Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 (*EVERYONE READ MOD POST in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

mormank wrote: »
    You know, if anything I am tired of hearing about how great a club Liverpool are and that we should be challenging for everything all the time and how second is not even acceptable from the older generation. Ye had great times as pool fans, we get it! The new reality is we are not the main force in England anymore, we are even second and no amount of banging on about the old times is gonna change that. It reminds me of arguing with my grand father about something when every second sentence is "In my day this" or "In my day that". It's not your f***ing day anymore, things have changed! We as a fanbase need to be more realistic. I'm not arguing for Rodger's here by the way.

Finally. Some sense in this thread.

If you take out last years freak season then Liverpool's average league position since 2009 is 7th.

7th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I must say, I'm flabbergasted at just how much you care for a club you don't support.

Should United have sacked LVG last season after MK Dons beat them? What about Bradford beating Chelsea?

LVG got top 4 and Mou won the league. Spot the difference between them and Rodgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

He constantly has them punching above their weight in Europe. So the whole money spent compared to German clubs is pointless. Also, in the past few years I'm sure I've read that Liverpool are second behind United in net money spent.

But he didnt last year!!

So again, should a manager be judged on one poor season were injuries are the reason for the season?
    But the "majority" of people questioning Rodgers are not just becasue of Top 4 ambtions.

And the Irony here is the person who most recently stated we can get Top 4 despite all the evidence about the club under this manager because we are better than the teams around us was you !!

I still think we can as we have another 32 games to play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,876 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

We're consistently finishing behind Spurs... Fùcking Spurs! If you don't see that as cause for concern then nothing will ever sway you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Have to laugh at the day-trippers crack - its the them keeping the poorer locals out who generate less noise when things are going badly (or well!). The crowd should have boo'd Rodgers out of Anfield at FT and after ET on Wednesday instead it was 5000 Carlisle supporters making the most noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭mormank

There is a big difference between expecting top 4 , competing for top 4 and the tripe we are being served for over a year now.

Do you honestly think we are performing at "our" level for the last 14 months.
    Do you honestly think we cannot play better football
    Do you honestly think we cannot fight harder and show more passion against Man Utd
    , cannot beat 4th Division teams at home
    cannot avoid hammerings by stoke ,
    cannot turn up for a semi final against Villa

I could go on for pages

Please don't make me part of the rodger's out debate. I at no point today took a position on him. My comments were of a more broad view on the club as a whole. Even if we sack rodger's we will still not win the league anytime soon regardless of who we get. The game is rigged. And by rigged I dont mean by any organization like FIfa or whetever, I am refferring to oil money etc.

quarryman wrote: »

If you take out last years freak season then Liverpool's average league position since 2009 is 7th.

7th

And we're supposed to be happy about this? Our league position fell drastically during times of distress in the club, we should be working to improve it not just accepting that it's where we will forever lie.

LVG got top 4 and Mou won the league. Spot the difference between them and Rodgers.

Rodgers has done more for Liverpool than LVG has done at United

By the way some wanted Rodgers sacked after his first season as well and look what happened when he wasnt

Mr.H wrote: »

By the way some wanted Rodgers sacked after his first season as well and look what happened when he wasnt

LVG has only been at United one season. In that season he achieved the goals set out for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭JohnDaniels

mormank wrote: »
    You know, if anything I am tired of hearing about how great a club Liverpool are and that we should be challenging for everything all the time and how second is not even acceptable from the older generation. Ye had great times as pool fans, we get it! The new reality is we are not the main force in England anymore, we are even second and no amount of banging on about the old times is gonna change that. It reminds me of arguing with my grand father about something when every second sentence is "In my day this" or "In my day that". It's not your f***ing day anymore, things have changed! We as a fanbase need to be more realistic. I'm not arguing for Rodger's here by the way.

Hardly anyone, if anyone in this thread that I have read displays this attitude. You have made up a group of fictitious fans in your head and then wrote some nonsense based off it. Considering the people thanking your post it should be pretty obvious to see it is complete drivel. I find in general Liverpool fans are very realistic these days, no one thinks we are the main force in England, not even close. The argument that we should be doing better than the manager is currently achieving is a completely valid one and has very little to do with being stuck in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

My favourite part of so many Liverpool fans not just rolling over and accepting mediocrity is how much it really gets to the people who hate us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

quarryman wrote: »

Nice one lads some sense finally for the United lad who virtually never posts here. :pac: do one m8

Hardly anyone, if anyone in this thread that I have read displays this attitude. You have made up a group of fictitious fans in your head and then wrote some nonsense based off it. Considering the people thanking your post it should be pretty obvious to see it is complete drivel. I find in general Liverpool fans are very realistic these days, no one thinks we are the main force in England, not even close. The argument that we should be doing better than the manager is currently achieving is a completely valid one and has very little to do with being stuck in the past.

Not fictitious fans, LLoyd and Mr Alan have been guilty of such in the recent seasons to name a few. I'm sure I could find others if I cared enough to 'win' this argument. Anyone suggesting we should be regular top 4 isnt even being realistic if you ask me, and there plenty of those.

Have to laugh at the day-trippers crack - its the them keeping the poorer locals out who generate less noise when things are going badly (or well!). The crowd should have boo'd Rodgers out of Anfield at FT and after ET on Wednesday instead it was 5000 Carlisle supporters making the most noise.

Im not one of these "support your local team" crap

Im from Limerick ffs

When I say "daytrippers" Im talking about those who watch every so often, check the scores at the end of the game and join in the banter thinking that they are a real fan.

Im talking about those sunshine fans who dont watch the games because we are losing. The ones who could go a season without watching or even checking in on the team because when they take off the jersey they dont give a sh1t about the club.

Those are the ones I have an issue with

*by the way I am not insinuating anyone here falls into that category and wont call anyone out on it

That is the most hilarious thing I think I've ever read. In his first season he got them top 4, it's looking like he'll consolidate that this season. He's lost one game in Europe, but actually went for it and played a strong side, rather than going out with a whimper. What exactly has Rodgers "done" for Liverpool??

We're the fifth highest spending team in the league, to say we should expect to finish around 7th because that's "where we belong" is just stupid. We should be challenging for top 4 every year, and when we get it we should be raising the bar again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Nice one lads some sense finally for the United lad who virtually never posts here. :pac: do one m8

I'll give you a laugh.....it's Leeds United. :D

LVG has only been at United one season. In that season he achieved the goals set out for him.

So you dont remember last summer?

All this talk of "liverpool had a great season because they had no Europe distraction" so "united can do the same"

Not just fans, journalists or pundits. But players and staff talked about challenging for the title.

They spent a fortune and I am not talking net spend or whatever. I am talking everything. Wages, fees everything. They spent well over 200 million last year alone and got 4th!!! plus they still had all their title winning squad in tact.............................

But yea the "objectives" were surely met :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

dogbert27 wrote: »
    Why would they regret Dalglish's appointment?

He stabilised the mess of the season that Hodgson had us in and in his one full season in charge won FSG their only cup and got to the FA Cup final.

They have re-instated him in his ambassador role. I don't think they have any regrets with Kenny.

I'd say in retrospect they'd rather they didn't bow to sentiment and the fan base choice.

It isn't a personal criticism of Kenny so pitch forks down lads.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Jaysis lads, the thread reads like this guy is typing in it.

That is the most hilarious thing I think I've ever read. In his first season he got them top 4, it's looking like he'll consolidate that this season. He's lost one game in Europe, but actually went for it and played a strong side, rather than going out with a whimper. What exactly has Rodgers "done" for Liverpool??

Top 2???

But yea your right f8ck all :rolleyes:

Turtyturd wrote: »
    I'll give you a laugh.....it's Leeds United. :D

Oh jesus i suppose he has to have some kind of thread to read then :pac:

Top 2???

Coming second means nothing if you don't expand in it and finish sixth the year after.

Top 2???

What's the difference between 2nd and 4th?? Both Champs Lge spots. LVG got it within 9 months of becoming manager and looks like he will get it again this year. Took Rodgers 2 seasons and never looked likely again.

Coming second means nothing if you don't expand in it and finish sixth the year after.

6th but whos counting

Ok lets try to find common ground. Lets see if you can understand my point.

Why did we do so poorly last season???

I am looking forward to the panic when the top 4 becomes a top 3. Then we are really screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Everyone knows that we should at least be winning the Champions League this year, and the Euros in the summer. I mean, we're Liverpool Football Club, for **** sake.

Grayditch wrote: »
    My favourite part of so many Liverpool fans not just rolling over and accepting mediocrity is how much it really gets to the people who hate us.

When Hodgson was sacked there we a fair few lads on these boards, United fans mainly, who were scoffing at us for having ideas above our station. It was great seeing them get a taste of their own medicine when they took on Moyes.

What's the difference between 2nd and 4th?? Both Champs Lge spots. LVG got it within 9 months of becoming manager and looks like he will get it again this year. Took Rodgers 2 seasons and never looked likely again.

Yet one is a title challenge and the other isnt

Knex. wrote: »
    Everyone knows that we should at least be winning the Champions League this year, and the Euros in the summer. I mean, we're Liverpool Football Club, for **** sake.

No. The club and fans should be thankful for where they are. Give Rodgers 15 years and it'll be top 5 all the time.