Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I didn't know cars have knees and wear dresses. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

GvidoR wrote: »
    I didn't know cars have knees and wear dresses. :P

You only saw what you want to see :P we're discussing payments for a car :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I can't really explain why but the M5 is just another E39 to me. I really just like the odd stuff that isn't the stuff ordinary people lust after, probably why I drive a 166 and not a 525.:) To me the MG and the Monaro are fantastically strange.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Ah here, I don't like picking on someones actual car but this "german dashes are the best" dogma cracks me up sometimes!

I always liked the dash in my mk5 golf I think the Passat is nice to only thing I don't like is the walnut around the clocks on the them. I always found the purple colour they light up to be easy on the eyes at night although the white backlighting used in the newer Passat/ golf etc probably looks better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,781 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I need to get some photos but I'm sure this will lad to a little wee from some posters.

I live in London and 6 months ago sold my flat and moved. A friend of mine (a Kerrywoman) has recently move to Dublin and her flat is up for sale in the same development. Today I heard over to check that it was ok; I parked in my old space and looked around - there are two new cars. An Alfa 8C spyder and 4C, very cute but the 8C is in a disabled spot and I doubt that sch is necessary.. I live now in St James so McLarens and Lambos (not to mind Ferraris and RRs) are a daily aight. The Alfas were fairly special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Looks like a speed van is setting up on the Waterford road, Kilkenny this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Anyone know of a way I can find out the reg of a car I had years ago? It was my first car and began with 98-W, I can't remember the last digits at all. I remember every other reg I've owned but can't for the life of me remember this one :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Anyone know of a way I can find out the reg of a car I had years ago? It was my first car and began with 98-W, I can't remember the last digits at all. I remember every other reg I've owned but can't for the life of me remember this one :(

Keep guessing numbers on motorcheck :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

5W30 wrote:
    Keep guessing numbers on motorcheck

There's a daily limit to that would you believe!

What about Motor Tax Transaction Enquiry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Nice little engine. :)

25,480 L
    110,000 horsepower
    7,592,580 nm of torque

How-Does-The-World-039-s-Biggest-Combustion-Engine-Work-3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ask the insurance company you were with.
    Maybe you could do a FOI request?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

25,480 L
    110,000 horsepower
    7,592,580 nm of torque...

Wärtsilä-Sulzer RTA96-C. And no, I didn't Google it. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

25,480 L
    110,000 horsepower
    7,592,580 nm of torque

How-Does-The-World-039-s-Biggest-Combustion-Engine-Work-3.jpg

What's she like on daysul though ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Fcuk that, what's the tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The 14-cylinder version fitted to the Emma Mærsk, a 170,000-odd gross-tonnage container ship, howls to about 100 RPM and burns 3,000 Imperial gallons of marine oil per hour with the toe down past the carpet. You asked. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ask the insurance company you were with.
    Maybe you could do a FOI request?

Tried that but it was so long ago that it wasn't available on their system.

Funnily enough I actually got it by guessing! 98-W-1605!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Tried that but it was so long ago that it wasn't available on their system.

Funnily enough I actually got it by guessing! 98-W-1605!

A green Rover 400......Jaysus!!

Dia1988 wrote: »
    A green Rover 400......Jaysus!!

My dad had a 1997 414i. Absolute kettle of a car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

5W30 wrote: »
    My dad had a 1997 414i. Absolute kettle of a car...

Kettle?

I associate kettle with tea and tea is good. So it was a good car?

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Kettle?

I associate kettle with tea and tea is good. So it was a good car?

If you like coolant with tea bags then sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Anyone know of any decent autobox specialists in Cork or just gearbox specialists? Think I might need an oil and filter change as mine is getting a bit laggy.

Naas gearbox centre in the lough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Patww79 wrote: »

The real SQ5 is a TDi, a 3.0 I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Anyone know of any decent autobox specialists in Cork or just gearbox specialists? Think I might need an oil and filter change as mine is getting a bit laggy.
    There is the Cork gearbox centre in little island too. Never used them myself mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

A Getz or ka ye that would be ideal for those long college commutes. The article goes on about commuting to college which you think would mean you would be traveling a decent distance as if you lived home wise close to college you wouldn't be renting. Then all they do is suggest tiny town cars. Who writes these articles at all. I kind of get the logic behind it I think if I hadn't as much college course work and lectures I'd of commuted.

http://m.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/how-investing-in-a-5000-car-for-college-can-be-a-good-alternative-to-skyhigh-rents-31529712.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

My buddy got his Astra OPC box reconditioned in Cork Gearbox Centre in little island. He was happy, they did it quickly and for a decent price. And it's been perfect ever since... They're down by kart mania in little island

CIP4 wrote: »
    A Getz or ka ye that would be ideal for those long college commutes. The article goes on about commuting to college which you think would mean you would be traveling a decent distance as if you lived home wise close to college you wouldn't be renting. Then all they do is suggest tiny town cars. Who writes these articles at all. I kind of get the logic behind it I think if I hadn't as much college course work and lectures I'd of commuted.

http://m.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/how-investing-in-a-5000-car-for-college-can-be-a-good-alternative-to-skyhigh-rents-31529712.html

It's the indo. I dont think a great amount if thought went into it apart from how much space it would fill.

PCP suggestion is comical