BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Feckin musicals?

Mad to think anyone ever would call metal the devil's music, in a world with - god help us - musicals.

Oh, sad smiley face. I am depressed.

Ray Lynam and the Hillbillies on Showbiz TV (Sky channel 266) - will that do? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Ray Lynam and the Hillbillies on Showbiz TV (Sky channel 266) - will that do? :D

Are you wearing that checky shirt and your stetson tonight WM??.....:D:D:D

It must be Thursday............:P

Dervla from the Crystal Swing got married? :eek: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Tish, that was ages ago WM...........at least three or four weeks ago.....

Mammy had a big hat, bling dress and there was a marquee in the garden for a sing-song before the mass........I though you were giving her away??......:eek::p

This Ritchie Remo music video is brilliant!

Work that digger :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

That whole Crystal Swing yokey...

Honestly, if people didn't mention it now and then, I'd be pretty sure it was in a weird dream I'd had.

A wee Bobby Gillespie of Primal Scream bashing the skins for the Mary Chain there

Ah, Dusty - fine soul voice :)

That sounds a bit like 'Black Eyed Boy' by Texas.

*cough*

A brand new series of 'Later...With Jools Holland' starts on Wednesday night on BBC Two (11.15pm in NI).

Foals, My Morning Jacket, Rickie Lee Jones, Disclosure, Sam Smith and Kwabs.

Plus Jools' old band, Squeeze! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

Foals just gave it loads with What Went Down..very impressive IMO !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Hello, lots of chances to catch up on programmes you might have missed coming up this weekend, still little in the way of new programmes alas. Beatles, Cilla, George Martin, Jools, TOTP2, Motown and Northern Soul are on the menu. They are looking for viewers to contribute to "The Peoples History of Pop", but that won't air until 2016 http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/latestnews/2015/peoples-history-of-pop

In the meantime ...

Friday

9pm & 1.25am Arena: Produced by George Martin
    Profile of the record producer, who early in his career worked on songs including Nellie the Elephant and Goodness Gracious Me, by Peter Sellers and Sophia Loren, before moving on to the Beatles and other artists. With contributions by Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, Cilla Black and Michael Palin, as well as George Martin's family

10.25pm & 2.55am Cilla at the BBC
    A compilation of memorable TV appearances by the late Cilla Black from the BBC archives. Cilla began her presenting career in 1968 on the BBC, having already become one of Britain's most popular singers. The programme features her appearances on Not Only, But Also, The Ken Dodd Show, Top of the Pops and The Royal Variety Performance as well as her self-titled series, plus her famous 1973 duet with Marc Bolan

11.25pm Sings The Beatles
    A look back through the BBC's archives at memorable covers of classic Beatles songs. Included are a performance of Day Tripper by Sandie Shaw, Shirley Bassey's version of Something, the Carpenters' rendition of Help!, Oasis's reinvention of I Am the Walrus, and Joe Cocker's chart-topping interpretation of With a Little Help from My Friends. Plus, Paul McCartney's solo performance of Lady Madonna

12.25am Love Me Do: The Beatles '62
    In a programme first shown in 2012, Stuart Maconie presents a celebration of the 50th anniversary of the release of the Beatles' first hit single Love Me Do. The presenter meets people who knew the Fab Four back in the day, as he explores the socio-economic situation of Liverpool in the 1960s, the reason for the city becoming the hub of a thriving pop culture and how much things have changed since then

11.05pm (BBC 2) Later with Jools Holland
    Pianist, bandleader, singer and broadcasting veteran Jools Holland returns with the second set of this year's music showcases, recorded earlier this week at Maidstone Studios. This session features English indie rock band Foals, Louisville rock band My Morning Jacket and California's Rickie Lee Jones and the reformed Squeeze, which counts Jools himself among its founding members. There is also a performance by Disclosure, the London-based songwriter-producer brothers Howard and Guy Lawrence, who are joined by Sam Smith and Kwabs to showcase tracks from their second album

Saturday

11.30pm Sings Motown
    A compilation of Motown covers from the archive, spanning the 1960s to the present. Including Paul Weller and Amy Winehouse's I Heard It Through the Grapevine, Roberta Flack's version of Stevie Wonder's Never Dreamed You'd Leave in Summer, the Flying Lizards with Barrett Strong's Money (That's What I Want), Dusty Springfield performing Nowhere to Run and Kim Wilde's take on You Keep Me Hanging On

12.30am Northern Soul: Living For The Weekend
    A look at the rise, fall and rebirth of the music and dance movement that took place across the north of England during the 1970s. Archive footage and vivid first-hand accounts reveal the dynamic culture of fashions, dance moves and musical obsessions that were all fuelled by a unique style of black American soul music based on heavy beats. With contributions by Richard Searling, Ian Levine, Colin Kurtis, Kev Roberts, Pete Waterman, Peter Stringfellow and others

1.30am Love Me Do: The Beatles '62
    as above

2.30am TOTP2
    A `then and now' special featuring 1970s pop stars as they are now. Including archive footage of performances by Donny Osmond, Alice Cooper, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant and David Cassidy

Elsewhere, Sky Arts offers Black, White and Blues on Sunday at 8pm "Documentary examining the philosophy and development of blues in British music in the 1960s and 70s, featuring interviews and performance footage from Alexis Korner, Peter Townshend, Champion Jack Dupree, Muddy Waters, Peg Leg Howell, Savoy Brown, Fleetwood Mac and Chicken Shack. The film asks whether the British bands were beating American singers at their own game, or if they were simply creating their own unique sound"

In Movie action, Team America (Comedy Central Sunday at 9pm) has a proper soundtrack. F*** Yeah.

Have we seen The Beatles in '62 before?

Looks good, might 'av that.

Thanks Skid!

Have we seen The Beatles in '62 before?

Looks good, might 'av that.

Thanks Skid!

It hasn't been on since May 2013 Donie, so there's a fair chance you haven't seen it. I think it's new to me.

Looks decent alright, worth a gander

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01nfbt2

Other people singing Beatles songs always seems utterly pointless to me.

It makes no sense. The chances of improving it are...well there was Joe Cocker, then literally no one else ever.

Such a waste of time

A brass band doing Norwegian Wood.

What the hell is the point??

Other people singing Beatles songs always seems utterly pointless to me.

It makes no sense. The chances of improving it are...well there was Joe Cocker, then literally no one else ever.

Such a waste of time

I'd be inclined to disagree, to be honest Donie.

There are lots of very good Beatles covers. There is something in Beatles songs which leaves them open to different interpretations.

The original is rarely matched, but many people have done interesting covers

This is my personal favourite ...

Grumble grumble...

Fine, then.

And this Here comes the sun is brilliant. Hadn't seen it before.

Fine.

But Norwegian Wood was crap.

And while I'm narky, the talk box never improved anything.

On a very slightly on topic rant - Why is Ringo doing adverts for Skeechers runners? Don't do it, Ringo.

Although I like some of the photos in his new book

photography-p207-614px-nomag.jpg

http://www.genesis-publications.com/photograph-by-ringo-starr-the-signed-limited-edition/the-photography.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

youtube! wrote: »

Hmm.

Have to disagree, I'm afraid.

As for Ringo doing ads for runners? Ever since Paul turned up on Xfactor my brain doesn't acknowledge things that never happened. What are you talking about? :D

Ha, here you. Needn't have watched that youtube clip now!

Your man there sang "I must have said something wrong, how I long for yesterday .." which is a small but significant change from the original lyric!

Teardrop body guitars make me uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Hmm.

Have to disagree, I'm afraid.

As for Ringo doing ads for runners? Ever since Paul turned up on Xfactor my brain doesn't acknowledge things that never happened. What are you talking about? :D

Well I think old Gladys murders let it be but there ya go, our tastes show our diversities...good thing too, would be very boring if we all liked the same stuff.

youtube! wrote: »
    Well I think old Gladys murders let it be but there ya go, our tastes show our diversities...good thing too, would be very boring if we all liked the same stuff.

Dead right. I've said before the great thing about this thread is that I give a chance to things I had written off before, and quite often end up liking them.

Sometimes, however, I feel vindicated. Ain't that right, Tina?

Sax solo in Help!??

GET OUT!

For my money, even The Beatles Back in the USSR is a bit rubbish.

This bollocks is actually what I had in mind when I started whinging earlier.

Oh, woe is me.