Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most stupid requests you've ever had at work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 T K

starling wrote: »
    No way, you've got to be making that up!

I wish I was! It was a fairly elderly woman though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

I was on work experience which meant I had to do 9-5 work in a converted mental asylum. Her office was an old patient bed.
    Anyway she did nothing for the day only answer the phone now and again and various clerical work. She was in about 50 and I was 20. So we had nothing to talk about. I'm sitting there in silence pretending to read notes trying not to fall asleep.
    After a while I get up, walk down the corridor to the toilet. I use the facilities and slowly walk back to my cell to herself.
    I walk in the door and she turns around.
    where did you go?
    Oh I just went to the toilet.
    Oh well could you tell me next time!!!

Another day she left early and told me to stay behind and basically cover for her. Needless to say I left shortly after her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mother Brain

"I can't tell you how it works, or what it's supposed to look like, but I want a working demo sent over to me by Friday"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

I was on work experience which meant I had to do 9-5 work in a converted mental asylum. Her office was an old patient bed.
    Anyway she did nothing for the day only answer the phone now and again and various clerical work. She was in about 50 and I was 20. So we had nothing to talk about. I'm sitting there in silence pretending to read notes trying not to fall asleep.
    After a while I get up, walk down the corridor to the toilet. I use the facilities and slowly walk back to my cell to herself.
    I walk in the door and she turns around.
    where did you go?
    Oh I just went to the toilet.
    Oh well could you tell me next time!!!

Another day she left early and told me to stay behind and basically cover for her. Needless to say I left shortly after her!

Yeah, but did she make any amusingly stupid requests?? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

New Home wrote: »
    Mmmh, instant coffee... the clients must've been impressed :D

You shut your damn mouth, Nescafe Hazelnut is boss! :mad:

Billy86 wrote: »
    You shut your damn mouth, Nescafe Hazelnut is boss! :mad:

Believe me the sh1te in that jar did not have any kind of fancy flavouring. I hate instant coffee, so I tend to think it's all sh1t, but this would be the cheapest nastiest shït money could buy.

Nearly got fired by a prominent insurance agency that 123.ie bought out about two years back. The reason was for giving people bad advise - ever get that question along the lines of "ever been refused insurance, or had a policy forceably cancelled?"

Well, when you call a company who deal with a lot of underwriters (such as the AA - obviously wasn't them I am referring to though), those underwriters will sometimes give a good discount to people who fit in their preferred criteria, but will not provide a quote for those outside of it. So for example, let's say Zurich (if I recall) would give a good price on over 25s, but they simply would not quote on our system for under 25s. This is not a declinature of insurance, it simply means that you don't fit that companies acceptance criteria through that particular agency/brokerage. Which is why the likes of the AA do not provide letters of declinature... in that instance if you were to call Zurich direct, you would be able to get a quote. If you are well outside their favoured criteria it could end up being a ridiculously high quote, but that is only because they don't necessarily want you as a customer and not because of anything you have done (it's often down to age of the person, vehicle, mod cons, etc). So if for example the AA has 12 companies they work with, usually only 3-8 or so will come up on any given quote, at different prices (so you usually only hear the cheapest priced one from the salesperson on the other end of the phone).

Some people get very upset and worried over this, because being declined insurance is one of the most damning things you can have on your record and will almost certainly skyrocket the price of your insurance. So it is best practice to calm them down and reassure them that it has no baring on any other quotes they will be shopping around for. Just because they could not get a quote through us does not mean they have to say they were declined insurance. "Give us a shot next year, we're just not gonna be the company for you this time, no offense intended" type stuff.

Anyway, a call of mine got pulled, then they pulled a few more and there was uproar. A sale I had from a customer we could not get a quote for the year before was also brought up. According to them, I was in huge breach of regulations as I should never have told them it did not count as a declinature of insurance and would be held accountable if legal action were to arise. These were people all with at least 6-7 years experience in insurance each, and all CIP (fully qualified).

They requested, no demanded, I call the customer I had sold to and tell them we were cancelling their insurance immediately.

So I told them: if this is the case, then literally every single customer who has ever called us, or who has ever called the AA or any other broker/agency, has been declined insurance; same for any under 25s who have ever enquired with 123.ie. This also means that every one of you giving out to me now have been declined insurance. This means we need to close the entire motor side of the business, and the entire insurance industry in Ireland needs to be closed.

They were dumbfounded and furious. They left the room for a few minutes, then came back and told me to "leave it" (leave what?) or face a written warning; I could consider this the verbal one. On the way out I asked if they still wanted me to call the customer like they had said. Their response? "You've made enough of a mess, we will handle it!".

Less than a week later, it was announced 123 were buying them out. I was leaving a few weeks later when my contract was up anyway. Most people got transferred to 123 but not management, so I got a mighty chuckle at the panic of these clowns as their worlds caved in on them. Including my line manager, the worst of the lot, throwing a hissy fit and crying at her desk. Delightful. :D

I checked that customer's policy every day until I left, and surely enough they never contacted her. Bloody eejits could have caused an unbelievable sh!t storm!

Another one in car insurance is people from WEST Cork (good jaysus, they cannot make it nearly clear enough that it is WEST Cork) calling in to complain that their docs just say 'County Cork'. Pretentious eejits (not sure if the new post codes have made this allowable at all now though - doubt it, mind). :p

Believe me the sh1te in that jar did not have any kind of fancy flavouring. I hate instant coffee, so I tend to think it's all sh1t, but this would be the cheapest nastiest shït money could buy.
    Ha, I know it does - but while I'm a bit of a food snob at times so I know where you are coming from - I've got a neanderthals palate for coffee. I use it for morning fuel rather than the taste of it, itself. Just make it strong, be generous enough with the milk and sugar, and that's all I ask for. :p

Less than a week later, it was announced 123 were buying them out. I was leaving a few weeks later when my contract was up anyway. Most people got transferred to 123 but not management, so I got a mighty chuckle at the panic of these clowns as their worlds caved in on them. Including my line manager, the worst of the lot, throwing a hissy fit and crying at her desk. Delightful. :D

Oh my god how often does this happen? I have the good grace to feel a bit bad about this, but in all honesty if that had been me I would have nearly orgasmed with the satisfaction :D

Another one in car insurance is people from WEST Cork (good jaysus, they cannot make it nearly clear enough that it is WEST Cork) calling in to complain that their docs just say 'County Cork'. Pretentious eejits (not sure if the new post codes have made this allowable at all now though - doubt it, mind). :p

Had a customer ring up about her bill and nearly scream down the line at me for five solid minutes.,..the problem? The letters B.A. weren't included after her name. "I have a degree!!! I earned the right to have those letters after my name!!" :eek:

More hypocritical than stupid, maybe:

Worked in a pub once and last orders had been and gone half an hour, and this guy asked me if I could get him a sneaky half Guinness. I told him "no, but just between you and me if you go to #£#£%!*<!< they might give you one, they're always doing that."

He got a very serious look on his face and explained that he couldn't go there, he was a gard, and he'd raided the place last week for serving after hours.....:rolleyes:

Ha, I know it does - but while I'm a bit of a food snob at times so I know where you are coming from - I've got a neanderthals palate for coffee. I use it for morning fuel rather than the taste of it, itself. Just make it strong, be generous enough with the milk and sugar, and that's all I ask for. :p

Ah sure each to his own, I say. :) A lot of coffee "connoisseurs" would probably look down their nose at the ones I like too, but who gives a damn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Worked in a tool shop and my colleague (who was a bit thick) asked me where our emulsion heaters were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

petrolcan wrote: »
    Worked in a tool shop and my colleague (who was a bit thick) asked me where our emulsion heaters were.
    Sure you have to warm the paint up before you slap it on the wall. You get more out of a tub that way :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭AidySevenfold

Woman called in and asked me to help her find her laptop charger

She was in New Jersey I was in Donegal!! Haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭westcoast66

Years ago I was asked to connect to shredder to the office network.

You win this thread, IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Updated a Macro for someone last week, even though its not remotely part of my job, but I have a background in computing and so on so thought I'd help out.

Emailed the updated excel file to my colleague only to get a reply back saying it was still the same. Walked down to her computer to find that she was still running the old file and hadn't actually bothered to download the new one I had attached to the email.

In another job I once had someone from a large European firm respond to my email, whereby I was looking for them to send on information, with the question, "What's your email address?".

Eh, the one you're conversing with right now.

Vojera wrote: »
    Sure you have to warm the paint up before you slap it on the wall. You get more out of a tub that way :P

The same colleague misheard a customer and then asked me if we sold monkey grease.

He was good at sweeping floors though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,122 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

The same colleague misheard a customer and then asked me if we sold monkey grease.

Sorry but isn't that usually shelved next to the elbow grease? It should be one shelf over from the cat's pyjamas. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Have had plenty over the years both in commercial and retail in my younger days. The retail one's were the funniest , the commercial more serious jobs were more face plant inducing.

There was a customer in McDonalds who would regularly come in and order a large big mac meal , large fries , chicken nuggets and....a coke...HALF diet and HALF regular...

You were fooling no one pal.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Have had plenty over the years both in commercial and retail in my younger days. The retail one's were the funniest , the commercial more serious jobs were more face plant inducing.

There was a customer in McDonalds who would regularly come in and order a large big mac meal , large fries , chicken nuggets and....a coke...HALF diet and HALF regular...

You were fooling no one pal.

Gross!!!

I have a small etsy shop (not really my fulltime work, but more of a hobby/sideline) and the amount of people I get emailing me asking can I send them a free sample to review on their blog/youtube channel is unreal! Just yesterday I had one asking for free stuff, and when I checked out her channel she has 26 subscribers! 26!!! Piss off!!

I'm sorry, I'm a bit slow today...monkey grease? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭milltown

Ah that reminds me of the uproar a few years ago when the new roads were being built linking up the M50 with the N11. Some geniuses made a decent mock up of the DLR county council letterhead and sent out loads of letters to houses in Leopardstown telling them that once the work was complete their addresses would no longer be South County Dublin but they would now live in Dublin 26.

The calls to Joe Duffy were comical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Working in a bookshop, old fella comes in:

Him:"Where's the milk?"
    Me:"We don't have milk, this is a bookshop."
    Him:"What kind of a bookshop doesn't have milk?"
    Me:"The normal kind."
    Him *leaves*

I'm sorry, I'm a bit slow today...monkey grease? :confused:

Don't worry, it took me a while to work it out too.

The customer was enquiring about monkey wrenches. Quite how my colleague heard grease we never worked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Boss (relaying instructions from senior management): Tell your staff we are changing this procedure, and that they are to change how they do x task.
    Me: Ok. (and go to instruct my staff)

Next Day
    Boss: Actually, we changed our minds. Can they go back doing it the old way?
    Me: FFS you do it. (I actually did lose the rag, process was complicated)
    Boss: Ok.

Kev W wrote: »
    Working in a bookshop, old fella comes in:

Him:"Where's the milk?"
    Me:"We don't have milk, this is a bookshop."
    Him:"What kind of a bookshop doesn't have milk?"
    Me:"The normal kind."
    Him *leaves*

Of all the places I've ever worked, the little bookshop really stood out as having more of those kinds of interactions than anywhere else. I think maybe it has something to do with the way places like Easons sell so much stationery, art supplies, weird little gifty things like photo frames, mugs, all that stuff?

I actually used to keep a list of the bizarre things people came looking for. I forget most of them now but I do remember mobile phones* and Christmas manger decorations. WTF

To be fair, that was around 1997 or 1998, when mobile phones were just becoming a big thing and loads of places were selling them. That Christmas it seemed like everyone was buying them as gifts; I once had this conversation with a customer:

Him: Hiya, do you gift wrap?
    Me: Yeah, sure.
    Him: Will yea wrap this for me? *holds out mobile phone*
    Me: Um.,..did you buy that here?
    Him: Yes.
    Me: You know this is a bookshop right?
    Him: yeah, so?
    Me: We don't sell mobile phones
    Him: Oh......so there's no chance you could wrap it anyway?
    Me:..............Ah yeah, **** it, why not :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

A relative worked in a hotel years ago and a few farmers came in for lunch..

"Would you like some serviettes?"

"Yeah, give us a plate of them"

What's the insurance one?
    They declined cover to some people, it didn't count as declining, then the managers suddenly wanted to cancel people's policies, then OP said "cancel everyone's in the country so"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Today in work I accidentally changed a database file and when I went to restore from a backup, I then accidentally synced our server to all other global servers and basically shut down Facebook.

Instead of telling someone what I did, I'm hiding in the toilet here... Well just until I can post it on Facebook again.