Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Grand Designs

• 29-06-2013 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭

I adore this programme. On Channel 4 tonight the voice over by Kevin (we are on first name terms!) was odd. Anyone else notice?

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CorsendonkX

Anyone else notice that of the 120+ Grand Design shows C4 across its 3 channels repeats a core group of 30 or so episodes in an endless cycle. Why not show the rest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

miss this show the australian ones are good

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

I used to love this, but the constant rehashing and revisiting took all the fun out of it. It came to about two thirds of a season at one point.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Anyone else notice that of the 120+ Grand Design shows C4 across its 3 channels repeats a core group of 30 or so episodes in an endless cycle. Why not show the rest?

I was thinking about this the other day. Any time I flick it on it is inevitably taking place in 2007/08, to the point that I thought it had been cancelled. Much to my surprise there are a few episodes after that!

I do not understand why, as you say CorsendonkX, they just show the same group, from the same period, when they have 10+ seasons, with 4 or 5 special series too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

His first ever show was revisited tonight. Worth trying to catch it on the replays- it was made in 2012, revisiting a 1998 show.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CorsendonkX

His first ever show was revisited tonight. Worth trying to catch it on the replays- it was made in 2012, revisiting a 1998 show.

Seen it, its one of the regular revisit episode repeats. It's actually the 3rd ever show. IMHO one of the best too.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Grand_Designs_episodes#Series_1_.281999.29

The choice of revisit episodes or even a more up to date revisit may be limited by people selling off the "dream home for life" once the camera leaves. And many within 3-5 years.

Some of the Grand Designs for Sale or Sold(many among C4 frequent repeats)
    Series 2 "The Cruciform House" Berkshire
    http://www.rightmove.co.uk/property-for-sale/property-30099215.html

Series 3 "The Wooden Box" (revisit)Peterborough
    http://blog.zoopla.co.uk/2010/07/23/grand-designs-wooden-box-house-sale/

Series 6 "The Loch House(revisit) Scotland
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/property/article-1218678/Were-cashing-chips-selling-Grand-Design.html

Series 6 "The Contemporary Barn Conversion"
    http://www.icouldlivehere.org/2013/03/converted-barn-for-sale-featured-on.html

Series 7 "The Tuscan Castle(revisit) Italy(sadly Howard died)
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/property/overseasproperty/3363845/Grand-Designs-Mad-but-mostly-magnifico.html

Series 8 "The Underground House" Cheltenham
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/property/article-1192508/800-000-Grand-Designs-house-given-away-Twitter-raffle.html

Series 8 "The Bath Kit House" Bath
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/property/article-1380355/Our-grand-design-went-1m-budget---doing-again.html

Series 8 "The Modernist Sugar Cube" Bristol
    http://www.planetpropertyblog.co.uk/2012/08/15/grand-designs-modernist-sugar-cube-in-bristol-for-sale/

Series 9 "The Newport Folly" Wales
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/property/article-2018516/Grand-Designs-castle-bling-Kemeys-Folly-sale-2-7m.html

Series 9 "The Brighton Modern Mansion"
    http://blog.zoopla.co.uk/2010/02/17/brighton-home-grand-designs-market/

Series 9 "The Brittany Groundhouse"(revisit) France
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/property/expatproperty/7911942/More-holiday-homes-for-sale.html?image=10

Series 10 "The Tree House"(was a revisit house) Isle of Wight
    http://blogs.independent.co.uk/2013/05/08/your-chance-to-live-in-a-grand-design/

Series 12 "The Derelict Water Tower" London
    http://www.wowhaus.co.uk/2013/05/28/grand-design-for-sale-the-water-tower-conversion-in-kennington-london-se1/

Grand Designs Abroad

"The Church Conversion" Mayo
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kfaumheyidsn/rss2/

At least one person toughed it out!
    Series 7 "The Birmingham Church"
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1348271/Channel-4-Grand-Designs-project-resulted-divorce-2-heart-attacks.html

Most of the projects are ego trips or an hour long commercial by some architect/developer and you can never quite trust what they say is the final cost which might explain the sudden for sale sign once the show is screened:D.

Some even didn't finish the project.

Series 7 "The Eco-Barge"
    http://shantyboatliving.com/2013/echo-barge-mystery/

Kevin favourite episodes

http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2012-10-17/kevin-mcclouds-favourite-grand-designs

I can't understand why they haven't done an updated revisit of the 19th Manor House in Creuse. The last update was 2006 and they appear to be still going strong restoring the rest of the property and running a guesthouse.

http://chezjallot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,218 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Some even didn't finish the project.

Series 7 "The Eco-Barge"
    http://shantyboatliving.com/2013/echo-barge-mystery/

Best episode ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Delta2113

we-love-telly-image-2-502156810-250446.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Wasn't sure if there was a more up-to-date thread than this (couldn't find it if there is).

Anyone watching tonight's episode? I'm a bit behind, but this guy is BONKERS!!! (but clearly very rich).

Missed the very beginning - what does he do for a crust?

ETA - bah, turns out it's a repeat - just read the thread through!

Ah well, it's new to me......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,509 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Was it the guy who had a heart attack, major surgery and the place cost a million, or thereabouts?

This show is a guilty pleasure of mine. :o

Was the guy who had a heart attack, major surgery and the place cost a million, or thereabouts?

This show is a guilty pleasure of mine. :o

Was that the one in Italy? Sorry to hear that he died - that was one of my favourites as well!

This is the water tower in London. They're completely barking! And broke!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,509 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

No, it was this one.

Was the water tower full of pigeons? I didn't watch it all.

No, it was this one.

Was the water tower full of pigeons? I didn't watch it all.

Full of pigeons, live and dead, and lots of pigeon ****!

That one you linked to sounds vaguely familiar....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Inventive User Name

Great show, Not sure what house was my favourite, but the worst by far was this disaster. 80 grand wasted.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRVcJTptj_T0UFT-Kftwk9Lqm3NWpuwZEPhM1idBPS8Eg1vf-Q3

Great show, Not sure what house was my favourite, but the worst by far was this disaster. 80 grand wasted.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRVcJTptj_T0UFT-Kftwk9Lqm3NWpuwZEPhM1idBPS8Eg1vf-Q3

Golly, I thought I'd seen a lot if not most of these, but clearly not!

Is that one available to view anywhere, do you know? (I'm a boatie type, this of all things would be of big interest to me!)

Wait, is that a finished house?! OK, found it on Youtube...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Delta2113

Delighted to see RTE1 showing episodes from 2009 (Monday,Tuesday and Friday morning at present) and available On Demand.

I watched 3 episodes earlier tonight so this will keep me going until new series. I only started to watch in the last few years -wish I had watched from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,233 ✭✭✭irishchris

Sorry to drag up old thread but thought better than creating new one again

New series back tonight. Love this show but can anyone confirm there are only 2 episodes this season??

Jaysus.

A) Kevin is gone very bald and old-looking.

B) Yer man's a complete nutter :eek:

A 5-meter couch :eek:

Flipping hell, looking at the panorama/aerial shot at the start of the last segment, how in the name of **** did he get planning permission to build there??? :eek:

It may not look like a fire-station, but it sounds like a museum - the echoes :eek:

I'm not sure I'd dare move in that house.

Am I the only one watching :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

I'm recording it. Will watch l later. I'd kinda stopped watching the show. But the photos of the house tonight made me want to watch it.

beauf wrote: »
    I'm recording it. Will watch l later. I'd kinda stopped watching the show. But the photos of the house tonight made me want to watch it.
    Well worth watching, it's slightly mind-bending.

Oh lordy, next week's subject looks even madder, if that's possible :eek:

In a nice way, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

'Twas a lovely house I thought, I just wouldn't live in it. Had he a wife lurking in the background?, would say she wasn't allowed a word in edgeways !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

vicwatson wrote: »
    'Twas a lovely house I thought, I just wouldn't live in it. Had he a wife lurking in the background?, would say she wasn't allowed a word in edgeways !!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3226633/Grand-Designs-biggest-house-New-series-features-vast-project-lounge-big-four-fire-engines-five-metre-COUCH.html

Apparently he runs a cleaning services business :rolleyes: Obviously obsessed with cleanliness, has 4 kids and a wife but they probably are not allowed live in the place!

I'd say he will flog it for a high price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

Fiskar wrote: »
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3226633/Grand-Designs-biggest-house-New-series-features-vast-project-lounge-big-four-fire-engines-five-metre-COUCH.html

Apparently he runs a cleaning services business :rolleyes: Obviously obsessed with cleanliness, has 4 kids and a wife but they probably are not allowed live in the place!

I'd say he will flog it for a high price.

No mention of wifey at all although the kids had moved in.
    The poor man clearly has OCD so will struggle to keep the hotel - sorry house - clean.
    I'd take issue with his taste - Patterned blue carpets mixing with brown fabrics and furniture. Ugh....... Kevin also struggled to keep his inner cynic in check as clearly his ideal house is hewn from woodland and nailed together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭orthsquel

I was watching this last night and expecting a massive failure, that the build would stall from lack of finances so tbh I was very surprised when actually by the end of the show there was a finished building. I wouldn't have paid what it has cost him to build it, and I wouldn't pay what the market value must be on a very unique build if he was to put it up for sale...although I wouldn't have spent £800 / €1,095 per sliding bathroom door. I'd hate to see the running cost of it and the maintenance costs for the pool. While it's not the most hideous thing in the world and while the interior might have been in some places Dracula's hangout - at least the colour varied beyond black and shades of charcoal and black, and wasn't the sterile white - I'd probably never feel comfortable there myself and would never live in it (could you imagine what it would cost to replace any of those massive tiles if one was damaged?). I hated the kitchen and I can bet like an old episode I was watching on More4 during the week, despite the vast space his favourite room will be a standard bog size broom cupboard with no luxuries.

The one thing I liked was the view from the windows.

Well, he obviously struggled with money just to get it built. Heating a swimming pool eats money - I'd love to know if he did it with his ground source heat pump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

i'd say you would need a full time cleaner just to clean the glass! Imagine yer man seeing streaks in the glass. I thought royalty were bad, this guy needs to get a grip

Fiskar wrote: »
    i'd say you would need a full time cleaner just to clean the glass! Imagine yer man seeing streaks in the glass. I thought royalty were bad, this guy needs to get a grip

Well, you can get self cleaning glass. Wonder if that's the reason he got it from Switzerland. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

The finished house was breathtaking! He did some job on it, would love a house like that bar it being slighty too big!

The architect was a good laugh though, was like a cartoon character

Mc Love wrote: »
    The finished house was breathtaking! He did some job on it, would love a house like that bar it being slighty too big!

The architect was a good laugh though, was like a cartoon character

I thought he should have stuck to a more minimalist look for the interiors.
    The blue carpet and brown upholstery kinda killed it for me. The blue/black kitchen was cool - only 120k to you and me !
    At the end of the day he got a four bedroom house with sauna and gym - and who uses an outdoor pool in our climate ? Not great for an outlay of 1.5 mil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Sussex is on the south coast of England and they get much better summers than we do so I think it would get some use. I thought him and the wife had separated as it wasnt clear that the kids stayed there all the time.

Mc Love wrote: »
    Sussex is on the south coast of England and they get much better summers than we do so I think it would get some use. I thought him and the wife had separated as it wasnt clear that the kids stayed there all the time.

Good point. A little way into the programme Kevin does say that it is heated by a ground source pump.
    The kids are with him 3-4 days per week so it looks like he and the wife are separated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,233 ✭✭✭irishchris

Just watched 5his weeks episode. What a mad eccentric this week's house builder is. Building a house even though he hates houses :-)

Badly burned by his builder going bust - I think I'll look for insurance against that if I ever built again.
    Not the most exciting house - he must have clusterphilia - love of small spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭orthsquel

Yeah a bit of an eccentric I suppose, however I actually quite liked the design. For once it was like an episode where something actually got built without too much trouble and the usual issues and there being an unusual happy outcome. I thought it was an unusual episode where there was more about the personal back story - maybe they felt the need to provide context - but tbh there was a lot of chat that could have proved somewhat embarrassing that could have been left out. What I thought that they might have incorporated into the design was that rather than the house being on steel stilts, it could have have risen via a mechanism should that area ever flood. I'm not sure whether it was Grand Designs or another show but I do recall a show about someone who built on that landbank of the Thames that built the house that had a way around to combat flooding.
    I couldn't imagine a flatpack kitchen though! I actually really liked the general design and that part that was meant to be his workshop/boatyard/outdoor area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,066 ✭✭✭✭neris

Not surprised the lad this week was getting his money from a trust fund. Next weeks episode looks like the regular - family want huge new house, over stretch themselves, but in the end all will be ok. Has there ever been an epsiode where its gone spectacularly wrong and the family are left with a half built house and a date in bankruptcy court?

neris wrote: »
    Not surprised the lad this week was getting his money from a trust fund. Next weeks episode looks like the regular - family want huge new house, over stretch themselves, but in the end all will be ok. Has there ever been an epsiode where its gone spectacularly wrong and the family are left with a half built house and a date in bankruptcy court?

Nearly. There was a builder in London who got a heart attack during the build from stress. Not surprised as he was building a glass fronted space ship.
    He pulled it off in the end after a few years.

Just watched this episode now.

What a delightfully and completely barmy project - and subject - this week!

As a very boaty person, I can absolutely identify with his sentiments, even if I'm not sure I could actually live with them in reality. I've a pain in my face from just smiling throughout the whole programme.

Well done James for sticking to his principles, and even more well done Ben for putting up with him throughout - what a pair.

Of all the houses on GD that I've seen, I think this is probably one of my favourites - I particularly loved the pebble wall in the bathroom - I've seen a bathroom border done like that and have always coveted it, but a whole wall is amazing.

The one downside was the repeated shots of the pylons and wires - they're there, obviously, but was there really any need to show panoramic shots of them every 10 minutes?

A very refreshing change from the usual wildly-different-but-not-really-that different-really builds that are the normal GD fare.

I'd take this house any day over that megalomanicac's echo chamber last week!!!

And as for that loo with a view.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Most expensive build ever this wk I think...

More expensive than last week's? :eek:

Or was that just the biggest ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

neris wrote: »

The big houseboat from years ago ended up washed up on the banks of the Thames.

Another couple ended up with health problems and getting divorced.

There was also a house that had to have its design slashed halfway through, and the owners only ended up keeping it because a random person heard about their plight and offered to loan them the money. It's now up for sale. They had to run it as a B&B in the end, and they weren't the only ones that applied to, either.

The Irish chap who was doing up that castle in the West still hasn't been able to finish it, and apparently is now trying to use crowdfunding to get the job done.

There have been quite a few stories where things haven't turned out like the self-builders would have liked.

I thought the last week's owner ( one of a twin ) was more interesting than the house ! An 'old hippy' sums him up ? - it helps to have a trust fund of course.
    Check out a new series by Charlie Luxton on homes by the sea starting on More 4 on Sept 29. I always reflect on what a wealthier society the UK is compared to us when I see all those georgeous houses.

recipio wrote: »
    I thought the last week's owner ( one of a twin ) was more interesting than the house ! An 'old hippy' sums him up ? - it helps to have a trust fund of course.
    Check out a new series by Charlie Luxton on homes by the sea starting on More 4 on Sept 29. I always reflect on what a wealthier society the UK is compared to us when I see all those georgeous houses.

I saw the 1st series of that homes by the sea, some stunning houses. The one with george clarke (small spaces?) is very good and some of the things people have done with shed sized buildings.

Holy ****, 900+K for THE SITE

Sterling!

:eek::eek::eek:

This has to go titts up they dont have the money

They've got Jamie Oliver as their architect!

Also, their basement alone is three times the size of my house :eek:

I know (from personal experience) how a "life's too short" attitude can take hold after something like yer man suffered - but seriously......