soles. Gel and water again
    11. 12.04
    12. 11.27
    13. 11.07
    14. 11.50
    15. 11.23
    Section 4
    So at 15.5miles Im taking some fluids and I start to do some maths, if I do a loop and head home that will be over 21miles, so I decide to do a small loop. This doesn't go so well I lose my rhythm checking my distance and figuring out when to turn etc. final gel. I head for home, it seems these 2.5m are very stop start, and are quite simply TOUGH, legs aren't screaming it's just really tough. Very little rhythm to my running and every curb is a killer. I kept my head and felt I was always running,no slogging - very proud of that
    16. 11.06
    17. 11.25
    18. 11.15
    19 11.13
    20. 11.10

Total 3 hrs 48mins at average pace of 11.25pm