Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

diego_b wrote: »
    Have this question on the random running questions post but possibly someone here might know, when subbing in exercise bike sessions for running sessions. What sort of effort should they be find at? I have a heart rate monitor and the bike has one too and they agree with each other on reads. Did 50mins tonight without issue and the knee held up fine for that.

Hey Diego, When i was off the feet for 2 weeks i substituted my LSR's with 60 & 100k cycles. On the bike for 2-3.5 hours. Guess it was the same time as you would be on your feet running. Some flat cycling and some hills.. Dont know if i could stick a hour on an exercise bike never mind 2-3 hours!

---

So i just reached 300 miles since plan begun.. if i calculate right i'm down 140 miles not counting optional rec runs. Seems a lot of missed miles.

But nearly 600 miles for the year so hopefully its in he legs one way or another!!

Having a bit of a think on my paced run tonight about how to take on the marathon, no finishing time is coming to mind at the moment but there is still a little bit to decide!

In good news no problems with hamstring so looks like that has successfully passed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Hey all

I didn't react and just laughed it off when really inside I wanted to deck them both.

You did really well last night not to be drawn into anything. That is marathon training "self control", something that those teenagers have not got to grips with yet. Take a bow.....that was impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Hey all

Some good and bad news...

Good news is that the dreaded manflu is gone and I'm back running after doing nothing for over a week. Took dubgals advised and tried everything to clear however it got to a point where I just had to say no and right the week off. Started back on Monday and had 2 good runs so far this week. Looking forward to a long run this weekend (18 or 20 miles)

Bad news is I had a bad incident whilst out running last night, firstly had a bottle thrown at me which just clipped my heals followed by receiving some heavy verbal abuse by 2 teenagers on bikes for about half a mile (argh..) luckily I didn't react and just laughed it off when really inside I wanted to deck them both.

That's awful ! Lucky no injury caused with the bottle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

It's October! :eek: :pac: :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Hey all

Good news is that the dreaded manflu is gone and I'm back running after doing nothing for over a week. Took dubgals advised and tried everything to clear however it got to a point where I just had to say no and right the week off. Started back on Monday and had 2 good runs so far this week. Looking forward to a long run this weekend (18 or 20 miles)

Bad news is I had a bad incident whilst out running last night, firstly had a bottle thrown at me which just clipped my heals followed by receiving some heavy verbal abuse by 2 teenagers on bikes for about half a mile (argh..) luckily I didn't react and just laughed it off when really inside I wanted to deck them both.

The little feckers I will never understand that kind of behaviour it's dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Singer wrote: »
    It's October! :eek: :pac: :cool:

Oh dear!! :-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Just to let ye know - and this is for all of ye - anxiety about taper time is strictly not allowed, ok?!!

Firstly, and this is deadly serious, you are wasting a significant amount of nervous energy by worrying. You will need this energy on the 26th. You know this, I know this, so save that energy for then :)
    I'm will recommend later in the month that you take a boards break, especially in the last week. Not a complete break, we'll still be posting, but maybe check in less than you do presently. Again, it's a nervous energy thing.

Secondly, the taper has been designed to gradually decrease in mileage but will also keep the necessary systems ticking over at just the right intensity. Trust us.
    The next few weeks are when your bodies will maximise the adaptations made from all your hard work. Your bodies will also repair and rejuvenate in order to arrive at the start line refreshed and ready to go. Your immune systems will top up too, leaving you less vulnerable to colds and general illness.

Thirdly, speculative weather forecasts are not allowed until five days to go. Seriously. You will drive yourselves demented.....

Fourthly, all furniture making, moving and anything furniture-related except sitting, eating and sleeping on it is.....yes, you got it, not allowed :D

Finally - for now ;) - an extra Focus For The Week is to make a plan of non running-related things to do over the next three weeks and few days. Cinema, go out for dinner, casual evening walk (you can actually stop at that ice cream stand now :D )...to fill the space where you normally would have been running.

Reeeeeeelaxxxxxxxx :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Queek question!

I got a new pair of runners last week. Same brand and model as the pair I've been training in all along but a size bigger. I've been using them on the shorter runs for the last week and all okay.

Should I use them for my LSR this weekend as these are the pair I'd like to use for DCM or should I stick to the old pair and rack up a few more miles in the new ones before using them for LSR next weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Toulouse wrote: »
    Queek question!

I got a new pair of runners last week. Same brand and model as the pair I've been training in all along but a size bigger. I've been using them on the shorter runs for the last week and all okay.

Should I use them for my LSR this weekend as these are the pair I'd like to use for DCM or should I stick to the old pair and rack up a few more miles in the new ones before using them for LSR next weekend?

Morning, If they're the same as your usual and you'll have worn them for nearly two weeks, I'd say go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Toulouse wrote: »
    Queek question!

I was advised definitely do LSR in them before marathon
    In fact better to do LSR to see how feel, especially if size
    Difference, may not be as comfy. Fingers crossed all goes
    Well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Just to let ye know - and this is for all of ye - anxiety about taper time is strictly not allowed, ok?!!

Firstly, and this is deadly serious, you are wasting a significant amount of nervous energy by worrying. You will need this energy on the 26th. You know this, I know this, so save that energy for then :)
    I'm will recommend later in the month that you take a boards break, especially in the last week. Not a complete break, we'll still be posting, but maybe check in less than you do presently. Again, it's a nervous energy thing.

Secondly, the taper has been designed to gradually decrease in mileage but will also keep the necessary systems ticking over at just the right intensity. Trust us.
    The next few weeks are when your bodies will maximise the adaptations made from all your hard work. Your bodies will also repair and rejuvenate in order to arrive at the start line refreshed and ready to go. Your immune systems will top up too, leaving you less vulnerable to colds and general illness.

Thirdly, speculative weather forecasts are not allowed until five days to go. Seriously. You will drive yourselves demented.....

Fourthly, all furniture making, moving and anything furniture-related except sitting, eating and sleeping on it is.....yes, you got it, not allowed :D

Finally - for now ;) - an extra Focus For The Week is to make a plan of non running-related things to do over the next three weeks and few days. Cinema, go out for dinner, casual evening walk (you can actually stop at that ice cream stand now :D )...to fill the space where you normally would have been running.

Reeeeeeelaxxxxxxxx :)

Lots to take on board but all good advice! Thank you!

I've been running past the zoo so often, I think I'll make plans to stroll up during taper time and actually go in to see the animals! Anyone fancy joining me? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Morning, If they're the same as your usual and you'll have worn them for nearly two weeks, I'd say go ahead.
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    I was advised definitely do LSR in them before marathon
    In fact better to do LSR to see how feel, especially if size
    Difference, may not be as comfy. Fingers crossed all goes
    Well

This approach worked for me. I switched to a new pair of the same style last week & started running in them straight away. Have done 25km so far (inc 16k yesterday). So far, so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

God dammit.....

Water/gels left along the LSR route last night, up early this morning for breakfast, gear all ready to go, head/mindset all good to go.... and now the fog outside is like peasoup - about the only weather that makes running in the country too dangerous. Visibility is less than 30m, so unless the fog burns off in the next half hour, the LSR will have to be postponed until another day. I'll get in a shorter run, but needed 3.5 hrs today and that window is getting too tight now to be back to collect kids from school.:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Hey all

I know what i would have done, let's just say there would have been multiple ambulances involved.. ;) brave guys picking on lone joggers.

P.S. Found it hard to get 5k done on treadmill last night after dog incident last week, a bit sore all over still , will try a bit longer distance tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

I know what i would have done, let's just say there would have been multiple ambulances involved.. ;) brave guys picking on lone joggers.

It's easy to be brave from a distance, in fairness. Most of us would think twice before A) actually fighting anyone, and especially B) two big lunkhead teenagers who are evidently aggressive to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

denis b wrote: »
    You did really well last night not to be drawn into anything. That is marathon training "self control", something that those teenagers have not got to grips with yet. Take a bow.....that was impressive.

+1 couldn't agree more. Glad you're ok after that unpleasant experience. Worth reporting them if you haven't already.

davedanon wrote: »
    It's easy to be brave from a distance, in fairness. Most of us would think twice before A) actually fighting anyone, and especially B) two big lunkhead teenagers who are evidently aggressive to begin with.

Oh i agree, just saying that it makes me really annoyed.. I personally would have gone back to those teenage guys but that's my decision. Not imposing it on anyone else.
    not suggesting for a moment that anyone should challenge lunatics...

Hope you are okay Betty, sounded like a nasty pair of individuals.

Oh i agree, just saying that it makes me really annoyed.. I personally would have gone back to those teenage guys but that's my decision. Not imposing it on anyone else.

Oh, I probably would have said something myself. I'm just not so sure I wouldn't find some sort of exit strategy in the event some dick actually put it up to me - which might involve something I'm really good at, like running away.

Yeah agreed Dave....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Hi Betty Sw, CHS,
    Something similar happened to me earlier in the year, where I was running in the rain and accidently frightened the bejaysus out of a young lad standing outside a pub/hotel....he saw me running toward him all dressed in black with beanie hat on me.....I think that he thought it was a hit :D

Anyway, he was probably pissed/high on something and after he initially ran up a lane he actually ran after me for about 30 seconds and then gave up panting on his knees....I clocked up my fastest Km of the year that day.....so funny afterwards....I ran the next 5K breaking my heart laughing but also the odd look over my shoulder too!

Under no circumstances should any of us go ever back and confront any lunatics that act this way as you never know what state of mind that they are in or what they might have in their pocket.

I do a bit of martial arts and my instructor always advises us to avoid a conflict where possible and run rather than being a tough guy and risking your health/life because of some yobbos. As a good friend of mine says ''I used to be a hard man, but I had to give it up as I was getting too many hidings''....:eek:

Stick to what we are good at....running ......and we will be fine.
    Smash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Yikes Betty, glad you're ok, that's unbelievable and just stupid behavior. Hope those numpties grow up to realise what a shower of eejits they were when they were younger.

Great advice Smashiner and aslo quote of the day has to go to your friend :)
    smashiner wrote: »
    ''I used to be a hard man, but I had to give it up as I was getting too many hidings''....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

davedanon wrote: »
    Oh, I probably would have said something myself. I'm just not so sure I wouldn't find some sort of exit strategy in the event some dick actually put it up to me - which might involve something I'm really good at, like running away.

Being honest I was fuming at the time and it did take all my will power not to hit one, I actually diverted my run away from my house which wasn't too far away to avoid then following me all the way home. These little ****s are everywhere I'm afraid, walking around with there hands down the front of their track suit bottoms looking for trouble. It's a whole debate which is probably for a different thread to be honest. We all know of you touch one of them you will have 10 more who will then make your life hell and I'm afraid the police won't do anything. Ok rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

Quick question for the marathoners out there. How should you feel on your midweek medium distance marathon paced run? Should the pace be coming naturally or should you be working pretty hard? Curious with all the cumulative fatigue going on what its meant to feel like. Have posted in Random Running questions also. Apologies for duplication!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Hi Betty Sw, CHS,
    Something similar happened to me earlier in the year, where I was running in the rain and accidently frightened the bejaysus out of a young lad standing outside a pub/hotel....he saw me running toward him all dressed in black with beanie hat on me.....I think that he thought it was a hit :D

Anyway, he was probably pissed/high on something and after he initially ran up a lane he actually ran after me for about 30 seconds and then gave up panting on his knees....I clocked up my fastest Km of the year that day.....so funny afterwards....I ran the next 5K breaking my heart laughing but also the odd look over my shoulder too!

Under no circumstances should any of us go ever back and confront any lunatics that act this way as you never know what state of mind that they are in or what they might have in their pocket.

I do a bit of martial arts and my instructor always advises us to avoid a conflict where possible and run rather than being a tough guy and risking your health/life because of some yobbos. As a good friend of mine says ''I used to be a hard man, but I had to give it up as I was getting too many hidings''....:eek:

Stick to what we are good at....running ......and we will be fine.
    Smash

good advice :) is it a smidge ironic though given your boards username :D:D:D

Heh. there's a guy in our club, ex-taekwondo champion, and i'm talking at least European standard. He's as meek and mild as anything, but when needs must.....anyway, he was in Berlin for the marathon last weekend, and he and another clubmate were at the train station when there was a kerfuffle involving tough-looking dudes trying to steal people's bags. So they were coming right at the lads, and Bren suddenly locked on to them, went into high-alert, dropped his bag calmly at his feet and said to Karl, "right, there's nothing for it, we'll just have to beat the **** out of them".

Karl nearly shat himself on the spot, but these geezers clearly didn't like the look in Bren's eye, and veered off in another direction sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good article below, shared by the club marathon coach - on breaking the race into manageable parts, going out conservatively, keeping focus and finishing strong:

http://old.centralparktc.org/training/coach01.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Firedance wrote: »
    good advice :) is it a smidge ironic though given your boards username :D:D:D

Yeah, I used to play Centre Half as a footballer in Rathcoole where I got the nickname as I was a bit of a battering ram and in the wars a bit (dodgy ankle as a reminder of this)....all in a very controlled environment mind you...no knives or broken bottles .....not at least until the Rathcoole Inn afterwards when someone skipped a round :eek:.

Nowadays I am much more placid and have learned that running in a straight line is much easier on your body......:D

Monty Python's song ....Brave Brave Sir Robin....Bravely ran away...... springs to mind...
    Younger Novices look it up....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

Yeah, I used to play Centre Half as a footballer in Rathcoole where I got the nickname as I was a bit of a battering ram and in the wars a bit (dodgy ankle as a reminder of this)....all in a very controlled environment mind you...no knives or broken bottles .....not at least until the Rathcoole Inn afterwards when someone skipped a round :eek:.

Nowadays I am much more placid and have learned that running in a straight line is much easier on your body......:D

Monty Python's song ....Brave Brave Sir Robin....Bravely ran away...... springs to mind...
    Younger Novices look it up....

Haha brilliant, from my favourite movie of all time, can't beat the holy grail :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭The Fool

Decent article by Irish Dietitians institute for food/fluid pre, during and post marathon.

https://www.indi.ie/fact-sheets/fact-sheets-on-sports-nutrition/547-food-and-fluid-for-your-marathon.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

The Fool wrote: »
    Decent article by Irish Dietitians institute for food/fluid pre, during and post marathon.

https://www.indi.ie/fact-sheets/fact-sheets-on-sports-nutrition/547-food-and-fluid-for-your-marathon.html

I'd be very wary of following the advice provided in that fact sheet. High carb and low fat diets typically leads to obesity. If you eat a varied diet with lots of vegetables, salad and unprocessed foods (never, ever low-fat) you won't go too far wrong.