Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

TCD students cheer islamist Asghar Bukhari and his defence of the Charlie Hebdo k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I don't give a toss about that guy anymore than I care for O'Neill. The focus is on the TCD students, and knowing O'Neills shít-stirring in the past, there is likely a lot left out of this story.
    Possibly (also it's ironic of him to say people should be able to say what they like no matter who it offends... and then get offended himself by how those students expressed themselves; "free speech" is an illusion - it does not exist in an absolute form, no matter where or what or who) but he is describing what actually happened, and it's a fair point that he makes:
    There are moronic liberals (and I'd be pretty liberal myself) who will just latch on to any view that is the "correct" one for their ilk. Can you just IMAGINE if it was a white man on a campus making similar points about a massacre in which people "deserved" to be killed? You could only imagine, because it just would not happen.

These eejits would be very supportive of gay rights and feminism too, yet also islamic fundamentalism. Eh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Nick Griffin should have stuck a tea cosy on his head and brandished a holy book - they'd have rolled out the red carpet then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

"Hilarious" that supposedly educated students can defend this sort of blatant butchery? I'd get that moral compass re-calibrated, 'comrade'...
    You haven't even established that students have done any such thing - publications by O'Neill are about as reliable as scrawlings in a toilet stall - so I'll be waiting to hear the other side of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

This isn't a new thing at all. There will always be elements who support extreme views, especially in Universities.

I went to Trinity from 2004-2008 and during that time there was a really disturbing cult that had basically taken over the CU. They did the whole love-bombing thing and then ostracising members who disagreed with them. They believed all sorts of whacky things including biblical literalism. They were a scary bunch, I often wonder if they are still at it.

There were also people who were muslims who believed some pretty interesting stuff too but I remember that difference of opinions was allowed there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

This isn't a new thing at all. There will always be elements who support extreme views, especially in Universities.

I went to Trinity from 2004-2008 and during that time there was a really disturbing cult that had basically taken over the CU. They did the whole love-bombing thing and then ostracising members who disagreed with them. They believed all sorts of whacky things including biblical literalism. They were a scary bunch, I often wonder if they are still at it.

There were also people who were muslims who believed some pretty interesting stuff too but I remember that difference of opinions was allowed there.

Except apostasy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭walshyn93

Hatless wrote: »
    Possibly (also it's ironic of him to say people should be able to say what they like no matter who it offends... and then get offended himself by how those students expressed themselves; "free speech" is an illusion - it does not exist in an absolute form, no matter where or what or who) but he is describing what actually happened, and it's a fair point that he makes:
    There are moronic liberals (and I'd be pretty liberal myself) who will just latch on to any view that is the "correct" one for their ilk. Can you just IMAGINE if it was a white man on a campus making similar points about a massacre in which people "deserved" to be killed? You could only imagine, because it just would not happen.

These eejits would be very supportive of gay rights and feminism too, yet also islamic fundamentalism. Eh...

It's not one bit ironic. He's obviously offended and countering it with words rather than violence, a fact that whataboutery merchants seem to miss consistently.

Your argument presupposes that to be fully in favour of free speech means never to argue against anything you disagree with in case you might win a debate and silence the opposition.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 OiL RiG

Trinity ****

There is a concerted effort (and I mean that literally - a unified effort among a very wide variety of right-wing publications/authors) to slur 'the left' as acting in that way (and particularly in colleges), by cherry-picking the craziest-of-the-crazy minority of 'left' people, and painting them as representing the whole.

Most of that kind of writing, and bleating on about 'free speech' (as if being criticized for saying something offensive, makes the offensive person a 'victim' - and this is exactly what that O'Neill does, as you correctly allude to - which is nothing to do with free speech), is just propaganda used to try and whip up a controversy out of nothing, to generate more support for right-wing views.

Sure, you will get some loons on the left, spouting regressive/censoring views, but it's pretty much a 'storm in a teacup' type situation, where the views of a tiny minority are grossly disproportionately focused on.
    It's my view, that the entire college-campus free-speech issue, is a mostly manufactured myth - that only exists among a tiny minority, and is not this big controversy that people make it out to be - it's just a handy talking-point.

What you never hear these people talk about, is how the financial funding of colleges affects what actually gets taught in these colleges, and itself has a chilling effect not just on free speech, but on the range of what people get taught.

The real controversy, is how financial control of colleges is corrupting what actually gets taught in them - and on how student access to college in many places, is increasingly becoming limited due to finances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

I actually don't think they're left wing. In fact, I suspect them of having no considered principles whatsoever beyond what will endear them to whatever heavily marketed cause is trending.

I would have to politely disagree with you. You see, in my experience, lefties come in two basic flavours:
    • Clueless but well meaning half wits who don't fully realise what they are getting themselves into (the classic 'useful idiots' as coined by Stalin). They usually grow out of the phase by their mid twenties when they realise the workers paradise ™ is the greatest scam perpetrated in the history of mankind, and it's just an excuse to replace one group of brutal bastards with an even worse group. Meet the new boss etc.....
    • Then you have the other group, the slick bloodthirsty cut throats who will happily defend each and every atrocity committed in the name of socialism and the state. Their fanaticism is practically indistinguishable from that of religious fanatics, in that their sense of extremist logical and rationality can excuse all sorts of barbarity and violence in the name of the, ahem, 'greater good'.

Either way, both groups are dangerous either because of their lack of the bigger picture, or their greater understanding of it. Just look at how the high priest of socialism Eric Hobesbawn was fawned over by the mainstream media when he died. This is the same 'intellectual' who argued that all the murders, the cutting of throats,
    the brutal rapes,
    the state surveillance,
    the show trials,
    the torture of innocents,
    the brutal oppression by the jackboot of the state,
    the massacre of civilians in Hungary,
    the disappearing of intellectuals,
    the assassination of artists etc

"would have been worth it if a genuine Communist society had been the result". :eek:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/10/02/arts/eric-hobsbawm-british-historian-dies-at-95.html?_r=0

Make no mistake about it, these people are the most dangerous elements in society today, as their bloodthirsty ideology is carefully packaged and presented with a smiling, friendly appearance. Not to mention being tolerated by a drooling media that play along, instead of rightly telling them to fcuk off back to the abattoirs and killing fields of Russia and North Korea.

Can you imagine if a right wing group was given actually given airtime to argue that the holocaust or KKK lynchings would have been justified if 'only they had won'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Saipanne wrote: »
    Except apostasy.

Real hornet's nest that one, but there have been many liberal interpretations over the years by highly-regarded Islamic scholars:

http://apostasyandislam.blogspot.ie/

Unfortunately they still have a fair bit of convincing to do among the faithful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I would have to politely (.............)

Jaysus we're angry today. Did a lefty disturb your Saturday lie on?

(Boards randomly disappearing posts today is annoying - deleted this as I thought the post I replied to was deleted.)

Ya when you find people trying to rebrand anyone on the 'left' as Communists - which virtually nobody is these days (I think I've only ever seen one actual Communist on Boards, ever...), then you know they are either talking nonsense, or are themselves a 'useful idiot' who has bought into right-wing propaganda, which portrays anyone remotely on 'the left' as supporting Communism.

If you look at the US, the groups who commit the most frequent terrorist attacks, and are the greatest danger to people in the US, are actually home-grown right-wing extremists.
    Prior to 2001, it was Timothy McVeigh - a right wing extremist - who had committed the worst terrorist attack in the countries history, killing 168 people in the Oklahoma bombing.

I mean, just compare the two, to see which set of extremists is more dangerous:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Left-wing_terrorism
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Right-wing_terrorism#United_States

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Nodin wrote: »
    It's amazing how some trinners students have become the ultimate leftwing "source of all that is evil". Hillarious too.

I don't trust O'Neill necessarily but they either cheered the killings or they didn't. If they did then they are, indeed a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I would have to politely disagree with you. You see, in my experience, lefties come in two basic flavours:
    • Clueless but well meaning half wits who don't fully realise what they are getting themselves into (the classic 'useful idiots' as coined by Stalin). They usually grow out of the phase by their mid twenties when they realise the workers paradise ™ is the greatest scam perpetrated in the history of mankind, and it's just an excuse to replace one group of brutal bastards with an even worse group. Meet the new boss etc.....
    • Then you have the other group, the slick bloodthirsty cut throats who will happily defend each and every atrocity committed in the name of socialism and the state. Their fanaticism is practically indistinguishable from that of religious fanatics, in that their sense of extremist logical and rationality can excuse all sorts of barbarity and violence in the name of the, ahem, 'greater good'.

Either way, both groups are dangerous either because of their lack of the bigger picture, or their greater understanding of it. Just look at how the high priest of socialism Eric Hobesbawn was fawned over by the mainstream media when he died. This is the same 'intellectual' who argued that all the murders, the cutting of throats,
    the brutal rapes,
    the state surveillance,
    the show trials,
    the torture of innocents,
    the brutal oppression by the jackboot of the state,
    the massacre of civilians in Hungary,
    the disappearing of intellectuals,
    the assassination of artists etc

"would have been worth it if a genuine Communist society had been the result". :eek:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/10/02/arts/eric-hobsbawm-british-historian-dies-at-95.html?_r=0

Make no mistake about it, these people are the most dangerous elements in society today, as their bloodthirsty ideology is carefully packaged and presented with a smiling, friendly appearance. Not to mention being tolerated by a drooling media that play along, instead of rightly telling them to fcuk off back to the abattoirs and killing fields of Russia and North Korea.

Can you imagine if a right wing group was given actually given airtime to argue that the holocaust or KKK lynchings would have been justified if 'only they had won'?

Top drawer. Well fücking said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,692 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Sounds ugly, but I'll wait for a source other that the writer who penned such masterpieces as:

Trans activists are effectively experimenting on children. Could there be anything more cruel?

Feminism becomes more like Islamism every day

and

Oh man, I hope it’s true that Cameron did that thing with a pig. He’d be King of the Lads

I don't trust O'Neill necessarily but they either cheered the killings or they didn't. If they did then they are, indeed a disgrace.

As we have no 3rd party at the moment, we can say nothing with certainity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

That's the thing. If Islam ever took over, these idiots would be among the first to be beheaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

So who's taking the horse to France?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Is there any evidence that this actually happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,498 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Strider wrote: »
    'Shame! Shame!'?

Its like he stumbled into the scene from Game of Thrones:

http://blog.chron.com/tubular/files/2015/09/shame-bell-game-of-thrones.gif

Or a water protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Unfortunately for those who would want to paint every left winger into a corner of being an over-liberal, misguided, ultra politically correct zealot, their argument is hogwash. Unfortunately for those who believe that to be left wing you have to be an over-liberal, misguided, ultra politically correct zealot, their thought processes are fashioned in a rubbish dump. Idiocy can be found in all walks of life and throughout the political spectrum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

This is a big site. Was anybody who posts here there? I don't trust O'Neill at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Its definitely censorship by the institution

Denying the right to say "This guy is an arsehole and we do not wish to entertain his views on our platform" because he's a Government-approved Oppressed Beardo is veering sharply towards the old censorship ditch there, Ted! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

Old Jakey wrote: »
    That's the thing. If Islam ever took over, these idiots would be among the first to be beheaded.

This has already happened in the Iranian Revolution. Once the islamists took power they had no more use for their allies on the left although they were hung rather than beheaded.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Martial9

If you look at the US, the groups who commit the most frequent terrorist attacks, and are the greatest danger to people in the US, are actually home-grown right-wing extremists.
    Prior to 2001, it was Timothy McVeigh - a right wing extremist - who had committed the worst terrorist attack in the countries history, killing 168 people in the Oklahoma bombing.

I mean, just compare the two, to see which set of extremists is more dangerous:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Left-wing_terrorism
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Right-wing_terrorism#United_States

Why would we look to the US? We live thousands of miles away from the place and the vast majority of users here are not citizens.

We live in Ireland/Europe. We are Irish/European. Let us look at the stats there. Most terrorism in Europe is carried out by separatist and left wing groups. Is that why you suggested we look to a country thousands of miles away?

Noblong wrote: »
    So who's taking the horse to France?

The left have kidnapped the horse, France has been eaten by the muslims, cats have sex with dogs in the street, civilisation is ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Wtf is up with all the vanishing posts?? :confused:

Liberal left shot them. Tis sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

That was from February - don't think that's it.

Thanks, I've just realized this was an older talk. Have modified the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

Nodin wrote: »
    Liberal left shot them. Tis sad.

There's nothing remotely liberal about students attending a university in a social democracy such as Ireland agreeing with a hatemonger who defends acts of terrorism against a satirical magazine.

There's nothing of the old left about it either.

Stop being so flippant when you post.

There's nothing remotely liberal about students attending a university in a social democracy such as Ireland agreeing with a hatemonger who defends acts of terrorism against a satirical magazine.

There's nothing of the old left about it either.

Stop being so flippant when you post.

Sorry, I'll have my sad serious face on in future.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Would take that story with a huge pinch of salt the author seems butt hurt the students didn't like him. He's a climate change denier and ani same sex marriage. Would need to hear other viewpoints. When a story lives up to all your prejudices it's often bull.

There is a concerted effort (and I mean that literally - a unified effort among a very wide variety of right-wing publications/authors) to slur 'the left' as acting in that way (and particularly in colleges), by cherry-picking the craziest-of-the-crazy minority of 'left' people, and painting them as representing the whole.

Most of that kind of writing, and bleating on about 'free speech' (as if being criticized for saying something offensive, makes the offensive person a 'victim' - and this is exactly what that O'Neill does, as you correctly allude to - which is nothing to do with free speech), is just propaganda used to try and whip up a controversy out of nothing, to generate more support for right-wing views.

Sure, you will get some loons on the left, spouting regressive/censoring views, but it's pretty much a 'storm in a teacup' type situation, where the views of a tiny minority are grossly disproportionately focused on.
    It's my view, that the entire college-campus free-speech issue, is a mostly manufactured myth - that only exists among a tiny minority, and is not this big controversy that people make it out to be - it's just a handy talking-point.

What you never hear these people talk about, is how the financial funding of colleges affects what actually gets taught in these colleges, and itself has a chilling effect not just on free speech, but on the range of what people get taught.

The real controversy, is how financial control of colleges is corrupting what actually gets taught in them - and on how student access to college in many places, is increasingly becoming limited due to finances.

Agree strongly on the influence of big firms in dictating curriculum.

However , I disagree on your downplaying of the influence of this small minority of extreme leftists. Most students have little time to spend associating with such types and as a result tend to avoid these societies. Said types are the ones who flock to these societies. The rest of the society will be made up of unassertive types who let a small belligerent minority set the agenda. Or worse still, careerists who avoid controversy by sharing their real opinions. Nick Griffin not allowed appear yet Islamists are. Banning songs. Banning unpopular debates from occurring. These are things that a majority of students would be against but since they're so disenfranchised by the set up amd content provided by these organisations they don't bother to get involved. The problem is when the ones involved in the societies have the better CVs and connections and get into top positions as a result. They are then able to dictate public policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

It doesn't matter if it was Richard Dawkins, Ian O'Doherty, Chris Hitchens (or the brother) giving the speech. The crux of the argument remains valid. The right to be offended is something we should all hold dear. You can be angered and riled about it. I'd even suggest it's a healthy thing to experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

jimgoose wrote: »
    It isn't censorship for an institution to select who comes to speak based on what their views are and the likely content.

It's still censorship, it doesn't matter if it's an institution. It's deciding what your students should be exposed to, rather than letting them make up their own minds.

Reminds of a docu I watched on the modern day KKK a few years back. They were doing a rally in the Deep South in front of a mostly white audience. Supporters, you might think? Nope, they were strongly jeered by the crowd and finished up quick smart. I'm glad this happened, showed they how little hold they now have.

walshyn93 wrote: »
    Agree strongly on the influence of big firms in dictating curriculum.

However , I disagree on your downplaying of the influence of this small minority of extreme leftists. Most students have little time to spend associating with such types and as a result tend to avoid these societies. Said types are the ones who flock to these societies. The rest of the society will be made up of unassertive types who let a small belligerent minority set the agenda. Or worse still, careerists who avoid controversy by sharing their real opinions. Nick Griffin not allowed appear yet Islamists are. Banning songs. Banning unpopular debates from occurring. These are things that a majority of students would be against but since they're so disenfranchised by the set up amd content provided by these organisations they don't bother to get involved. The problem is when the ones involved in the societies have the better CVs and connections and get into top positions as a result. They are then able to dictate public policy.
    You're making a huge stretch from students and student/college debates, all the way up to public policy - there is pretty much nothing to show a significant connection there at all.

It really is just a few crackpots, in a tiny minority of college's, that just receive hyper-intensive attention, because the Internet makes it easy to hype-up tiny events (especially if there's money thrown at that effort) that are completely insignificant in the large scale of things, and are not actually representative of colleges or students as a whole.

What does have a significant effect on public policy? Money - including from the same groups influencing what is taught in college (the real dangers to free speech and range of education - not the students who are victims of that) - when those same groups lobby/influence/corrupt government.

It's pretty obvious that right-leaning publications just try to blow the whole crackpot-students issue way out of proportion, to distract from the actual corruption of college/teaching and politics, from right-wing-dominated economic/financial/banking/business sources.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

It always amazes me that the Progressive Left cosy up to Islamists who, on the basis of their speeches and writings, decry a lot of the freedoms that the Left espouse. Anti-Gay, Anti-Women, Anti-Free Choice.

Why would anyone on the Left support that?

To rub the Rights nose in diversity? To use lslamists as a weapon to undermine the State?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There's definitely something wrong with the site, I've been having trouble for the past day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Islamists need to weaken right wing politics in the west to succeed. Lefties have a political interest in that. They're useful idiots.

Also, lefties like to argue that social problems are the result of conservative (fiscal, military, social) policy. So do Muslims. They make unnaturally comfortable bedfellows. For now.

So odd that lefties seem to give muslims a get out of jail free card with regards their rampant vocal homophobia misogyny and racism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Paz-CCFC wrote: »
    How did he know they were "mainly liberals"? Wouldn't cheering a far right opinion suggest that they were right wing?

Most likely not. Go on tumblr and you'll see nothing a muslim does is wrong if its in the name of islam.. liberals stopped a gay pride parade from going through a muslim neighbourhood in sweden as it would offend the muslims. Thats the kind of people we're talking about here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

It always amazes me that the Progressive Left cosy up to Islamists who, on the basis of their speeches and writings, decry a lot of the freedoms that the Left espouse. Anti-Gay, Anti-Women, Anti-Free Choice.

Why would anyone on the Left support that?

To rub the Rights nose in diversity? To use lslamists as a weapon to undermine the State?

And then we have the right claiming the Islamists arent liberal enough to live here.

Everyone else has to be PC except for themselves.
    This is a big site. Was anybody who posts here there? I don't trust O'Neill at all.

Probably not. These events usually dont fill a lecture hall so we're looking at less than 100 people attending with being optimistic.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I think the term now used is 'far left progressives', they are not liberals and it's an insult to a genuine liberal to label them as such.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Which is more likely.
    The entire student body of Tcd have become ISIS supporters
    Or
    A hack wind up merchant wrote an article to wind people up?

You're making a huge stretch from students and student/college debates, all the way up to public policy - there is pretty much nothing to show a significant connection there at all.

It really is just a few crackpots, in a tiny minority of college's, that just receive hyper-intensive attention, because the Internet makes it easy to hype-up tiny events (especially if there's money thrown at that effort) that are completely insignificant in the large scale of things, and are not actually representative of colleges or students as a whole.

What does have a significant effect on public policy? Money - including from the same groups influencing what is taught in college (the real dangers to free speech and range of education - not the students who are victims of that) - when those same groups lobby/influence/corrupt government.

It's pretty obvious that right-leaning publications just try to blow the whole crackpot-students issue way out of proportion, to distract from the actual corruption of college/teaching and politics, from right-wing-dominated economic/financial/banking/business sources.

Considering graduates of Trinity, in particlar members of debating societies will make up a significant proportion of future senior civil servants and politicians I'd say there is a well established connection between current students and future public policy. Too obvious for me to even outline that connection in my original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

20Cent wrote: »
    Which is more likely.
    Or

The first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

20Cent wrote: »
    Which is more likely.
    Or
    Who suggested that?

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭Alexis Sanchez

And then we have the right claiming the Islamists arent liberal enough to live here.

Everyone else has to be PC except for themselves.

They're right because Islamists are proponents of political Islam, they want a country's laws to be based on Islamic laws.

Considering graduates of Trinity, in particlar members of debating societies will make up a significant proportion of future senior civil servants and politicians I'd say there is a well established connection between current students and future public policy. Too obvious for me to even outline that connection in my original post.
    Sorry but "it's obvious shurly" isn't an argument that establishes any more of a connection there.