Clean Break - RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

If he doesn't own the cars in the showroom, how can the bank take them?

I guess the writers have a loose grasp on banking law

Happy Valley, anyone?

Similar plot unfolding alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,864 ✭✭✭jd

No I meant the male guy - her friend. But thanks a million, she looked familiar too!

Think he was in Raw, a couple of years ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Casino money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭caviardreams

jd wrote: »
    Think he was in Raw, a couple of years ago.

That's it! Thanks - you put me out of my misery! :pac::pac:

Keep all in the house, send the da in to the bank Mon morning to clean the vault....isn't that how it usually works? This will get messy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭baldbear

This is a poor mans happy valley. So obvious what was going to happen there with the little girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Feckin stamp collector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

Ah it got going there near the end! Next week might be decent. The characters aren't too bad. Nice to have an Irish drama not set in Dublin lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭secondattempt

Enjoyed the last few minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Enjoyed the last few minutes!

The stamp collection, or Danny giving himself away ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,090 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The actor playing the bank manager is dreadful.

The conversation he had on the phone with the wife, and the one after with the police, were terribly acted out. Same monotonous voice, no emotion and bad timing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭secondattempt

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    The stamp collection, or Danny giving himself away ?

The bit of excitement in the woods!

I liked it. An odd choice by the 2 kidnappers to chase after Danny...wouldn't it have been more usual to just shoot the young one, in fact shoot her and the mam....sever all links...maybe Irish kidnappers are still decent lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,790 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Wasn't bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Pants. That's all I can say really. Very disappointing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

7/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Why t f do they have to have that mood 'music' constantly playing in the background? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Ah right, I'm watching it on +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Look the concept and overall storyline is decent enough, but unfortunately the dialogue is neither clever nor witty, the characters aren't particularly likeable or memorable, and it's not quite edgy enough for what it wants to achieve.

In a way we've been spoilt by Love/Hate and The Fall because at least we know that there can be good quality Irish Dramas that can compete with the rest of the world, but Clean Break isn't quite in the same league and just lacks that certain punch we've come to expect from Sunday's primetime slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭lottpaul

Anyone know what else the friend of the girl who saw the dead body being dumped was in?? It's really annoying me that I can't remember :o

Dermot Murphy -- He was also in the BBC NI series 6Degrees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Look the concept and overall storyline is decent enough, but unfortunately the dialogue is neither clever nor witty, the characters aren't particularly likeable or memorable, and it's not quite edgy enough for what it wants to achieve.

In a way we've been spoilt by Love/Hate and The Fall because at least we know that there can be good quality Irish Dramas that can compete with the rest of the world, but Clean Break isn't quite in the same league and just lacks that certain punch we've come to expect from Sunday's primetime slot.

The first season of The Fall was great. The second season was very hit and miss...a fall from grace :cool: (I'll get my coat)

Anyway, I consider The Fall to be more of a BBC show than an RTE one. No way could RTE get Gillian Anderson and Archie Punjabi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Anyway, I consider The Fall to be more of a BBC show than an RTE one. No way could RTE get Gillian Anderson and Archie Punjabi.

Regardless of whether it's RTÉ or BBC, new Irish dramas, no matter the channel, should be held to the same high standards we've come to expect - I was just using The Fall and Love/Hate as the obvious examples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Early days but that was poorly acted rubbish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭You Mirin?

How difficult do you think it'd be to have a script you write for an Irish show bought and produced by RTE? Because coming up with and writing some show better than Love/Hate, which is widely considered their best offering, wouldn't be too difficult. Especially given how Love/Hate took 'inspiration' from other, better American shows so it's obvious RTE wouldn't mind that being done again.

Also, I wonder how much RTE buy the scripts for. I know US networks pay very well for shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

So do yis think Danny is dead then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

The first season of The Fall was great. The second season was very hit and miss...a fall from grace :cool: (I'll get my coat)

I have to agree i thought the second series of the fall was terrible. I haven't seen clean break yet I have it recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

So do yis think Danny is dead then?

They showed what's coming up next week which is an obvious answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

They showed what's coming up next week which is an obvious answer.

Never watch those if I can avoid it. Love/Hate season 4 gave away waaaaay too much in the previews and I've generally tried to avoid them for TV shows ever since. One or two episodes of Wayward Pines during the summer had a similar problem, with a cliffhanger ending literally resolved minutes later by the following week's trailer :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

Not impressed at all.

FIFTEEN minutes into a 4 hour drama and you make up your mind??

WOW.