Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

citykat wrote: »
    Burke was very lucky not to see red for pulling the helmet off Fennelly in the 14th minute.

Ah it would have been very harsh to be fair, there was a similar incident in the minor match, strictly speaking by the letter of the law they were both reds, but was glad to see both referees using common sense.

That rule actually needs to be re-worded and something along the line of ''with intent'' or ''wrecklessly'' needs to be included - the intention of the ruule is spot on but it needs to be tweaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

danganabu wrote: »
    Ah it would have been very harsh to be fair, there was a similar incident in the minor match, strictly speaking by the letter of the law they were both reds, but was glad to see both referees using common sense.

That rule actually needs to be re-worded and something along the line of ''with intent'' or ''wrecklessly'' needs to be included - the intention of the ruule is spot on but it needs to be tweaked.

The 'rule' is not being enforced so should be reviewed. But by the letter of the law, Burke should have walked. Another instance of the ref going 'soft' on Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

The 'rule' is not being enforced so should be reviewed. But by the letter of the law, Burke should have walked. Another instance of the ref going 'soft' on Galway.
    I would see it as the referee using common sense whjich should be encouraged and I suspect your view would be quite different if the roles were reversed.

With regard to the helmet point, in the minor game the Tipp player's helmet fell off very easily as if it wasn't fully strapped on, there has to be some leeway in the rules or it could be left open to abuse.

It kind of shows how little an All-Ireland means to Kilkenny that some of their fans are on the Galway thread trying to score points as opposed to celebrating or at least enjoying their success.

I don't think there is anyone in Galway who believes that the officials made any difference to the result yesterday. Congrats to Kilkenny, they were the better and more hardened team when it mattered and deserved their success. We weren't good enough on or off the field when it came to the crunch and that's the issue we'll need to address (but somehow I don't think we will) over the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

Burke was very lucky not to see red for pulling the helmet off Fennelly in the 14th minute.

Absolute bollocks. Fennellys helmet was not pulled off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Absolute bollocks. Fennellys helmet was not pulled off.

Yes it was. When Burke rushed in to tackle, you can see his hand go for his helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Yes it was. When Burke rushed in to tackle, you can see his hand go for his helmet.

Why would he be trying to take his helmet off intentionally in a tackle? It's nonsense really. The referee recognised it for what it was. An accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭timogen

Why would he be trying to take his helmet off intentionally in a tackle? It's nonsense really. The referee recognised it for what it was. An accident.

I would have to say your argument doesn't hold water, as you cannot know what the ref even seen less think. I believe 90% of red cards in any game are the result of an accident miss timed challenges and such even if you don't believe there is intention in it, but the rule states it's a red card. You think he used common sence I think if he seen it he bottled it,if he didn't that's just part of the game. I thought the ref was poor yesterday for both sides which is fine with me as both sides will be on the receiving end of poor decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭gobo99

https://youtu.be/c3z5_JbWNco
    He blatantly pulled of the helmet.
    Cant believe people can argue that the ref favoured kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,589 ✭✭✭MfMan

How did Canning get a knock coming up to HT? Some KK player hit him I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

MfMan wrote: »
    How did Canning get a knock coming up to HT? Some KK player hit him I wonder?

think him and michael fennelly accidentally collided. nothing sinister anyway!

donnem33 wrote: »

If it was, then I recant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭wonga77

donnem33 wrote: »

Correct, I think it was accidental but Canning stayed down for a bit and recieved attention from the physio, the ref came in and signalled him to get up and on with it

Didn't get into Salthill this evening but sounded like a decent crowd. Looked like a good crowd in Ballinasloe also. Fair play to all who turned up. The minors was still a great success against the odds and I'm sure the lads appreciated the support. However, really its probably the last place anyone involved with the senior team wanted to be. While the we'll be back again next year thing is something to say to give the supporters going home hope, in reality it sounds hollow.

While I'm sure the players will be feeling gutted tonight its likely that its only when they wake up tomorrow morning it'll really hit them that its all over and next years championship will seem a long way away.

I think the county board should make an effort to wrap up the club championship as quickly as possible and give the players a break for a couple of months before launching back into it. Get in done before November at a minimum. We made the mistake in 2013 of pretty much continuing on the campaign from 2012 by going back training within a few weeks and we know how that ended up.

Didn't get into Salthill this evening but sounded like a decent crowd. Looked like a good crowd in Ballinasloe also. Fair play to all who turned up. The minors was still a great success against the odds and I'm sure the lads appreciated the support. However, really its probably the last place anyone involved with the senior team wanted to be. While the we'll be back again next year thing is something to say to give the supporters going home hope, in reality it sounds hollow.

While I'm sure the players will be feeling gutted tonight its likely that its only when they wake up tomorrow morning it'll really hit them that its all over and next years championship will seem a long way away.

I think the county board should make an effort to wrap up the club championship as quickly as possible and give the players a break for a couple of months before launching back into it. Get in done before November at a minimum. We made the mistake in 2013 of pretty much continuing on the campaign from 2012 by going back training within a few weeks and we know how that ended up.

Saw plenty of the minors heading into town with cans and bottles of bucky at 9 or so.
    Actually thought they were seniors from the distance but they were all young lads so I take it they both dressed in maroon shirts(was only aware of the seniors dressed that way).
    Hope they enjoy their night out, well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Gilberto Eire the tantrum you are throwing since last Sunday is pathetic. Going on about the time and money you have spent over the last 10 years supporting Galway. When the most that would involve is a bit of driving and watching from the stands. My county had it's most humiliating summer in years in both codes this year yet come the first Waterford Crystal cup and McGrath cup matches in January i'll be there for them and willing them on to do better in 2016 and i'll try and fit in as many league matches as i can as well like any other decent supporter of his or her county. Those Galway players gave their lives to be out on that pitch on Sunday. Their entire weeks and months are focused around training, playing, nutrition, conditioning, psychology plus the work they would be doing outside of official training and they will do all that again next year to represent and try their best for you but it's an awful hard day all the same going up to Dublin for the all Ireland final. I'd say the people who weren't able to get tickets must have been sickened reading that.

As for the match Galway played a great first half but they didn't make the most out of their period of dominance. Kilkenny came out in full championship mode for the second half and ground down Galway. None of those Galway players went out for the second half with the intention of playing a bad game. Galway were not the first and won't be the last team to be ground down by Kilkenny in such a manner but all you can do is learn the lessons. Redouble the efforts and bounce back even stronger next year.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

wonga77 wrote: »
    Correct, I think it was accidental but Canning stayed down for a bit and recieved attention from the physio, the ref came in and signalled him to get up and on with it

Bullsh1t this happened right in front of me, Fennelly ran across and clipped him with hurl on purpose, then pretended it was an accident.

Canning wasnt the same after

Gilberto Eire the tantrum you are throwing since last Sunday is pathetic. Going on about the time and money you have spent over the last 10 years supporting Galway. When the most that would involve is a bit of driving and watching from the stands. My county had it's most humiliating summer in years in both codes this year yet come the first Waterford Crystal cup and McGrath cup matches in January i'll be there for them and willing them on to do better in 2016 and i'll try and fit in as many league matches as i can as well like any other decent supporter of his or her county. Those Galway players gave their lives to be out on that pitch on Sunday. Their entire weeks and months are focused around training, playing, nutrition, conditioning, psychology plus the work they would be doing outside of official training and they will do all that again next year to represent and try their best for you but it's an awful hard day all the same going up to Dublin for the all Ireland final. I'd say the people who weren't able to get tickets must have been sickened reading that.

As for the match Galway played a great first half but they didn't make the most out of their period of dominance. Kilkenny came out in full championship mode for the second half and ground down Galway. None of those Galway players went out for the second half with the intention of playing a bad game. Galway were not the first and won't be the last team to be ground down by Kilkenny in such a manner but all you can do is learn the lessons. Redouble the efforts and bounce back even stronger next year.

Throwing since Sunday?. I didn't post after Sunday so get your points right.

Any genuine fan can get a ticket and any genuine fan already knows that so that point is moot.

Also it's a bit rich for the average Irish person to have a go about attending games when they all support English teams who's games they're lucky to attend once every five years.
    Why don't you ask yourself how big of a Man Utd fan you actually are(or whatever team you support).

I'll also take your attendance sheet with a pinch of salt, easy to say on an anonymous forum but id find it hard to believe the average person attacking me even attends as much.

I'm well entitled to say I'm no longer going as very few people even bother their arses up to the semis and finals, why don't you take your quest of enlightment to those fans.

Good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭spurshero

That's about the 6 th time you have said your not going anymore . I think we have got the message . I think most people in this forum are looking to be be positive so maybe if you have nothing good to add ............

spurshero wrote: »
    That's about the 6 th time you have said your not going anymore . I think we have got the message . I think most people in this forum are looking to be be positive so maybe if you have nothing good to add ............

Why don't you mind your own business?. If someone drags my name back into the argument a full day later ill reply.
    Go back to the football forum and talk about your beloved Spurs... At least I only follow Irish teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Why don't you mind your own business?. If someone drags my name back into the argument a full day later ill reply.
    Go back to the football forum and talk about your beloved Spurs... At least I only follow Irish teams.

What a load of guff. You stated more than once that you won't be going to another All Ireland and then when someone responds to this you tell them to mind their own business? It's a public forum ffs. As for only following Irish teams, that doesn't warrant a response. I don't think you'll be missed at future All Irelands tbh.

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    What a load of guff. You stated more than once that you won't be going to another All Ireland and then when someone responds to this you tell them to mind their own business? It's a public forum ffs. As for only following Irish teams, that doesn't warrant a response. I don't think you'll be missed at future All Irelands tbh.

He made it sound like I was just randomly posting and saying it.
    If someone posts at me I'm well entitled to reply to them.
    He came in to post twice and both times were solely directed at me with zero talk on the match so yes ill ask someone not adding to the thread to mind their own business.

Course it does, as much as his "guff" about me.

I won't be missed?... Course I won't... I'm not a player ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Whats the story with Niall Burke? His ball winning ability was badly needed in the 2nd half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

Whats the story with Niall Burke? His ball winning ability was badly needed in the 2nd half.

Injury ruled him out for this year and he headed to America for the summer I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

So - onwards.... to 2016.
    Any hope of our Footballers coming out of Connaught at all i wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Mr Velo wrote: »
    So - onwards.... to 2016.
    Any hope of our Footballers coming out of Connaught at all i wonder?

Mayo have home advantage next year over both Galway and Roscommon so you have to imagine they are in a good position for 6 in a row in Connacht. I think the current team's run is slowly coming to an end but not sure I see them losing in Connacht next year.

Ya, think Mayo are declining slowly, and won't under their current structure win Sam, but should still be favourites for the province. Maybe a Roscommon renewed under a new manager (McStay?) will stretch them next year. Any progress we've made this year is microscopic I fear and it's hard to see our graph being high enough to win Connacht. As I've said before, mgmt. flunked their first big test in failing to get us promoted to Div. I and measuring ourselves against the best. Instead we've to knock about half Ulster for another campaign which is rather the equivalent of Q-school for the main tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,887 ✭✭✭threeball

MfMan wrote: »
    Ya, think Mayo are declining slowly, and won't under their current structure win Sam, but should still be favourites for the province. Maybe a Roscommon renewed under a new manager (McStay?) will stretch them next year. Any progress we've made this year is microscopic I fear and it's hard to see our graph being high enough to win Connacht. As I've said before, mgmt. flunked their first big test in failing to get us promoted to Div. I and measuring ourselves against the best. Instead we've to knock about half Ulster for another campaign which is rather the equivalent of Q-school for the main tour.

You're right. I think its important that we set the main goal next year as not only getting promoted but doing so impressively. Championship will take care of itself after that and we won't win the AI anyway so its more important to get back to Div. 1 and stay there.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Well ye have onetwo All Irelands this season lads.
    Killannin won the All Ireland Intermediate Football Sevens tournament in Ratoath this evening by beating reigning champions An Ghaeltacht of Kerry in the final 3-9 to 8 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Well ye have one All Ireland this season lads.
    Killannin won the All Ireland Intermediate Football Sevens tournament in Ratoath this evening by beating reigning champions An Ghaeltacht of Kerry in the final 3-9 to 8 points.

That's makes two then wink.png