What happens if you don't pay on the Luas?

• 01-10-2015 12:26AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 621 ✭✭✭

Cause I was riding around in in all afternoon and, whilst I pay for the initial ticket and no one checked it nor did I have to swipe it to get aboard, I figured I could basically take advantage thereafter.

Are there actually ticket checks done?

Does anyone ever get caught, and what are the consequences?

I figure even if someone caught me, if they don't have the handcuffs ready to throw on me, I'm basically gonna scarper anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You get refused entry to Coppers on a Thursday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

It depends whether youre a scumbag or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

You get a free ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Pink Lemons

Nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The Tragedy of the Commons.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

Yeah, scumbags go free while decent people get fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The trouble is that the LUAS sometimes have ticket inspectors actually on the platforms for when you get off, so the whole business of moving to the other end of the carriage and fecking off when you see an inspector isn't going to work. Same with the DART - you need your ticket to actually leave the station, not just get on.

The real question is how often you take the LUAS and therefore how many days of free travel would surpass the €100 fine you'd get if you got caught. If it works out at only a week or two you may as well take the risk, since they only seem to run inspectors occasionally, so you could wind up getting fined and still having saved more money than if you'd been paying every day up until then.

Up to you really.

I got fined once on the DART because their ticket machine wasn't working and I was going to miss my bus for EP if I waited for the booth to open. Wouldn't risk it again, but I have ZERO respect left for ticket inspectors after that - I would previously have been one of the "don't steal from them" brigade but f*ck 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

The trouble is that the LUAS sometimes have ticket inspectors actually on the platforms for when you get off, so the whole business of moving to the other end of the carriage and fecking off when you see an inspector isn't going to work. Same with the DART - you need your ticket to actually leave the station, not just get on.

The real question is how often you take the LUAS and therefore how many days of free travel would surpass the €100 fine you'd get if you got caught. If it works out at only a week or two you may as well take the risk, since they only seem to run inspectors occasionally, so you could wind up getting fined and still having saved more money than if you'd been paying every day up until then.

Up to you really.

I got fined once on the DART because their ticket machine wasn't working and I was going to miss my bus for EP if I waited for the booth to open. Wouldn't risk it again, but I have ZERO respect left for ticket inspectors after that - I would previously have been one of the "don't steal from them" brigade but f*ck 'em.
    Yeah the law only applies to you if it's convenient, otherwise f*ck 'em. :rolleyes:

You shouldn't have taken the train without a ticket, you took the risk and got caught, don't blame the inspectors for doing their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Have seen them calling the Guards many times for people with no tickets and no ID and what the Guards need to do is witness them not producing ID. It's very weird as they then just let them go and can't see how they could prosecute without proof of a name and address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Yeah the law only applies to you if it's convenient, otherwise f*ck 'em. :rolleyes:

You shouldn't have taken the train without a ticket, you took the risk and got caught, don't blame the inspectors for doing their job.

In fairness they're ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Beheaded on the spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Plenty of 'respectable' people ripped off the state for an awful lot more in fairness....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Luas security staff have been paged and are en route to your location. It's the big house for you! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

F*ck that, if they have no staff in their station 80% of the time and they can't maintain a working ticket machine, that should be grounds for not getting fined. Passengers shouldn't be inconvenienced just because Irish Rail don't have their act together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

You win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

A child goes to bed without food.

Karma man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

I read somewhere that on any given day about 20% of people get on the Luas without paying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Simon2015 wrote: »
    I read somewhere that on any given day about 20% of people get on the Luas without paying.

Simon says...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

Out side of rush hours and late evening, **** all tbh honest. Rarely use it but have paid maybe 7/8 times outta 45/50 times since it's been going. Not saying it's right but... that's how it is. If you're dodgy looking ye won't get away with it, stereotyping.,yes.but for a well proven reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Out side of rush hours and late evening, **** all tbh honest. Rarely use it but have paid maybe 7/8 times outta 45/50 times since it's been going. Not saying it's right but... that's how it is. If you're dodgy looking ye won't get away with it, stereotyping.,yes.but for a well proven reason.

They must know all the excuses by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,365 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

On the red line fare evasion is endemic. Not to mention the "unwell" getting on free of charge at every stop. You'd almost feel like an idiot for paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭jimbis

Take this mans advice.... I have never once got on the luas without paying. But one day myself and my brother were on our way into town. We are by no means scumbags or have that look but most of the others around us were the suit wearing office type ( and seemingly in the eyes of many, the honest respectable type). Well.... The inspectors got on at balally and the 3 of them went straight for us, checked out tickets and then stood there untill the next stop and got off. Not caring one bit about any other passenger. I questioned them about why we were picked out from the whole tram and was just ignored.

The look of relief on some of the other passengers when the inspectors got off infuriated me even more as you could clearly see they hadn't paid.

On another note we did receive a fine in the post one day with my neighbours name but my address, rang veiloa or whatever it's called and they said "yeah that's no problem, it happens all the time. Just bin the letter".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭GaryTLynch

Not that I condone fare dodging, but ticket inspectors have very limited powers. They can't search or detain you so their hands are tightly tied when it comes to issuing and enforcing fines. If they can't establish who you are, how can they pursue you for the fine? If they can't detain you, what is to stop you making a run for it at the next stop? Don't get me wrong, ticket inspectors for a private transport company should not have the power to search and detain. However, the Luas fare system is so loose and so easy to abuse that people are going to chance their arm if they think they can get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭salamanca22

No idea about the Luas or Dart but on Irish rail if the ticket machine is broken and there are no other ways to pay then that is grounds for a valid appeal.

scroll to the appeals section.

http://www.railusers.ie/passenger_info/fare_evasion.php

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

If they want to stop fare dodging they should put ticket barriers on the platforms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,365 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Simon2015 wrote: »
    If they want to stop fare dodging they should put ticket barriers on the platforms.

You see the problem is they made the mistake of assuming Dublin was a civilised city in the first place where travel passes are not handed out to junkies and feral children. They don't even need a pass. They just get on and off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

The inspectors don't even bother asking scobes for their ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

On the green line, if you look respectable it's a €40 fine. If you dont , you get put off at Harcourt street and get given directions to the red line (I've witnessed this 4 or 5 times).

Red line: €40 fine or a hug and some methadone, depending on how much dirty sportswear you have on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

jimbis wrote: »
    On another note we did receive a fine in the post one day with my neighbours name but my address, rang veiloa or whatever it's called and they said "yeah that's no problem, it happens all the time. Just bin the letter".

i hope you gave the neighbour a bolloking for doing that, the cheek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Its the firing squad round the back of the GPO for you OP.