Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    So basically you're comparing the situation last season to that of this season despite everything having changed ?

Glad you're not an accountant.

Everything has changed?? Have they struck oil under Ibrox?? The stadium and training ground are self sufficient now?? Players have decided they don't want wages??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,113 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

So basically you're comparing the situation last season to that of this season despite everything having changed ?

Glad you're not an accountant.

Can you explain what has changed on the finance side of things? Do you still owe money to Ashley? Does he still get majority of income for retail? Does he still have control over the emblems and crest?

The football side has changed now that Rangers appear to have a competent manager and play attacking football with promotion looking a cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Can you explain what has changed on the finance side of things? Do you still owe money to Ashley? Does he still get majority of income for retail? Does he still have control over the emblems and crest?

The football side has changed now that Rangers appear to have a competent manager and play attacking football with promotion looking a cert.

Well for example the loan that was provided by Letham, Park and Taylor is interest and fee free, as opposed to those provided by the likes of Ashley and Easdale. Not a massive difference in the grand scheme of things but I'd rather owe money to those guys than to the previous board.

As for the crest: Ashley holds security over it so if Rangers fail to pay back the loan he can gain ownership of them. A loan that does not need to be repaid back any time soon (I don't even believe there is a proper deadline day in the loan deal mentioned).

The retail issue is still the same, but considering the amount of merchandise sold I doubt he's getting too much out of it. More fan-made shirts sold (for which the profit goes towards buying shares in the club) than official shirts I was told.

You may disagree but the time of a board leeching the club dry from every single angle seems over, fans are flocking back to the games providing the club with a consistent income of season tickets and pay at the gate money. No loans have been taken out since March (the one I mentioned above) so obviously cash flow is not as dire as some would make you believe.

There's still a ton of stuff to be sorted. The loan repaid to Ashley, the pending court cases regarding Green, Whyte, Ahmad,... but both on and off the pitch things are definitely looking a lot better than where we were this time last year. I'm confident that what weldoninhio claims may happen will not occur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

'These conditions, along with the details provided in note 2 to the financial statements, indicate the existence of a material uncertainty which may cast significant doubt about the company's ability to continue as a going concern.'

Direct quote from the most recent financial statements.

Putting that in the financial statements isn't a decision made lightly and every possible avenue to avoid it would be explored by the accountants and the company. Let there be no doubt about it, Rangers are in a dangerous financial position.

I've never worked on football club finances but my understanding is cash flow problems are most likely to materialise around Feb/March.

On the face of it there's been no news to suggest a further decline or improvement either way. We will have to wait and see but the only credible conclusion at the moment is that rangers are not safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

bobmalooka wrote: »
    'These conditions, along with the details provided in note 2 to the financial statements, indicate the existence of a material uncertainty which may cast significant doubt about the company's ability to continue as a going concern.'

Direct quote from the most recent financial statements.

Putting that in the financial statements isn't a decision made lightly and every possible avenue to avoid it would be explored by the accountants and the company. Let there be no doubt about it, Rangers are in a dangerous financial position.

I've never worked on football club finances but my understanding is cash flow problems are most likely to materialise around Feb/March.

On the face of it there's been no news to suggest a further decline or improvement either way. We will have to wait and see but the only credible conclusion at the moment is that rangers are not safe.
    I believe the most recent financial statements came round the time of the takeover hardly a yardstick to use even for a tic fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

I believe the most recent financial statements came round the time of the takeover hardly a yardstick to use even for a tic fan

Correct, financial reports are by there nature historical and the figures included are from the period prior to the current board taking over.

However,
    The emphasis of matter was included by an accountant selected by the CURRENT board. Note that they didn't sign of on the report as an auditor I.e refusing to take responsibility for any losses arising from someone using that report. - as my opinion doesn't count on the basis of being a Celtic fan you can find out yourself the significance of that.

The emphasis of matter means that there is a significant doubt the company can continue as a going concern. This is a direct result of the CURRENT boards proposal to generate cash. At a quick glance it looks like they need a rights issue to survive - has s this happened yet?
    The accountants seem to think this isn't likely to happen.

After already absolving themselves of a legal responsibility they weren't even willing to say they are confident Rangers will be there in a year - based on the current boards plan. This speaks volumes.

Personally I think the plan is to improve the football (they have done) in an effort to get fans to throw in money at some stage, investors shouldn't go near it and I'd question the motivations of anyone who should know better getting involved. I think it's no coincidence that some of those involved are convicted fraudsters.

Fans (as we have seen time and time again) can be naive and equate on field improvements to a sign of a new sustainable approach.

Don't ignore the facts again is all I'd say.

Ranger V Falkirk today with Shiels replacing Zelalem

12036724_1014473825283972_5413701855492603182_n.jpg?oh=df774015a61d022bb410d1d22abbe989&oe=569316DC

And Shiels puts Rangers 1 up in three minutes some great play and a cute back heel from Waghorn

Falkirk make it 1-1 with a cracking shot from outside the box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Intifada

penalty is 5/1 for what its worth

So a goalie touches the ball outside the box with his hands, linesman doesn't flag for offside but the ref decides to give offside after all ?

What was that about refs giving us easy penalties etc ? ;)

So a goalie touches the ball outside the box with his hands, linesman doesn't flag for offside but the ref decides to give offside after all ?

What was that about refs giving us easy penalties etc ? ;)

Certainly entirely disproved with that small piece of anecdotal evidence anyway

2-1 Tavernier free kick

Wallace makes it 3-1 from the edge of the box

And it finishes 3-1

Easy enough win in the end. Some great goals, including Falkirk's one.

Forget the penalties craic lads. Rangers players have received 3 bookings in their past 5 games despite committing 46 fouls. Opponents' received 14 for 57. Cue X-Files music

Adorable that some Celtic fan went out of his/her way to count that :)

I mean, it points to some serious mental issues but adorable none the less.
    It's what happens if you play free flowing attacking football vs a bunch of hammer throwers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Intifada wrote: »
    Forget the penalties craic lads. Rangers players have received 3 bookings in their past 5 games despite committing 46 fouls. Opponents' received 14 for 57. Cue X-Files music

I can't believe it. All this time i've been thinking that Celtic fans were a wee bit paranoid, that it was something culturally bred into your average hoops follower at a young age.
    I thought guys like "Big" Phil and the various writers over the years were simply part of that machine, keeping the mythology alive, after all - there's no way you could give one team preferential treatment for over a hundred years without anyone noticing.

But now. Now my eyes are open.
    How truly sad and shocking the extent of this really goes.
    Thankyou Intifada, I feel awakened.

Adorable that some Celtic fan went out of his/her way to count that :)

I mean, it points to some serious mental issues but adorable none the less.
    It's what happens if you play free flowing attacking football vs a bunch of hammer throwers ;)

It was tongue in cheek, although I can't say I'm surprised you think a football fan having concerns about fair and equal refereeing is a "serious mental issue".

At least admit that it's got nothing to do with 'fair and equal refereeing'.

Unless you seriously think that just because one team gets less cards than others means there must be foul play (see what I did there ?) involved, in which case I do think that there is a case to be made about some form of paranoia.

At least admit that it's got nothing to do with 'fair and equal refereeing'.

Unless you seriously think that just because one team gets less cards than others means there must be foul play (see what I did there ?) involved, in which case I do think that there is a case to be made about some form of paranoia.

Considering I've already defended your penalty count in this thread with that line of argument, maybe you need to settle down and realise it was tongue in cheek, as I already said. I was merely pointing out that the alarming cards:fouls ratio is certainly more of note than winning penalties against weaker teams.

Which isn't true at all, there is nothing 'alarming' about the amount of cards we get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Personally I think going back and counting cards is a bit much, pretty sad behaviour. But rangers fans giving stick to someone for that sort of behaviour is a bit like Adolf Hitler calling Lee Griffiths a scumbag

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Personally I think going back and counting cards is a bit much, pretty sad behaviour. But rangers fans giving stick to someone for that sort of behaviour is a bit like Adolf Hitler calling Lee Griffiths a scumbag

Why would that be

If you think discussing statistics is sad behaviour you'll be in for a shock when you start watching football :)

Why would that be

You know well why.

Rangers fans have a long history of bad behaviour. Every club has their idiots, but Rangers minority are perhaps either more vocal, more numerous or more prone to rioting of bullet posting than most.

Either way, their track record would shame that of most fan bases, somewhat anhilating your right to criticise the behaviour of fans of other clubs

I don't really see what rioting has to do with pointing out a remarkably low card count compared to fouls committed, or trying to dismiss it.

LiamoSail wrote: »
    You know well why.

Rangers fans have a long history of bad behaviour. Every club has their idiots, but Rangers minority are perhaps either more vocal, more numerous or more prone to rioting of bullet posting than most.

Either way, their track record would shame that of most fan bases, somewhat anhilating your right to criticise the behaviour of fans of other clubs

Oh I have every right as do every Eangers fan not involved in the things you mention really people like you amaze me how you generalise when the reality is you probably don't know any Rangers fans but just like bumping your gums. So if someone comes into this thread and says stuff I disagree with I can assure you I will say what I feel as I would in the real world. And people like you can hide behind a keyboard

Intifada wrote: »
    I don't really see what rioting has to do with pointing out a remarkably low card count compared to fouls committed, or trying to dismiss it.

A back handed compliment so to speak but I know what you are saying

Oh I have every right as do every Eangers fan not involved in the things you mention really people like you amaze me how you generalise when the reality is you probably don't know any Rangers fans but just like bumping your gums. So if someone comes into this thread and says stuff I disagree with I can assure you I will say what I feel as I would in the real world. And people like you can hide behind a keyboard

I work in the North Sea. There's more Rangers fans in the North Sea than oil, though both are having a particularly bad time of things of late. Point is, I know plenty of Rangers fans, the majority of whom are good guys.

My point referred to the minority, and the general reputation as a result