Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

Turned back almost immediately tonight because of my calf. It was perfect Sunday for my entire run. Was told to rest yesterday. This morning woke up with the knot there but went out as planned and it hurt on every step. I mean, it's not pain, just sore, but I was told to stop if sore. Not worried, just hate that it throws the whole week off a bit but sure nothing I can do. Missing the hour tonight is better than missing the long run Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Well I ran past a group of young lads one evening and one started to sing wiggle wiggle wiggle was morto and kept pulling my tshirt over my ass for the rest of the run when I got home told the hubby and he said he thought that it was a compliment !!! And said if they had shouted wobble wobble wobble it might have been a different story !! It has become a joke now. But the moral of the story is that if running does it for you it doesn't matter if you wiggle wobble run fast run slow or skip you're out doing your thing and if it makes you happy that's the main thing :)

:pac: you're just a wiggly wobbly wonder Mrs Mc :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

I can't help thinking since the DHM on Saturday that it probably isn't a good idea to race a HM so close to a full marathon. My mileage has had to drop both last week and this week but yet it wasn't to give my body a rest. Just wondering what others thoughts are on this?

I'm already trying to pick a second marathon next year and I definitely don't think I'll be putting a HM race in the plan.

Or does it have benefits? Anybody else feel they have emptied the bank a bit??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

FeenaM wrote: »
    Anybody else feel they have emptied the bank a bit??

if my body was a bank I have about 1euro left so you are not alone!! 2 run commutes (yesterday and today) plus sports massage on legs yesterday have left me knackered. Ran home today dreaming of food with heavy and sore legs. I am hoping the benefits of the half outweigh the current deficits.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Feel fine after it Feena, I've felt worse after some lsr's! To be honest, you had a bad old dose going into it which probably explains the general lack of energy this week, moreso than the race itself. Weren't you planning on doing the EoI, this weekend was it? Are you reconsidering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    REVIEW AND WEEK AHEAD

Mrs Mc, calves and achilles holding up? Tell Mr Mc that back rubs and shoulder massages are great for releasing tight achilles ;):p
    )

Great post DG lots of things to ponder there. The calves and achilles are quiet sore after the weekend. Have been doing a lot of stretching and foam rolling. Had to do 5 miles tonight with 8* 400m intervals. Was not looking forward to it at all as it was going to 8pm before I would get out so too dark for St Annes. Luckily Mc Jnr decided she would come along with me, I was so grateful for the company, so we ran to Clontarf Road and got a nice flat 400 meters there and ran forward and back on that with 90 second rest intervals between each one (she was shouting at me to run fast on each interval as she ran them with no effort at all don't know where she gets the long legs from !!) and then an easy run home. The legs loosed out. But going to try an Epsom Salt bath now, have done the stretches and foam rolling so hopefully it will work. Will pass on the advise about the back rubs and shoulder massages to Mr Mc I'm told a nice cuppa tea or even a glass of wine would accompany it nicely too !!:D

I think the manflu has arrived, I haven't ran since the half and I have been feeling progressively worse as the days go on, soar throat stuffed nose and basic weakness are stopping me hitting the roads. Think I need to write this week off :( what impact will this have as I'm due a 20 miler this weekend

Bummer, get to the chemist and get the echinechea tablets there are supposed to be great for getting rid of colds. Was feeling like that last night myself thought i was getting the flu had a lemsip and an early night, and I've been taking the echinechea tablets for the past few weeks. Feeling okay today fingers crossed. Hope you feel better soon.:(

annapr wrote: »
    :pac: you're just a wiggly wobbly wonder Mrs Mc :pac:

Ah thanks Anna !! :)

conor_mc wrote: »
    Feel fine after it Feena, I've felt worse after some lsr's! To be honest, you had a bad old dose going into it which probably explains the general lack of energy this week, moreso than the race itself. Weren't you planning on doing the EoI, this weekend was it? Are you reconsidering?

Yep, I'm not doing the EOI anymore. Going to do my 20 mile LSR on Saturday along the marathon route instead (hopefully with a few from here). Wouldn't trust myself to not push the pace up if I did the EO!.

The focus for me now is making it to the start line of DCM in one healthy piece :D

I can't help thinking since the DHM on Saturday that it probably isn't a good idea to race a HM so close to a full marathon. My mileage has had to drop both last week and this week but yet it wasn't to give my body a rest. Just wondering what others thoughts are on this?

I'm already trying to pick a second marathon next year and I definitely don't think I'll be putting a HM race in the plan.

Or does it have benefits? Anybody else feel they have emptied the bank a bit??

I did feel wiped of energy yesterday and today C but after the run tonight I have to say I'm feeling energised again. While I got a pb I didn't go for the 2 hours which I think would have wiped me completely.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    I did feel wiped of energy yesterday and today C but after the run tonight I have to say I'm feeling energised again. While I got a pb I didn't go for the 2 hours which I think would have wiped me completely.

See this is where I think you got it right and I didn't. Reckon it would be a better idea to do the HM at PMP or else 8 weeks + out from the marathon. Ah sure, it's done now and I'll be back running tomorrow, just feels like a big break to have taken at this point of the plan.

Don't forget you were sick too, werent you getting over a chest infection so its probably all related ...... thats my novice non expert opinion !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

What are we going to do after the marathon?... What am I going to read??... Where am I going to get advice about everything???!! Help! :) we need to have a support page / meet ups / class of 2015 reunion / be advisors to class of 2016!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

PJD wrote: »
    What are we going to do after the marathon?... What am I going to read??... Where am I going to get advice about everything???!! Help! :) we need to have a support page / meet ups / class of 2015 reunion / be advisors to class of 2016!!!

don't worry, there'll be a 'graduates' thread you'll be grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

PJD wrote: »

A bit of PMT (premature taper madness) going on here I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

Well Folks,

Well done to all on some great HM times and reports. Very sorry to hear of that young guy not making it back and what his family and friends must be going through.

I spent the weekend in Cardiff where I got the best of both worlds. I did a very slow three mile with my dad in the Sofia Park in Cardiff just behind the castle on Friday afternoon when we arrived. My brother was coming down from London on Friday night and we planned to do a 20 mile on Saturday morning. I met up with two other friends who had travelled over in a pub at around 7.30pm and watched the opening game. I haven't had a few pints in months and the atmosphere got the better of me and I succumbed at around 8.30 to the lure of of ale. I didn't go too mad and went for some food around midnight and back home for around 12.30am. My dad, brother and I all woke pretty early and I was feeling ok so we decided to go for an early morning trot together. We left at around 7.15 and dad did the first three miles with us. We went at a slow pace and picked it up a bit when he headed back for the hotel. We went on empty stomachs as they hadn't started serving breakfast yet but had a pack of fruit gums and some gels. We did the route of the Cardiff half marathon, out around Cardiff bay and back through Sofia park and up the river Taffe. It was a beautiful morning for running and we gatecrashed the end of the Cardiff park run as well so got a little cheering along the way.
    Pace was a little slower than usual but given the lack of sleep and pints of ale I wasn't too worried about that. It was great to run somewhere different and have good company. We stopped to buy water and again right at 19.7 miles to watch the Canadian rugby team running through their lineout calls and some moves in the park behind the castle. My stomach was a little dodgy and had to use the facilities en route but again, my prep wasn't the best the night before!.
    Did the 20 miles and headed for some food and then to the game. Cardiff was great for the weekend. Super atmosphere all around. I ended up being out until 4am on Saturday night which is the first time in months I've had a big night on the beer. Really enjoyed it but feeling mildly under the weather since. Legs feel fine after the run but the whole weekend took it out of me. That's me done with pints until after DCM for sure.
    Didn't manage to make it out for a run last night or tonight but finally sent thesis off 10 minutes ago so no more torturous evenings for me! I'll get back to it tomorrow evening with the 8 mile.

Have a good week's running everyone.

Mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Peter D61 wrote: »
    I'm doing a 18m lsl on Sunday morning at 9ish, from Shankill , towards sandycove, dun laoghaire, blackrock and back through deansgrange, sallynoggin, loughlinstown. Would love to have some company for part or all of it. Is anyone interested?

For next week's 18M I might be interested...? This week it's 20M and there's a few folks trying to meet up and do some of the route for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭healy1835

Hi guys,
    Been following/lurking for a little while...said I might as well post here too :) So here goes....

1. What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Played Soccer up until a ruptured ACL & MCL put an end to that. Gymmed it up for a few years and did a bit of running too. Did Gaelforce West in 2014, new job last year so pretty much lost a lot of the fitness I had built up in training for GFW. Been back running since about April '15 after a few months off :)

2. Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    Not before this DCM training. So PB's are all the first times I've raced any of these distances: 10k - 44:23 Sept '15, 10m - 1:23:xx Aug '15, Half Marathon: DCM last Sat - 1:37:xx

3. Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    Nope

4. How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level. 1LR, 1Session, 3-4 smaller runs per week. ave between 65 - 80k per week.

5. How many days a week do you run only? 5/6

6. What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    Goal at beginning was simply to finish, but training has been going well and have found myself constantly lowering my goal....at moment, sub 3:30 is where I'm at.

7. What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    Have a friend who is an 'elite' runner, so he's looking after me with the programme. Coach says "Run for x =km @ x pace"....I ask him how high. It's been pretty comforting having someone like that giving me advice etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Morning all :) Following on from TFGR's post on fighting your inner demons/voices and finding the right balance of confidence, I wanted to ask you all about your strategies.

Many of you will have encountered some inner voices on Saturday, telling you that 'it was too hard' or 'you're never going to last' or 'sure why don't you walk for a bit'.....These are normal, to be expected and even runners at the pointy end of the race encounter thoughts such as these. No doubt these voices will come out in force on the 26th at one stage or another so now is a good time to develop a counter-voices strategy :)

What do you do to put these voices back in their box?

So we have one reference point for this, can you reply by quoting as usual from the most recent post, add your username to the post and remove quote tags before you post It might work.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Question for FBOT if around

Had tight calf after Saturday race, up ladder painting Sunday.

So took Tuesday as extra day, did not fancy doing speed session or slow for that matter. Have worked out few knots & got 8 miles easy avg 9.36 this morning, nice and comfortable. Will do 7 in morning. All going well in morning, do u think picking up Tuesday session on Friday worth while or just do 3/4 easy miles, to even out week before 20 miles Sunday,

Or take rest Friday as usual, would work out nearly 50/50 for LSR against rest
    Of week.

G

healy1835 wrote: »
    Hi guys,
    Been following/lurking for a little while...said I might as well post here too :) So here goes....

1. What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Played Soccer up until a ruptured ACL & MCL put an end to that. Gymmed it up for a few years and did a bit of running too. Did Gaelforce West in 2014, new job last year so pretty much lost a lot of the fitness I had built up in training for GFW. Been back running since about April '15 after a few months off :)

2. Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    Not before this DCM training. So PB's are all the first times I've raced any of these distances: 10k - 44:23 Sept '15, 10m - 1:23:xx Aug '15, Half Marathon: DCM last Sat - 1:37:xx

3. Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    Nope

4. How much training do you currently do incl cross training? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level. 1LR, 1Session, 3-4 smaller runs per week. ave between 65 - 80k per week.

5. How many days a week do you run only? 5/6

6. What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    Goal at beginning was simply to finish, but training has been going well and have found myself constantly lowering my goal....at moment, sub 3:30 is where I'm at.

7. What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    Have a friend who is an 'elite' runner, so he's looking after me with the programme. Coach says "Run for x =km @ x pace"....I ask him how high. It's been pretty comforting having someone like that giving me advice etc.

Hi healy, well done on your achievements so far and on the half...a sign that the plan is working :) How did you find the half overall? Did you manage to keep an even pace?
    Just a few questions....What was your running background prior to your lay off, for example what was your weekly mileage training for GFW? I ask because April is cutting it a bit fine to build up layers of endurance for the marathon but a background in endurance - even from a year ago - could stand you in reasonable stead still. However, the good news is that there is no fall-off between your 10k and HM time. Your 10 mile time doesn't line up though, did you mean 73 mins? If it is 83, what was the plan on the day?

Your weekly mileage total and spread seem good, what does the session involve, is it a tempo, PMP or....? And of course, I do have to ask what pace your runs have been at. As you have been lurking, this will come as no surprise to you ;)

We've had quite a bit of discussion re targets and a few here, like yourself, have been tempted to shift the goalposts as training has gone smoothly. It is very tempting! However, just a little word of caution: race equivalency tables (they're not strictly predictors) are generally more suited to experienced runners and less suited for novice marathon runners. A general rule of thumb for novices is to double your half time and add 20 mins wriggle room which would give you a more realistic range of 3:30-3:45 for your first marathon.

Fwiw, I would advise everybody attempting their first marathon to start conservatively and aim to finish strong. The risk of blowing up on your first marathon is very very real as I'm sure your coach has advised. Have a look here for advice from one of our regular posters and a very experienced runner. Couldn't have put it better myself!

Anyway, interrogation over, you're doing great so far and best of luck with it all!

Dubgal72 wrote:

Whoopsadaisydoodles

*loo-la alert*

I talk back to them :pac:

No really....I have actual little chats with myself. I tell the negative voices that they're wrong, that I'm well able for this distance. That I'm supposed to be running this slowly. That science says I do not need to stop in the shop for jelly beans after 90 minutes of running and that I'm being a nancy by even considering it. I make deals with myself "run one more km and then see if you still need to stop".

If I get negative comments like "I could walk faster than that" I say "So can you G, but not for 26.2miles"

If I see someone bomb past me with their long fast legs I say "yes, and when you're back going out for nice 5k runs, you'll be able to run that fast too".

So yeh, address the voices - don't ignore them, answer them back, tell them they're wrong :)

(I've no idea if I've quoted this as per DG's instructions sorry missus).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭healy1835

Hey,
    Found the half fine, had a negative split.....last 10k sub 45....left a few minutes out there. Frank Duffy was my first real race and I was just way too conservative starting out....had a stupid split, something like 45min/38min for each 5 miles...
    My GFW load wasn't too scientific...about 3 16ks per week with a 80-100k cycle with maybe a 10k/30k run cycle and a couple of gym sessions.
    My runs have been at varying %'s of my PMP although these have quickened as my goal has PMP has come down. Some progression runs thrown in too. Sessions have varied....800 repeats, mile repeats, 400m repeats etc.
    Yeah my biggest fear is that last 10k in the DCM which will be unknown territory.....but I'm chipper enough about hitting my goal but will have B & C goals on day too.
    Have managed to stay relatively injury free (although it helps my other half is a physio so she pieces me back together from time to time)

Morning all :) Following on from TFGR's post on fighting your inner demons/voices and finding the right balance of confidence, I wanted to ask you all about your strategies.

Many of you will have encountered some inner voices on Saturday, telling you that 'it was too hard' or 'you're never going to last' or 'sure why don't you walk for a bit'.....These are normal, to be expected and even runners at the pointy end of the race encounter thoughts such as these. No doubt these voices will come out in force on the 26th at one stage or another so now is a good time to develop a counter-voices strategy :)

So we have one reference point for this, can you reply by quoting as usual, add your username to the post and remove quote tags before you post It might work.... :)

Whoopsadaisydoodles

*loo-la alert*

No really....I have actual little chats with myself. I tell the negative voices that they're wrong, that I'm well able for this distance. That I'm supposed to be running this slowly. That science says I do not need to stop in the shop for jelly beans after 90 minutes of running and that I'm being a nancy by even considering it. I make deals with myself "run one more km and then see if you still need to stop".

If I get negative comments like "I could walk faster than that" I say "So can you G, but not for 26.2miles"

If I see someone bomb past me with their long fast legs I say "yes, and when you're back going out for nice 5k runs, you'll be able to run that fast too".

So yeh, address the voices - don't ignore them, answer them back, tell them they're wrong :)

DG: ;)

Smashiner:
    Hi Guys,

I did a slow 'junk run' last night of 10K, soooo didn't want to do it as the legs (quads) were still a bit stiff after the DHM. Feel a lot better today from it, and I would encourage everyone to 'hug and kiss and embrace' their slow crappy junks runs as they are very necessary at this stage !
    Don't be too put off if you have an odd crappy run, keep reminding yourself that your legs will thank you on the 26th.....keep going you are almost there

My inner demons get kicked to touch with a few slogans such as 'you can do this, and you will do this'....also 'I am doing this because I want to do this and I am doing this because I 'can' do this'........think of the many many people that are not able to do this or can't do this....we are lucky that we can partake in such training and races.............then again I might have watched Rocky 111 a few too many times....

nop98
    LOL @ whoopsa!

Similar la-la-land here:

I have a very similar approach. I reason and argue with myself. For example, during a bad patch, when the watch beeps that another km has gone by, I say "See! That wasn't so bad!". I similarly make promises: over that hill and then you can check how far left.

I also simply acknowledge that each run will have bad and good patches, as such I can accept the bad patch and work through it, knowing that the good will come. Or I remember the race reports on this thread, or on TFB's log (which is really epic), or on other runners' logs here, and recall these runners in similar circumstances and how they wrote about it. It distracts from my own current woes.

I can also talk myself into a positive frame of mind by commentating on my own run, like a sports commentator. "Yes, ladies and gentlemen, another mile has gone by. We're approach the half-marathon mark. Not a bother for this fella. Bla bla bla".

The last bit is really dorky. Can't believe I'm admitting to it!

Ah now lads....stick to the running eh? :rolleyes:

Great tips so far, loving the last one nop :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Hi Guys,

I did a slow 'junk run' last night of 10K, soooo didn't want to do it as the legs (quads) were still a bit stiff after the DHM. Feel a lot better today from it, and I would encourage everyone to 'hug and kiss and embrace' their slow crappy junks runs as they are very necessary at this stage !
    Don't be too put off if you have an odd crappy run, keep reminding yourself that your legs will thank you on the 26th.....keep going you are almost there ;)

My inner demons get kicked to touch with a few slogans such as 'you can do this, and you will do this'....also 'I am doing this because I want to do this and I am doing this because I can do this'........think of the many many people that are not able to do this or can't do this....we are lucky that we can partake in such training and races.............then again I might have watched Rocky 111 a few too many times....:D

Smash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Whoopsadaisydoodles

*loo-la alert*

nop98
    LOL :) @ whoopsa!

Similar la-la-land here:

I have a very similar approach. I reason and argue with myself. For example, during a bad patch, when the watch beeps that another km has gone by, I say "See! That wasn't so bad!". I similarly make promises: over that hill and then you can check how far left.

I also simply acknowledge that each run will have bad and good patches, as such I can accept the bad patch and work through it, knowing that the good will come. Or I remember the race reports on this thread, or on TFB's log (which is really epic), or on other runners' logs here, and recall these runners in similar circumstances and how they wrote about it. It distracts from my own current woes.

I can also talk myself into a positive frame of mind by commentating on my own run, like a sports commentator. "Yes, ladies and gentlemen, another mile has gone by. We're approach the half-marathon mark. Not a bother for this fella. Bla bla bla".

The last bit is really dorky. Can't believe I'm admitting to it! :D

Dubgal72 wrote: »

So we have one reference point for this, can you reply by quoting as usual, add your username to the post and remove quote tags before you post It might work.... :)

Whoopsadaisydoodles

*loo-la alert*

DG: ;)

Smashiner:
    Hi Guys,

Don't be too put off if you have an odd crappy run, keep reminding yourself that your legs will thank you on the 26th.....keep going you are almost there

My inner demons get kicked to touch with a few slogans such as 'you can do this, and you will do this'....also 'I am doing this because I want to do this and I am doing this because I 'can' do this'........think of the many many people that are not able to do this or can't do this....we are lucky that we can partake in such training and races.............then again I might have watched Rocky 111 a few too many times....

nop98
    LOL @ whoopsa!

Similar la-la-land here:

The last bit is really dorky. Can't believe I'm admitting to it!

Ah now lads....stick to the running eh? :rolleyes:

Great tips so far, loving the last one nop :D

Try again?!...Or cut and paste :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

4m @ 10:12 yesterday and 8mm@ 10:20 m today, both very enjoyable runs, no real hangover from Saturdays HM apart from a sore toe. I think it was caused by a seam on my sock cutting into it, it hadn't happened on any of my training runs. So out to Amphibian King on Monday for a pair of seamless and cushioned ones. They seem to be working. I also used my new runners on both runs so they will be well broken in by Oct 26th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Just a quick update on my week ahead. The hip flexor is still tight but physio said that i am good to run on it . First ever half at week end , hip felt good throughout race. Did a 1.36.12. Could not have gone 2 seconds faster. Lol. 😦 Recovery 5k on sunday.

Havent trained since.plan on doing 9miler tonight and a big lsr at week end. Mixing and matching the boards snd runkeeper plan at minute due to injury and half at week end. Plan to get back on track properly this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

nop98 wrote: »
    For next week's 18M I might be interested...? This week it's 20M and there's a few folks trying to meet up and do some of the route for it...

Thanks, I'm doing a different plan so I have 18m next weekend and 20m (athlone 3/4) the week after.