One nights stands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Also I'd just like to take this opportunity to thank shows like desperate housewives and sex in the city for allowing women to feel the need to be complete hoors. Sex has gotten so much better in the last 10 years and also so much easier, thank you very much.

I'd personally like to thank my mother, rather than a TV show, for never passing on some misplaced sense of shame about enjoyment of sex. I think you'll find Dennis, that it's less a case of anyone or anything "allowing" women to feel the need to be complete hoors and more a case of society no longer holding them back from their natural desires. You can thank the Mammies of the generation you're riding for that one, not some crappy tv show. Cheers. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Have had a few ONS, not near as enjoyable as sex when in a relationship IMO. I was usually plastered so I'm sure that didn't help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

I would be up for a ons but my girlfriend would probably complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

I would be up for a ons but my girlfriend would probably complain.

And we all know how hypocritical that would be. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

I find the drunken 3am sex is exciting but as sex goes it's rarely up there with the best. the sober casual sex though can be pretty intense with the right lady

I think STI's are over hyped to be honest. The media make it sound like there is a plague out there. But in reality when you break the numbers down it's quite low like a few hundred in a city of over a million is small change.
    Not saying the consequences aren't serious or advocating not using condoms though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I've never had one and probably never will, just because I don't like the idea of shagging someone I don't know.

Fair play to anyone who likes them, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

arayess wrote: »
    I find the drunken 3am sex is exciting but as sex goes it's rarely up there with the best. the sober casual sex though can be pretty intense with the right lady

I think STI's are over hyped to be honest. The media make it sound like there is a plague out there. But in reality when you break the numbers down it's quite low like a few hundred in a city of over a million is small change.
    Not saying the consequences aren't serious or advocating not using condoms though

Compare St James sti clinic from 10 years ago to present day...its quite frightening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Compare St James sti clinic from 10 years ago to present day...its quite frightening

They can even download weekly reports from
    Health Protection Surveillance Centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

They can even download weekly reports from
    Health Protection Surveillance Centre.

Well that killed the bloody thread stone dead didn't it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

youtube! wrote: »
    Well that killed the bloody thread stone dead didn't it??

It ain't no joke when you're sitting in there with a couple of hundred people all locked in tunnel vision...trust me :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Whats your thought on ONS. Have you had one ? If not would you ?

I myself have never had one in fear of picking up an STI or getting someone pregnant. Also not to mention the awkwardness the following morning.

How would you avoid this with a non-ONS? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I've had a few but most were with people I already knew like a lad from college or an old friend.
    Never really found them awkward the next day you just get on with it.

I just find it annoying that mindset of a girl who sleeps with someone she dosen't know is a slut where as the lad sleeping with the unknown girl gets off scot free.Two consenting adult using protection isn't anyone's business bar theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I myself have never had one in fear of picking up an STI or getting someone pregnant. Also not to mention the awkwardness the following morning.

Yeah right, as if a guy is gonna turn down sex.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

10 years ago I met a nice girl from the james hospital used to do some work in the STI clinic too.
    nice memories...:)

I'd go private for a test so I guess I don't know james.

10 years ago your one told me they'd a lot of repeat offenders , who went back to the same person who infected them in the first place.
    I guess the "only enough blood for your brain or your cock to function" is right

I read the papers and they saw some STI is rising dramatically and the you see there were 300 cases in the year ..and I'm thinking that's not a huge number.
    Plus I don't associate with risk groups like IV users

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Wouldn't have one. A girl prepared to put out after only meeting a guy is most likely carrying or has carried an STI.

Yeah, like you'd know.

This is the usual excuse from people who are crap at pulling women.

I've had a few but most were with people I already knew like a lad from college or an old friend.

I just find it annoying that mindset of a girl who sleeps with someone she dosen't know is a slut where as the lad sleeping with the unknown girl gets off scot free. Two consenting adult using protection isn't anyone's business bar theirs.

I find it a good barometer for someone I wouldn't have an ONS with. I think either the person themselves buys into that crap, or doesn't. I'm a guy and in the past I certainly didn't get off anything like scot free, but then I just figured well those people making those sort of judgments, would I want to sleep with them anyway?

No, I really wouldn't, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I just find it annoying that mindset of a girl who sleeps with someone she dosen't know is a slut where as the lad sleeping with the unknown girl gets off scot free.Two consenting adult using protection isn't anyone's business bar theirs.

I think it comes from the old age misconception that women do not enjoy sex and men are whore mongering savages when it comes it. I think the concept that men are much hornier than women is misconstrued tbh. Both sexes are pretty much on par with one other IMO or Ann Summers/Miss Fantasia and other sex shops would be out of business.

As you said, you should be able to sleep with whoever the hell you want to sleep with, without some busybody passing judgement on it. It doesn't affect them so they should jog on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't know anyone who thinks like that anymore. No one under 70 anyway. If that attitude was persistent in the people I know I'd be distancing myself from them tbh. That kind of prudish, outdated thinking based solely on gender lines has no place in a modern society. Sex is a good thing, a pleasurable experience. It's sad some people still use it as a way of judging others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I think it comes from the old age misconception that women do not enjoy sex and men are whore mongering savages when it comes it. I think the concept that men are much hornier than women is misconstrued tbh. Both sexes are pretty much on par with one other IMO or Ann Summers/Miss Fantasia and other sex shops would be out of business.

As you said, you should be able to sleep with whoever the hell you want to sleep with, without some busybody passing judgement on it. It doesn't affect them so they should jog on.

If the past has taught us anything it is that those who are quick to pass judgement and condemn are the ones with the most to hide. The church in ireland is a good example of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

If only there was a way of avoiding STIs...

Not sticking your dick in diseased skanks would be a start.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I don't know anyone who thinks like that anymore. No one under 70 anyway. If that attitude was persistent in the people I know I'd be distancing myself from them tbh. That kind of prudish, outdated thinking based solely on gender lines has no place in a modern society. Sex is a good thing, a pleasurable experience. It's sad some people still use it as a way of judging others

It's one that a lot of people would wish would die out already, but it's still as prevalent in society as it always was, in my experience anyway. Funny thing is, it's actually less prevalent in the over 70's, than it is among the under 30's.

Schwiiing wrote: »

Keeping your dick to yourself is an even better start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

This from a guy (presumably) who calls himself SCHWIIING for god's sake! What are ye.....12?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

Perhaps they reduced their risk, or even avoided conceiving in the first place, with contraception?
    That doesn't give 100% guaruntee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Not having sex ever also helps avoid STIs. I'm sure that won't be too difficult for you :)

ALiasEX wrote: »
    That doesn't give 100% guaruntee.

I never said it does, and nowhere in the post you quoted to make your point about not knowing who the father was, did the poster make any mention of any woman having gotten pregnant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I've had loads, but the sex is always a let down. You can't beat sex with someone who knows what you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Saipanne wrote: »
    I've had loads, but the sex is always a let down. You can't beat sex with someone who knows what you like.

Ah it's easy, all women like the same thing. Bitta finger banging, few licks like a parched labrador drinkin' watur, six or eight almighty thrusts, obligatory "I'm gonna come now!" more of a threat than a promise, and roll off. Done & dusted in 25mins flat.