Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What really obvious thing have you only just realised?

That Mac Mor is an attempt to translate big mac in to Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭floatwinner

That Real Madrid means Royal Madrid....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

That the little piggy who went to the market was not actually going shopping............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

That Bertie really was a great taoiseach. brought us jobs and good roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,461 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

That Real Madrid means Royal Madrid....

Which is the reason why Real Salt Lake City is an absolutely dumb name for a team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Sudance

Paper view

Out of the blue, after almost 20 years, it hit me.

It's Pay-Per-View!

I... think

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

^^^
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Which is the reason why Real Salt Lake City is an absolutely dumb name for a team

Don't forget Sligo's Real Tubber.

New Home wrote: »
    ^^^
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

:D:D:D

Dont tell me I got it wrong.....again!?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

racso1975 wrote: »
    That the little piggy who went to the market was not actually going shopping............

Oh poor little piggy!!

oh my god, are you serious????

Feel sick now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

toptom wrote: »
    That Bertie really was a great taoiseach. brought us jobs and good roads
    Just like Hitler! ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

racso1975 wrote:

But what about the one who had roast beef? What's that all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

FunLover18 wrote: »
    http://www.youlovatt.com/this-little-piggy-dissected/
    This little piggy had roast beef
    This line is strange. Who feeds pigs roast beef? Well, farmers do, idiot. Pigs are omnivorous and it is common to feed them table scraps and garbage when “slopping” them. This pig is obviously underweight, and to fetch a good price later on, it must first gain some girth. Delicious, rindy, girth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭franer1970

Human eyeball looks rather like a peeled boiled egg, hence the phrase "keep your eyes peeled", meaning "keep your eyes wide open so the bit that looks like a boiled egg is on show".

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Sudance wrote: »
    Dont tell me I got it wrong.....again!?!?!

No, you got it right, this time, I just thought it was very funny you never realised it before, especially because you can often see it written down in some ads/leaflets. Don't worry, I got things mixed up more than once myself... :cool:
    franer1970 wrote: »
    Human eyeball looks rather like a peeled boiled egg, hence the phrase "keep your eyes peeled", meaning "keep your eyes wide open so the bit that looks like a boiled egg is on show".

I always thought it was more literal than that, as in, 'remove the skin/peel/rind from your eyes' --> your eyelids, therefore --> 'Keep your eyes open'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭baron von something

That the little piggy who went to the market was not actually going shopping
    wow, I never thought of it that way before.

The version I heard growing up, the pig had "bread and butter" not roast beef

No, you got it right, this time, I just thought it was very funny you never realised it before, especially because you can often see it written down in some ads/leaflets. Don't worry, I got things mixed up more than once myself... :cool:

Ads? Leaflets??? Emmm nope, unless you mean the odd info packed glossy thing the postman drops in the door..... that go straight in the bin :)

Think I might be sounding a bit of a gawp lol. ok ok...ye can stop nodding yer heads now lol

Ads? Leaflets??? Emmm nope, unless you mean the odd info packed glossy thing the postman drops in the door..... that go straight in the bin :)

Think I might be sounding a bit of a gawp lol. ok ok...ye can stop nodding yer heads now lol

Yes, they're the ones I meant... and no, I'm not nodding, you're grand ;):)

This is highly disturbing! Not going to market, cannabilism, dissection !! Jesus, is this some taboo I didnt know about and what else was my Daddy not telling me!?!?! Cos he thought it was hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

This is highly disturbing! Not going to market, cannabilism, dissection !! Jesus, is this some taboo I didnt know about and what else was my Daddy not telling me!?!?! Cos he thought it was hilarious

Beef doesn't come from pigs :p

The went to the market one got me though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Maybe not that obvious but the fact that the terror group now known as ISIS have been around in one shape or form since 1999. I was of the impression that their existence only came about in the past 4 years.

Yes, they're the ones I meant... and no, I'm not nodding, you're grand ;):)

You are an oasis of kindness in this cruel world :):)

Beef doesn't come from pigs :p:(

G'way oura dat... ya big fibber

Explain pulled pork then...

Maybe not that obvious but the fact that the terror group now known as ISIS have been around in one shape or form since 1999. I was of the impression that their existence only came about in the past 4 years.

You're not alone. The so called "war on terror" is now the geopolitical version of the x-factor. One minute they're nobodies, then they get to do a gig with the pentagon watching......

Rest is 'istory as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭What are those?

just realised ive been saying 'damp squid' all my life as opposed to a 'damp squib'...whats a squib???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,522 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

just realised ive been saying 'damp squid' all my life as opposed to a 'damp squib'...whats a squib???

a firework

a firework

Ahhhh...no wonder "damp squid" never made sense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,063 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Indeed! Sometimes it's just nice to browse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭exiledelbows

Dard23 wrote: »
    Haha, mad you just noticed that! I remember something I hadn't copped that my friend did is in the Chris the sheep episode.
    The part near the end where Ted is identifying the culprits, when he says there names the crowd gasps and you hear chatter for a second. Well at the end of the chatter you hear a voice just saying "f#*%ing hell"!!
    This happens twice, first when Ted names the two lads and then when he says it was the farmer himself. Sorry probably didn't explain that very well, watch the scene though and you'll see what I mean, it's very funny!

OK found it there, this is the after he identifies the two lads. So we already missed the first one but you hear the second one.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cEvUt2kUg0c

Also, the guy that says it is Graham Linehan