Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Firedance wrote: »
    Whoo! Its a pb watch, a good omen for 26/10 :p

Ps, well done murph...

wrong log :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

annapr wrote: »
    wrong log :p

He doesn't read your log? :eek:

hmm, dunno... but if he does he'll give out to me for breaking the news before he does :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Tut tut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Great session on Wednesday Anna, love this log :) It's inspiring, fun and so colorful :)

Saturday, Oct 3: 22 Mile LSR
    35.5Km @ 6:21/Km; 22.1 mi @ 10:13/mi

This is the second 22 mile run in the plan, but the first I attempted. It's described in the plan as 22 miles with 'stuff' -- either run the whole thing 'steady' or 10 miles easy, followed by 10 @ MP and 2 cooldown. I should have set my watch to beep at me because I ended up doing some steady, some MP and most easy! In no particular order.

I had a bee in my bonnet all week about using this run to recce the DCM course from Chapelizod Gate on. I needed to banish the demons of DCM 14. So I set off this morning to deepest, darkest southside, armed with the DCM map and list of roads. Through the park to Chapelizod gate, passing hundreds of Simon Fun run participants going in the opposite direction -- the most relaxed bunch of 'runners' I've ever seen.

The short version: loved this run, felt good most of the way, although flagged from time to time, demons conquered!

Longer version (for my own record): Out the gate and through Chapelizod, up to Kilmainham, admiring the colours of the trees. Made a pitstop in the Kilmainham Hilton before heading towards Dolphin's Barn. My only wrong turn of the day brought me to the canal a bridge too soon, no problem, found the dreaded Crumlin Rd one bridge over. Passed the spot where my legs stopped working in DCM 2014, relieved to actually RUN up Crumlin Rd today. It's not a bad drag, a bit exposed and not very interesting but fine really.

Found my way to KCR... the road names are so small or non-existent that I had to stop a bit and wander around to be sure I had the right route, not having been here for a year!

Unknown to me, my brother and his wife passed me in the car on Kimmage rd, they sent me a text: 'we can't stop saying, that's mad' :D

Hit 10 miles somewhere around Walkinstown and attempted some MP Km... but stopping and starting to read street names and the map didn't help my rhythm. Stopped for a Lucozade Sport somewhere here too, was feeling the need of some sugar.

Down into Terenure, remembering the glory days of the Terenure 5 mile, then around through opulent Orwell Road and Park... definitely tiring now, but still feeling good.

Finally got to Roebuck road and the infamous hill... which is really not bad, a bit steep but short (although there is a drag up to it) and the reward at the top is a lovely downhill on Foster's avenue. Nice steady paced Km took me to the top.

Back into town through the wasteland of the Stillorgan dual carriageway, mercifully mostly downhill, down Nutley Lane (stopped at Tesco for a water refill), then the long straight to the finish at Merrion Square. Finished strong, imagining the crowds cheering :)

I realised around Roebuck that I had misjudged the 22 miles... thinking it would get me home. Hit 22 miles just after the finish line on Merrion Square, still a couple of miles from home... two buses flew past ignoring my 'please stop' signal (yes, I was at a bus stop) so I resorted to a taxi home. Extravagant, but what the hell, I earned it. The taxi driver was well impressed with my exploits. My understanding OH on the other hand said, would you not have run home from there... No, I just ran 22 miles (and couldn't run another 100m)!!!!

So my new mantra is 'Focus, Commit, Believe, Achieve' (borrowed from Jim McGuinness). Repeated endlessly, it's like some sort of moving meditation trance, worked well today :)

Really happy with this run, psychologically important to break the hoodoo of that course, from Crumlin rd to the end... Now I know I can do it, only question is at what pace...? but that's for another day.

No gels today, just the Lucozade sport and I had a zero tab in a glass of water before l left home. All good. My legs are sore now and I've wanted to lie down and nap ever since I got home.

Delighted again!!!

*except for the 16 miles next week.... feels like that hardly qualifies as an LSR now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great to see Anna, long may it continue. We'll done.

yipeee :) well done again, good going on the map reading too in 'the deepest, darkest southside' :D

Orwell Road is scary, let me tell you, those big houses are spoooky

I think I'm losing it... am I becoming obsessed? I offered D a 'marathon' instead of a 'magnum' this evening.

Then was listening to the Aussie coach (yaay, go Australia) being interviewed and could have sworn he said "I'm so proud of my legs" (might have been 'lads').

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Seeing as I've already admitted to using wet sand on the beach here to look at my foot imprint and arches I really can't judge. The OH looked at me like he only just realized I was a loon.

Great run to have done, although you brought back such horrible memories - crumlin road - shudder. I'll have to conquer my own demons again someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

I think I'm losing it... am I becoming obsessed? I offered D a 'marathon' instead of a 'magnum' this evening.

Thinks its called running brain, I have a dose of that as well Anna, forgetting conversations (still adamant they didn't happen !!) and mixing up words, think it it just pure exhaustion !! Super running, glad the demons are gone, hope they aren't coming my way !!! All set for the big day now.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Thinks its called running brain, I have a dose of that as well Anna, forgetting conversations (still adamant they didn't happen !!) and mixing up words, think it it just pure exhaustion !! Super running, glad the demons are gone, hope they aren't coming my way !!! All set for the big day now.

Thanks Mrs Mc, either running brain or old age in my case :) I hope your 22 miler went well today, kept an eye out for you on the seafront this morning, but no sign.

Was there alright but went via collins ave Griffith ave was prob at 6 miles by the time I hit Clontarf at 9.30. Went to sutton cross from there. All good ! 22 miles in the bag :)

Sunday, 4 October: Recovery 5k
    3.27 mi @ 10:25; 5.26 Km @ 6:28

The first few steps were painful but then recovery magic kicked in and this was an uneventful spin out the sea front. Loads of runners out there this morning, I felt like wearing a sign saying 'Recovery' as I was being overtaken :)

WTD: 50.33 Miles/ 81 Km (I admit, that's why I did the recovery this morning, first time ever breaking 50 miles in a week! :))
    MTD: 30.33 Mi/49 Km
    YTD: 982 Mi (I'm really impressing myself here :p)/1,580 Km

Took the kids to the Park to cheer on the XC Novices this afternoon... mainly aquinn and Bungy (also gave HelenAnne a shout). Great to watch, looked like a world of pain for the runners though :eek: Except Bungy who looked happier as the race went on. Respect for all of them!

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Was there alright but went via collins ave Griffith ave was prob at 6 miles by the time I hit Clontarf at 9.30. Went to sutton cross from there. All good ! 22 miles in the bag :)

Well done again, A, you nailed it! You've been so consistent, you will have a good day on the 26th!

God I hope so Anna !;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Well done on hitting a 50 mile week! Will have to try it myself some day! Sounds like your training is going great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

I felt like wearing a sign saying 'Recovery' as I was being overtaken :)

Such a great idea! How about t-shirts with 'Recovery' printed on the back. I'd wear mine all the time :D
    Took the kids to the Park to cheer on the XC Novices this afternoon... mainly aquinn and Bungy (also gave HelenAnne a shout). Great to watch, looked like a world of pain for the runners though :eek: Except Bungy who looked happier as the race went on. Respect for all of them!

Thanks so much for the support today. Looking at the photos now I realise two things: I can run with my eyes closed AND it is possible for me to feel ok on the inside and look horrific on the outside. Oh well.

That's a savage LSR Anna, well done. Taking a map with you and taking the time to do the route accurately is serious dedication :) Hats off to you. Thanks for the detailed report too, I've noted the post number so that coming up to the big day, I can revisit it and try to visualise where the drags and hills are so that there won't be too many surprises :)

It must be a nice confidence booster to know that there will only be 4 miles of unknown on the big day?

Also, plus one to wearing a sign with recovery on it :D I've taken to doing these runs where there's no chance of bumping into other runners as I'm fumbling along the footpaths :D

Neady83 wrote: »
    That's a savage LSR Anna, well done. Taking a map with you and taking the time to do the route accurately is serious dedication :) Hats off to you. Thanks for the detailed report too, I've noted the post number so that coming up to the big day, I can revisit it and try to visualise where the drags and hills are so that there won't be too many surprises :)

It must be a nice confidence booster to know that there will only be 4 miles of unknown on the big day?

Also, plus one to wearing a sign with recovery on it :D I've taken to doing these runs where there's no chance of bumping into other runners as I'm fumbling along the footpaths :D

Neady, I'm sure Dubgal will dig out the Tunguska post from last year, a really good overview of the course, much more detailed, it was excellent.

I've now covered the entire course in the last week, although not in one go... and the first half has the longest drag... From the river up to Castleknock, then from the river again to Crumlin. Which is why a lot of people advise to aim for a negative split, to avoid overdoing it in the first half. After that, the course is gently undulating. (Ok, there are hills in the second half too!). The last 3-4 miles are pretty much downhill/flat.

It's a huge confidence boost especially after the carnage last year! You must be delighted with Athlone too.

There are no hills that will bother you though after Athlone and Diamond Hill!

Monday 5: Rest and back to work full time :eek:

Tuesday 6: 5 miles easy
    Approx 5 miles @ 9:56; 8k @ 6:10

Lovely evening run to the wooden bridge and back. My watch died after about 3 miles but I didn't care one bit. Just enjoyed running after 2 days in an office!

Wednesday 7: Rest :(
    The planned 14 miles was abandoned due to getting home from work later than planned and having to prioritise eating over running. How the hell do people find the time to work full-time, have kids... And run!!!? Ok whine over.

Thursday 8: 14 miles @ MP

Arranged to meet aquinn for this after work, knowing it would encourage me out the door. She very generously offered to do the whole 14 miles (she really is a star, really!). We did a big loop -- up to Finglas, Glasnevin ave to Collins Ave, killester, Raheny and back in the Coast. I was very happy to see the sea heading for home!

A was pacing us in miles, me in km. The planned pace was 5:55/km or 9:33/mi.

D had given me a "motivational" speech about this run--this a really key run in the plan, if you can do this at MP, you can do the marathon at MP. Take it seriously, plan for it, blah blah blah. No pressure so!

It was a lovely night for running and we did great all the way UP to Finglas, but damn that was only 3 miles. I really started to flag on the Howth rd, about 7 miles in, but A was having none of it. We did stop for a sports drink at a garage, and again for water in Clontarf. I nearly lost A there, she didn't hear me say I was stopping and kept going. I tried to slow down after 12 miles but again she wouldn't let me! :p

Running in the dark on uneven footpaths and crossing roads slowed us down. The smell of food wafting from restaurants along the sea front tortured us.

But we finished strong and walked the last Km home. I rewarded myself with wine and chocolate. :D

And oh yeah, the pace... garmin says 14 miles @ 9:34/mi or 22.5 km @ 5:56/km. A called the last mile at 9:20.

So... I'm happy with that, even if it's one second too slow :p.

Legs are sore now, and I have to go to work tomorrow again, groan.

Big thanks to aquinn, I owe you many pints in McGrattans!!!

And I just realised YTD MILES: 1,001.44!!!!

Which means I crossed the 1,000 barrier somewhere in that last two miles on the seafront... very appropriate location and timing :D

Super fantastic! Love it :) well done both

Which means I crossed the 1,000 barrier somewhere in that last two miles on the seafront... very appropriate location and timing :D

That definately deserved wine and choc ! 14 miles in the evening after work and in the dark .... Well done Mrs. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

D had given me a "motivational" speech about this run--this a really key run in the plan, if you can do this at MP, you can do the marathon at MP. Take it seriously, plan for it, blah blah blah. No pressure so!

And oh yeah, the pace... garmin says 14 miles @ 9:34/mi or 22.5 km @ 5:56/km. A called the last mile at 9:20.

Eh, I didn't know it was a key run in the plan. YAHOO, secret sub pacer forum here I come! Deadly. What perfect pacing, F off with your second out :P

I don't know how you wrote a report and YTD MILES: 1,001.44, brilliant. Well done. I wasn't fit for anything. Tired today after I completely my usual weekly target in two nights running.

HAPPY FRIDAY and well done. You are ready for the 26th!

Brilliant running Anna, two serious milestones in one run, congratulations :) Really happy for you and how great that you got to share it with aquinn :) Nice pacing between ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

That was well deserved wine and chocolate! Well done on both achievements.

Working full-time, running and child rearing is tough, but possible. I'm lucky my husband isn't a runner though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

The hay is in the barn, as the Tallaght lads like to say. ;)

Keep it dry now and all should be well on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Monday 5: Rest and back to work full time :eek:

Tuesday 6: 5 miles easy
    Approx 5 miles @ 9:56; 8k @ 6:10

Lovely evening run to the wooden bridge and back. My watch died after about 3 miles but I didn't care one bit. Just enjoyed running after 2 days in an office!

Wednesday 7: Rest :(
    The planned 14 miles was abandoned due to getting home from work later than planned and having to prioritise eating over running. How the hell do people find the time to work full-time, have kids... And run!!!? Ok whine over.

Thursday 8: 14 miles @ MP

Arranged to meet aquinn for this after work, knowing it would encourage me out the door. She very generously offered to do the whole 14 miles (she really is a star, really!). We did a big loop -- up to Finglas, Glasnevin ave to Collins Ave, killester, Raheny and back in the Coast. I was very happy to see the sea heading for home!

It was a lovely night for running and we did great all the way UP to Finglas, but damn that was only 3 miles. I really started to flag on the Howth rd, about 7 miles in, but A was having none of it. We did stop for a sports drink at a garage, and again for water in Clontarf. I nearly lost A there, she didn't hear me say I was stopping and kept going. I tried to slow down after 12 miles but again she wouldn't let me! :p

Running in the dark on uneven footpaths and crossing roads slowed us down. The smell of food wafting from restaurants along the sea front tortured us.

But we finished strong and walked the last Km home. I rewarded myself with wine and chocolate. :D

Nice going Anna. That MP session is a great one to bag at this stage.

Also congrats on breaking the 1000 mile barrier....what's that in KMs ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Am running out of smiles after reading this page :) First 50, hay in the barn, 1000 miles, back to work full time on top of everything else and still compos mentis, wine and chocolate rewards, aquinn being, well, aquinn :DMurph giving up running to give you more running cards after reading chickey's post....well done on the upwards curve, bring it on!