Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

5W30 wrote: »
    What happens with engine swaps in cars generally? Say I have a BXE engined Passat and the engine is replaced with a different engine code and different mileage. Do garages normally change the odometer to match the new motor or does it stay the same?

As Colm said generally the right thing to do in this case is leave the clock alone as the body has done the indicated odometer mileage and generally most of the time whatever replacement engine you get is going to be lower mileage than what's on the car. Anyone I know of that has got a replacement engine has never touched the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

5ub wrote: »
    Doing some man maths this evening and looking at a WRC kitted Fabia VRs. Could hang onto the Defender I'm driving on loan from a family member but I don't know which would be worse then on my commute.

Stressful

I know them feelz :pac:

http://aandkmotorsport.com/epages/095a1555-4b43-460d-96a8-d9e75d093e60.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/095a1555-4b43-460d-96a8-d9e75d093e60/Categories/Webshop/Ford/Focus_ST225/Suspension/Bushes_and_Arms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭5ub

Lol.

Its just a kitted Fabia right now, blank canvas otherwise which means sooner or later it'll be like a Defender on the road if my old C4 is anything to go by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Hal1 wrote: »

wheel-vs-rim-5512cedb81180.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Think I just found my old Passat on DD ... seems to have had a significant mileage haircut though!

This it?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10389751
    VW PASSAT VERY LOW MILEAGE FOR SALE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

GvidoR wrote: »
    wheel-vs-rim-5512cedb81180.jpg

Now tell me what rimming a wheel is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,310 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

166man wrote: »
    This it?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10389751
    VW PASSAT VERY LOW MILEAGE FOR SALE

Yup.. half tempted to ring it and see what they say but sure it's not like you can really do anything

See one of the last pics I took attached.. note the slight wear on the bottom of the light switch and the Parrot screen. You can actually make out the odometer too.. it doesn't start with 15 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I will entertain no further criticisms of Japanese/Korean dashes compared to German dashes:
    46498487.jpeg

Personal taste and all kaiser, but that dash definitely doesn't float my mid 20th century motor cruiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I will entertain no further criticisms of Japanese/Korean dashes compared to German dashes:
    46498487.jpeg

Personal taste and all kaiser, but that dash definitely doesn't float my mid 20th century motor cruiser.

But you can pretend your flying in a WWII fighter plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Yup.. half tempted to ring it and see what they say but sure it's not like you can really do anything

See one of the last pics I took attached.. note the slight wear on the bottom of the light switch and the Parrot screen. You can actually make out the odometer too.. it doesn't start with 15 :(
    report the ad. they'll take it down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Same thing can be said about the automatic gear lever, yuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    report the ad. they'll take it down

They'd always ask for evidence in cases like this going on experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Loogit dis, lah. Note well. It's called class:

362441.jpg

But you can pretend your flying in a WWII fighter plane.
    My first thought was if it was a convertible at least you could throw on googles and a leather helmet/cap and go around making ack-ack-ack-ack-neeeeeyom noises. :D

Ah here, I don't like picking on someones actual car but this "german dashes are the best" dogma cracks me up sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It's called ancient....especially that phone! I've seen cave drawings on google of guys using that! :pac:

Ha jim goose is enda kenny, the phone proves it! Have they ever been seen in the same room together? I think not!

The dash in my B6 Pisshat rattled like a octogenarians hips at a social night in the Parish hall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

OSI wrote: »
    Sure no need to report it. A B6 Passat with no check engine light on? Obvious to anyone it's been fiddled with :pac:

My eml glow has given my beard a lovely ginger hue (Ya that's it!)

Meanwhile, at BMW

bmw-2-series-gran-tourer-lines-and-equipment-sport-line-01.jpg.resource.1440575803640.jpg

2015-09-15T064.jpg
    Mein Gott voss ist dis scheisse?

photo from here
    http://www.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/bmw-boss-faints-on-stage-at-frankfurt-auto-show-as-he-introduces-new-bmw-model-31527420.html

Probably wasn't the gran tourer,but it would be a wasteif fainted while announcing a nice car.

My uncle bought one and became highly offended when I asked him did he like his new Kia.

Meanwhile, at BMW

bmw-2-series-gran-tourer-lines-and-equipment-sport-line-01.jpg.resource.1440575803640.jpg

2015-09-15T064.jpg
    Mein Gott voss ist dis scheisse?

I saw one of these from the side in a car park last week and thought "someone's put BMW wheels on a Nissan note"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's called ancient....especially that phone! I've seen cave drawings on google of guys using that! :pac:
    Ha jim goose is enda kenny, the phone proves it! Have they ever been seen in the same room together? I think not!

The two of ye can gan foork. Ye wouldn't know class if it leaped up and bit ye on the arse-cheek!! :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    The two of ye can gan foork. Ye wouldn't know class if it leaped up and bit ye on the arse-cheek!! :D

True, I've even started tucking my trackies into my socks now to fit in
    97qqg6.jpg

Reported the ad anyway.. we'll see what happens. I can send them on a few pics if needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I saw one of these from the side in a car park last week and thought "someone's put BMW wheels on a Nissan note"

Ah now, the new note looks a lot better than that yoke!

It actually does. I thought it must be a Hyundai ix20 or kia venga or note. I honestly didn't think it could be a BMW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

CianRyan wrote: »
    Ah now, the new note looks a lot better than that yoke!

The Note Impul surely does.

pictures_nissan_note_2008_1_b.jpg

w_15475709371266425560.jpg

I don't think the Note is that bad tbh, I'm still unsure about the Pulsar. Been in Vincents hospital since yesterday afternoon. It's ****ing mental. How anyone works here I don't know, staff have it hard.

That Note looks very Honda Jazz/Fit-ish to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I don't think the Note is that bad tbh, I'm still unsure about the Pulsar. Been in Vincents hospital since yesterday afternoon. It's ****ing mental. How anyone works here I don't know, staff have it hard.

I think the pulsar looks well from the front but it looks very high off the ground and juke like from the back and side.