Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Firedance wrote: »
    grrrrrrrrrrrrr :mad: don't encourage them!! :D

Have always hated the word 'chick', particularly when males refer to a girlfriend as their 'chick'. Tried for a while to come up with a make equivalent but, if thinking in terms of poultry, could only come up with 'co*k'. Don't think it works in quite the same way. Actually think some males might actually enjoy being referred to as someone's 'c*ck' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Definitely think you did the right thing on Saturday Anna. You've had a great year so far, no point in messing it up by wrecking yourself at this stage. A bit of patient recovery & you'll be flying again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

kit3 wrote: »
    Have always hated the word 'chick', particularly when males refer to a girlfriend as their 'chick'.

Its not the word that bothers me, its the idea that its somehow a bad thing to be beaten by a woman, what difference does it make whether you were pipped to the post by a man or a woman? You lost a place to a fellow runner, their sex shouldn't matter. Anyway, its just my opinion, I don't loose sleep over it or anything :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Its not the word that bothers me, its the idea that its somehow a bad thing to be beaten by a woman, what difference does it make whether you were pipped to the post by a man or a woman? You lost a place to a fellow runner, their sex shouldn't matter. Anyway, its just my opinion, I don't loose sleep over it or anything :)

Totally agree.
    If I overtake someone at the end are they double chicked?! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

:) I generally hate the use of chick, bird and any term that diminishes any group of people...

having said that, I do enjoy it when some of the better runners on here find themselves being well beaten by the 'weaker' sex :D

FBOT01 wrote: »
    I thought I was hearing/seeing things on the run in. You were in fine voice and thanks for the welcome shout out. You know you made the right call so follow it up now with a bit of R&R and get well soon.

You're my inspiration now, M... with the time you did on Saturday after your R&R... ! If mine is anywhere near as effective, I'll be laughing on Oct 26th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

annapr wrote: »
    :) I generally hate the use of chick, bird and any term that diminishes any group of people...

I'll be sure to use the term 'beour' at all times in future:)

belcarra wrote: »
    I'll be sure to use the term 'beour' at all times in future:)

:pac: are you sure you're spelling it right? don't think I've ever seen that word written down before. When our daughter went to college in Galway, she was completely perplexed by that word :) (and by 'boggers' in general :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

http://www.slang.ie/index.php?entryid=968
    I love the fact that the Mayo explanation is the only one overtly sexual!!:D

belcarra wrote: »
    http://www.slang.ie/index.php?entryid=968
    I love the fact that the Mayo explanation is the only one overtly sexual!!:D

Please note this word does not occur in Donegal! :) (or Dublin for that matter)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Get your fingers away from that keyboard , M. Nothing good can come of entering this debate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭kildaremum

:pac: are you sure you're spelling it right? don't think I've ever seen that word written down before. When our daughter went to college in Galway, she was completely perplexed by that word :) (and by 'boggers' in general :p)

I've never heard that word - now I'm going to have to text my exiled daughter in Galway and ask if she's heard it. She's totally perplexed by the queues out the door of SuperMac's after a night out :eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

From slang in my part of the Midlands:

Young lady-beour
    Young man-sham
    Kiss-the wear
    Sex-a feek(similarly a good looking young lady could be called a feek to).

Put in a sentence:"Ah sham I got the wear off this beour last night she was a right feek, kinda annoyed I didn't get the feek though!!".

kildaremum wrote: »
    I've never heard that word - now I'm going to have to text my exiled daughter in Galway and ask if she's heard it. She's totally perplexed by the queues out the door of SuperMac's after a night out :eek:.

yes, our exile was astounded by that too... and even more by nights out spent IN SuperMac's if they couldn't get in anywhere else!
    tang1 wrote: »
    From slang in my part of the Midlands:

Young lady-beour
    Young man-sham
    Kiss-the wear
    Sex-a feek(similarly a good looking young lady could be called a feek to).

Put in a sentence:"Ah sham I got the wear off this beour last night she was a right feek, kinda annoyed I didn't get the feek though!!".

so when did you learn English, Tang? :p

Tough week in the plan, this week and next are the highest mileage (50+ with a 22 miler each week :eek:). If I can get through these 2 then I think I will be ok for DCM. I haven't registered yet, so by Sunday the decision will be made!

Sunday 20 & Monday 21: Rest and recovery

Tuesday 22: 6 miles easy
    6.2 mi @ 9:50/mi; 10 Km @ 6:07/Km

Shook off the lethargy for a nice lunchtime run out the seafront to the far side of the wooden bridge and back. Legs felt great, breathing good, all nice and easy.

On the way back, tested myself with some strides, with recovery in between. Lost count of whether I did 4 or 5... controlled, not maximum effort but 70-80%. Didn't track time or pace, each one was 3 lampposts :), approx 60m I think.

I felt great after this run, finished feeling strong. I'm cautiously optimistic now, with the first real test tomorrow -- the plan calls for 14 miles with 10 @ MP.

So having discussed this with my resident coach, he is suggesting that it might be too much to ramp up to 50+ this week after the last couple of setback weeks. His recommendation is to get the LSR done, but maybe reduce the Midweek session -- so I think I will adjust tomorrow's session to 10 miles with 6 @ MP. 22 miles might be ambitious for the LSR, but I think it's important to give it a shot anyway. I won't do it until Sunday to give myself the maximum recovery.

Suggestions welcome if anyone has other ideas! So long as they don't include strange lingo from the midlands :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Suggestion #1 early bed ;)

Suggestion #2 listen to your body

Suggestion #3 don't wreck yourself on Sunday, you have a very important date :D

Glad to hear you're on the mend Anna :)

your in house coach is worth his weight in gold :) very wise suggestions there

+ 1 to dubgals no. 3 :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

So having discussed this with my resident coach, he is suggesting that it might be too much to ramp up to 50+ this week after the last couple of setback weeks. His recommendation is to get the LSR done, but maybe reduce the Midweek session -- so I think I will adjust tomorrow's session to 10 miles with 6 @ MP. 22 miles might be ambitious for the LSR, but I think it's important to give it a shot anyway. I won't do it until Sunday to give myself the maximum recovery.

Suggestions welcome if anyone has other ideas! So long as they don't include strange lingo from the midlands :pac:

What was your mileage for the last 3 or 4 weeks? I definitely wouldn't target 50 miles unless you've had a few recent weeks well over 40.

And what were the recent long slow runs again? Have you done at least one 18/19/20 recently?

Good to see you're feeling better!

Ososlo wrote: »
    What was your mileage for the last 3 or 4 weeks? I definitely wouldn't target 50 miles unless you've had a few recent weeks well over 40.

And what were the recent long slow runs again? Have you done at least one 18/19/20 recently?

Good to see you're feeling better!

I had a couple of weeks close to 50 in August, but since then it's been a downward spiral... last few weeks were 32, 22, 16 :eek:

I've done 2 x 18 and 1 x 20. Most recent long run was 18 miles on Sept 6.

Good to have you back, O!!!

your in house coach is worth his weight in gold :) very wise suggestions there

+ 1 to dubgals no. 3 :p

+ 2 to number 3... pacing is all important :p

+ 2 to number 3...prosecco pacing is all important :p

fyp :D

I had a couple of weeks close to 50 in August, but since then it's been a downward spiral... last few weeks were 32, 22, 16 :eek:

so I think I have just scared myself with this post... and the coach on the couch says don't try to go over 40 miles this week and save the 22 miles for next week :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

so I think I have just scared myself with this post... and the coach on the couch says don't try to go over 40 miles this week and save the 22 miles for next week :cool:

thanks Anna.

I'll leave it to the more knowledgable to advise you but yes I think it's a good exercise to look at the numbers in black and white straight up from the last few weeks.
    Good advice from the coach on the couch there. A much shorter long slow run would be best imo too.
    You're only starting to feel better now so you've got to build back up nice and slowly to avoid a relapse or injury.
    You've a nice number of long slow runs already under the belt and have had good consistent training all year and your legs won't forget that come DCM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Yes have to agree the resident coaches do come in handy..... but they also let you away with nothing. Maybe mine is meaner that yours !!! Feel your pain the next 3 weeks are LSRs of 20,22 and 20 for me, really not looking forward to them at all :(

Wednesday 23: 9k easy
    5.6 mi @ 10:08/mi; 9 Km @ 6:18/Km

Supposed to be 10 miles with 6 @ MP (adjusted downwards from 14 mi), but knew from a couple of Km in that this was not going to happen today. Legs like jelly again. Turned back just after the wooden bridge. Ended up with about 4k at MP but couldn't manage any more than that. Convinced that I am not signing up for DCM after this. :(

Thursday 24: 12.2Km
    7.6 mi @ 10:12/mi; 12.2K @ 6:21/Km

Got up this morning feeling like I never wanted to run again, forgot I had agreed to meet aquinn for a lunchtime run. Since it was a choice between running and supermarket, I chose the lesser evil :). Fresh sunny windy autumnal day, met herself on the quays and did a lovely leafy loop of D2 and 4. Almost lost my hat twice in the gusts. Came home through East Wall and Fairview Park. Waterways crossed =Tolka, Liffey, both canals, Dodder :)

About half of this run was close to MP (the half where I had company of course). Felt good through most of this, a bit tired at the end but nothing extreme and a bit wiped now. I decided heading out that I’m just going to try and enjoy whatever runs I do this week and not worry about hitting mileage targets or bloody marathon training. That worked today and of course the lively company helped too :)

Friday 25: Rest

Saturday 26: 18 mile LSR :D
    18 mi @ 10:25/mi; 29 Km @ 6:28/Km

Spectacularly beautiful day in Dublin, in a great to be alive kind of way. Volunteered at St Annes Parkrun to start the day — celebrating their second birthday, fantastic event and really well done to Killerz and all the core team. Mrs Mc got an award for volunteer of the year, well deserved :) They ran the course backwards for the special occasion, causing Yaboya some difficulty in his pacing duties.

Coffee, flapjacks and super healthy juice drinks afterwards to fortify us for my attempt at an LSR. Set off with fellow volunteer Aquinn who was planning to join me for her planned 2 hours. After extensive route planning (along the lines of 'will we go left or right at the coast') we headed around the bay... All the way to Sandycove!

We were joined by another runner from Blackrock to Dun Laoghaire - a friendly young Aussie guy (and goodlooking too!). This might have helped our pace a little. :p

Aquinn was armed with her Leap card and as her 2 hours were up she looked longingly at the Dart station in Dun Laoghaire as we headed back towards town... but she couldn't quite bring herself to abandon me, even as we passed the ice cream shop after fantasising about 99's.

Thought we might get the dart in Booterstown, but no, still 2k to go. A popped across to the pub to use the facilities and refill our water bottles, while I did very slow circles of a field beside the dart station.

Back in to Sandymount, the garage on Strand Road with its fridge full of ice cream like an oasis in front of us. But wait, 400m short of 18miles... A few ever decreasing circles took care of that and we got our reward. Best Cornetto ever!! A had been threatening to make me do 20 miles but I bribed her with an Iceberger.

A very creaky walk to Sydney Parade and dart home. We got off at Clontarf and realised we had made a rookie planning error--we had to cross the tracks to exit... Stairs and more stairs. The groans out of us scared our fellow passengers (sometimes you forget that not everyone knows you just ran 18 miles). Murph ignored my hint to pick us up at the dart :roll eyes: so a final mile of slow walking home.

Fair play to A for sticking with me, I was secretly hoping she would! The company was great, beautiful day, best long run I've had in a long time.

Feeling optimistic again now... Unless I'm broken tomorrow, I might just register for DCM. :D

Brilliant:) lovely route too, just register Anna :p

St annes celebrations sound super too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Feeling optimistic again now... Unless I'm broken tomorrow, I might just register for DCM. :D

Just register aquinn while you're at it. Don't thank me. :D

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Just register aquinn while you're at it. Don't thank me. :D

ha ha I said exactly the same to her earlier :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Yeaeeeeeeee you're back in the game whoop whoop :):) Delighted to hear you enjoyed your LSR. Having company on the LSRs makes them so much easier on the mind, fair play to Aquinn and the Aussie guy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Feeling fantastic and ready to register? I'd forgotten about the stairs, accurate description and the understanding young lad waiting for us to hobble down as holding onto both rails left him no option to pass.
    A really fantastic run, I still can't believe I managed it and am not broken. Will even do a recovery run, when I get up.
    Oh and I'm not doing DCM on two weeks training so you can all scrap that plan.