Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    The players have said no to Ronan McCarthy and Ciaran O Sullivan combination ...I think the dogs in the street know that our best man is John Cleary ...the CCB know that ....he wants the job in his terms the CCB want him to take it on there terms ...if it was any other county they would say John its yours what do you need to make this a success we will be with you all the way ...but this is the CCB we are dealing with.

How would Cleary know what terms the board wants when according to some on here he refuses to make himself available for interview?
    In any other walk of life a lad too haughty to attend an interview and yet expecting a job would be laughed out of it. If Cleary wants the job and sees the interview process beneath him he needs a monumental kick up the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Agree on that point.

But the showcase of minor hurling is being devalued considerably in the first place by playing on a Monday night. What are Rebel Og thinking. Apart from anything else, a lot of these guys are Leaving Cert and have school the next day.
    Play the finals on a Saturday afternoon (or a Friday night) and give the winners an opportunity to enjoy their success and the losers a chance to recover.

V unfair for young fellas to play under lights. I been at a couple of finals at this grade and the wide count tends to huge and I seen a couple of v bad belts with guys mistiming overhead pulls when losing the ball in the glare and connecting with opponents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Cleary did the interview process two years ago lost out because he would not agree to among other things the dual player ...this is a man that has taking Cork football teams down to Tralee in championship and came away winners he has beaten Jim Gavin of Dublin at u21 level ...people like Jim McGuinness and Gavin had success with there u21 teams and were head hunted for the senior posts in those countys ...nobody comes close to Cleary in trophys won at u21 he knows all these players ...its a no brainer ...I have met Kerry football people in the last while and they ask me when are the county board going to appoint Cleary ...Cleary knows whats required for management at this level ..but the CCB are not going to give him or any one else the required rescources or personnel to do the job properly ...yesterday in her victory speech by the wonderfull camogie captain Ashling Thomson she said I cant mention management as ye are too numerous to mention.....Cleary wont go on to this job for the sake of it like the last fella ..he will take it if hes giving every possible chance and support in bringing Cork football back to the top again..he wont do that with one hand tied behind his back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

Cleary did the interview process two years ago lost out because he would not agree to among other things the dual player ...this is a man that has taking Cork football teams down to Tralee in championship and came away winners he has beaten Jim Gavin of Dublin at u21 level ...people like Jim McGuinness and Gavin had success with there u21 teams and were head hunted for the senior posts in those countys ...nobody comes close to Cleary in trophys won at u21 he knows all these players ...its a no brainer ...I have met Kerry football people in the last while and they ask me when are the county board going to appoint Cleary ...Cleary knows whats required for management at this level ..but the CCB are not going to give him or any one else the required rescources or personnel to do the job properly ...yesterday in her victory speech by the wonderfull camogie captain Ashling Thomson she said I cant mention management as ye are too numerous to mention.....Cleary wont go on to this job for the sake of it like the last fella ..he will take it if hes giving every possible chance and support in bringing Cork football back to the top again..he wont do that with one hand tied behind his back...

What match in Tralee do you speak of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭ted2767

Lads I don't post here all that often and as I now live outside of Cork am maybe somewhat distant from the goings on
    But for the life of me I cannot understand the position of the clubs in all of this
    Surely to f**k in a couple of hundred clubs there are more than a few who will stand up to the CCB and say enough is enough
    If the clubs won't why aren't members asking questions at club meetings
    Like I said I am somewhat removed but sometimes distance gives a different perspective to things
    Feel free to shoot me down or point out the errors in my logic by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Agree on that point.

But the showcase of minor hurling is being devalued considerably in the first place by playing on a Monday night. What are Rebel Og thinking. Apart from anything else, a lot of these guys are Leaving Cert and have school the next day.
    Play the finals on a Saturday afternoon (or a Friday night) and give the winners an opportunity to enjoy their success and the losers a chance to recover.

It should be played before the Senior County final. Playing it on Monday night is ridiculous

Munster u21 football final 2012 Cork 2-12 Kerry 1-14 in Tralee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Cork camoige was mentioned here as being an example of good coaching by a poster.
    He's right, just look at the cork managment back room team in camoige.
    Paudie Murray is a terrific coach but he's performance analysis in niall Collins who is hugely rated and Sean cremin of cork under age sides and who doing great work with the barrs in they have long way to go but he's making soild foundation there, are all involved.
    Again Murray is good but the key is he surrounded himself with top management.
    Doctor Wesley o brien who is in to sports science in ucc was an advisor.
    An ameauteaur team but a professional set up in every way.
    But also this isn't a surprise.
    I said last year in the lead up to the final, v kk Murray in year one as coach year cork had to rebuild, brought in caroline currid as performance coach previously under him.
    Gemma o connor in the lead up to the final v Wexford three years ago with the awesome Kieran shannon spoke of how coaching was poor the year before and it was way off and when Murray got the gig he and players told each other what they expected.
    Imagine your looking to belive in a set up and ist thing a manager does he brings in performance coach who won all ireland with Tyrone football, tippeary in hurling and Dublin in football in a similar role.
    A statement of intent This guy means business.
    Last year he brought in Cusack to talk to the team in cit and brought them on training camp to spike island.
    Murray always is excellent personified.
    Last year he said cork had at least one all ireland in them but the key was even he left the structure was there.
    It's all about excellent management now even in the ladies game.
    You look at management in any code, you look at records it's easy to make a short list of realistic contenders.
    In four years of management Murray got cork to three finals winning two.
    You must bring in proven quality in the back room that the players can buy in to. He brought in Kevin mulchay strength and conditions coach who worked with an afl team, again he's expirence in working with professional team huge bonus to cork.
    Cork camoige had a performance related coach.
    Years ago that would have been laughed at.
    But this is now imperative in modern sports and just like ladies football cork women gaa take their game seriously and with the respect it deserves.
    The cork camoige and ladies football some day soon will be top of the roll of honour in both codes, it's not if just when as Cork are equal in camoige and close to kerry in football.
    Where does it all begin.
    It's begin with a simple change of attuide and not expecting less or cork have no right every year to win but more of cork have every right to be competing every year for all ireland in both codes.
    It will take huge radical change but in time with the right attuide and the money invested and the right people driving the wheel cork gaa in the man's game could be the same
    The ist step however is a cultural change of attitude and we have to think like kk kerry and Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Minor premier ! hurling final refixed for next Monday night 21st in Pairc ui Rinn.
    Premier 2 final refixed for Fermoy on Wednesday 23rd .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

ted2767 wrote: »
    Lads I don't post here all that often and as I now live outside of Cork am maybe somewhat distant from the goings on
    But for the life of me I cannot understand the position of the clubs in all of this
    Surely to f**k in a couple of hundred clubs there are more than a few who will stand up to the CCB and say enough is enough
    Like I said I am somewhat removed but sometimes distance gives a different perspective to things
    The last thing on most clubs minds is the Cork senior hurling and football teams. Clubs have enough problems of their own without worrying about Cork teams. Supporters not involved actively in clubs are more worried about Cork teams than their parish team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Pat Mulcahy not going for the job so?

County Board Announce Hurling Appointments Committee. At tonights meeting Cork GAA Board confirmed the following appointments in respect of Cork Senior Hurling management.

Senior Hurling

The Board approved the following Appointments Committee -

Ger Lane (Bride Rovers) - Chairman

Frank Murphy (Blackrock) - Secretary

Charlie McCarthy (St Finbarr's)

Sean O’Gorman (Milford)

Pat Mulcahy (Newtownshandrum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Producer Ben

He's some man for a committee is our Frank!

Pat Mulcahy said he was not interested in the job now .

Pat Mulcahy not going for the job so?

County Board Announce Hurling Appointments Committee. At tonights meeting Cork GAA Board confirmed the following appointments in respect of Cork Senior Hurling management.

Senior Hurling

The Board approved the following Appointments Committee -

Ger Lane (Bride Rovers) - Chairman

Frank Murphy (Blackrock) - Secretary

Charlie McCarthy (St Finbarr's)

Sean O’Gorman (Milford)

Pat Mulcahy (Newtownshandrum)

Mulchay is a good man on the committee but again as shannon said in the football the ccb hold the real power if it comes to it
    McCarthy and gorman were brilliant players but as manager they have not won anything of note and imo only proven ex managers should be on committee to pick a new manager
    As they know what's required
    How can you expect lads no real record management pick senior cork manger is the concern

Munster u21 football final 2012 Cork 2-12 Kerry 1-14 in Tralee.

Wouldn't give Cleary many brownie points for that game CD. I was at it and couldn't believe how he left his clubmate at full back where he was destroyed by Cox all night long and Mark Sugrue at No 14 where he was out of his natural position. OK they won it but didn't do much after that.

wackokid wrote: »
    Wouldn't give Cleary many brownie points for that game CD. I was at it and couldn't believe how he left his clubmate at full back where he was destroyed by Cox all night long and Mark Sugrue at No 14 where he was out of his natural position. OK they won it but didn't do much after that.
    I'd fully agree cahalane is not a full back in he's better half back or even midfield
    However as even seen the following year when varley of Galway caused him huge problem in the all ireland final i think to be fair to cleary cork had no real options at full back then

As for sugrue he's not a full forward but I thought he played the roaming role well

I understand a lot people say clearly should won more with cork fair enough but imo clearly done more than others in won lot munster titles and yes only munster but when you add in haven record and Cork ladies at minor to be fair none of the previous management have any success so clearly has to be better

Out of all four candidates he's record stands out
    Ephie would be a good man and English also in all three are better than McCarthy who while a great player McCarthy has won nothing in management
    I would think any of clearly English and Fitzgerald would be okay
    Who would you think would be a good manager out of the candidates available

Pat Mulcahy said he was not interested in the job now .

He would have been good

Football still hasn't been announced it was put back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

The ist step however is a cultural change of attitude and we have to think like kk kerry and Dublin.

Cusack identified one of the main issues with Cork IC GAA. Frank and many others in the Executive have no understanding of what's involved in preparation and management of elite GAA teams.

I believe that the Chairman and some others on the Executive are now recognising this and hence ex players now involved in selection committees. Whether they've picked the right ex players is another matter but at least, it has to be a positive step in moving the power away from Administrators.

Many fear that we won't see the cultural change of attitude that you've correctly identified as necessary - as long as the likes of Frank and Pearse are occupying pivotal positions in Cork GAA.

It's impossible to predict how this will pan out but I'd say Lane is intelliegent and he's been involved with Frank for long enough to see the mayheim that our Runai can create - he knows that Frank would probably frustrate this process and look to regain control so we just have to hope that he had a good input on picking the 6 ex players because they have a vital role in assisiting in the recovery process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Good Question Ted. The GAA is, in theory, a very democratic organisation. But, in reality, the decision making procedures are undemocratic because a small few in the Execuitve effectively dictate policy.

Anyone that's ever opposed Frank in any way has usually experienced retribution in the same way that loyalty has also been rewarded.

Most Chairman either didn't have much of a clue of what was going on or wnet with the flow for an easy life or to enhance career opportunity. Dolan, O Sullivan and Ryan have all been very ineffective Chairmen. Time will tell if Lane and Kennedy are better.

It's not realistic for clubs to make decisions on aspects of governance and direct their delegates accordingly. The Club Executive is generally more exercised in club matters such as survival and/or success in club competition. Many see a successful IC scenario as making their job more difficult. They can't appreciate that IC success is vital to attract the kids.

That's a loaded question TTM as we don't know all the candidates available.
    The very 1st requirement is a top football coach and since B.Morgan isn't in the picture I suspect such an animal doesn't exist in Cork.
    I'd be fairly sure there are other candidates available or would make themselves available if the culture changed at executive level. By that I mean, something you are always saying, a real interest in being the best that we can be at gaelic football. The first thing that coach would instill into each and every player is the ability to keep the ball safetly or give it properly to a team mate. He would make them spend hours watching DVD's of Kerry and now Dublin and Donegal to see how these lads value possession. No need for coaching manuals to figure that one out.

I honestly don't think any of the named candidates will make a blind bit of difference to Cork football and that's not a reflection on them. Without serious backup from the top table, we will continue to make up the numbers and possibly win a title every twenty years or so when an exceptional bunch of players come on stream and we have a slice of luck here and there. We should all know by now that underage titles mean very little when it comes to senior intercounty football which is now an animal we could never have expected to see as recently as twenty years ago.

That's a loaded question TTM as we don't know all the candidates available.
    The very 1st requirement is a top football coach and since B.Morgan isn't in the picture I suspect such an animal doesn't exist in Cork.
    I'd be fairly sure there are other candidates available or would make themselves available if the culture changed at executive level. By that I mean, something you are always saying, a real interest in being the best that we can be at gaelic football. The first thing that coach would instill into each and every player is the ability to keep the ball safetly or give it properly to a team mate. He would make them spend hours watching DVD's of Kerry and now Dublin and Donegal to see how these lads value possession. No need for coaching manuals to figure that one out.

I honestly don't think any of the named candidates will make a blind bit of difference to Cork football and that's not a reflection on them. Without serious backup from the top table, we will continue to make up the numbers and possibly win a title every twenty years or so when an exceptional bunch of players come on stream and we have a slice of luck here and there. We should all know by now that underage titles mean very little when it comes to senior intercounty football which is now an animal we could never have expected to see as recently as twenty years ago.
    I'd agree with a lot what you say particularly about Morgan however I think we have our four candidates English, clearly Fitzgerald and McCarthy and while no one knows certain if win all ireland the past two years showed how bad things can get its imperative cork pick the right manager out of the four available

I honestly think kerry and Dublin have made huge ground the past year and Cork have lot make up however I see nothing in the outside team to say we're way off

Donegal are old team and don't have a panel of depth but while they have a good modern coach and a brilliant system they have limations but would be hard to beat but can still be beaten

Mayo I never belived this media hype this year
    They had a easy connaught, Donegal were tired and Dublin dominated the ist game but no games finished flat
    Dublin are delighted with the extra game and while mayo be fair showed character and spirt and management done well there they showed huge tactics naivety as many pundits said after Dublin game

They have been around a long while now and no real forward coming through and coaching is not good as under horan and coughlan and if buckley goes then they are not force of old
    Tyrone under harte are building a good team and yes would be contender next year but Cork always seem suited by Tyrone

Galway are the real upcoming team i feel but there's nothing to say cork can't be top four year one good coaching
    Mcguimness spoke in the times how kerry Dublin way ahead rest and he's right in both have young talent coming through and the money to invest
    That's why cork should appointed top management Two years ago in kerry were vulnerable
    Not any more.
    The junior all ireland win, the success school and the minor, the ucc success the new centre excellent and all levels having good management with minor awaiting kerry are in a huge strong place and Cork if got it right two years ago would been ahead them

Unfortunately now cork huge ground make up but top four being competitive next year is realistic goal
    Mcguimness said cork can win all ireland in three years if management are right, get luck and good championship draw and injury free
    I think championship draw is irrelevant in you have beat like Donegal done best sooner or later
    As for luck I think the great manager that's huge work rate team will make there own luck
    Bridge corkery said sunday cork knew once they worked hard kept working hard they would get a break
    I think English Fitzgerald or cleary would demand high standards if they went in from there teams and demand huge support also

The point you make about study Donegal etc I agree with and English is huge fan there style and even said that before won all ireland three years ago interview
    Fitzgerald big in to modern coaching also
    You see county like tipp football doing excellent at minor and under twenty one football no excuse cork not be doing same
    I honestly believe cork have the talent to win football all ireland and I don't think we should accept our fate one every twenty years
    Cork needs change there legacy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

The people in clubs that are doing the work have only a passing interest in the inter county set up and are more interested in furthering their own clubs interests and its the people in clubs put the county board in place.every club trades their way to the best advantage to themselves and there is alot of politicing goes on.alot of people call for franks head but maybe they should look at the examples of irac and Libya when a dictator is deposed the whole setup could go to pot.cant see why the county board have a problem with cleary nowcif they appointed him to other jobs before but we havent a clue what goes on behind the scenes and one suspects it still goes back to clubs furthering their own interests rather intercounty sucess.in my view who manages the senior teams is only window dressing compared to the problems existing with the structure s in not only cork county but gaa as a whole.soccer is moving its season to the summer which will have serious effects on player numbers and participation and if we dont take a long hard look at things we will become the third and fourth choice sport in ireland

John Cleary was involved in management for 10 Munster u21 football Championships ..2 All-Ireland titles and reached 2 more All-Ireland finals ...in Cork football I would give him more brownie points than any one else ...

I said THAT game CD and I think it was Leahy from the Barrs that ran the show in 2007. I could be wrong about that of course.

Yeah it was Tony Leahy as manager in 2007 but Cleary was a selector with him ...from 2004 onwards...he finished up with the u21s in 2013 ...that was 10 seasons .

Cleary gone could not put up with CCB politics ....shame on the 3 players who went along with Lane and Frank Murphy.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/cork-sport/john-cleary-withdraws-from-the-race-to-be-the-next-cork-football-manager/800053/
    It's true and this is a devastating set back to cork football and like I said despite some here preaching ccb had members board real change was happening well surely this shows how naive those views are as nothing has changed absoultey nothing has changed in cork

Everyone knew cleary wanted the job and he's right he had credentials
    They have picked former men long before any interview when interview just formality surely something could been done clearly
    It actually shows cork football learned nothing when Ronan McCarthy now favourite with Fitzgerald
    Nothing against McCarthy and I rated him above others in last management but he has won nothing as manager club county and Fitzgerald may have he's doubters but both inter county and club he's record much better than McCarthy

People think change happened ccb level
    No it did not
    Cleary would been symbol change offered job
    Cork football loss ladies gain as have no doubt next cork ladies management
    Interesting to see what Eammon Sweeney and shannon write next few days about this
    The way the football has unfolded hardly vote confidence hurling

And in today paper lane said cork would do everything can get best hurling management and football do same etc etc etc
    You can't blame players on sub committee
    It's like shannon said when comes it they have no real control in the appointment
    Anyone that thought utter wise was having unrealistic expectations
    Committe might have looked good in theory

Cleary gone could not put up with CCB politics ....shame on the 3 players who went along with Lane and Frank Murphy.

It's unfair to blame the players
    They never had any real influence imo
    Not there fault at all

Cusack identified one of the main issues with Cork IC GAA. Frank and many others in the Executive have no understanding of what's involved in preparation and management of elite GAA teams.

I believe that the Chairman and some others on the Executive are now recognising this and hence ex players now involved in selection committees. Whether they've picked the right ex players is another matter but at least, it has to be a positive step in moving the power away from Administrators.

Many fear that we won't see the cultural change of attitude that you've correctly identified as necessary - as long as the likes of Frank and Pearse are occupying pivotal positions in Cork GAA.

It's impossible to predict how this will pan out but I'd say Lane is intelliegent and he's been involved with Frank for long enough to see the mayheim that our Runai can create - he knows that Frank would probably frustrate this process and look to regain control so we just have to hope that he had a good input on picking the 6 ex players because they have a vital role in assisiting in the recovery process.
    I knew there was no point saying in earlier to you cause even when it's black you will still try and convince it's white
    You surely realise after cleary now with drawing nothing has actually changed at board level and despite few good interest there board still do things there way and only there way