What's your opinion on undecover gardaÃ* at music festivals?

• 07-09-2015 01:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41

I can understand that they are there for a reason, but I also feel that how they conduct themselves isn't very good. Garda get a lot of stick, sometimes they deserve, sometimes they don't. In relation to festivals, do you think its right for an undercover to act like they're out of their biscuit to fool the unsuspecting festival goer into talking about what drugs they have done or brought with them?

I think that if they really want to cut down on drug use, then tighter searches should be conducted when each patron enters the festival. I think its disgraceful that they are allowed to knock about like anyone else, give them a faux sense of security then write them up for whatever related of fence occurs.

If they literally confiscate the drugs and leave it at that, then I have no issues personally (unless this person is genuinely there to deal and is in possession of a large amount).

What's your opinion?

Edit: Just to clarify, it didn't happen to me but I've seen it happens around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Surely that's entrapment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

How much they get on you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Surely that's entrapment?
    Entrapment is when you encourage someone to commit a crime that they weren't going to commit and then arrest them for it.

The Gardai at these things have no interest in speaking to someone out of their heads. They're looking for distributors.

They go around looking like junkies, wait for someone to offer to sell them pills and then arrest them. No entrapment there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Watched an undercover step around a group of 40 something nordies doing coke to bust a teenager with a tic tac sized piece of hash. Scum.

The gards shouldnt be available for private hire.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

seamus wrote: »

They go around looking like junkies, wait for someone to offer to sell them pills and then arrest them. No entrapment there.

ah here, they keep a sharp eye out for lads and lasses rolling spliffs for themselves and their friends too. junkie patrol they are certainly not.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Yup its fair game what they are doing and it should be happening alot more.

As for suggestions of better checks going into festivals, do you know any security man/woman that would be willing to stick their fingers in someones ass to look for drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

OP they couldn't care less what you or other stoners have taken, they want to know where you got it from! It's not entrapment, it's enforcing the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭enricoh

Shooting fish in a barrell, just like speed vans in a 50kph zone. But hey they can say busts are up 5% or whatever - n that's all that matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fake ID paranoid stoners easy pickings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I suppose this is related to something someone read in the paper?

Tbh, I'd prefer a bit more lax search at the entrance with regards to drugs.
    That way you're not pissing off the many visitors that don't have drugs and want to get inside fast.
    Dope fiends usually make themselves known inside and can be picked up by gardai there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

I think its disgraceful that they are allowed to knock about like anyone else, give them a faux sense of security then write them up for whatever related of fence occurs.

You're right. How dare the Gardai let people think they can break the law on their own by pretending they aren't Gardai. They didn't even goad them into it or entrap them whatsoever.

Scumbag Gardai huh :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Most people I know who got caught at a festival were being so blatantly obvious that were asking to be caught. A wee bit of cop on goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Apparently the undercover garda are looking out for your welfare
    A senior source told the Herald last night that teams of undercover gardai will be active at the festival and a "zero tolerance" approach will be taken to drug use.
    They issued a warning about a powder which has caused a number of festival goers to be hospitalised in the UK.
    "While there is particular concern about this powder, there are also dodgy pills out there," they said.

"Local gardai are being helped out by the specialist units who will be working undercover to carry out test purchases in relation to drugs transactions.
    http://www.herald.ie/news/undercover-gardai-to-patrol-electric-picnic-amid-fears-over-deadly-drugs-powder-31500805.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Snowstandards

You're right. How dare the Gardai let people think they can break the law on their own by pretending they aren't Gardai. They didn't even goad them into it or entrap them whatsoever.

You're missing the point. I'm talking about when Gardaí pretend to be a festival goer, then ask someone if they have anything, then sting them regardless. If someone offers to sell, then that's their own stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

"... there are also dodgy pills out there," they said.

Funny how they never mention the whopper bangers that are also going round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Funny how they never mention the whopper bangers that are also going round.

that's the kind of news report you want to hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

Just back from Electric Picnic, I will never go again, overpriced sh1t. Watched cops going around busting young lads for joints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I was so surprised to be asked a bunch of times if I was selling pills at EP. Pills?! I don't know why, but I thought pills were gone out of popular demand?

Within the same 2-3 hour period I was asked by 4 or 5 lads if I was actually an undercover po-po. Time to throw the Wranglers out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

6541 wrote: »
    Just back from Electric Picnic, I will never go again, overpriced sh1t. Watched cops going around busting young lads for joints.

You should have gone into the tents or stood in front of that big stage thing. I hear they had bands and entertainment on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Guards are damned if they do, damned if the don't.

Remember Sweedish House Mafia? Guards got criticized for being to lax and allowing too much drug use, which ultimately led to deaths.

It's not uncommon for gardaí to roam around Abbey Street looking like pure ****. After a while someone offers them drugs. Bingo. Arrest made and no need for any prep work, surveillance etc... Let the dealers come to you. Sounds like a good strategy.

I say this as someone who would support legalizing virtually all drugs, but I despise drug dealers. Most don't give a crap what they're selling. New forms of MDMA sound nasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

What's your opinion on undecover gardaÃ* at music festivals?

I loved their old stuff, but that last album was a bit too hipster for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

too much drug use, which ultimately led to deaths.

I hate it when I take drugs and a knife magically appears in my hand as a result of the drugs. it's really annoying.

In those situations I figure 'what the hell' then and just go around stabbing people. For the craic like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Can they truly be undercover?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Fukuyama wrote: »
    Guards are damned if they do, damned if the don't.

Remember Sweedish House Mafia? Guards got criticized for being to lax and allowing too much drug use, which ultimately led to deaths.

I think that was the stabbing, rather than the drugs, which caused problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

OP they couldn't care less what you or other stoners have taken, they want to know where you got it from! It's not entrapment, it's enforcing the law.
    The OP has the laid back attitude of a "stone man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Can they truly be undercover?

A good test if a randomer asks you if your selling drugs is to ask them to pronounce vehicle. There is no guard in this country who is so deep undercover they could pull this off without saying veh-hick-elll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

seamus wrote: »
    The Gardai at these things have no interest in speaking to someone out of their heads. They're looking for distributors.

While probably right on the average day, that's definitely not how it is with these undercovers at festivals.

enricoh wrote: »
    Shooting fish in a barrell, just like speed vans in a 50kph zone. But hey they can say busts are up 5% or whatever - n that's all that matters

Exactly.

They know well there is a huge amount of people, probably the majority, will have consumed something illegal over the weekend and they can go around picking and choosing who to stop and search. Fish in a barrel is right.
    They don't get any dealers of any note this way but it's a handy revenue generator in fines for the court and good news numbers game for the lads.
    No real benefit to society.
    Fukuyama wrote: »

That was knife!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

I usually can't stand anti garda victim complexes, but ive witnessed them at festivals before pathetically veering their heads in and out of tents and camp groups waiting to nab stonerss. It seems more like a log book and revenue exercise than protecting society. It's a bohemian atmosphere at the likes of EP. Heard portlaoise court had around 300 drug charges after EP last year. How many were actually dealing ? Not many I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

They're useful. Scrotes who think they can do anything while there's no Gardai get shown a lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

5W30 wrote: »
    They're useful. Scrotes who think they can do anything while there's no Gardai get shown a lesson.

If that was the point, it would be much better served by uniform garda instead.