Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Clonlara 0-14 NOF 0-9 after 20 minutes in the second half, Clonlara starting to pull away by all accounts.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Clonlara up 17-9 now after 60, game over.

Full time now, 19-10 (almost double scores).

Judging by today's results I know nothing about hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

^^^^^^

Sound for the updates Clareman.
    Kilmaley win the surprise of the day for me.

Sixmilebridge to join today's winners imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Clareman wrote: »

at half time it looked like newmarket were going to win handy , different stuff altogether from clonlara after the break again as i said before while newmarket have a solid back line they have very little up front very over reliant on colin's frees

it was hard stuff at times to watch given the excitement in the previous game , kilmaley will have to raise things again the next day if they are to trouble clon ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Very drunk now but I genuinely had no idea where you got the optimism for Newmarket.
    Thought they had shown nothing all year and have no youth coming though.

Weather staying good and my bet on clonlara is good.

Unlucky on ourselves to loose out in the semis of the 7's st.judes today.

We had a high class team in place but the teams from tip proved too strong. Mahers v mcgraths in the final!!

Very drunk now but I genuinely had no idea where you got the optimism for Newmarket.
    Thought they had shown nothing all year and have no youth coming though.

Weather staying good and my bet on clonlara is good.

To be honest I thought with Coli Lynch taking over them would have brought a bit of steel to them, throw in the fact that most of their main players would be mid to late 20s led me to believe they had a great chance.

Bridge knock out the defending champs by a point.

1-20 to 1-19

Crusheen v the bridge

Clonlara v kilmaley

Clonlara v bridge final id say

Some weekend for my predictions alright. With John Carmody over Crusheen I'll go for a Crusheen Kilmaley final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭letowski

Bridge knock out the defending champs by a point.

1-20 to 1-19

Crusheen v the bridge

Clonlara v kilmaley

Clonlara v bridge final id say

I'd be disappointed if I was from Cratloe, I thought they played well enough today despite being down to 14 and short McGrath and Podge. That would hurt any team. The Bridge for long stretches were 3/4 ahead but it was a close finish. Malone was excellent he got a rake of scores. The bridge have a decent chance of winning it this year, they are still undefeated in C'ship/Cup which is fair going. Looking at the last 4, they definitely have the biggest team left and will be tough to stop.

I'd still back Clon. Delighted for Kilmaley to win, they have produced some cracking underage sides so its good to see them breaking onto the scene.

Some weekend for my predictions alright. With John Carmody over Crusheen I'll go for a Crusheen Kilmaley final.

it wouldnt be outside the bounds of possibility should it happen , if there is one think it shows just how open the club championship is and better again id keeps the standard at a high level allowing greater scope for county teams

also none of them 4 teams would be out of place in the munster club championship , someone commented that there has been several winners in the last 15 years in clare and for the moment anyway the days of clarecastle and the bridge providing 15 players to an intercounty panel are a thing of the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

it wouldnt be outside the bounds of possibility should it happen , if there is one think it shows just how open the club championship is and better again id keeps the standard at a high level allowing greater scope for county teams

also none of them 4 teams would be out of place in the munster club championship , someone commented that there has been several winners in the last 15 years in clare and for the moment anyway the days of clarecastle and the bridge providing 15 players to an intercounty panel are a thing of the past

Hard to see past Clonlara and the Bridge.
    Crusheen are ageing a bit and have a lot of miles on the clock. Tight bunch of hurlers and are never easy beaten. You have to think that the Bridge will have too much for them. Crusheen didn't have enough forwards last year to get them over the line.

Kilmaley are still going to be short at least 3 first choice backs against a team that scored 19 points yesterday and have forwards. Tots is a joy to watch and a nightmare to hurl against. Unless Stack screws up the team selection Clonlara have to be at least 3 to 1 on to win.

a round up of games over the weekend , crusheen as expected got there win over cloony/quinn but were made work hard for 55 minuets for it before pulling away , ballyea and kilmaley provided a cracker in which a mix up in defense allowed mikey o'niell to set up connor bracken for a last second goal in extra time , probably deserved as ballyea had been awarded what looked very much like a square ball a few minuets earlier

clonlara made no mistake in brushing newmarket aside but sean stack wont be too happy with his troops first half display , revenge for the bridge today but all the signs of luck were on there side , 2 minuets in connor mcgrath was sent off , shane gleason steped up to the plate once again with a tally of 0-9 points at least 4 from play and set to become a regular at senior intercounty level before too much longer in my opinion

cathal molone and alan mulready were top scorers for the bridge with 0-6 and 1-03 respectively and all from play bridge major contenders now

intermeidite championship , broadford did enough to see of clarecastle's second team friday night , wolfe tones look favourites with another big win yesterday over corofin , smith o'briens continue to rise with a good win over scarriff while more narrow disappointment for partin , last years beaten finalists went down narrowly to sixmilebridge's second team
    while senior seems too hard to call at the moment i would imagine wolfe tones are probably too good for the second tier of clare hurling and set for a quick return to senior level

SHC 1/4 FINAL

Sixmilebridge 1-20 - 1-19 Cratloe

IHC 1/4 finals

Broadford 2-20 2-14 Clarecastle

Wolfe Tones 3-14 - 0-06 Corofin

Smith O'Briens 1-17 1-07 Scarrif

Sixmilebridge 0-18 - 1-13 Partin

Looks like the walls are closing in on us lads first on fear rua then the clare hurlers forum it's only a matter of time before we make a county board meeting, I agree in principle of people protesting against twitter updates while the meeting is on going, but I am starting to get worried when I hear people talk about taking us out. . . . . . Watch yer backs lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Looks like the walls are closing in on us lads first on fear rua then the clare hurlers forum it's only a matter of time before we make a county board meeting, I agree in principle of people protesting against twitter updates while the meeting is on going, but I am starting to get worried when I hear people talk about taking us out. . . . . . Watch yer backs lads

Could you expand on the above.

cnoc wrote: »
    Could you expand on the above.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/clare-gaa-demand-action-against-online-cowards-353025.html

I remember the last time they tried to "close down" sites I was brought into a meeting with the Don asking for help on what to do about all the leaks that were happening, he had a load of stuff printed off and I nearly wet myself when I saw that most of the posts with the leaks were from me :D

It's a nice distraction though isn't it that everyone is concerned about social media and not the fact that we'd a terrible GAA season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

citykat wrote: »
    Looks like the lunatics have taken over the asylum...

Don't underestimate the fear of the unknown of the Clare County Board, they don't like any kind of change or people getting inside their intersanctum, people finding out what they actually do is probably their biggest fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I honestly thought that article was a pisstake, I was rolling around the place laughing reading it.

It's absolutely hilarious- the Comhaltas bit really cracked me up and the way she says "take them down" four times in what is essentially the same sentence. Yer man 'never turned on a computer and never went near a website' so he's criticising things he hasn't even read. Classic.

It's full of brilliant funny lines, I genuinely thought it was a fake article written by some Limerick/Tipp person. It's even styled a bit like a Waterford Whispers article.

Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

My favourite bit was :

“There are a couple of journalists in this county and what they have written about Clare GAA is absolute ****e,” said Kildysart delegate John Meade.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/clare-gaa-demand-action-against-online-cowards-353025.html

I remember the last time they tried to "close down" sites I was brought into a meeting with the Don asking for help on what to do about all the leaks that were happening, he had a load of stuff printed off and I nearly wet myself when I saw that most of the posts with the leaks were from me :D

It's a nice distraction though isn't it that everyone is concerned about social media and not the fact that we'd a terrible GAA season.

How the hell did they bring you into a meeting? The online forms are anonymous he should have no idea who you are or any of us are in truth,

But it has been said to me in the past about one or two posts I have printed here, by people who are and one who was involved with clare management in the two years I have been on this, if they are going to start shutting down websites they may as well make a proposal to close all the pubs in the county while they are at at

This is what we have been talking about when we mention north Korea and the clare county board in the same breth . . . . For all those living out side the county

My favourite bit was :

“There are a couple of journalists in this county and what they have written about Clare GAA is absolute ****e,” said Kildysart delegate John Meade.

He was also quoted in saying "there was a ****ing stretcher in the park last week if ye opened yer ****ing eyes " when approached by a clare people journalist two weeks ago after connor cleary had to be carried of the field with out a stretcher in a club game

He's good with the F word if nothing else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭zetecescort

interesting to see its not just us in Cork who have clowns in high places

How the hell did they bring you into a meeting? The online forms are anonymous he should have no idea who you are or any of us are in truth,

But it has been said to me in the past about one or two posts I have printed here, by people who are and one who was involved with clare management in the two years I have been on this, if they are going to start shutting down websites they may as well make a proposal to close all the pubs in the county while they are at at

This is what we have been talking about when we mention north Korea and the clare county board in the same breth . . . . For all those living out side the county

They just don't understand the whole online thing and at the time I was fairly active in local GAA, giving advice on websites and stuff, things have changed a lot in a short period of time. They were more looking for advice on what to do, they were going to start issuing bans to people and everything for what they said online, when it was explained that you couldn't do that they were going to fine their local club.

You couldn't make up some of the stuff they were on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

They just don't understand the whole online thing and at the time I was fairly active in local GAA, giving advice on websites and stuff, things have changed a lot in a short period of time. They were more looking for advice on what to do, they were going to start issuing bans to people and everything for what they said online, when it was explained that you couldn't do that they were going to fine their local club.

You couldn't make up some of the stuff they were on about.

For McDonagh to say he never went near a computer is a joke. No wonder the pulse system was a mess if this is the level of competence in the force.

Now he want's to go for the Dail and doesn't know how to use a computer... lads this guy is a joke.

Figerty wrote: »
    For McDonagh to say he never went near a computer is a joke. No wonder the pulse system was a mess if this is the level of competence in the force.

Now he want's to go for the Dail and doesn't know how to use a computer... lads this guy is a joke.

That's 1 of the biggest problems I have with the current Clare GAA setup, their lies are getting caught up in themselves, I've no problem with keeping stuff to themselves but at least make the message consistent, for example
    • If you're going to be castigating social media, don't use YouTube to promote teams
    • If you don't want to have Twitter in meetings, don't have your own account
    • Don't complain about local journalists then be friends with them and then complain again
    • Don't promote your own stuck in the dark ages opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Boots234

Good wins today for Cooraclare over O'Curry's and Miltown over Ennistymon. Miltown will play the winners of Kilrush and St.Breckans while Cooraclare wait to see who comes through from Clondegad/Cratloe. I think the champions will come from the Cooraclare/Cratloe/Clondegad side of the draw. Cratloe look like the strongest team left in it but could definitely get caught tomorrow against Clondegad and Cooraclare have already beaten them in the championship.

Kilmihil had a comprehensive win against Clarecastle this evening and will play the winners of Corofin/Kilfenora in the intermediate final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,387 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I read the article in The Clare Champion last night. It's basically along the lines of what was written in the examiner. It makes for sad reading. No mention of Ger Loughnane, who has been to the fore in his criticism of the board.
    As for closing down on-line forums, this isn't North Korea. Sport and politics should be kept far far apart.

If you want to have criticism of the county board you could ask where the money they got from the sale to Aldi went, how much was wasted on the idea out by the by-pass, how much was really spent on Clare Abbey, what's really being spent out in Tulla, when is Cusack Park going to be finished, why is the county championship a complete farce, why is there such a massive gap between budgets between footballer and hurling, what are the details of the county management's agreements with the county board.

But no, no point in getting to the bottom of any of that, might as well just concentrate on the bold people on the internet talking about stuff.