Strange way to hitch a ride....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

My sister went to Italy on holidays this year. First thing she saw when she got off the plane was some dude pulling his wire behind a bus shelter.
    beerbaron wrote: »
    A bus shelter on a runway ?

That's an integrated transport system.

Nah it's Ryan Air's latest airport for Rome.

Makes it all the easier to catch the bus for the 200 mile trip to Rome.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

discus wrote: »
    Maybe, incase someone knows me on boards, I'm sparing a sibling their anonymity. Good like-seeking post though, good man.

So your sister then? You may want to check if FAS are running any counter-interrogation courses because you folded way too quickly there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,981 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

6541 wrote: »
    Sure remember that DJ fellow in Cork that went mental with his snake on a Plane act. I believe they even allowed him back on the Radio down there !

The most requested record on his show:
    Phil Collins
    Coming In The Air Tonight

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i was hitch hiking one day to college and a man stopped to give me a lift , he was very sound but by the corner of my eye i could see he had his penis out of his zipper, sure once i looked once i kept half looking after about a mile i was where i needed to be so i told him here is grand and i hopped out, sure enough he still had the penis out , he said cheerio and i said thanks for the lift and off he went , how weird is that? was he hoping i was gay and might get it on? was he soliciting? was he breaking the law even?
    was it a soft mickey? .........cos they're harmless! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Maybe he hadn't noticed. You know yourself, you go for a pee, finish, get distracted and then wander around for the next week or two with yer lad hanging out. Could happen to anyone. Possibly.

Would you not have gone "Hah - your little mickeys hanging out, ya big eejit - jasus, the state of it! Better zip that monster safely away - here's my stop now, thanks lad...".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

was he making any suggestive comments to you OP ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The man gave you a lift the least you could have done is leaned over and played an auld solo on the devils clarinet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

i was hitch hiking one day to college and a man stopped to give me a lift , he was very sound but by the corner of my eye i could see he had his penis out of his zipper, sure once i looked once i kept half looking after about a mile i was where i needed to be so i told him here is grand and i hopped out, sure enough he still had the penis out , he said cheerio and i said thanks for the lift and off he went , how weird is that? was he hoping i was gay and might get it on? was he soliciting? was he breaking the law even?

If this is for real, I hope you reported him. Personally I'd be driving straight by the police station and bringing him in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

If this is for real, I hope you reported him. Personally I'd be driving straight by the police station and bringing him in.

If you were driving, you'd be the one with the little fella hanging out :eek:

Nope, I'm actually someone who takes indecent exposure crimes quite seriously, thanks anyway.

Then perhaps you did not read the OP. The driver was the one exposing himself. If you have accepted a lift from someone, how are you going to drive anywhere?

Its certainly exposure, as to whether its indecent remains to be established.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

Why didn't you just say something when getting out of the car?

I mean, if it was a wardrobe malfunction you'd have saved him more embarrassment. If it was meant, he should be told he is one very sick man and needed help or a beating.

Yea, you'd think he'd have said something like, 'how's it hanging?'.

Then perhaps you did not read the OP. The driver was the one exposing himself. If you have accepted a lift from someone, how are you going to drive anywhere?

Its certainly exposure, as to whether its indecent remains to be established.

Yes, I did unfortunately mis-read it. So, no I wouldn't be driving.

And yes, the indecent part really boils down to intention - was their intention to expose themselves?

I'd imagine most guys would actually know their penis was hanging out on show, so likely deliberate act, but really would be for the relevant authorities to establish.

At the very least, it'd be a case of reporting the car reg and a description of the guy afterwards.

^^ Fair enough

I was once on a bus and discovered that a guy on the bus beside me had a big tear in his trousers, no underwear, and had his penis very visible.

I found this somewhat upsetting and intimidating, and obviously reported it.

Nothing came of it, and it seemed in this case the guy was in a bad way, and hadn't been aware. Guess it does happen, but probably less likely in this scenario above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

was he breaking the law even?
    Depends. I think only on motorways is it illegal to pick up hitch-hikers.